Archives and Special Collections: Original Movie Poster Research Collection, 1940-1962 - Home

This collection is a vivid and instructive series of images: lithograph movie posters that promote more than 6,000 movie titles produced mostly from 1940 to 1962. Some 4,000 posters, covering the years 1950-1962 were donated by Frederick Adler in 1972. Mr. Adler added approximately 1,000 more titles, concentrating on the early 1950's, in 1974. Philip Sills donated about 1,600 posters in 1974 that reflected the decade of the1940's.

Besides the obvious appeal to film students, these original movie posters should interest other academic disciplines. Art majors will be stimulated by the varying graphic design approaches of these examples of movie poster art. Business students will appreciate the marketing effectiveness (or lack thereof) of the differing ways to advertise movies. Many movies of this time period reflect the history of World War II and the Cold War. These film images are of value not only to students of history but also to the social researcher for their shifts in mores and culture.

Rights: The Original Movie Poster Research Collection is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University. Copyright resides with the creators of materials contained in the collection or their heirs. The Library requests that users contact the Studio where each individual movie was created for permission to reproduce images from its poster database. LIU also requests that its patron use the following Courtesy Line in any instances of digital reproduction: "Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post Library. Long Island University."

Heather Hesse, The Movie Listings
Jarron Jewell, Finding Aid

Benefactors: The Movie Poster Research Collection is comprised of 6,000+ movie posters given to Special Collections in two separate donations by Frederick Adler in 1972 and 1974, and Philip Sills in 1972.
Time Period: 1940-1962
Abstract: The Movie Poster Collection contains more than 6,000 original movie posters dating from 1940-1962. Scope includes posters in two sizes: 24" x 28" and 36" x 14".
Quantity: 6,000+
Location: Archives and Special Collections Main Room
Repository: Archives and Special Collections / B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library / LIU Post Campus / Long Island University / Brookville, NY 11548 / (516) 299-2880 / heather.hesse@liu.edu
Scope and Content: 6,000+ original movie posters dating from 1940-1962 in two sizes: 24" x 28" and 36" x 14".
User Restrictions: The collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment.
Rights: The Original Movie Poster Research Collection is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University. Copyright resides with the creators of materials contained in the collection or their heirs. The Library requests that users contact the Studio where each individual movie was created for permission to reproduce images from its poster database. LIU also requests that its patron use the following Courtesy Line in any instances of digital reproduction: "Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post Library. Long Island University."

🍀  Leave It to the Irish  🍀 Main Hallway, Upper Level Captain Boycott (1947) directed by Frank Launder; starring Stewart Granger, Kathleen Ryan, Cecil Parker, Mervyn Johns, Alastair Sim, Noel Purcell, Niall MacGinnis, Maureen Delaney, Eddie Byrne, Liam Gaffney, Liam Redmond, Edward Lexy, Robert Donat, Bernadette O'Farrell, Harry Webster. "In this fact-based story, Irish tenant farmers protest the harsh conditions imposed on them by the aristocracy by refusing to speak to, work for, or sell to the local abusive landlord until he no choice but to leave - thus giving the language a new word." Crooked River (1950) directed by Thomas Carr; starring James Ellison, Russell Hayden, Raymond Hatton, Fuzzy Knight, Julie Adams, Tom Tyler, George J. Lewis, John L. Cason, Stanley Price, Stephen Carr, Dennis Moore, George Chesebro, Bud Osborne, Jimmy Martin. "Jimmy "Shamrock" Ellison and Russell "Lucky" Hayden were known as the "Irish Cowboys" and first rode to sagebrush fame as the sidekicks to Hopalong Cassidy. Here, they go up against the Gentry gang to thwart a robbery, avenge a past murder, and save a town." His Majesty O'Keefe (1954) directed by Byron Haskin and Burt Lancaster; starring Burt Lancaster, Joan Rice, André Morell, Abraham Sofaer, Archie Savage, Benson Fong, Tessa Prendergast, Lloyd Berrell, Charles Horvath, Philip Ahn, Guy Doleman, Grant Taylor, Alexander Archdale, Harvey Adams. "After being cast ashore on a Pacific island by a mutinous crew, an Irish-American sea captain has adventures in paradise trying to become an entrepreneur in Micronesia in this (slightly) fact-based tale." Leave It to the Irish (1944) directed by William Beaudine; starring James Dunn, Wanda McKay, Jack La Rue, Dick Purcell, Arthur Loft, Barbara Woodell, Vince Barnett, Joseph DeVillard, Olaf Hytten, Eddie Allen, Dick Scott, Ted Stanhope. "A private investigator, Terry Moran, who is in love with the daughter of a police detective, is hired by Mrs. Hamilton to solve the murder of her husband, a fur dealer. Moran is beaten up by the henchmen of Maletti - owner of the Black Swan Club and a dealer in stolen goods - and ordered to quit the case. Later, they search Hamilton's warehouse after they find a bill of sale for a large quantity of liquor and discover that stolen furs have been substituted for the liquor. Forcing his way into Maletti's office, Moran discovers Maletti dead, and he is hit over the head. He awakens to find the police accusing him of the murder." Links and film information courtesy of the Internet Movie Database.

• Movie Posters Listed by Genre

• In addition to the small images below, Additional Movie Poster Images may be viewed at Digital Commons @ LIU

Rights: The Original Movie Poster Research Collection is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University. Copyright resides with the creators of materials contained in the collection or their heirs. The Library requests that users contact the Studio where each individual movie was created for permission to reproduce images from its poster database. LIU also requests that its patron use the following Courtesy Line in any instances of digital reproduction: "Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post Library. Long Island University."

Rights: The Original Movie Poster Research Collection is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University. Copyright resides with the creators of materials contained in the collection or their heirs. The Library requests that users contact the Studio where each individual movie was created for permission to reproduce images from its poster database. LIU also requests that its patron use the following Courtesy Line in any instances of digital reproduction: "Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post Library. Long Island University."