Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Miscellaneous

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Miscellaneous Personal and Educational Materials - Box 1

Prepared by Jaime Barrett. MSLIS, JD

Folder Items Date Description Location
Folder 1.1
ALA and
ALA/Black Caucus
Materials
c. 1972- 1990 Newsletters, brochures, documents and notes Box 1
Folder 2.1
ALA Conference
1988
1988 Programs, maps, and ephemera Box 1
Folder 3.1
Black Studies
c. 1966-1990 Articles, journals, two song sheets Box 1
Folder 3.2
Black Studies
c. 1970-1990 Melvin Sylvester's typed papers and handwritten notes Box 1
Folder 3.3
Black Studies
Periodicals
1970-1981 Antioch Notes, Time Magazine, Equal Rights Monitor and other periodicals Box 1
Folder 4.1
Career Services
Related Pamphlets
c. 1970-1985 Boces, HEOP, and others Box 1
Folder 5.1
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Miscellaneous book catalogs Box 1
Folder 5.2
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Education related books catalogs Box 1
Folder 5.3
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Catalogs of books about minorities Box 1
Folder 5.4
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Catalogs for various reference indexes Box 1
Folder 5.5
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Catalogs for microfilm Box 1
Folder 5.6
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Catalogs for periodicals about minorities Box 1
Folder 5.7
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Miscellaneous periodical catalogs Box 1
Folder 5.8
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Mixed media catalogs Box 1
Folder 5.9
Catalogs
c. 1965-1990 Catalogs for radical periodicals Box 1
Folder 5.10
Catalogs
c. 1970-1990 Catalogs for services for libraries Box 1
Folder 5.11
Catalogs
1975 Value Line catalogs Box 1
Folder 6.1
Committees
1985 Reports of the Committee on Committees at Long Island University Box 1
Folder 6.2
Committees
1987-1988 Documents and notes on the proposal for Minimum Public Library Standards Box 1
Folder 6.3
Committees
1987-1988 Documents and notes pertaining to Study Groups for LIU's Cooperative Education Plan Box 1
Folder 7.1
Correspondence
1972-1988 Miscellaneous university related memoranda Box 1
Folder 8.1
Education Related
Materials
1939-1975 Miscellaneous monographs on education related topics Box 1
Folder 8.2
Education Related
Materials
1976-1990 Miscellaneous pamphlets and brochures on education related topics Box 1
Folder 8.3
Education Related
Materials
1969-1977 Miscellaneous periodicals on education related topics Box 1
Folder 9.1
Francis R. DePetris
1971 A Guide to the C.W. Post Center Library Periodical Department document and drafts Box 1
Folder 9.2
Francis R. DePetris
1971 Various notes related to DePetris Periodical Department Guide Box 1

Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Miscellaneous Personal and Educational Materials - Box 2

Prepared by Jaime Barrett. MSLIS, JD

Folder Items Date Description Location
Folder 10.1
General Interests
c. 1970-1990   Various documents, pamphlets and brochures pertaining to Professor Sylvester's interests including libraries, politics, and the arts Box 2
Folder 10.2
General Interests
1972-1990 Documents relating to organizations and events in Glen Cove, New York Box 2
Folder 10.3
General Interests
c. 1951-1975 Miscellaneous essays, pamphlets, and monographs on issues including politics, foreign policy, and the environment Box 2
Folder 11.1
Grants
c. 1987-1988 Documents and notes about grant writing Box 2
Folder 12.1
Letters of
Recommendation
c. 1970,
1985-1990
Various letters of recommendation written by Mr. Sylvester Box 2
Folder 13.1
Library
Administration
c. 1964-1992 Various documents related to library administration at LIU and elsewhere Box 2
Folder 13.2
Library
Administration
c. 1962-1980 Various library handbooks, brochures, and documentation Box 2
Folder 13.3
Library
Administration
1965-1992 Library Administration correspondence Box 2
Folder 13.4
Library
Administration
c. 1969-1980 Documents pertaining to the administration of the Periodicals Department at LIU Box 2
Folder 14.1
Library Related
Materials
c. 1970-1990 Miscellaneous documents, pamphlets, and notes on library issues including 1990 Library Legislation Day in Albany, New York Box 2
Folder 14.2
Library Related
Periodicals
1966-1977 Miscellaneous periodicals including materials from the Post Library Association and Drexel Library Quarterly Box 2
Folder 15.1
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Answer sheets for Library Skills Workshop assignments Box 2
Folder 15.2
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Blank Library Skills Workshop assignments Box 2
Folder 15.3
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Blank Library Skills Workshop evaluation forms Box 2
Folder 15.4
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Completed and graded Library Skills Workshop assignments Box 2
Folder 15.5
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Completed Library Skills Workshop evaluations Box 2
Folder 15.6
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Library Skills Workshop handouts Box 2
Folder 15.7
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Various instructor materials including articles and Melvin Sylvester's "Roll Book" from 1987 Box 2
Folder 15.8
Library Workshop
1981-1988 Memoranda and correspondence regarding the Library Workshop Box 2
Folder 15.9
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Melvin Sylvester's handwritten notes and lectures about library skills Box 2
Folder 15.10
Library Workshop
c. 1982-1988 Blank Library Skills Workshop quizzes and exams Box 2
Folder 16.1
LIU Post Library
Pamphlets
c. 1970-1988 LIU Post library pamphlets including maps and guides Box 2
Folder 17.1
Long Island Library Resource Council
c. 1975-1990 Includes membership lists and correspondence from the Long Island Library Resource Council Box 2
Folder 18.1
Melvin Sylvester
c. 1969-1991 Personal papers and correspondence. Includes a personnel summary and paper written by Melvin Sylvester's wife Frances Box 2
Folder 19.1
Nassau Library
System and Library
Trustee Institute
c. 1977-1990 Includes Nassau Library System Bylaws and documents as well as materials regarding the 11th Library Trustee Institute, for which NLS offered grant money for first time attendees Box 2
Folder 20.1
Newsletters
1972-1976 Miscellaneous newsletters including issues the C.W. Post Posthaste and Post Script from 1976 Box 2

Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Miscellaneous Personal and Educational Materials - Boxes 3-5

Prepared by Jaime Barrett. MSLIS, JD

Folder Items Date Description Location
Folder 21.1
Newspapers
1977 ArtWeek Box 3
Folder 21.2
Newspapers
1973-1977 Miscellaneous newspapers covering various issues including workers, literature, and Native Americans Box 3
Folder 21.3
Newspapers
1974, 1988 Two issues of the C.W. Post Pioneer Box 3
Folder 22.1
North American
Serials Interest
Group
1987-1988 Various documents regarding the North American Serials Interest Group including correspondence, and pamphlets Box 3
Folder 23.1
Palmer School
1969-1972 Materials pertaining to the Palmer School of Library Science at Post Box 3
Folder 24.1
Prints and Posters  
c. 1980-1990 Miscellaneous prints and posters belonging to Melvin Sylvester Box 3
Folder 25.1
Religion
c. 1973-1977 Miscellaneous materials pertaining to religions including journals and monographs Box 3
Folder 26.1
Technology
c. 1980-1990 Miscellaneous materials regarding automation in libraries including articles and brochures Box 3
Folder 26.2
Technology
c. 1980-1990 Miscellaneous materials regarding automation in libraries including notes, articles and brochures Box 3
Folder 27.1
Technology
1983-1988 Correspondence regarding technology issues Box 3
Folder 28.1
Technology
c. 1985-1987 Instruction Committee correspondence, regarding the instructional use od technology at the University Box 3
Folder 28.2
Technology
c. 1985-1987 Instruction Committee drafts, regarding the instructional use od technology at the University Box 3
Folder 28.3
Technology
1987 Instruction Committee reports, regarding the instructional use of technology at the University Box 3
Folder 29.1
Technology
1982 Material pertaining to the instructional use of computers Box 3
Folder 30.1
Technology
c. 1970-1980 Melvin Sylvester's writing on the topic of microforms in academic libraries Box 3
Folder 31.1
Technology
1982-1988 Materials pertaining to OCLC and online catalogs Box 3
Folder 32.1
Technology
1972-1988 Pamphlets and brochures regarding library technologies Box 3
Folder 32.2
Technology
c. 1972-1988 Pamphlets and brochures regarding library technologies including equipment manuals Box 3
Folder 33.1
Technology
c. 1982-1986 Lists of technology related periodicals Box 3
Folder 34.1
Technology
c. 1970-1976 Technology related periodicals Box 3
Folder 35.1
United Way
c. 1985-1990 Documents pertaining to the United Way Campaign Committee and other United Way activities of Melvin Sylvester Box 3
Folder 36.1
Warren H. Seid
1970 Various papers regarding Seid's Library Handbook for the Palmer School Box 3
Boxed Periodicals 1948-1980 Box of various periodicals and serials belonging to Melvin Sylvester as well as a Mahalia Jackson recording of Amazing Grace on 33rpm vinyl Box 4
Boxed Handbooks 1981-1987 Various research guides, library handbooks, and library skills workshop manuals as well as an ink stamp kit belonging to Melvin Sylvester Box 5
Poster NA A poster belonging to Melvin Sylvester Loose

Return to the Archive of Melvin Sylvester Homepage

Melvin Sylvester

Melvin Sylvester at a 2005 celebration of Langston Hughes.

Melvin Sylvester at a 2005 celebration of Langston Hughes.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday