Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Collections Facts at a Glance - Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection

Benefactor:
In 2012, Howard P. Gordon, an early graduate of LIU Post's Palmer School of Library and Information Science, donated his collection of 1,200 books and archives which focus on the history of opera and musical theatre. Howard's world revolved around the opera and theatre, making his career serving as a librarian in New York City a great compliment to his passion!
 
Collection Time Period:
20th century
 
Abstract:
The Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection contains books and a variety of items collected by Howard P. Gordon throughout his lifetime. This collection includes a board game, similar to Monopoly, which Howard was working on until the time of his death in 2018.
 
Scope and Content:
  • 1,200 Books, Libretti, Opera and Theatre Programs, Pamphlets
  • Archival Collection
  • Unfinished Board Game Invented by Howard Gordon
Repository/Location:
Archives and Special Collections. Room #345 and 346. Second Floor.
LIU Post Library - B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, LIU Post. LIU.
 
User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. The Howard Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University and resides with the creators of the materials contained in the collection or their heirs. For information on reproductions for academic publishing or commercial use, please call or email Archives and Special Collections. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Appointments are welcomed and encouraged! 516-299-3407. Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu
 
May 9, 2018

Search the Collection - Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection

Archive of Jude and John Lubrano: Sheet Music Circa 1820-1920

Part of the Howard P. Gordon History of Opera and Musical Theatre Collection, the Archive of Jude and John Lubrano: Sheet Music Circa 1820-1920 consists of more than 2,000 rare music sheets composed and produced in Europe between 1820-1920. This generous donation was gifted to Archives and Special Collections in 2018 by renowned rare music sellers Jude and John Lubrano.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday