Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.

Collection Facts at a Glance - Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.

Benefactors:
Beginning in 2015, renown Egyptologist Bob Brier, Ph.D. generously donated several boxes of his personal archives to LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections. As of 2017, the LIU Post Archive houses twenty boxes of Bob Brier's archival treasures. For 33 years, Dr. Brier taught Philosophy and Egyptology on the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University before he was appointed Senior Research Fellow in 2004. Students and colleagues alike, lovingly refer to Bob Brier as Mr. Mummy.
 
Collection Time Period:
20th and 21th Century
 
Abstract:
This expanding collection currently contains personal archives that represent the breadth and depth of Bob Brier's professional accomplishments.
 
Scope and Content:
This is a growing collection. Currently 20 linear feet.
  Original and Draft Presentations
Press Clippings, LIU Press Releases
Ephemera
Manuscript Materials
Correspondence, Emails
Mixed Media
Books by Bob Brier, Signed
Newspaper and Magazine Articles,
Photographs, Slides
 
Location:
Main Reading Room. Archives and Special Collections. B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library. LIU Post. Brookville, NY 11548. Second Floor, Rooms #345-346.
 
User Restrictions
The Collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. The Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D. is owned by Long Island University and housed in Archives and Special Collections in the Library at LIU Post. The copyright for these materials has not been transferred to Long Island University and resides with the creators of the materials contained in the collection or their heirs. For information on reproductions for academic publishing or commercial use, please call or email Archives and Special Collections. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Appointments are welcomed and encouraged! 516-299-3407. Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Biography - Bob Brier, Ph.D. - Renowned LIU Post Senior Research Fellow and Egyptologist

For 33 years, Dr. Brier taught Philosophy and Egyptology on the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University and became a Senior Research Fellow in 2004. He earned his bachelor's degree from Hunter College of the City University of New York and his Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dr. Bob Brier is one of the world's foremost experts on mummies. As Senior Research Fellow at the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University in Brookville, New York, he conducts pioneering research in mummification practices and has investigated some of the world's most famous mummies, including King Tut, Vladimir Lenin, Ramses the Great, Eva Peron (Evita), Marquise Tai (Chinese noblewoman), and the Medici family of Renaissance Italy.

Affectionately known as Mr. Mummy, Dr. Brier was the first person in 2,000 years to mummify a human cadaver using the exact techniques of the ancient Egyptians. In 1996, his research and subsequent book, The Murder of Tutankhamen, presented his theory that King Tut, the boy king, was murdered in 1336 B.C. by his Vizier named Aye.

He conducted research in pyramids and tombs in 15 countries and was the host of several award-winning television specials for TLC, including the blockbuster series "Pyramids, Mummies & Tombs" and "Mummy Detective." In 2010, National Geographic TV presented his documentary called "Secret of the Great Pyramid" discussing a new theory of how the Great Pyramid of Giza was built.

He is the author of several scholarly and popular books, including The Daily Life of The Ancient Egyptians, The Murder of Tutankhamen, Egyptian Mummies: Unraveling the Secrets of an Ancient Art, Ancient Egyptian Magic, Encyclopedia of Mummies, and Secret of the Great Pyramid with Jean-Pierre Houdin, and Egyptomania: Our Three Thousand Year Obsession with the Land of the Pharaohs. His most recent book is Cleopatra's Needles: The Lost Obelisks of Egypt.

CNN, 60 Minutes, The New York Times, and Archaeology Magazine are some of the many venues that feature Dr. Brier's research. The March 1, 2011 issue of the New York Times ran a feature article about his extensive collection of Egyptomania that fills three apartments. This collection formed the basis of a major exhibition, "Egyptomania," at Long Island University's Hillwood Art Museum in 1992.

4.12.18

Selected Images - Archive of Bob Brier, Ph.D.

About Bob Brier from TLC's The Great Egyptians.
About Bob Brier from TLC's The Great Egyptians.

About Bob Brier from The Murder of Tutankhamen: A True Story (G.P. Putnam's Sons).
About Bob Brier from The Murder of Tutankhamen: A True Story (G.P. Putnam's Sons).

Who Killed King Tut article
Brier, Bob. "Who killed King Tut?" Times Higher Education Supplement, no. 1327: 14, April 10, 1998. Full text available from https://www.timeshighereducation.com/features/who-killed-king-tut/106805.article

Wall of Tutankhamen's tomb
Part of the wall of Tutankhamen's tomb - including theorized ancient curse. Detail below.

