Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Highlighting Selected New Additions to the American Juvenile Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Highlighting Selected New Additions to the American Juvenile Collection -- March 2020

  1. Baruch, Dorothy and Elizabeth Montgomery. Good Times With Our Friends. Illustrated by Eleanor Campbell. Chicago/New York: Scott Foreseman and Company. (c1948). First Edition. (Dick and Jane Series).
  1. Brooks, Walter R. Freddy and the Dragon. Illustrated by Kurt Wiese. New York: Alfred A. Knopf. (c1958). First Edition.
  1. Buckley, Helen E. Grandmother and I. Pictures by Paul Galdone. New York: Lothrop, Lee and Shepard Co., Inc. (c1961). First Edition.
  1. Cheney, Richard E. Really Eager and the Glorious Watermelon Contest. Illustrated by Ib Ohlsson. New York: E. P. Dutton & Co., Inc. (c1970). First Edition.
  1. Coatsworth, Elizabeth. The Big Green Umbrella. Illustrated by Helen Sewell. New York: Grosset & Dunlap. (c1944). First Edition.
  1. Dagliesh, Alice. Relief's Rocker. Pictures by Hildegard Woodward. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1932. First Edition.
  1. DeLeeuw, Adele and Cateau DeLeeuw. The Strange Garden. Illustrated by Meg Wohlberg. Boston: Little Brown and Company. (c1958). First Edition.
  1. Dr. Seuss. Bartholomew and the Oobleck. Written and Illustrated by Dr. Seuss. (Theodor Geisel) New York: Random House. (c1949). First Edition.
  1. Eschmeyer, R. W. (Reuben William). Freddy Fox Squirrel. Oxford, Ohio: Fisherman Press, (c1952). First Edition. (R. W. Eschmeyer was involved in Fish Conservation and Fishing. He was Executive Vice President of The Sports Fishing Institute in Washington, D. C. and served many other fishing/waterway conservation efforts).
  1. Fox, Paula. The Slave Dancer. A Novel. With Illustrations by Eros Keith. Scarsdale, NY: Bradbury Press, (c 1973). First Edition. First Printing.
  1. Hays, Margaret G. Kiddie Land. With Pictures by Grace G. Wiederseim. Racine, Wisconsin: Whitman Publishing Co. nd (Early First Edition Whitman Printing circa 1910 -1927). (First printed by George W. Jakobs & Co/Philadelphia in 1910). (Margaret Hays and Viola Grace Gebbie, who signed as illustrator Grace Wiederseim, were sisters. Grace became famous for her artwork of the Campbell's Soup Kids in the Campbell's Soup advertising campaign.)
  1. Holland, Janice. Pirates, Planters and Patriots. [Illustrated by Janice Holland]. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. 1955. First Edition.
  1. Hürlimann, Bettina. William Tell and His Son. Translated and Adapted from the German by Elizabeth D. Crawford. New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, Inc. (c1965). First Edition. Inscribed by the author “To Helen Painter (?). Zurich July 24 1967.”
  1. Janzi, Jean. Everybody Has Two Eyes. Illustrated by Mariana. New York: Lothrop, Lee and Sheperd Co., Inc. (c1956). First Edition.
  1. Langton, Jane. The Diamond in the Window. With Illustrations by Eric Blegvad. New York/Evanston: Harper & Row Publishers. (c1962). First Edition.
  1. Mackenzie, Fraser. (MacKenzie, Major C. F.) [Husayn Vā'Iz Kāshiffi, added author]. A Jackal in Persia. Illustrated by KOS (Baronesss Dumbrowski). Garden City, NY: Doubleday, Doran & Company, 1928. First Edition.
  1. McKinley, Charles, Jr. Harriett. With Pictures by William Pène Du Bois. New York: The Viking Press, 1946. First Edition.
  1. Montgomery, L. M. (Lucy Maud). Jane of Lantern Hill. With a Frontispiece in Color by Louise Costello. New York: Frederick A. Stokes Company, 1937. First Edition. First Printing.
  1. Moon, Grace and Carl Moon. Lost Indian Magic. A Mystery Story of the Red Man as He Lived Before the White Man Came. New York: Frederick Stokes, 1918. First Edition. First Printing.
  1. Peet, Bill. Jethro and Joel were a Troll. Boston: Houghton, Mifflin Company, 1987. First Edition.
  1. Ray, Deborah K. Fog Drift Morning. Illustrated by Deborah Kogan Ray. New York: Harper & Row. 1983. Review Copy. (Includes Review Copy Slip Insert from Harper).
  1. Rogers, Franke. Tea Kettle and Cottage and the Hurricane. [Illustrated by Franke Rogers]. New York: Lothrop, Lee & Shepard Co., Inc. 1958. First Edition.
  1. Seeger, Elizabeth. The Pageant of Chinese History. Illustrated by Bernard Watkins. London/New York: Longmans, Green and Co., 1935 First Edition.
  1. Treasure Box of Children's Stories. [New York?]: Platt Munk Co. (c1922). First Edition. Scarce.
  1. Waylett, Richard. Jock and Some Others. Illustrated by Cecil Aldin. New York: E. P. Dutton, 1916 (?). Early American Printing.

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday