Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life - Home

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life

The Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life consists of items generously donated to LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections in 2014 by Mrs. Sarane Hickox Ross in association with Mrs. Katrina Hickox Matheson Becker. Mrs. Ross and Mrs. Becker are the daughters of Charles V. Hickox whose property, along with the former estates of Marjorie Merriweather Post and W. E. Hutton (Lorber Hall), comprise the grounds of C. W. Post College. Mrs. Becker was President of the C. W. Post 10th Annual Horse Show in 1966. Mrs. Becker served alongside Mrs. Kathleen Merrill, the 10th Annual Horse Show Chairperson, and gave Mrs. Merrill credit as being the "primary force behind the show."

From 1956 to the late sixties, C. W. Post College was one of the three most prominent horse shows sites on Long Island. Contained within the Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life are photographs, press clippings, and other miscellaneous materials that provide a glimpse into how these shows looked, who participated, and how they played a significant role in both Long Island and equestrian history. Besides Hickox and his daughters, other notable people featured in the archive include R. Gordon Hoxie, former C. W. Post Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences and C. W. Post Chancellor from 1964-1968 as well as Edward Francis Cavanagh, Jr., New York City Fire Commissioner from 1954-1961.

Also included in the archive are promotional materials for the LIU Post Equestrian Team. Dr. Joan Digby, LIU Post Professor of English, donated the pamphlet "A Carrot for Your Thoughts," that features writing and art from the Horses in Literature course that was produced as a benefit for the LIU Post Equestrian Team.

Of special note, Mrs. Sarane Hickox Ross also donated many first edition juvenile literature books about horses to the American Juvenile Literature Collection housed in LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections.

Collection Facts at a Glance

Benefactors:
In 2014, the Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life was donated by Sarane Hickox Ross and her sister, Mrs. Katrina Hickox Matheson Becker. Mrs. Ross and Mrs. Becker are the daughters of Charles V. Hickox whose property, along with the former estates of Marjorie Merriweather Post and W. E. Hutton (Lorber Hall), comprise the grounds of C. W. Post College. Mrs. Becker was President of the C. W. Post 10th Annual Horse Show in 1966, and Mrs. Becker was an accomplished equestrian.
 
Collection Time Period:
20th and 21th Century
 
Abstract:
This expanding collection currently contains archives donated by Mrs. Sarane Hickox Ross and Mrs. Katrina Hickox Matheson Becker, promotional materials for the LIU Post Equestrian Team, and a special pamphlet donated by Dr. Joan Digby, LIU Post Professor of English, that features writing and art from a Horses in Literature course that was produced as a benefit for the LIU Post Equestrian Team. Donations are welcomed!
 
Scope and Content:
Currently 1.5 Cubic Feet. This is a growing collection.
87 Photographs
14 Press Clippings
 		 6 C.W. Post Horse Show Tabulated Results
6 Thank You Notes/ Correspondence
3 Pamphlets		 3 Items - Promotional Materials
2 Invitations
Location:
Special Collections Main Reading Room
 
Repository:
Archives and Special Collections. B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library. LIU Post. Brookville, NY 11548
 
User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Appointments are necessary for researchers. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment. 516/299-2880.

Images

Horse Shows & Equestrian Life

Peter Vanderhoef atop horse jumping fence.

Mr. Peter Vanderhoef on "Governor" in the Working Hunter, Amateur Owner, Appointments Class, which he won. CWPHS. [1966?]. (Digital Commons @ LIU)

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday