Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection - Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan Book Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Biographical Sketch of Dorothy Bryan

Photo of Dorothy Bryan, Children's Editor, Dodd, MeadDorothy Marie Bryan was the head of the Juvenile Department at Dodd, Mead & Company. She was born in Washington, D.C. After graduating from Barnard, she went to Doubleday, Doran where she was an Assistant Juvenile Editor for three years and then Juvenile editor for two years. In 1936, Bryan joined Dodd, Mead and become the head of the Juvenile department at Dodd, Mead.

From 1936-1937, Dorothy Bryan was the director of the Juvenile Program Committee for the New York Times Book Fair. She was in charge of the Juvenile Division of the Cardinal's Literature Committee. All across the United States at schools, library conventions, and much more, she gave many talks about children's books. She lived in Glen Cove on Long Island, New York.

Dorothy Bryan was friendly with two sisters, Saidie and Hazel Scudder who lived in Glen Cove, and later Mill Neck, New York. Upon her death, Dorothy Bryan bequeathed her precious collection of pre-publication artworks and first edition books to Saidie and Hazel Scudder. We are grateful to Saidie and Hazel Scudder for their donation of Dorothy Bryan's unique treasures.

Prepared by Meghan Collins, MSLIS, 2019

Photo of Dorothy Bryan, Children's Editor, Dodd, Mead.
from The First Hundred Years. A History of the House of Dodd, Mead. 1839-1939
New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1939

Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan Book Collection - Holdings List

  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Bobby Wanted a Pony. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1937. First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Si Frankel, illustrator. The Four Puppies Who Wanted a Home. New York: Wonder Books, Inc. (c 1950). First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Friendly Little Jonathan. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company. (c 1939). First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Frisky Finding a Home. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1938. First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Fun with Michael. Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Company, Inc., 1934. First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Johnny Penguin. Garden City: Doubleday, Doran & Company, Inc., 1931. First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Just Tammie. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company. (c 1935, 1936, 1951). First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Michael and Patsy. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1953. (c 1932, 1933). First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. Tammie and That Puppy. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1936. First Edition. unp.
  1. Bryan, Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan. There was Tammie. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1935. First Edition. unp.

Prepared by Meghan Collins, MSLIS, 2019

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday