Library Guides: Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Milislav Demerec, Ph.D.

Archive of Milislav Demerec, Ph.D.

Milislav Demerec in his laboratory in Zagreb, Yugoslavia

Milislav Demeric in front of Blackford Hall, Carnegie Institution

Milislav Demerec at Cornell in Ithaca, NY

Milislav Demerec at Woods Hole, MA

Archive of Milislav Demerec, Ph.D. -- Collection Facts at a Glance

Benefactors: The Archive of Milislav Demerec is a photo album originally owned by Demerec's, wife Mary Demerec.	Scope and Content: 1 Photograph Album [Boxbinder]
Collection Time Period: 20th Century	Location: Special Collections Main Reading Room
Abstract: This archive contains condolence correspondence from the time of Milislav Demerec's death.	Repository: Archives and Special Collections. B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library. LIU Post. Brookville, NY 11548
User Restrictions: The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Appointments are necessary for researchers. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment. Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu - 516/299-2880.

Biography of Milislav Demerec

Milislav Demerec, a Croatian-American geneticist, was born January 11, 1895. He attended the College of Agriculture in Krizevci [Croatia] and graduated in 1916. Demerec completed his Ph.D at Cornell University in 1923. From 1936-1941 he served as Director of the Department of Genetics at the Carnegie Institution of Washington (CIW), privately founded in 1902 by Andrew Carnegie.

On June 11, 1904, the CIW's Station for Experimental Evolution (SEE) formally opened in Cold Spring Harbor, New York. The SEE's mandate was to study heredity and evolution through breeding experiments with plants and animals. Demerec's main contribution to science was in organism genetics. He expanded his research to the genetics of the Delephinium plant and the fruit fly Drosophila virus to investigate mosaicism. Milislav's Drosophila research was his primary legacy. In 1934 he launched a newsletter with Calvin Bridges called Drosophila Information Service.

Demerec was the founding editor of the Advances in Genetics. He was appointed to many scientific panels including the Biological Effects of Atomic Radiation Committee under the National Academy of Sciences. In 1941, Demerec served as the Director of the Genetics Department at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Another one of Milislav's important accomplishments was being appointed President of the American Society of Genetics. Milislav held these positions until he retired in 1960. After he retired, he spent his time working in the Brookhaven National Laboratory and as a professor at Long Island University. After a long distinguished career, Milislav died on April 12, 1966.

Archive of Milislav Demerec: Correspondence

This Photograph Album was Originally Owned by Mary Demerc, Wife of Milislav Demerec

Location: Archival Photograph Album. Boxbinder 1

#	Date	Description
1	April 19, 1996	Condolence Letter to Mary Demerc from Gabriel Gasic , Ph.D., School of Medicine, Department of Pathology, University of Pennsylvania
2	nd	Condolence Letter to Mrs. Demerec from Division of Biologic Sciences, Cornell University from Adam Sal_ _(?)
3	May 1, 1936	Letter to Milislav Demerec, Ph.D. from Dr. Ivan Franges to announcement the award of "Officer's Cross of the Royal Order of St. Sava from the Royal Yugoslav Legation" to Milislav Demerec, Ph.D.
4	April 15, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from McGill University, from Richard B_ _?, Department of Genetics.
5	April 16, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Prof. Teodor Varicak, Secretary of the Department of Natural Sciences. Member of the Yugoslav Academy.
6	April 18, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Alexander Hollaender, from the Biology Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.
7	April 20, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Tadashi Miyake, Keio University, Department of Molecular Biology.
8	April 20, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from the department of genetics of University of California.
9	April 30, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Takashi Yura, Institute for virus research, Kyoto University
10	May 31, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from W.K Baker, Chairman of the Zoology Department from the University of Chicago.
11	June 24, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Ralph Riley of the Genetical Society
12	July 5, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Derek A. Smith, Department of Genetics, University of Birmingham.
13	August 9, 1966	Thank you letter to Mrs. Demerec from James B. Walton, Assistant Librarian of The Milton S. Eisenhower Library, The Johns Hopkins University.
14	April 17, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from ??
15	August 16, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Whitfield J. Bell, Librarian of the American Philosophical Society.
16	April 15, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Arnold W. Ravin, Professor of Biology, The University of Rochester; College of Arts & Science.
17	April 16, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Jean & Vernon.
18	April 21, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from John Scandalics
19	April 8, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Walter H. Page.
20	May 9, 1966	Resolution letter to Mrs. Demerec from John B. Philips the Secretary - Treasurer, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Of Quantitative Biology.
21	April 15, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from George W. Corner, Executive Officer of the American Philosophical Society.
22	April 20, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Haruo Ozeki, National Institute of Health.
23	April 14, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Miroslav Kreacic, Consul General of The Socialist Federal Republic Of Yugoslavia
24	April 15, 1966	Condolence letter to Mrs. Demerec from Maurice Goldhaber, Director of Brookhaven National Laboratory.