Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. - Email, Faculty Minutes, Articles

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 2: Email Correspondence

  • Email Correspondence between retired Professor Alex Vavoulis and Jarron Jewell, Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post . Library. July 10, 2015 - August 11, 2016.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 3: Faculty Minutes

Original Typed Minutes for Sociology Departmental Meetings:

  • Departmental Meeting. Sociology. November 18, 1964. 2 Copies.
  • Departmental Meeting. Sociology. December 11, 1964. 2 Copies.
  • Departmental Meeting. Sociology. March 29, 1965. 2 Copies.
  • Departmental Meeting. Sociology. November 10, 1966.
  • Departmental Meeting. Sociology. April 1, 1968.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 4: Alice Scourby Articles

Includes one Book Review by Nicholas Tavuchis

Alice Scourby's Curriculum Vitae which references her publications, book reviews, and presentations. (4 Pages).
 
Scourby, Alice. "The Orthodox Church and Intra-Christian Marriages." The Greek Orthodox Theological Review. Vol 40, Nos. 3-4, 1995.
 
Scourby, Alice. "Helen Z. Papanikolas: Gender, Culture, and Communications". Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora. nd.
 
Scourby, Alice. "The Greek Americans". The Hellenic Journal. February 7, 1985.
 
Scourby, Alice. "Greek Orthodoxy". Encyclopedia of New England Culture. October 1997.
 
Scourby, Alice. "Ethnicity at the Crossroads: The Case of Greek America". Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora. Volume 20.1 - 1994.
 
Scourby, Alice. "Greeks". Encyclopedia of New England Culture 1997. nd.
 
Scourby, Alice. "Gender Roles and Family Transactions". 1985. np
 
Scourby, Alice. "Book Reviews". Journal of the Hellenic Diaspora. Volume 23.1 - 1997. 135-139.
 
Scourby, Alice. Review of Holy Mothers of Orthodoxy by Eva Catafygiotu Topping. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Light and Life Publishing Co., 1987. np. nd.
 
Tavuchis, Nicholas. Review of Greek Americans by Alice Scourby. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1984. Book Reviews. Contemporary Sociology. Volume 14, Number 2. March 1985.
 

Prepared by Abraham Orenstein and Jennifer Campos. August 24, 2016.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday