Archives and Special Collections: Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection - Highlighting Selected Original Pre-publication Artworks

The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection was donated in 1988 by Saidie E. Scudder (1907-2001), and her older sister Hazel L., who died in 1990. Their parents, P. Halstead and Sarah Townsend Scudder, were descendants of an historical Quaker family line on Long Island, New York. The sisters were also active Quakers who in their later years were responsible for providing funding for the restoration of the old Quaker meeting house in Matinecock that had been destroyed by fire. They lived in Glen Cove, New York and were active gardeners, sharing classes in their greenhouse, as well as engaging in community projects. In their final years, they lived in Mill Neck, New York.

The collection is from their inheritance in 1984 from the estate of a long-time friend Dorothy Marie Bryan, who was the children's book editor at Dodd, Mead & Company. The collection contains approximately 125 original pre-publication artworks (illustrations) by well -known children's authors-illustrators in the American Juvenile Collection's time period, as well as the first edition juvenile books associated with these priceless artworks. The majority of these first editions were in Dorothy Bryan's personal collection. Dorothy Bryan and her sister Marguerite co-authored many books, 10 first editions are included in the collection.

• Dorothy M. Bryan
  • Biographical Sketch
  • Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan Book Collection

• Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection
  • Descriptions of The Saidie Scudder Pre-Publication Artworks
  • Highlighting Selected Books

Jarron L. Jewell, curator and finding aid

The Fairy Doll  by Rumer Godden. New York: The Viking Press, 1956

• 2-color illustrated published book pages.
  Dedication Page; Colored illustration on reverse
  Page 36; Colored illustration on reverse
  Page 51 with headpiece illustration; Colored illustration on reverse
  Torn page with top half illustration followed by four lines of text; text on reverse

• 2 Mailing labels from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  "Illustration from THE FAIRY DOLL"
  "Please return to Jr. Publicity"

Pre-publication illustration of a pencil drawing of horse's head. Signed by illustrator

• 6" x 10 1/2"
  On board.

Adventures in the West  by Alice R. Colver. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1941.

• Pre-publication pencil and 2-color paint illustration of front dust jacket
  On artist's paper.

Army Mule  by Fairfax Downey. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company 1945

• Pre-publication pen and pencil illustration
  "Chap1 Mule Wig wag"

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  "Chap2 Mule"

Circus School  by Paul Brown. New York: Charles Scribner and Sons, 1947.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  "Chap VI 6 "
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8" x 11"
  (Horse and baby elephant)

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8" x 11"
  (Horse and elephant)
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8" x 11"
  (Horse and two foals)
  On artist's paper.

Dog of War  by Fairfax Downey. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1943.

• Pre-publication pencil illustration
  8" x 11 1/2"
  "Chap. 5"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pencil illustration
  8" x 11 1/2"
  "Chap. 7"
  On artist's paper.

Jezebel the Jeep  by Fairfax Downey. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1943.

• Pre-publication paint illustration
  Front dust jacket
  On artist's paper.

Mike of Company D  by Don Aspden. New York: Charles Scribner & Sons, 1939

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8 1/4" x 10 3/4"
  (Two horses looking over the fence).
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8 1/4" x 10 3/4"
  (Young man between two horses)
  On artist's paper. "Open Championship", September, 1937
  9" x 12" Printed Magazine Program of the annual United States Polo Association in 1937. pp. 1-68.
  Event held at the Meadow Brook Club, Westbury, Long Island

• "Chucker Chatter" by Paul Brown, [Page ] 28
  Double-Page printed spread with 11 b/w illustrations and text found in

Pam's Paradise Ranch: A Story of Hawaii  by Armine von Tempski. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1940.

• Pre-publication two-color illustration
  "__ to be used as decoration on fly leaf or title page or what have You"
  Artist's paper on board. Paul Brown Calendar, 1946. Signed. (653/1000)

• Limited edition page includes pencil illustration of a horse's head with inscription "To Dorothy [Bryan] Happy Birthday Paul '45" Includes 12 signed pencil calendar illustrations each signed and dated '45. Each monthly illustration represents a different sport.
  Copyright and published by Brooks Brothers, 1946
  11" x 13 1/2", dark green board, front cover illustration, red ribbon ties

Plow Penny Mystery  by Lavinia R. Davis. Garden City, Long Island: Doubleday, Doran & Company, 1942.

• Pre-publication pencil illustration
  15" x 11"
  On artist's paper "The Social Spectator" , July 18, 1930

• Double-page spread with nine b/w illustrations of horse jumping [competition], each with text includes imprint of Paul Brown's signature and date, July 12, 1930
  "At the Southampton Riding and Hunt Club, Last Saturday ..."
  pp. 22 - 23

• Lithograph with torn upper right corner
  7" x 5"
  [Horse and rider fall at jumping competition]

War Horse  by Fairfax Downey. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1942.

• 4 Pre-publication pencil illustrations
  8 1/4" x 11"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pencil illustration
  11" x 11 3/4"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pencil illustration
  Signed by illustrator.
  12" x 16 1/2"
  On artist's paper.

The Wild Horse Roundup: Collection of Stories by Western Writer's of America , edited by James Kjelgaard. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company,1957.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Slightly torn on left side.
  16 1/2" x 10 3/4"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8 1/2" X 11"
  [two men standing beside two horses)

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  8 1/2" x 11"
  [young girl petting a baby steer]

• Dodd, Mead & Company, Inc Letterhead
  with marker notation "Sketches by Paul Brown"

All Those Buckles  by Eva R. Gaggin. New York: The Viking Press, 1945

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  with 2 color separation overlays, one red and one ?
  p. 55
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Title page
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  6 1/4" 3 7/8"
  P. 13
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  p. 24
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  P. 100
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  P. 105
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  P. 129
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  P. 141
  On board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  (Man with two children)
  On board

• 2 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  PP. 43 and 221
  On board

• 2 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  3 7/8" x 6 1/4"
  PP. 77 and 171
  On board

• 12 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  Varying small dimensions, example size: 2 1/2" x 3"
  PP. 5, 47, 58, 64, 79, 83, 109, 117, 145, 175, 215 and one unnumbered
  On board

Lion  by William Pene Du Bois. New York: The Viking Press, 1956.

• Pre-publication double-sided printed page
  Illustration with incomplete typeface.
  "3" and "Out" notations.
  Reverse Side: Illustrated pre-title page with "LION"
  includes illustration of polar bear and 3-color crocodile.
  Water damage.

• Pre-publication double-sided printed page
  Illustration with incomplete typeface. Includes "4"
  Reverse Side: 3-color printed page of back dust jacket with
  photo of William Pene Du Bois
  Water damage.

• Torn mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  With "10" written over "XXXXX"
  "Please return to Junior Publicity"

• Torn mailing label from The Viking Press, New York
  "Please return to Junior Publicity"

Giant Otto  by William Pene Du Bois. New York: The Viking Press, 1936

• Pre-publication red painted cell

Family Sabbatical  by Carol R. Brink. New York: The Viking Press, 1956

• Pre-publication water color illustration of front dust jacket
  illustrator's home address written on back in pencil
  On artist paper mounted on board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 1.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 1.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chaper 7.
  On artist's paper.
  Water damage.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 19.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  On artist's paper.

Beady Bear  by Don Freeman. New York: The Viking Press, 1954.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 8
  On board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  9" x 11" 
  End Papers. Signed
  On board.
  Slightly water damaged.

• 2 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations with black paint
  On board.
  Slightly water damaged.

Borrowed Boots  by Rita Puttcamp. New York: The Viking Press, 1956.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustrated mock-up
  Illustration on artist's board. Includes pasted lettering of title, author, illustrator, publisher and date.

• Pre-publication 4-color painting of front and spine dust jacket
  On Board

• Pre-publication b/w illustration of front dust jacket
  labeled "dark blue"
  With 2 attached color separation overlays, one labeled "red", one labeled "yellow"
  On board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chapter 1. [2 Horseback riders]
  On board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chapter 2. [Group of men]
  On board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 3. [Horseback rider in front of store]
  Chapter 4. [Family scene at table]
  Two illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 5. [Lassoed horseback rider]
  Chapter 6. [Two figures in river]
  Two illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 7. [Three charging horseback riders]
  Chapter 8. [A hold-up]
  Chapter 9. [The telling of a story]
  Three illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 10. [Possible confrontation?]
  Chapter 11. [Horseback rider and stagecoach]
  Two illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 12. [Two men with chest of coins]
  Chapter 13. []A departure]
  Chapter 14. [Three men talking]
  Three illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 15. [Silhouette of man walking]
  Chapter 18. [Silhouette of horseback riders crossing a river]
  Two illustrations on board.

• Pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Chapter 16. [Young man in tree observing rifleman below]
  Chapter 17. [Officer and troops on horseback]
  Two illustrations on board.

Pippi Longstocking  by Astrid Lindgren. New York: The Viking Press, 1950

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chaper 3, p. 47
  Full Page Drawing on board

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chaper 6, p. 77
  Full Page Drawing on board

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chaper 11, p. 151
  Full Page Drawing on board
  http://www.louisglanzman.com

The Squirrel That Remembered  by Dana S. Green. New York: The Viking Press, 1951

• Pre-publication black paint illustration of front dust jacket with pasted lettering for spine.
  Includes 2-color separation overlays, one in blue and one in red.
  Artist's paper on board.

• 34 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  for pp. 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 23, 26, 28, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 41, 42, 43, 48, 51, 53, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 63
  On artist's paper.

• 2 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  for p. 62
  On artist's paper.

Bozy and All The Children  by Dorothy Ivens. New York: The Viking Press, 1957.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Title and THE END 
  Block print illustration on board

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  THE END  surrounded by pen and ink animal illustration
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Printed dedication page, includes pen and ink illustration
  Page 3.
  On board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  Page 28 and 29. On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  Page 30 & 31.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  End Papers.
  On artist's paper

Dream Gold  by Davis S. Unwin. New York: The Viking Press, 1952.

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  Chapter 4

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  131/4 x12 1/4
  Chapter 5.

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  Chapter 8, Bottom.

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  Chapter 9, Bottom .

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  (Man stranded on rocks)

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  (Building in stormy sea)

• Pre-publication b/w lithograph
  (Figure standing on caboose of moving train)

Allison's Girl  by Theodore A. Harper. Signed by author. New York: The Viking Press, 1936

• Pre-publication pencil and ink illustration with black paint lettering for title page
  9" x 10 1/4"
  On board.

• Pre-publication pencil and ink illustrations
  8 - 3" x 3" portraits of the characters for double-page frontispiece
  1 - 3" x 3" illustration of a tree for front hard cover
  On board.

Dinah and Virginia  by Priscilla Hallowell. New York: The Viking Press, 1956

• Pre-publication B/W Lithograph

• Torn Mailing Label from The Viking Press, New York
  Indicates an "Illustration from DINAH AND VIRGINIA"
  [by Priscilla Hallowell]

The Flying Horseshoe  Ranch by Stella Sanders. New York: The Viking Press, 1955

• Pre-publication b/w cells
  pp. 2, 3, 10, 11, 13, 15, 19, 23, 24, 28, 33, 34, 35, 37, 38, 40, 41, 45, 47, 49, 50, 55, 56, 57, 61, 63, 65, 66, 67, 70, 72, 73, 75, 76, 77, 79, 81, 83, 87, 88 and End pages.

The Heir to Christmas  by Patricia Gordon. New York: The Viking Press, 1953

• Two pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Notation of pages 36 & 37

• Torn mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  Pages 36 & 37
  "Original illustrations by Garry MacKenzie for The Heir to Christmas  written by Patricia Gordon"
  "Please return to Elizabeth W. Minot"

• Two pre-publication b/w illustrations
  Pages 38 & 39

• Torn mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  Pages 38 & 39
  "Original illustrations by Garry MacKenzie for The Heir to Christmas  written by Patricia Gordon"
  "Please return to Elizabeth W. Minot"

Mr. Flip Flop  by Helen Garrett. New York: The Viking Press, 1948

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  "6-7", 11" x 15"
  On artist paper.

• Torn mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  Pages 6-7
  "Original illustrations by Garry MacKenzie for MR. FLIP FLOP by Helen Garrett"
  "c/o Elizabeth"

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Page 11, 7 1/4" x 11"
  MR. FLIP FLOP by Helen Garrett
  On artist paper.

• Mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  Page 11
  "Original illustration by Garry MacKenzie for MR. FLIP FLOP by Helen Garrett"
  "Please return to Viking Press c/o Elizabeth W. Minot"

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  26-27, 11" x 15"
  On artist paper on board.

• Mailing label from The Viking Press, Inc New York
  Pages 26 -27
  "Original illustrations by Garry MacKenzie for MR. FLIP FLOP by Helen Garrett"
  "Please return to Viking Press c/o Elizabeth W. Minot"

Old Con and Patrick  by Ruth Sawyer. New York: The Viking Press, 1946

• Four pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  1 [p 19], 2 [p 24], 4 [p 58], 5 [p 68]
  On board.

• Mailing label from The Viking Press. Inc., New York
  P. Top 58-68. Bottom 24-19
  "Original drawing by Cathal O'Toole for OLD CON AND PATRICK  by Ruth Sawyer"
  "Please return to Sybil Jacobsen"

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  6 [p 78]
  On board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  7 [p 138]
  On board.

• Mailing label from The Viking Press. Inc., New York
  P. 78, 138, TITLEpage
  "Original drawing by Cathal O'Toole for OLD CON AND PATRICK by Ruth Sawyer"
  "Please return to Sybil Jacobsen"

Cowboy Charlie, 4-H Champ  by Charles M. Martin. New York: The Viking Press, 1953

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  with attached blue overlay for front dust jacket
  10" x 12"
  On artist board.

• Mailing label from The Viking Press. Inc., New York
  "Jacket"
  "Original illustration by Taylor Oughton for COW BOY CHARLIE, 4-H CHAMP written by Charles M. Martin"
  "Please return to The Viking Press c/o Elizabeth W. Minot"

The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton. New York: The Viking Press, 1945

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  End papers. 12" x 19 1/2"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  10 3/4" x 9"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 3. Page 43.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 6. Page 113.
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 7. Page 137.
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 10.
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 11. Page 234.
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Chapter 12.
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  4 1/4" x 5 3/8"
  On artist's paper

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  Jacket
  "Original drawing by Margaret Platt from The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton."
  "Please return to Sybil Jacobsen the Viking Press

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  "Please return p. 43"
  "Original drawing by Margaret Platt from The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton."

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  "Please return p. 113"
  "Original drawing by Margaret Platt from The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton."

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  "Please return p. 263"
  "Original drawing by Margaret Platt from The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton."

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  End paper
  "Original drawing by Margaret Platt from The Year Without A Summer  by Ethel Parton."
  "Please return to Sybil Jacobsen the Viking Press"

Tisza Tales  by Rosika Schwimmer. Signed by author. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Doran, (1941)

• Pre-publication decorative color painting. Signed by illustrator.
  5 1/2" x 7 1/2"
  page 104. " 'Not bread I am carrying but roses'"
  On artist's paper

• Pre-publication decorative color painting. Signed by illustrator.
  5 1/2" x 7 1/2"
  page 80. "'Angyal Bandi rode away'"
  Artist's paper on board

Toto's Triumph  by Claire Huchet Bishop. New York: The Viking Press, 1957

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Front and Spine Dusk Jacket with pasted lettering of title, author, and illustrator.
  Pink label on back date 10/11/58. Includes publishing instructions.
  On artist's board.

• Pre-publication 3-color painted illustration for
  front dust jacket.
  Typed notation on label: "Original jacket design from TOTO'S TRIUMPH"
  Label on back: The Viking Press, Inc., "original jacket art TOTO'S TRIUMPH please insure ret to Jr. Publicity."
  On artist's board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Includes 2-color separation overlays, one green and one red.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint of symbols
  Attached tissue paper with publishing instructions
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  3 1/2" x 6"
  Chapter 1
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 2"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 3"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 4"
  On artist's paper.

• Two pre-publication pen and ink spot illustrations with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 4" and "Chapter 5"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 5"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 6"
  [illustrator of figure on street]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 6"
  [illustrator of figure in winter street scene]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 7"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 8"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Chapter 9"
  [adult and child standing on sidewalk by a wall]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "End of Chapter 9"
  [Gen D'arme standing near a church]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Epilogue"
  [Two women talking]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Epilogue"
  [Family eating cake]
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Attached tissue paper stating "Tail Piece"
  [Abbé Pierre]
  On artist's paper.

Run Away Home  by Elinor Lyon. New York: The Viking Press, 1953

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint for
  front dust jacket and spine. Includes one color separation overlay in green.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 2
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 3
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 4
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 6
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 7
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 9
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 12
  On artist's paper.

• Torn remnant notation for Chapter 1.
  Illustration missing.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Chapter 12
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  Endpapers
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  5" x 6"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  7" x 7"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration with black paint
  4 3/4" x 5 1/2"
  On artist's paper.
  Water damage.

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press, Inc., New York
  states "unused jacket sketch and page 79.
  "Original illustration by Christine Price for RUN AWAY HOME
  written by Elinor Lyon. "Please return to the Viking Press, c/o Elizabeth W. Minot

Seek the Dark Gold: a story of the Scots fur trader's  by Jo Evalin Lundy. Philadelphia: The John C. Winston Company, (ca. 1950)

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  Full page illustration
  Frontispiece .
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink - 1965 illustration
  Chapter 1.
  On artist's paper.

The Gentling of Jonathan  by Louise S. Rankin. New York: The Viking Press, 1950

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration. Signed.
  Chapter 4
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration. Signed.
  3/4 page with text. "Don't let me hear you bragging to the other kids at the home ... ."
  Chapter 5.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration. Initialed.
  1/2 page illustration
  Chapter 6.
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration. Signed.
  Full page illustration
  On artist's paper.

The Enchanted Schoolhouse  by Ruth Sawyer. New York: The Viking Press, 1956

• Pre-publication matted b/w illustration.
  Full page illustration
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication matted b/w illustration.
  1/2 page illustration
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration.
  Full page illustration
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration.
  1/2 page illustration
  On artist's paper.

• Illustrated Page from the published book
  1/2 page illustration
  Chapter 3.
  On artist's paper.

• Illustrated Page from the published book
  1/4 page illustration
  Chapter 3.
  On artist's paper.

Fog Magic  by Julia L. Sauer. New York: The Viking Press, 1943

• Pre-publication colored mock-up of front cover dust jacket

Mister O'Hara  by Jack Weaver. New York: The Viking Press, 1953. Published as Mr. O'Hara  by Jack Weaver

• 35 pre-publication pen and ink illustrations of varying sizes.
  One example illustration has a steaming bowl of soup labeled "Afganistin" with notation "spelling error ok"
  On artist's paper.

• 11 pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  Each is noted as follows:
  1. Heading Chaper 3 p35
  2. Heading Chapter 4 "The Plunge"
  3. Heading Chapter 5 "Geography and Limericks" p. 69
  4. Heading Chapter 6 "GRAND NATIONAL LIMERICK CONTEST"
  5. Heading Chapter 7 "NONNY AND DIZZY"
  6. Heading Chapter 8 "BUCKINGHAM PALACE"
  7. Heading Chapter 9 "WHO GOT HOW MANY?"
  8. Heading Chapter 10 p. 128
  9. Heading Chapter 11 p. 149
  10. P. 152
  11. Heading Chapter 12 "AFTERWARDS"

• Torn mailing label from Viking Press
  indicates 29 pages of original illustrations for MISTER O'HARA written and illustrated by JA [Jack Weaver]
  "Please return to the Viking Press, c/o Elizabeth W. Minot

• 2 pre-publication pen and ink illustrations
  5" x 7"
  Map showing journey from "RIGAMAROLL" to "BUCKINGHAM PALACE"
  On artist's paper

• Large color separation overlay for seven illustrations

Giving Away  Suzanne by Lois Duncan. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1963

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  On artist's board

Beggars of Dreams  by Mary B. Hollister. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, Inc., 1940

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Page 18 between lines 26 & 27
  On artist's paper.
  Contains possible Dorothy Bryan signature on back.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Beggars of Dreams  by Mary B. Hollister
  Page 55 between lines 14 & 15
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chapter III
  On artist's paper
  Contains possible Dorothy Bryan signature on back.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chapter XVI. Page 171. "Escape was impossible"
  On artist's paper
  Contains possible Dorothy Bryan signature on back.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Chapter I
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Page 21. Line 25. "You've heard of the Mini Fairies haven't you?"
  Artist's paper on board
  Purchased at "Grand Central Artists' Materials, Inc. 55 Vandebilt Avenue, New York, N. Y."

• Pre-publication b/w illustration
  Page 133. Line 16. "They shrank back in their corner against the wall"
  Artist's paper on Board.
  Purchased at "Grand Central Artists' Materials, Inc. 55 Vanderbilt Avenue, New York, N. Y."

Kee-Kee and Company  by Mary B. Hollister. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, Inc., 1938

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration of End Papers
  "14 x 10 1/4"
  Signed by illustrator. "K. Wiese"
  On artist's paper.
  Archival framing 2008.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  P 93.
  Artist's paper on board.
  Contains possible Dorothy Bryan signature on back.

The Magic Firecrackers  by Mitchell Dawson. New York: The Viking Press, 1949.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration of End Papers
  14" x 18 1/2"
  On artist's paper.

• Pre-publication pen, ink and graphite illustration
  of front cover dust jacket and spine.
  12" x15"
  Illustration on artist's board. Includes pasted lettering of titles and author. Includes two illustrated overlays.

• 20 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations in varying sizes.
  On artist's paper.
  1. "Binding Stamp"
  2. "Decoration for the title page"
  3. "A spot for frontis matter"
  4. "A spot for frontis matter"
  5. "Tail piece. P. iii"
  6. "Tail piece. P. 9"
  7. "Tail piece. Page 14"
  8. Page 19. "There were coolies everywhere."
  9. Page 29. They were too busy hauling in bass."
  10. "Tail piece. Page 31"
  11. "Tail piece. Page 56"
  12. "Tail piece. Page 70"
  13. P. 103 "Come on out of there Bulge said"
  14. "Tail piece. P. 116"
  15. "P. 124"
  16. P 147. "They could not get a word out of the coolies."
  17. P 161. "Without cracking a smile they presented arms."
  18. "Tail piece. P. 165"
  19. "Tail piece. P.168"
  20. "Tail piece. 173"

Royal Red  by Jack O'Brien Philadelphia: The John C. Winston Company, 1951.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  13" x 8 1/2"
  "Torn Between Loyalties". Chaper VII. [Page 16].
  Artist's paper on board.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration
  13" x 8 1/2"
  "A Fight For Survival". Chaper XV. [Page 5].
  Artist's paper on board.

Way Down Cellar  by Strong, Philip D. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1942

• 19 Pre-publication pen and ink illustrations in varying sizes with pages containing two or more sketches.
  On artist's paper.
  PP. 1, 5, 29, 32, 43, 50, 59, 81, 83, 85, 88, 91, 101, 107, 115, 134 144, 149.

• Pre-publication pen and ink illustration of End Papers
  10" x 14"
  On artist's paper.

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday