Archives and Special Collections: Archives of William E. Hutton II / Joan King Chapin Families - Home

William Edward Hutton and Joan King Chapin were married October 15, 1938, in Grosse Pointe, Michigan

Benefactors: The Archives of W. E. Hutton II/Joan King Chapin Families was sold at auction and were acquired from a Rare Book Seller by Archives and Special Collections in January, 2009. Special Collections is grateful for assistance from Provost Paul Forestell and Dr. Don Ungarelli, former Dean of University Libraries, for acquisition of this priceless archive.

Collection Time Period: Early 20th Century - 1998

Abstract: The LIU Post Campus of Long Island University has a special relationship with William E. Hutton II and his family. William E. Hutton II was the grandson of financier William E. Hutton and cousin of Marjorie Merriweather Post's second husband, E. F. Hutton. William E. Hutton II married Joan King Chapin in 1938. Joan Chapin was the daughter of Hudson car magnate Roy D. and his wife Inez Chapin of Michigan. William and Joan Hutton lived on a 26 acre estate adjacent to the LIU Post Campus of Long Island University from 1945-1965 at which time LIU purchased their estate. Special Collections is delighted to make this archive accessible for general and research interests.

Scope and Content: All of the items in the archives are original and range from the early 20th Century - 1998. They are divided into the following series:         700 Personal family correspondences 350 Family and Miscellaneous Photographs 30+ Business papers   90 Miscellaneous documents 100+ Family business mementos/ephemera Several Newspaper clippings

Location: Archives and Special Collections Reading Room

Repository: Archives and Special Collections. B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, LIU Post Campus / Long Island University, Brookville, NY 11548

User Restrictions: The Collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment.

A recent photo of Lorber Hall - formerly called Hutton House - which was owned the William E. and Joan Hutton from 1945-1965.
The house has experienced several updates since 1965. See the Hutton House Lectures for historic photos.

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 1

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 2

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 3

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 4

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 5

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 6

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 7

• Undated W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 8

• Undated W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Correspondence - Box Binder 8 A

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Miscellaneous Documents - Box Binder 9

• W.E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents / Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents / Correspondence and Other Documents Related to "Jockeys..." Painting - Box Binder 10

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Photographs - Box Binder 11

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Photographs - Box Binder 12

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Photographs - Box Binder 13

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Photographs - Box Binder 14

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 1

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 2

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 3

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 4

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 5

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 6

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 7

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 8

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera - Box 9

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Miscellaneous Business Papers - Box 10

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Photographs - Box 11

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items - Box 12

• W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Newspaper Clippings - Box 13

 
Note: Rare Bookseller's Invoice for W. E. Hutton Family Archive is in Box Binder 1

Jarron Jewell - Archivist
Renee Hochberg, Jeremy Lauber, Marie Drucker - Graduate Interns
Karen Klein - Graduate Independent Study

A recent photo of Lorber Hall - formerly called Hutton House - which was owned the William E. and Joan Hutton from 1945-1965.
The house has experienced several updates since 1965. See the Hutton House Lectures for historic photos.

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday