"The Sussex Spaniels Champion Rosehill Rock and Rosehill Rag" by Bridford Bibelot from the book, The New Book of the Dog.
Franklin B. Lord, a lawyer, was born circa 1911 and died on February, 5, 1971 at the age of 59. He was an avid fisherman and had an active interest in the training of hunting dogs. Graduating from the University of Virginia Law School, he joined his family's law firm of Lord, Day and Lord in 1936. He was in the United States Navy from 1942 to 1945, and was discharged as a lieutenant commander. Returning to his law firm, Mr. Lord eventually retired in 1963. He was a trustee of Long Island University from 1955 to 1966. Franklin B. Lord's bequest is a sports collection almost completely dedicated to fishing and hunting.
Holdings list compiled by Merlyn Portillo
Franklin B. Lord, Jr.
|Collection Time Period:|
Late 17th Century to Mid-20th Century
This is a comprehensive collection of 700 books, catalogues and periodicals, mostly about fishing and hunting.
|Scope and Content:|
700 books, catalogues and periodicals
Special Collections Main Room
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post / Long Island University,
Brookville, NY 11548
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis.
The State of New York Fisheries, Game and Forest Commission hired Sherman Foote Denton to illustrate their annual reports from 1895-1907. Denton painted more than 100 hundred wildlife watercolors for the Commission. Through his artistry and with a focus on coloration, his wildlife creatures come alive on the page. These illustrations are memorialized in vivid chromolighograph format with these publications. His artistic accomplishments set the bar for all future wildlife artists, most notably in the area of fish recreations. He sought to capture the true color of live fish scales before they fade when dry. Admired for more than 100 years, these specific detailed artworks document a range of species of North American fish, birds, moose, deer, and bear. Today, Rare Print Sellers often sell these original Denton prints individually. Thanks to the Franklin B. Lord Family's bequest to LIU of the Franklin B. Lord Hunting and Fishing Collection, we are fortunate to house all 100 of these original prints produced by the New York State Fisheries, Game and Forest Commission of 1902. They are available in Archives and Special Collections for viewing and research purposes.
Sherman Denton had an unconventional childhood. From an early age, he traveled extensively, including a trip with his brothers to the Western United States and later with his geologist father on an expedition to Australia, New Zealand and New Guinea. A naturalist, geologist and artist in training, he sketched and brought back many wildlife specimens. He grew to become the leading maker of fish models for collectors and museums such as the Smithsonian, the Field Museum in Chicago and the Agassiz Museum at Harvard. Beyond his accomplishments as a naturalist, geologist, traveler and artist, he was a collector. Among his many collecting interests, he reportedly owned a significant gem collection and the largest fresh water pearl collection in the United States.
Sherman was born in Dayton, Ohio to William and Elizabeth Foote Denton. His family, who were avid naturalists, moved to Wellesley, Massachusetts when he was a boy in the 1860s. Sherman Foote Denton's entire archive is housed at the Wellesley Historical Society in Wellesley, Massachusetts.
Book Selections from The Franklin B. Lord Hunting and Fishing Collection Upstairs Hallway
Leighton, Robert. The New Book of the Dog : A Comprehensive Natural History of British Dogs and Their Foreign Relatives, With Chapters on Law, Breeding, Kennel Management, and Veterinary Treatment. Illustrated with Twenty-One Coloured Plates and Numerous Photographic Portraits of Famous Dogs. (Assisted by Eminent Authorities on the Various Breeds). London/Paris/New York: Cassell and Company Limited. Volume 1. Special Edition. nd .
Ortega y Gasset, Jose. Meditations on Hunting. Translated by Howard B. Westcott. Introduction by Paul Shepard. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons. (c1972 - Scribner’s First Edition). Ortega’s book was originally published in Lisbon in 1942.
Oke, George C. A Handy Book of the Game and Fishery Laws : Containing the Whole Law As To Game, Licences and Certificates, Poaching Prevention, Trespass, Rabbits, Deer, Dogs, Birds and Poisoned Grain, Throughout the United Kingdom and Private Salmon Fisheries in England; … London: Butterworths, 1863. Second Edition.
African Americans and the Vote: Book Selections from the American Juvenile Collection
Clarke, Mary Stetson. Bloomers & Ballots. Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Women's Rights. New York: The Viking Press, 1972. p 117
"Mr. [Frederick] Douglas, what do you consider the one most important need of your people in order to gain complete equality?"
For a moment the man was silent. Then he turned to her, his eyes blazing. "Mrs. Stanton, the answer to that is simple. The ballot is key to power. Before they can take their rightful place in the United States, Negroes must have the right to vote."
Wilkinson, Brenda. Not Separate, Not Equal. New York: Harper & Row Publishers. (c1987). First Edition.
Malene Freeman is one of the first six students in Pineridge, Georgia to integrate into the white high school In 1965, Malene Freeman is caught in the angry crossfire of a Georgia town faced with school integration. Malene becomes an early symbol of this controversial civil rights cause.
Discovering the Bill of Rights through Juvenile Fiction.
Simplified, The Tenth Amendment of the United States Constitution is the section of the Bill of Rights that basically says that any power that is not given to the federal government is given to the people or the states.
The Black Experience in Children's Literature. Selected by the New York Public Library, Black Experience in Children's Books Committee. [New York]: The New York Public Library. (c 1989 - New Edition). (c1979 - Original Publication).
Studying Civil Rights through Juvenile Literature
"The cover of this new  edition is by Marc Brown from Joan Chase Bowden's Why the Ties Ebb and Flow, a title which is an accurate reflection of the period covered by this year's list."
"...The decline of the ethnic presence in books published for children seems at this point to have been stemmed: while there is no flood, the ebb, at least has ceased...."
Leaf, Munro. Fair Play. Philadelphia/New York: J. B. Lippincott Company. (c1939). First Edition. pp. 45-56.
On the Importance of Voting
Hoose, Philip. Claudette Colvin. Twice Toward Justice. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux. (c2009).
Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday