Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Archives of the WCWP Radio Station

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

WCWP Radio Station Archives

Art Beltrone, the first Director of the WCWP 88.1 FM Radio Station on the LIU Post campus provided the impetus for Archives and Special Collections to initiate this archive in 2011 with his generous donation of the first WCWP radio broadcast on reel-to-reel tape. This single donation represents the importance of donating materials to an archive. New additions to the collection will continue to help increase the body of knowledge in this area and will create a permanent record that is available electronically to the student, researcher and interested person. We are currently expanding this archive in collaboration with Dan Cox, Director of the WCWP. We welcome single and multiple donations!

Finding aid prepared by Cletus Kuunifaa, Doctoral Student at the Palmer School of Library and Information Science, and Invictus Williams, LIU Post, May 16, 2013

Art Beltrone

Art Beltrone. C. W. Post Pioneers. Baseball Captain. Catcher/First Baseman. 1962.
Art Beltrone. C. W. Post Pioneers. Baseball Captain.
Catcher/First Baseman. 1962.		 Art Beltrone (Class of 1963) welcomes NYS Governor Nelson Rockefeller to C. W. Post Campus.
Art Beltrone (Class of 1963) welcomes NYS Governor
Nelson Rockefeller to C. W. Post Campus.

WCWP 88.1 FM Radio Station's Interviews

  • Interviews with John G. Peterkin, Founder of the Cedar Swamp Historical Society: Finding Aid
    Coming soon...

Finding Aid

Item

Quantity    

Title / Description

Location

Cassette Tape 1

 1 Infolink. 9-22-98. Guest Seth Magget. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 2

 1 Infolink. 9-29-98. Guest. Jackie E. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 3

 1 Infolink. 10-6-98. Topic: Egypt. Guest Dr. Robert Brier. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 4

 1 Infolink. 10-20-98. Topic: Poetry. Guest: Tony Curtis. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 5

 1 Peter A. Quinn. "The Famine Irish". 10.23.98 Post Library Association. Box 2

Cassette Tape 6

 1 Infolink. 10-23-98. Topic: Crime & Int. Guests. Dr. F. Mitch K. E.J. Wagner. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 7

 1 Infolink. 11-3-98. Topic: Net. RSRCH. Guests. Elizabeth M. Donna M. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 8

 1 Infolink. 11-3-98. Topic: Black Pop. Guest. David Jasen. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 9

 1 John Logerfo. Nov. 11, 1998 Box 2

Cassette Tape 10

 1 Infolink. 11-17-98 Topic: Oscar Wilde. Guests: Dr. Kelly, Conrad S. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 11

 1 Infolink. 11-17-98. Topic: East Africa Wild. Guest: Mike Fairchild. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 12

 1 Infolink. 12-1-98. Topic: Transp. L.I. Guest: Lisa Tyson. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 13

 1 Infolink. 12-7-98. Topic. Library Science. Guest. Michael G. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 14

 1 Infolink. 12-22-98. Topic: Public Lib. Guest: Heineman + others. WCWP/88.1FM. LIU Radio. Box 2

Cassette Tape 15

 1 Parade of Arts. 11-18-79. WCWP. Radio/88.1 FM Box 2

Program Guide 1

 13 WCWP/88.1 Program Guide. September 20 --- October 3, 1965. "First on your FM dial from C.W. Post College". Box 3

Program Guide 2

 1 WCWP/88.1 Program Guide. October 5 --- October 17, 1965. "First on your FM dial from C.W. Post College". Box 3

Program Guide 3

 1 WCWP. Program Guide. Spring 1968. Box 3

Program Guide 4

 1 WCWP Program Highlights. Box 3

Letter 1

 1 From: Linda Hughes & Gerelad Feldman. Program Directors of WCWP/88.1 FM. To: Faculty Members Subject: Progress Report. Spring 1967. Box 3

Letter 2

 2 Statement By C.W. Post Center President Robert L. Payton. To: Special Student Faculty Committee of Inquiry into the Operations of WCWP. Subject: Regards to employment status of Mr. Steven Post. Box 3

Newspaper Article

 1 "WCWP Welcomes Steven Krinsky New Manager" Revue. Wednesday September 13, 1995. Page 3A. Box 3

Inter-Campus Memo 1

 2 From: The Special Student Faculty Committee of Inquiry into the Operations of WCWP. To: The University Community. Subject: The Operations and Authority of the Committee. December 2, 1970 Box 3

Inter-Campus Memo 2

 2 From: [Professor] Julien Mates. To: C.W. Post Community. Subject: WCWP Radio Station Concerns. December 1, 1970. Box 3

Inter-Campus Memo 3

 1 From: Special Student Faculty Committee of Inquiry into the Operations of WCWP. To: The University Community. Subject: Progress Report. Circa. December 9, 1970. Box 3

Inter-Campus Memo 4

 1 From: Dr. Coston. To: All Station Staff and Interest Parties. Subject: WCWP FM Progress Report. March 1964. Box 3

Inter-Campus Memo 5

 1 From: Babara Fowles, Chair Communication Arts Department. To: The C.W. Post Community. Subject: Campus Involvement with WCWP. April 25, 1994. Box 3

Envelope Packet

 1 WCWP Information Packet. 9-13-76. Box 3

Folder

 1 WCWP Radio Station Articles: Original Broadcast. Oct. 18, 1961 + WPPB 88.3 FM and WCWP 88.1 FM (88.3 Peronic Public Broadcasting) Box 3

Box 1

 1 WCWP Radio Station. Enclosed With Original Broadcast of 10-18-61 on Magnetic Recording Tape [1200 ft.]. Original Broadcast On CD (WCWP Dedication Program 10-18-61). Art & Lee Beltrone Business Card. Box 1

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday