Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. - Selected Writings & Provenance Information

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Selected Writings: Books/Journals

Psomiades, Harry J. and Alice Scourby, Editors. The Greek American Community in Transition. With a Bibliographic Guide by John G. Zenelis. New York: Pella Publishing Company, 1982. First Edition. Inscribed by the author "To Jean & Alex, With Love & Appreciation. Alice". (Modern Greek Research Series, IV).
(Harry J. Psomiades - Queens College of the City of New York). (Alice Scourby - C. W. Post Center, Long Island University).
 
Scourby, Alice. The Greek Americans. Boston: Twayne Publishers, (c1984). First Edition.
Inscribed by the author "For Alex and Jean. With gratitude and love. Alice". (The Immigrant Heritage of America Series).
(Alice Scourby, Professor of Sociology at C. W. Post Center, Long Island University).
 
Scourby, Alice. "The Interweave of Gender and Ethnicity: The Case of Greek-Americans." The Ethnic Enigma. The Salience of Ethnicity for European-Origin Groups. Edited by Peter Kivisto. Philadelphia: The Balch Institute Press. (c1989).
First Edition.
 
Scourby Alice. "Helen Z. Papanikolas: Gender, Culture and Communications." Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora. Edited by Zeese Papanikolas, New York: Pella Publishing Company, 2003. Volume 29 - 2. (2003). Special Issue. First Edition.
 
Barash, Meyer and Alice Scourby, Editors. Marriage & the Family: A Comparative Analysis of Contemporary Problems. New York: Random House Inc, (c1970). First Edition. First Printing. (Meyer Barash - Hofstra University). (Alice Scourby - C. W. Post College).
 
Scourby, Alice. Third Generation Greek Americans: A Study of Religious Attitudes. New York: Arno Press, 1980. First Edition.
 

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 1: Provenance Information

  • Letter dated August 19, 2016 from archive donor Alex Vavoulis, Ph.D. to Jarron Jewell, Archives and Special Collections, LIU Post Library. Dr. Vavoulis and Dr. Alice Scourby were life-time friends.
  • Biographical Information. "A Celebration of the life of Alice Scourby. February 5, 1925 - October 18, 2009 by Alex Vavoulis.
  • Biographical Information. "Alexander Vavoulis" by Alexander Vavoulis, Ph. D.
  • "Alex Vavoulis". Chemistry Department Newsletter. California State University, Fresno [California]. Spring 1983, Vol. 1, No. 1.
  • "Proclamation" Honor for Alex Vavoulis present by Doug Vagim, Chairman, Fresno County Board of Supervisors.
  • California Legislature Assembly. Resolution. Commendation of Dr. Alex Vavoulis. Members Resolution No. 933. Dated 7th day of May, 1992. Signed by the Honorable Bruce Bronsan, 31st Assembly District and the Honorable Jim Costa. 30th Assembly District.
  • Obituary: "Alice Scourby is Mourned by Greek American Community." Special to The National Herald written by Steve Frangos.
  • Mailing label from Dr. Alex Vavoulis to Jarron Jewell.

Prepared by Abraham Orenstein and Jennifer Campos. August 24, 2016.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday