Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: News

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Highlighting New Websites

Spring 2020
Archive of LIU Post - Mixed Media  -  Added contents of Box 13  -  3.15.20
 
Highlighting Selected New Additions to the American Juvenile Collection  -  3.12.20
 
Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection  -  Added one new title to the Highlighting Selected Books page  -  3.4.20
 
Archive of LIU Post - Mixed Media  -  Added contents of Box 12A  -  2.27.20
 
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  2.25.20
 
Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers  -  Added a list of items from the third donation  -  2.3.20
 
Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection  -  Added four new titles to the Highlighting Selected Books page  -  1.23.20
 
Winter 2020
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  1.12.20
 
Franklin B. Lord Fishing and Hunting Collection  -  Added an image by and biography of Sherman Foote Denton  -  1.8.20
 

2019 New Websites

Fall 2019
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  12.9.19
 
Assorted C. W. Post Buttons  -  Image  -  11.5.19
 
Archive of the Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection  -  Box 1 + image  -  11.4.19
 
Archive of the Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection  -  Box 2 + cartoon  -  10.28.19
 
Dorothy and Marguerite Bryan Book Collection  -  Part of the Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection  -  10.22.19
 
Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers  -  Added more images  -  9.23.19
 
Summer 2019
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  8.27.19
 
Archive of Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection (CSHSC)  -  8.13.19
 
Berta and Elmer Hader Books Housed within the American Juvenile Collection  -  Added a new title to the bibliography  -  8.6.19
 
Archive of Jude and John Lubrano: Sheet Music Circa 1820-1920  -  Added more images  -  7.30.19
 
Archive of Jude and John Lubrano: Sheet Music Circa 1820-1920  -  6.26.19
 
Spring 2019
Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers  -  5.13.19
 
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  5.6.19
 
Berta and Elmer Hader Books Housed within the American Juvenile Collection  -  Added images from the collection  -  3.4.19
 
Berta and Elmer Hader Books Housed within the American Juvenile Collection  -  2.13.19
 
Winter 2019
Archive of Artist Ray Johnson: A Bad Archive  -  1.21.19
 
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  1.9.19
 

2018 New Websites

Fall 2018
American Juvenile Collection  - In Celebration of Clement C. Moore's "Night Before Christmas". Selections from Clement C. Moore titles housed in the American Juvenile Collection.  -  12.10.18
 
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  12.9.18
 
Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection  -  Added cover images from items in the collection  -  12.5.18
 
American Juvenile Collection  -  Added a description of the Archive of Gallup Youth Views  -  11.19.18
 
William Randolph Hearst Art Archives  -  Added links to this collection in the Artstor database  -  11.7.18
 
Saidie Scudder Pre-publication Artworks and Book Collection  -  Revised list of highlighted authors  -  11.5.18
 
Archives of the WCWP Radio Station  -  Added images of Art Beltrone  -  11.4.18
 
William F. Rozea's First Home Run Baseball Hit at LIU Post  -  10.29.18
 
Summer 2018
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  8.31.18
 
Archive of Joan and John Digby - Highlighting Selected Private Press Publications  -  Added images of new donations to the collection  -  8.27.18
 
American Juvenile Collection  -  Added a description of the Norwood Elementary School Book Doctors Archive  -  7.31.18
 
Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.  -  Added 17 images  -  6.6.18
 
Spring 2018
Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection  -  Collection facts at a glance  -  5.10.18
 
Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.  -  5.10.18
 
Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection  -  Added an item to the "18th-19th Century Original Land Based Documents Finding Aid"  -  5.10.18
 
Original Movie Poster Research Collection  -  Posters currently on display  -  5.9.18
 
Archive of LIU Post - Mixed Media  -  4.25.18
 
American Juvenile Collection  -  Books currently in the display case  -  4.4.18
‣  Special Selections from the Reference Collection of the American Juvenile Collection
 
Clifford Nickels Carver Collection of Rare Books by John Milton - 4.2.18
 
In addition to the holdings list on the Archives and Special Collections webpage, the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection is now in the library catalogue - 2.22.18
 
Andrew Ippolito recently donated Almanacs to the Constance and Andrew Ippolito Collection (Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection) which can be found on the Ippolito page, and these materials are currently being put into the library catalogue - 2.21.18
 
Updated Archive of Harvey Wolf Kushner, Ph.D. website  -  1.11.18
 
American Juvenile Collection: Highlighting Mother Goose  -  1.11.18
 
American Juvenile Collection  -  Description added for Mother Goose Sub-Collection. Images from this collection also can be found on the LIU Digital Commons webpage  -  1.11.18
 

2017 New Websites

Fall 2017
Archive of LIU Post’s PDK (Phi Delta Kappa) Chapter 1524  -  12.5.17
 
Archive of Milislav Demerec, Ph.D.  -  Album comprised primarily of condolence letters sent at the time of Milislav Demerec’s death. The album was owned by wife, Mary Demerec  -  11.29.17
 
Archive of Original Children's Letters to Juvenile Author Ellen Conford added  -  10.23.17
 
2 Photos of Lorber Hall (Hutton House) added to the W. E. Hutton II/Joan Chapin Families Archive website  -  10.10.17
 
Beat Collection of Karl Otto Patel  -  9.28.17
 
Andrew and Constance Ippolito Biography  -  9.6.17
 

Highlighting Classes

Fall 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019, 5:00-6:00
Professor Donna Rosenblum will visit Archives and Special Collections with her Palmer School Graduate Students attending 735 Storytelling and Folk Literature. The class will tour the department and have the opportunity to focus on the American Juvenile Collection (AJC). Selections from the AJC’s rare materials, including many inscribed rare books and pre-publication artworks from the Archive of Saidie Scudder will be on view.
 
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Professor Shareen Rashid and her class EDI14 - Philosophical, Historical and Sociological Foundations of Education - visited Archives and Special Collections to view rare books written by and about selected 19th Century Abolitionists in the United States. The class toured the department and viewed the Book of Kells, a beautiful exact facsimile illuminated manuscript. The original Book of Kells is on display at Trinity College, Dublin.
 
Spring 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Archives and Special Collections will host Professor Marge Hallissy and her Irish Literary Renaissance class from 5:00-7:00 p.m. Selections of rare materials from the Winthrop Palmer Irish Literature Collection will be on display for the students' viewing pleasure and discussion!
 
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Professor Paul Kim and his Music History Class returned to Archives and Special Collections. Selections of original movie posters from the Original Movie Poster Research Collection were displayed while Professor Kim discussed each movie using video highlights.
 

2018 Classes

Fall 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Archives and Special Collections held an event for the Norwood Elementary School "Book Doctors", a library class of 10 nine year olds who want to learn all about the book and how to repair one. For more information, see the LIU press release and the FIOS television coverage.
 
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Professor Fernando Pena, Director of the Rare Book Program, Palmer School/LIU Manhattan Campus, will visit LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections with his Rare Book and Special Collections class on Tuesday, October 16, 2018 at 7p. We will be discussing Collection Development.
 
Summer 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Rare book binder Paul Belard presents a class at the Summer Honors Institute
Archives and Special Collections presented renowned rare book binder Paul Belard as part of the Summer Honors Institute for high school students. More information at: LIU Post's Summer Honors Institute Brings the Campus Alive in July.  
Spring 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Archives and Special Collections hosted Professor Paul Kim and his Music History Class. Selections from the Original Movie Poster Research Collection were displayed while Professor Kim presented highlights from each movie represented.
 
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Professor Manouvrier visited Archives and Special Collections with her class "Literacy Assessment and Instruction for Diverse Populations...." The class viewed materials from many different collections including the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection, the American Juvenile Collection, the Winthrop Palmer Irish Literature Collection, and various examples of first and limited edition Shakepeare publications.
 

Highlighting Selected Events

Spring 2020
Lobby Exhibit
African Americans and the Vote: Book Selections from the American Juvenile Collection:
Bloomers & Ballots. Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Women's Rights  -  Not Separate, Not Equal  -  The Black Experience in Children's Literature  -  Fair Play  -  Claudette Colvin. Twice Toward Justice -  2.13.20
 
Upstairs Exhibit
The Sussex Spaniels Champion Rosehill Rock and Rosehill Rag by Bridford Bibelot from the book, The New Book of the Dog
Book selections from the Franklin B. Lord Hunting and Fishing Collection:
The New Book of the Dog by Robert Leighton (1907).  -  Meditations on Hunting by Jose Ortega y Gasset (1942).  -  A Handy Book of the Game and Fishery Laws by George C. Oke (1863). -  2.11.20
 
Winter 2020
Upstairs Exhibit
Selected Plates from Fish and Game of the State of New York. Seventh Report. Forest, Fish and Game Commission. In Portfolio. [1902]. featuring 100 color plates by Sherman Foote Denton, courtesy of the Franklin B. Lord Hunting and Fishing Collection  -  1.8.20
 

2019 Selected Events

Fall 2019
Lobby Exhibit
Archives and Special Collections has several of its rare materials from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection and the Original Movie Poster Research Collection, 1949-1962 on display in the Library Lobby in collaboration with the Instructional Media Center's exhibition "100 Years of Grand Canyon National Park" (11/19/19-2/17/20). Come visit the spectacular Grand Canyon history!  -  11.19.19
 
Post Pioneer Article
In the October 19th issue (p. 6), the college newspaper published an article entitled, Rare Artifacts Housed in Library’s Special Collections  -  10.22.19
 
Upstairs Exhibit: Highlighting Selected Archives from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection  -  To accompany the LIU Post Theodore Roosevelt Institute's Centenary Conference (Oct 27-30)  -  10.16.19
 
Spring 2019
Lobby Exhibit: Selections from the Shodell Science and Medical Rare Book Collection
In 2013, LIU Post Retired Biology Professor Michael Shodell Began to Gift His Personal Science and Medical Rare Book Collection to Archives and Special Collections. Over the next four years, Michael Shodell visited Special Collections several times bearing more priceless rare books. The Shodell Collection currently contains more than 80 rare books that offer us insight into the world of medicine in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries.

Researchers viewing this collection in the Special Collections Reading Room have the opportunity to delight in exploring the scientific theories and medical practices established and followed by men of science before the dawn of modern medicine.

Special Collections would like to give special thanks to Professor Manju Prasad-Rao, Head of the Library’s Instructional Media Center for her collaboration in our complimentary exhibitions. The IMC exhibition, "Belief, Remedies and Medical Advances" is on the display wall for all to enjoy.  -  5.2.19
 
Upstairs Exhibit: Highlights from the Karl Otto Patel Beat Generation Collection
The Karl Otto Paetel Beat Generation Collection was donated to LIU by Mrs. Karl Paetel in 1975. The materials in this collection belonged to Karl Otto Paetel, a German Jewish émigré who arrived in the United States in 1940 after a perilous journey fleeing Germany and the Nazis during World War II. Mr. Paetel was a political journalist noted for his radical writings pre- and post-World War II. This collection contains many important works produced by Beat Generation authors such as William S. Burroughs, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Alan Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Philip Lamantia and many more writing in the 1940s-1960s. Collection Time Period: 1946-1969 / Scope and Content: 54 Books, 26 Periodical Titles with Many Issues / Miscellaneous: 3 Catalogues and 1 Poster  -  5.2.19
 
Winter 2019
Presenting Artworks from the Archive of Artist Ray Johnson: A Bad Archive - Donor Joan Harrison
Ray Johnson and A Book about Death
In 2010, recently retired LIU Post Art Professor, Joan Harrison, curated the ABAD exhibition at LIU Post in the SAL Gallery. The exhibition was a tribute to artist Ray Johnson and his artwork A Book About Death. In 2011, Joan generously donated all the 2010 ABAD exhibition materials, art postcards, several artworks and archives to LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections.

Two years later, Matthew Rose,longtime friend and collaborator of artist Ray Johnson, donated additional boxes containing 1,000 related art gallery invitations and catalogues from the original ABAD exhibition he curated in 2009. Matthew Rose's ABAD exhibition took place at the Emily Harvey Gallery in New York City. Soon after Rose's first exhibition on Ray Johnson's A Book About Death, spontaneous ABAD exhibitions began to occur all over the world! These artistic happenings are on-going.

A 10th Anniversary tribute exhibit of ABAD, curated by LuAnn T. Palazzo, will be held at the Islip Art Museum in East Islip, NY from September 14 - November 2, 2019.

All are welcome to research the collection!  -  1.15.19
 

2018 Selected Events

Fall 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
LIU Headlines news article: First Home Run Ball Is a Big Hit at LIU Post’s Archives and Special Collections.
 
Friday, October 26, 2018
Alumni Willliam F. Rozea donates first home run baseball hit at LIU Post in 1957.
 
Friday, October 12, 2018
On Friday, October 12, 2018 at 12:00p, Jarron Jewell, Acting Director of LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections, will visit LIU’s WCWP radio station to talk with program host Art Beltrone. Art was one of WCWP’s first student radio disc-jockeys. He is returning to help the Post Campus Community celebrate its 2018 Homecoming!
 
Summer 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
An interesting article: Women Scribes: The Technologists of the Middle Ages by Dr. Robert Davis.
 
Spring 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018.
Recently, Post's Archives and Special Collections was contacted by a Research Associate in Ancient Near Eastern Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art to help determine provenance on a dead-sea-scroll-jar antiquity. Read the Museum's blog.
 

2016 Selected Events

Summer 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016.
AIIM/ARMA Long Island Chapter paid a scheduled site visit to LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections. After their meeting in the Archive, these archivists, records managers and information professionals toured the Library with the Head of the Reference Department.
 
Monday, June 27, 2016.
The Official Blog of the Newsletter of the Fellowship of American Bibliophilic Societies (FABS). - Long Island Book Collectors Annual Luncheon.
http://fabsclubnews. blogspot. com/ 2016/ 06/ long- island- book- collectors.html
 
Spring 2016
Saturday April 2 - Sunday April 3, 2016.
LIABDA Book Fair at the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, in affiliation with LIU and LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections.
 
Friday, March 4, 2016.
Special Collections Presents at English Professor Marge Hallissey's "Book Talk Group" - "Hutton House Lecture Series". Lorber Hall.
 
March 3 - March 31, 2016.
Archives and Special Collections exhibits its Shakespeare's First Folio Facsimile in LIU's Celebration of Shakespeare's Birthday and the 400th Year Commemoration of Shakespeare's Death.
 
February 9 - February 28, 2016.
Archives and Special Collections Presents "Highlighting Theodore Roosevelt: Selections from the Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection". Location: The Hutchins Gallery. B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library.
 

2015 Selected Events

Fall 2015
November 12, 2015.
Visit from "The Book Doctors", a group of library students interested in book repair from the Norward Avenue Elementary School, Northport, NY. Paul Belard, Long Island's renowned book repairer/binder and teacher to the "Book Doctors", and Norwood Avenue School Librarian Linda Dickman were in attendance!
 
Saturday, October 31 and Sunday, November 1, 2015.
LIABDA Book Fair at the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, in affiliation with LIU and LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections.
 

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday