Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers

Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers
Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers

Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers -- Collection Facts at a Glance

Benefactors:
In 2018, Mr. Brian Withers donated selected art archives created by his father George Withers who was a WWII Army Air Force artist/illustrator. After the war, George worked as a successful illustrator for many prominent New York magazines, book and music publishers. Brian Withers also donated two biographies he authored about his father's wartime experiences. These books are illustrated using some of this father's original WWII artworks and wartime letters.
 
Collection Time Period:
20th century
 
Abstract:
Artist/Illustrator George Withers illustrated planes for the U. S. Army Air Forces in New York City before he entered the European war front in WWII. When the war ended, he returned to New York and led a prolific, fascinating life working in the worlds of illustration, advertising, magazine, book and music publishing. George Withers cartoons, illustrations and artworks further expand the scope and enrich the content of the Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection where this special art archive is now housed.
 
Scope and Content:
Please see the holdings list below.
 
Location:
Special Collections Main Reading Room
 
Repository:
Archives and Special Collections. / B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library. / LIU Post. / Brookville, NY 11548
 
User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Appointments are necessary for researchers. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment. 516/299-2880.
 
Rights
The Art Archive of Artist/Illustrator George Withers is a collection that is housed under the auspices of the Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection, owned by Long Island University in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University and resides with the creators of materials contained in the collection or their heirs. For information on reproductions for academic publishing or commercial use, please contact Archives and Special Collections at 516-299-2880.
 

Holdings List: -- Initial Donation

Color Prints:

1 Café Belle Rive and Street Scene in Paris by George Withers. Color Print. 6/178. 16"l x 11"h
 
1 "Both Parties Concerned" by J. D. Salinger. Saturday Evening Post. Illustrated by George Withers. February 26, 1944. Color Printed Article. 11"l x 13"h
 

Prints on Poster Paper:

1 "The Dashing Commuter" by George Withers. 28"l x 12"h. (c2006 by Brian Withers)
 
1 "A Letter Across the Atlantic" by George Withers. August 30, 1944. 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "GI's Letter Home"by George Withers. September 3, 1944. 12"l x 18"h
 
1 "Romance and Love in the Movies Every Week", 1954 by George Withers. 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "Walt Whitman Birthplace West Hills, New York" by George Withers. nd 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "Parisian Watercolor Studies" by George Withers. Summer, 1945. 18"l x 12"h (c2006 by Brian Withers)
 
1 "VE Day" May 8, 1945. Jardin des Tuileries, Paris by George Withers. 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "Liberated Paris" in the Summer of 1945 by George Withers. 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "Chantier Inderdit au Public", (Public not Allowed), France 1944 by George Withers. 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "Paintings and Drawings by George Withers, World War II, England, Scotland and France, 1944-1945" by George Withers. (Cambridge, South Hampton, Omaha Beach, Edinburgh, Kilrenny, Ben Nevis ... 18"l x 12"h
 
1 "GIs and Friends, Parisian Nightclub, Summer 1945" by George Withers. 18""l x 12"h
 

Assorted 8 1/2" x 11" B/W Illustrations and Documents

1 Typed Page of Biographical Information about George Withers. 8 1/2" x 11" 1 Penned, illustrated letter written during WWII. (Soldier talking on phone). Print Reproduction. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 Typed Document: "War Department. Army Air Forces. Notification of Personnel Action. Training AIDA Division, AAF. Park Avenue & 32nd Street, N.Y., N.Y. TO: George K. Withers. Training AIDA Division, AAF. War Service Appointment, Indefinite - Reg. V, June 30, 1943. Position: Assoc. Educational Specialist. Signed by Maurice H. Shorago, Captain, Air Corps" b/w Copy. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 "7 things you should do to keep prices down!" The Saturday Evening Post. September 4, 1943. b/w Vignette Illustrations by George Withers. Print Copy. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 "When You Hear the Alert" Typed page of instructions on how to take shelter in a bomb blast. With 2 Black and White illustrations by George Withers. np nd Reproduction 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 "At Guadalcanal the use of sizable enemy task forces would have isolated US Marines, prolonged war many months". b/w Illustration of soldiers at Guadalcanal by George Withers. Reproduction 8 1/2" x 11"
 

Assorted 8 1/2" x 11" Color Illustrations

1 "Problems of Peace". Army Talks. Vol. IV No 6 19 June 1948. Cover page with color illustrations by George Withers of Woodrow Wilson, Stalin, Winston Churchill, Charles De Gaulle and Chiang Kai-shek. Reproduction. 8 1/2" x 11".
 
1 "Nine Sure Ways to Stay Healthy in Combat". "Obey orders of Officers and NCO's. You'll be part of a team which will be only as good as the teamwork". Color Illustration by George Withers. Reproduction. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 "Military Government in Action". Army Talks. Vol. IV. No 24. 28 October 1945. Color Cover of Magazine with Portrait of Dwight D. Eisenhower. Illustration of Eisenhower by George Withers. Color copy. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 "Jenita of the Maquis". Partial typed column of paragraphs with color illustration of "Jenita". Illustration by George Withers. Color Copy. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 Penned personal letter with color illustration of George Withers at his drawing board smoking his new pipe. Character is dressed in army uniform. Color Copy. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 Humorous color illustration of mother in hospital bed surrounded by 10 babies with note "Brian and I hope that you are well and that every thing came out all right. We wish we could be there to see you Dad". Illustrated by George Withers. Color Reproduction. 8 1/2" x 11"
 
1 Watercolor of water scene with boats, mountains, a valley and birds by George Withers. Reproduction. 8 1/2" x 11"
 

Edited by Jesse Jewell. May 8, 2019

Holdings List -- Second Donation -- August 21, 2018

Withers, Brian. Bringing Up Grandpa. With Illustrations and Letters by War Artist George Withers. np (c2014 by Brian Withers). First Edition. Limited Edition. Inscribed by the author "August 21, 2018 For Jarron and Heather, Best wishes for all that you do! Kind thoughts Brian". (The Drawings and paintings in this book were created in England and France by war artist George Withers (WWII). Gift of Brian Withers. August 21, 2018.
 
1 "Three Day Pass" by Frank Bunce. Illustrated by George Withers. New York: The Saturday Evening Post. April 8, 1944. (p 12-13, 68). (Original magazine).
 
1 Copy of Photograph of George Withers and Model for Saturday Evening Post Story "Three Day Pass" by Frank Bunce. April, 8, 1944. 8 1/2"l x 11h"
 
1 Original Color Print of one hand holding a beer (?) bottle and the other hand holding a glass suspended above the bottle in mid-air. Artwork by George Withers. nd 15"l x 13"h
 
1 Original pen and ink drawing of young woman and man at bus stop in Paris by George Withers. nd 7"l x 9"h
 
1 Original pencil sketch of Beautiful Woman in fur coat leaning again street lamppost by George Withers. nd 8 1/2"l x 11h"
 
1 Original Watercolor of Golfer Watching the Golf Ball by George Withers. nd 11 1/2"l x 15"h
 
1 "Scientist With A Cure" by George Withers. Redbook (Magazine) Illustration - Original Color Mock Up. Early 1950's. 18"l x 9"h
 
1 "Woman in the Woods" by George Withers. Original Photograph of George Withers' illustration on matte board. 7"l x 8"h
 
1 "Duck Hunting Watercolors" by George Withers. Original Watercolor illustrated for Field & Stream (Magazine). Text by Robert Ruark. Includes George Wither's Stamp - Bottom Right. Circa Early 1950's. Actual Stamp Date September 1951. 15"l x 10 1/4"h.
 
1 "Dancing Couple" by George Withers. Original Watercolor Illustration. 1940 - 1950. 11"l x 14"h
 
1 "Children At Play" by George Withers. Original Watercolor. Early 1950's. 15"l x 16"h
 
1 "Sailor and His Gal" by George Withers. Redbook [Magazine] Illustration. Original Watercolor. ca 1948 - 1951. 10"l x 10"h
 
1 "Outside Philadelphia" by George Withers. Original Watercolor. ca 1934 - 1941. 21"l x 15"h
 
12 Original Black and White Photographs of George Withers posing for set-ups for different advertisements he would subsequently illustrate. 4"l x 5"h
  • George Withers Posing for "Coffee Article" illustration for Holiday Magazine. 2 b/w photographs with 2 different poses. 4"l x 5"h
  • George Withers Posing for Holiday Magazine illustration.. 2 b/w photographs: one with George Withers seated singing and one of him standing on a bench with a hammer. 4"l x 5"h
  • George Withers Posing for Royal Typewriter Company for upcoming illustrations for ad campaign. 1940's. 4 b/w photographs. 4"l x 5"h
  • George Withers Posing for American Legion Magazine. 1950's. 4 b/w Photographs. 1 with model. 4"l x 5"h
1 Seated Man with Striped Collegiate Sweater by George Withers. nd Watercolor (b/w). Framed. 14"l x 22"h
 
1 Happy Beagle. Watercolor by George Withers. nd 9 1/2"l x 12"h
 
1 George Withers Illustration for Field & Stream [Magazine]. September, 1951. 22"l x 15 1/2"h
 

Edited by Jesse Jewell. May 8, 2019

Holdings List -- Third Donation -- November 21, 2019

Army Talks Magazine

1. Copy of a Typed Signed Thank You Letter from President Dwight D. Eisenhower to Mr. George K. Withers. January 29, 1946. Heading on letterhead reads, "War Department, Chief of Staff, Washington." 8½" x 11" [President Eisenhower sends a personal thank you to George Withers for his Illustration of Eisenhower on the Cover of Army Talks Magazine].
 
2. "Military Government in Action." Army Talks. VOL IV. No 24. Copy of front cover with Vignette of President Dwight D. Eisenhower. Eisenhower illustration by George Withers. Paris, October 28, 1945. 8½" x 11"
 

WWII Battlefront Illustrations

1. "Spadework for Victory." Army Talks. VOL IV. No 10. Copy of front cover. Pen-and-Ink Illustration by George Withers for the Cover of Army Talks Magazine. July 17, 1945. (Four Soldiers at the Battlefront in WWII).
 
2. Illustration of a "WWII Battle Scene of Soldiers Fighting Near a Trench" by George Withers. Black-and-White Copy. Tempera(?). nd 8½" x 11"
 
3. Original Storyboard with Three Illustrations. "Stages of Pen-and-Ink Illustrations" by George Withers. 1950s? 20" x 7½"
 

Bellevue Hospital Series

1. Copy of a Watercolor Illustration "Nurse and Patients at Bellevue Hospital" by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
2. Copy of a Watercolor Illustration "Patients at Bellevue Hospital" by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
3. Copy of Pen-and-Ink Drawing of "Dr. Sharp and three patients playing cards." Illustration by George Withers. Bellevue Hospital. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
4. Copy of Pen-and-Ink Drawing of "Four Patients at Bellevue Hospital Gathered by their Bedsides." Illustration by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
5. Copy of Pen-and-Ink Drawing of "Lone Patient at Bellevue Hospital." Illustration by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
6. Copy of Pen-and-Tempera Drawing of "Patient Lying on a Cot at Bellevue Hospital." Illustration by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
7. Copy of Pen-and-Tempera Drawing of "Man Sitting and Men Standing at Different Angles" at Bellevue Hospital. Illustration by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
8. Copy of Pencil Sketch of "Male Patient with Mouth Open at Bellevue Hospital." Illustration by George Withers. 1946. 8½" x 11"
 
9. Copy of Pencil Drawing "Sketches of Figures" at Bellevue Hospital by George Withers. Manhattan, 1946. 8½" x 11"
 

1940-1950s Illustrations

1. "George Withers" Black and White Photograph Portrait by Harold Kreger. The 1950s. (Copy) 8½" x 11"
 
2. Cities Service Magazine Article, "Big Time Behemoth," illustrated by George Withers. Text by Breton Braley. 1954. Color print. (Copy) 8½" x 11"
 
3. "Psychologist's Casebook. Can You Diagnose this Case? No.10(?)." Red Book Magazine. Cartoon Illustrations by George Withers. Text by Dr. John R. Martin. 1950. (Black and White Copy) 8½" x 11"
 
4. The Saturday Evening Post Article, "7 Things You Should Do to Keep Prices Down!" Cartoon Illustrations by George Withers. September 4, 1943. Copy. 8½" x 11"
 
5. "RCA Victor Television Advisement." Illustrated by George Withers. Eyewitness Television. Early 1950s. Advisement reads, "Look how much you give with RCA Victor." Black-and-White Copy. 8½" x 11"
 
6. "Couple with Birdcage." Illustration by George Withers. Redbook Magazine. 1945. Black-and-White Copy. 8½" x 11"
 
7. "Guy and Gal in the Snow" Illustration by George Withers. Redbook Magazine. 1947. Black-and-White Copy. 8½" x 11"
 
8. Original Watercolor of "Waterfront in Philadelphia," by George Withers. 1930s ('33-'40s). 19½" x 13½"
 
9. Original Watercolor. "Holly." Holiday Magazine. Illustrated by George Withers. Early 1950s. Watercolor on Tracing paper. 11" x 13½"
 
10. Original Charcoal and White Paint Drawing. "Signature Dance Figures." Illustrated by George Withers. 1950s. Signed by the artist. Pasted on Brown Construction Paper. 13" x 16½"
 
11. "Edward Hedge Under the Weather." Illustrated by George Withers. (pre-George's WWII Service) 1940s. Original pencil, pen, and ink drawing on illustration board. 15" x 17" (Edward Hedge, who was a ballet dancer and later window dresser in Mid-Town Manhattan, was a longtime friend of George Withers).
 
12. Original Color Pastel. "Boy... it's hot!" Advisement for Air Conditioning. Illustrated by George Withers. 1950s. 11" x 14¾" (George's Agent was Dick Morrill, West 37 Street, NYC).
 
13. Original Color Pastel. Sample Advisement for Dole Pineapple. Illustrated by George Withers. 1950s. 14½" x 12¾"
 
14. Original Watercolor. Nine Sample Illustrations at Phil Rahl's Studio. Illustrated by George Withers. (Pre-George's WWII Service). Early 1940s. Signed. 20" x 13"
 

Prepared January 29, 2020 by Meghan Collins, MSLIS, 2020
Preservation Housing by Andrew Serken. History B.A., Philosophy B.A., 2021
(See Box One)

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday

From the Collection

George Withers  Model for The Saturday Evening Post Story, Three-Day Pass by Frank Bunce, April 8, 1944

Children at Play Early 1950s

Untitled ( Pouring Drink in Glass)

George Withers posing as a safari supply carrier for Colliers

Withers Brian. Bringing Up Grandpa. np. nd. Limited Edition (First Ed.) c. 2014

Three-Day Pass, The Saturday Evening Post, Page 13, April 8, 1944

Dancing Couple, Watercolor, 1940s to 1950s

Scientist With a Cure, Redbook Illustration Mock Up, Early 1950s

Photograph of George Withers' Illustration, Woman in the Woods

Withers Brian. George Withers Returns to England. np. (self-published) c. 2015. First Edition