Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Home

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors

The Long Island Book Collectors (LIBC) was started by a group of avid, prominent book collectors in 1966 to "foster and encourage the study of literature, history, bibliography, and the art of bookmaking and illustration." The Archives and Special Collections Department and LIU Post Provost, Dr. Paul Forestell, have been pleased to host the LIBC on the LIU Post Campus since January, 2009. The LIBC donated their archives to Long Island University in 2011. This collection contains assorted archival items related to the on-going activity of the LIBC and contains assorted materials such as original letters and notes, original documents for the preparation of the LIBC journals, LIBC organizational minutes, books, and like items. The Long Island Book Collectors Archive will continue to expand along with the LIBC's varied activities.

Collection Facts at a Glance

Benefactors:
The Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors was donated in 2011 to the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, LIU Post, by the LIBC membership. Marjorie Rosenthal is the current President and long-time member of the Long Island Book Collectors.

Collection Time Period:
1966 - Present

Abstract:
This archival collection contains assorted archival items related to the on-going activity of the Long Island Book Collectors.

Scope and Content:
The expanding LIBC Archive is currently housed in three hollinger boxes and contains assorted materials such as original letters and notes, original documents for the preparation of the LIBC journals, LIBC organizational minutes, books and like items.

User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment.

Special Thanks:
We want to extend special thanks to Graziella DiMaggio and Merlyn Portillo, two recent LIU Post graduates, who compiled the LIBC archive.

An Introduction to the Long Island Book Collectors

The Archives and Special Collections Department and LIU Post Provost, Dr. Paul Forestell, have been pleased to host the Long Island Book Collectors (LIBC) on the LIU Post Campus since January, 2009.

The organization was started by a group of avid, prominent Long Island book collectors in 1966 to "foster and encourage the study of literature, history, bibliography, and the art of bookmaking and illustration." The first President of the LIBC was Herman Abromson, a well-known collector of Christopher Morely items. The LIBC members have been meeting regularly since 1966, beginning in members' homes, then moving respectively to the campuses of neighboring Hofstra and Adelphi Universities.

At each meeting, a program is planned, followed by members' discussions. Anyone interested in collecting books, archives and/or related ephemera is encouraged to join. The Long Island Book Collectors meetings are held on the second Sunday of each month from September through May between 2 and 4 pm in the Hunt Room, Winnick House, on the LIU Post Campus of Long Island University in Brookville, NY.

The Long Island Book Collectors donated their archives to Long Island University in 2011. This collection is currently housed in Archives and Special Collections in the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library where it is accessible for research both on our website and by appointment. The LIBC Archive will continue to expand along with the LIBC's varied activities.

Student participation is strongly encouraged. Membership in this organization is particularly well-suited for the Rare Book and Archival students living on Long Island and the Metropolitan Area. Please contact us if you are interested in joining this fascinating organization.

Website

The Long Island Book Collectors' website can be found at:

Long Island Book Collectors Logo

Long Island Book Collectors Logo
LIBC Logo © 1966

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday

Long Island Book Collectors Journal

Long Island Book Collectors Journal
Journal of the Long Island Book Collectors. Twenty Five Years. 1966-1991. No. 5, 1993. Carol Meyerson and Evert Volkersz, editors. Roslyn, NY: Long Island Book Collectors.