Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection - Highlighting Books Published with Illustrations from the Original Pre-Publication Artworks in the Saidie Scudder Archival Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection

The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection
The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection
The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection
The Saidie Scudder Archival and Book Collection

Highlighting Books Published with Illustrations from the Original Pre-Publication Artworks in the Saidie Scudder Archival Collection

Aspen, Don. Mike of Company D. With Drawings by Paul Brown. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1939. First Edition.
 
Bishop, Claire Huchet. Toto's Triumph. Claude Ponsot, illustrator. New York: The Viking Press, (c 1957). First Edition.
 
Brink, Carol R. Family Sabbatical. New York: The Viking Press. (c1956). First Edition.
 
Chambers, Robert W. Forest-Land. Emily Benson Knipe, illustrator. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1905. (c 1905). First edition. Inscribed: "Hazel Scudder, From Uncle Tom & Aunt Saidie, Christmas ---."
 
Colver, Alice R. Adventure in the West. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1941, First Edition.
 
Cooper, Page. Amigo Circus Horse. Henry Pitz, illustrator. Cleveland, [OH] and New York: The World Publishing Company, (c 1955). First edition.
 
Dawson, Mitchell. The Magic Firecrackers. Kurt Wiese, illustrator. New York: The Viking Press, 1949. (c 1949).
 
Downey, Fairfax. War Horse. Illustrated by Paul Brown. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1944. First Edition.
 
Duncan, Lois. Giving Away Suzanne. Leonard Weisgard, illustrator. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, (c 1963). First edition.
 
Freeman, Don. Beady Bear. Story and Pictures by Don Freeman. New York: The Viking Press, (c 1954). First Edition.
 
Gaggin, E. R. All Those Buckles. Mildred Clote, illustrator. New York: The Viking Press, 1945. First Edition.
 
Garrett, Helen. Mr. Flip Flop. Illustrated Garry MacKenzie,. New York: The Viking Press, 1948. First Edition.
 
Gordon, Patricia. The Heir to Christmas. Garry MacKenzie, illustrator. New York: The Viking Press, 1953. (c 1953).
 
Hallowell, Priscilla C. Dinah and Virginia. Illustrated by Paul Lantz. New York: The Viking Press, (c 1956). First Edition.
 
Harper, Theodore Acland (1871-1942). Allison's Girl. New York: The Viking Press, 1936. First Edition. Signed by the author on the fly leaf.
 
Hollister, Mary Brewster. Kee-Kee and Company: A Story of American Children in China. Kurt Wiese, illustrator. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1938. (c 1938). First edition. (2 Copies).
 
Ivens, Dorothy. Bozy and All the Children. New York: The Viking Press, (c 1957). First Edition. (Story and Pictures by Dorothy Ivens).
 
Lundy, Jo Evalin. Seek the Dark Gold: A Story of the Scots Fur Traders. Illustrated by Edward Shenton. Philadelphia, [PA] and Toronto: The John C. Winston Company, (c 1951). First edition. (The Land of the Free Series).
 
Martin, Charles M. Cowboy Charley, 4-H Champ. Illustrated by Taylor Oughton. New York: The Viking Press, 1953. First Edition.
 
O'Brien, Jack. Royal Red. Illustrated by Kurt Wiese, illustrator. Philadelphia, [PA] and Toronto: The John C. Winston Company, (c 1951). First edition.
 
Parton, Ethel. The Year Without a Summer. A Story of 1816. With Illustrations by Margaret Platt. New York: The Viking Press, 1945. First Edition.
 
Puttcamp, Rita. Borrowed Boots. Illustrated by Clifford N. Geary. New York: The Viking Press, 1956. First Edition.
 
Rankin, Louise. The Gentling of Jonathan. Illustrated by Lee Townsend. New York: The Viking Press, 1950. First Edition.
 
Saintsbury, Dana. The Squirrel That Remembered. New York: Written and Illustrated by Dana Saintsbury. The Viking Press, 1951. First Edition.
 
Sanders, Stella. Flying Horseshoe Ranch. Illustrated by Barbara Latham. New York: The Viking Press, 1955. First Edition.
 
Sawyer, Ruth. Old Con and Patrick. Illustrated by Cathal O'Toole. New York: The Junior Literary Guild and The Viking Press, 1946. First Edition. (Mrs. Franklin D. Roosevelt was one of the members on the Editorial Board of the Junior Literary Guild whose members chose this book as a Junior Literary Guild selection).
 
Stong, Phil. Way Down Cellar. Story by Phil Strong. Pictures by Kurt Wiese. New York: Dodd, Mead and Company, 1942. First Edition.
 
Weaver, Jack. Mr. O'Hara. Written and Illustrated by Jack Weaver. New York: The Viking Press, 1953. First Edition.
 

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday

Covers from the Collection

All Those Buckles by E.R. Gaggin
 

Borrowed Boots by Rita Puttcamp
 

Dinah and Virginia by Priscilla Hallowell
 

Forest-Land by Robert W. Chambers
 

The Heir to Christmas by Patricia Gordon
 

Mr. Flip Flop by Helen Garrett
 

Old Con and Patrick by Ruth Sawyer
 

Seek the Dark Gold by Jo Evalin Lundy
 

Way Down Cellar by Phil Strong
 

Amigo Circus Horse by Page Cooper
 

Cowboy Charley 4-H Champ by Charles M. Martin
 

Family Sabbatical by Carol Ryrie Brink
 

Giving Away Suzanne by Lois Duncan
 

The Magic Firecrackers by Mitchell Dawson
 

Mr. O'Hara by Jack Weaver
 

Royal Red: Colt of the Royal Mounted by Jack O'Brien
 

Toto's Triumph by Claire Hutchet Bishop