Detail of wall of Tutankhamen's tomb

University of Maryland Mummification Project: Making a Modern Mummy

Making a modern mummy image
"How to Make an American Mummy." Dallas Morning News, October 23, 1995.

Making a modern mummy image

Making a modern mummy image
Rose, Mark. "Dating the past: Making a modern mummy." Calliope, 8(1): 42, September 1997.
Full text available to LIU from MAS Ultra - School Edition database.

Making a modern mummy image
"Eingebetteter für die Ewigkeit <Embedded for Eternity>" Facts [Swiss magazine published in German], March 2000. Also image below:

Making a modern mummy image

Newsday article: History's Helping Hand.
Kelleher, Jennifer Sinco. "History's Helping Hand: LIU Professor Receives Teaching Aid From Ancient Egypt." Newsday, October 22, 2002, A4

Bottom view of right mummy hand Top view of right mummy hand
Bottom and top views of right mummy hand donated by Marilyn Tope Doolen.

Bob Brier portrait
"Bob Brier, professor, famed Egyptologist and host of award-winning documentaries, shares the wonders of ancient Egypt with students at C. W. Post." (from: Christopher T. Cory, editor. Access and Excellence: 75 years of Long Island University. Brooklyn: Long Island University Press, 2001.)

Bob Brier digging
Brier, Bob. "A Thoroughly Modern Mummy." Archaeology, 54(1):44-50, January/February 2001. Full text available from Academic Search Complete database.

Coffin lid for the mummy at the Vanderbilt Museum
Coffin lid for the mummy at the Vanderbilt Museum.

Bob Brier and Stu Greene at the Webb Institute's Cheops Boat Project, 1995
Bob Brier and Stu Greene at the Webb Institute's Cheops Boat Project, 1995.

Loading ...

Archives of Dr. Bob Brier - Highlighting Selections

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
Biography 1 2 Bob Brier Biography and Resume emailed to Jarron Jewell, Acting Director, Archives and Special Collections, February 15, 2018.   Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.1 1 "The Mummification Project" Media Coverage Book. From May 21 to June 25, 1994 Egyptologist and Philosophy Chairman Bob Brier of the C. W. Post Campus of Long Island University, along with Ron Wade, Director of the Maryland State Anatomy Board, Performed the First Human Mummification in 2000. This Book contains an overview of the news stories that chronicle this history making event. Compiled by Office of Public Relations. C. W. Post Campus, 1994. (There are two original copies of this item. This is Number 1) 6/17/1994 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.2 1 "The Mummification Project" Media Coverage Book. From May 21 to June 25, 1994 Egyptologist and Philosophy Chairman Bob Brier of the C. W. Post Campus of Long Island University, along with Ron Wade, Director of the Maryland State Anatomy Board, Performed the First Human Mummification in 2000. This Book contains an overview of the news stories that chronicle this history making event. Compiled by Office of Public Relations. C. W. Post Campus, 1994. (There are two original copies of this item. This is Number 2) 6/17/1994 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.3 184 Original Burrelle's Newspaper Clippings of Bob Brier's work on mummifications. 6/17/94 - 6/30/94 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.4 94 Copies of Newspaper Clippings and Press Releases of Bob Brier's work. 6/17/94 - 6/30/94 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.5 42 "Mummification Project" Burrelle's Newspaper Clippings of Bob Brier's work. 6/18/94 - 7/21/94 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.6 12 Copies of varying articles from the following magazines/newspaper:
  1. The Director.
  2. "Mummy Makers". Archeology [Magazine], November/December, 1994. - a copy of an article on Bob Brier and a Faint Faxed Galley Proof of this article sent to Bob Brier from M. Rose of Archeology [Magazine].
  3. "Mummy Madness". A Modern Journal of Ancient Egypt, vol. 5, no. 3. - a copy of an article on Bob Brier.
  4. "The Making of a Mummy". Thanos, Special Membership Issue, January, 1995. A copy of an article about Bob Brier.
  5. "Encouraging Words For EPA". Science. vol. 267, March 31, 1995. A copy of an article sent to Bob Brier from Angela Schutu.
  6. "Ancient Skill". The [London] Times, April 24, 1995. A copy of an article about Bob Brier's mummification project.
  7. "Preseratives Added". Detroit Free Press Original Newspaper Article on Bob Brier and his mummification project, April 20, 1995.
  8. "Mummy Dearest A tale from the Med School Crypt". Original Medical Post Newspaper.
Fall 1994 - 1997 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.6
cont.
32
  1. "Egyptologist Creates Modern Mummy". Science On File, June, 1995. - Original article on Bob Brier's work.
  2. "How to Make an American Mummy". Dallas Morning News, October 23, 1995. Original article about Bob Brier.
  3. "The Making of a Modern Mummy". Chem Matters, February, 1996 - Original article on Bob Brier.
  4. Contact Magazine, March, 1996.
  5. "At Work with Two Scientists. Dating the Past. Making a Modern Mummy" by Mark Rose. Calliope. World History For Kids, September, 1977 Issue: Science and Medicine in Ancient Egypt. - Original article about Bob Brier and his work.
  Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.7 6
  1. "Eingebetter Fur Die Edigkeit". Facts [German Magazine], March, 2000. Original Article on Bob Brier's and his work.
  2. "Forskere kopierer mumie efter opskrift". Illustreret Videnskab. [Danish Magazine]. Copy of an article about Bob Brier. nd
  3. "Een Mummie in De Twintigste Eeuw". Nederland, June, 1999. [Dutch Magazine]. Copy of an article about Bob Brier's work.
July 1995, June 1999, and March 2000 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.80 10 Burrelle's Newspaper Clippings - Bob Brier's Mummification Project 3/2/00 - 11/7/00 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.90 5
  1. "Making a Modern Mummy". Discover Magazine. Original Article about Bob Brier's work. 2 copies.
  2. "Return of the Mummy". The American Funeral Director [Magazine], September, 2000. Original article about Bob Brier's work.
  3. "A Thoroughly Modern Mummy: Experimenting with Ancient Science" Archeology [Magazine], January/February, 2001 . An original article by Bob Brier.
  4. (Plus one copy of above)
  5. "Return of the Mummy Makers". New Scientist [Magazine], December 8, 2001 . An original article about Bob Brier's work.
March 2000 - December 2001 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.10 2
  1. "Possible National Geographic TV Special... Regarding mummification to take place on the LIU University site and possible National Geographic TV Special Coverage". Original typed memorandum from Bob Brier to the Walter Jones, Ph.D., LIU Vice President of Academic Affairs, Rita Langdon (LIU Public Relations), Maithili Schmidt, (Dean of College of Arts and Science), David Steinberg, (LIU President) and Jeff Zeisler, Ph.D., (LIU Post Biology Department). nd
  2. "Mummification Project". Original typed memorandum from Professor Bob Brier to Dr. Walter S. Jones, [LIU Vice President of Academic Affairs], November 15, 1993. Handwritten notes penned at end of memo.
Fall 1993 Box 1
University of Maryland Mummification Project 2.11 1.00 Fax Transmission (copy). - National Geographic Television from Amy Bucher to Bob Brier regarding the shooting schedule in Luxor and Cairo, Egypt. 12/22/93. December 22, 1993 Box 1
The Mummification Project Research 3.10 1.00 "The Use of Natron in Human Mummification: A Modern Experiment". By Bob Brier and Ronald S. Wade's. Typed copy of their article/presentation. Not final version penned in upper right hand corner. nd Box 1
The Mummification Project Research 3.20 2.00
  1. "The Art of Ancient Egyptian Embalming. Research into an ancient practice leads to the first mummification in 2000 years" by Bob Brier. Natural History [Magazine]. Fax to Bob Brier: 8/1/94.
  2. Includes another undetermined document.
August 1, 1994. Box 1
The Mummification Project Research 3.30 9
  1. "Mummification Project". LIU Post Memorandum from Bob Brier to Rita Langdon and Chris Hendricks [LIU Public Relations]. February 18, 1994.
  2. "Long Island University Egyptologist to Mummify Human Body. Experiment is First to be Done in 2000 Years." [in Maryland]. Rough Draft of the C. W. Post Press Release, June 1994." 4 copies in varying stages.
  3. Fax Transmittal Sheet to Sharon at LIU from Nicki at the University of Maryland School of Medicine with press clipping [?] of the article "MD. man being mummified". The Sun, June 17, 1994. p1A & 11A.
  4. "Tape of Mummification". Typed memorandum to Lesley Dunaway, Science and Technology, CNN from Rita Langdon, Public Relations C. W. Post Campus of Long Island University, June 21, 1994.
  5. Letter to Leslie Dunaway of Science & Technology from Rita Langdon, Associate Director, C. W. Post/LIU Public Relations which mentions an enclosed gift of an "Ushabit" for Leslie Dunaway made by the C. W. Post Ceramics students and staff. June 23, 1994.
  Box 1

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
The Death of King Tut 1.00 58 Newspaper clippings about King Tut. 06/26/96 - 8/10/00 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.1 5 Bob Brier Articles:
  1. "Wurde - Tut-erschlagen?" P. M. [German Magazine].
  2. "Indiana Brier". Long Island University Magazine.
  3. "Was King Tut Murdered". National Geographic World Magazine.
  4. "Der ratselhafte Pharao" Geo [German Magazine] (Bob Brier mentioned in this article by Jens Schroder).
February 1997 - April 2004 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.2 24
  • Correspondence between Bob Brier and Rita [Langdon]
  • Correspondence between Andrea Dorfman and Rita Langdon
  • Correspondence between Rita Langdon and Sharon Begley
  • Correspondence between Rita Davis and Rita Langdon
  • Correspondence between Georgia Juvelis and Rita Langdon
  • "Who Killed King Tut?" Questions and Answers with Bob Brier.
  • Memorandum from Joe Shenker, [Provost], to CW Post Campus Community
  • Correspondence between Georgia Juvelis and Rita Langdon
  • Newspaper Article on Bob Brier
01/10/97 - 01/21/97 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.3 18
  1. "Outstanding Individual News and Documentary Program Achievement" of Bob Brier on solving a 3000- year-old Murder Mystery (press release information?). nd
  2. "A Tut Whodunit". Los Angeles Times Article
  3. "TUT: An Archeological Whodunit" (pub.unknown), January 18, 1997.
  4. "Who Killed King Tut?" Original Newspaper Article by Bob Brier- [British pub.]. nd
  5. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Rita Langdon, March 11, 1997
  6. Mail from Rita Langdon Intdesk@ap.org on King Tut Research, January 6, 2005
  7. "Experts Seek King Tut's Cause of Death". Email
  8. Correspondence between "Mike" and Bob.
  9. Telefax between Prof. Bob Brier and Wolfgang Goede, P. M., Editor [P.M. Magazine], September 20, 1996
  10. "Hearings on FBI files Didn't Uncover Answers". Burrelle's Press Clipping - The Week in Review -
nd Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.4 7
  1. Videotron/Shaw Cable Edition TV Guide, 2011.
  2. "The Great Egyptians". The Learning Channel. April, 1997. Announcement of Three Hour Edition of Real History.
  3. "The Great Egyptians". Total TV Highlights of TLC. Sun. 6pm
  4. "The Great Egyptians Probes the Lives and Deaths of Ancient Egypt's Greatest Rulers". TLC News Release. January 17, 1997.
  5. "The Great Egyptians. The Mystery of Tutankhamen. The Real Cleopatra. King of the Pyramids ." Original TLC Press Kit, January 17, 1997.
January 1997 - April, 2011 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.5 1 Tutankhamen Script- "The Mystery of Tutankhamen". 2 copies 10/10/1996 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.6 1 Teacher's Video Company. Science. [Catalogue]. 1998 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.7 3 "The Great Egyptians" Part II. 3 Original TLC Press Kits. 1998 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.8 18
  1. Correspondence between Dr. Steinberg [Former LIU President] and Rita Langdon, June 28, 1996.
  2. "Tut Murder". Correspondence between Bob Brier and Rita Langdon, August 22, 1996.
  3. "How did King Tut Die?" LIU Press Release. July 1, 1996 (2 copies, one with edits)
  4. LIU Press Release- "King Tut Murder Mystery Solved by LIU Egyptologist Bob Brier", January 17, 1997
  5. Fax from Karen Lee to Pat Remier - "Great Egyptians Synopses", April 6, 1998
  6. "The Great Egyptians". The True Stories Of The Kings And Queens of Ancient Egypt, Script? for Film Production in Egypt. (6 x1 hour). Cafe Productions Limited. 1 Original, 1 Copy with Different Title.
  7. TLC Film Production Fax From Georgia Juvelis to Bob Brier. "The Great Egyptians" Press Conference, October 8, 1996.
06/28/96 - 10/08/96 Box 2
The Death of King Tut 1.926"Pharoahs and Kings" and "The Great Egyptians" upcoming productions on TV. Typed promotional pre-publication articles announcing the programs in various newspapers.01/28/96 - 4/08/97Box 2

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.1 31
  1. A written note to Bob Brier from Elizabeth Himelfarb,
  2. Correspondence between Alex Gigante and Bob Brier.
  3. Brier and Remler fax transmission.
  4. Newspaper clipping- "King Tut was killed for his wife and throne". The Sunday Times - 8 March 1998
  5. The Murder of Tutankhamen. A True Story by Bob Brier. Kirkus book review. April 1, 1998.
  6. Correspondence between Amy Falit (WHYY Radio, Philadelphia) and Bob Brier. April 1, 1998.
  7. Correspondence between Rita and Bob Brier, The Murder of Tutankhamen... publicity schedule. April 2, 1998
  8. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Rebecca Wilson.
  9. Letter to Bob Brier from Alexander Gigante from Penguin Putnam Inc.
  10. Fax message to Bob Brier from Heleen Bohnenn from BZZTOH Publishers.
  11. Fax transmission to Bob Brier from Serena, Cafe Productions Ltd. October 2, 1998.
  12. Correspondence between Liza Dawson and Tara Felleman from Putnam Berkley Group. December 17, 1998.
  13. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Robert A. Pulciani from Penguin Putnam Inc.
01/14/98 - 01/15/99 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.1
cont.
31
  1. Daily Mail Newspapers. March 14 and March 16, 1998: "Solved. The Final Mystery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen" and "The Riddle of the Tomb".
  2. Newspaper clipping- "Death on the Nile"
  3. Letter to Editor of KMT from Rita Langdon re Bookshelf Review of Bob Brier's book. September 22, 1998.
  4. "The Murder of Tutankhamen", News From G.P. Putnam's Sons. "Host of the Learning Channel's Six Part Series. "The Great Egyptians," To Be Broadcast May 3-9, 1998.
  Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.2 11 Murder of Tutankhamen.... Original Books translated into different languages: French, Polish, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, German, Portuguese-Brazilian, Dutch, and English copies. (Contained in a clamshell box inside Box 3) 1998 - 2000 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.3 1 Copies of 16 typed pages of image layouts for the book The Murder of Tutankhamen.... 1/20/1998 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.4 72
  1. Original typed letter between Bob Brier and Rita [Langdon], January 12, 1996.
  2. Original typed letter on LIU letterhead from Bob Brier to Liza Dawson, December 31, 1996.
  3. Original letter on Bob Brier's personal stationery to Rita Langdon. Brier signed the letter with a typed "Sherlock Brier", Saturday, January 10, 1997.
  4. Copy of Fax transmission to Bob Brier from Lisa Pulitzer re: King Tut, January 12, 1997.
  5. Original Fax Transmission re The Great Egyptians from Bob Brier to Cafe Productions personnel, January 14, 1997
  6. Correspondence between Alex Gigante and Bob Brier on LIU Letterhead, January 20, 1997.
  7. Copy of Memorandum to Liza Dawson Alice K. Rao on "Great Egyptians", February 11, 1997.
  8. Original Cafe Publishing Agreement on Mailman and Gigante letterhead to Bob Brier from Alex Gigante for The Great Egyptians, March 5, 1997.
  9. Original Fax transmission to Alex Gigante from Bob Brier re: Contracts, March 6, 1997.
  10. Fax to Bob Brier from Alex Gigante with comments on cafe publishing agreement, March 6, 1997.
  11. Original Fax from "Martin" of Charles Pick Consultancy Limited to Bob Brier, March 7, 1997.
01/12/96 - 12/23/97 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.4
cont.
72
  1. Fax to Alex Gigante from Bob Brier re: "Biography [of Tutankhamen]", March 7, 1997
  2. LIU Fax Cover Letter to Alex Gigante from Bob Brier re: "We'll talk", March 7, 1997.
  3. Copy of letter faxed to Bob Brier from Alexander Gigante (lawyer). Letter was written to Martin Pick by Alexander Gigante. Includes proposed agreement points with Cafe Publication, March 11, 1977.
  4. Copy of March 15, 1977 Letter from Martin Pick to Mr. Gigante was faxed to Bob Brier on March 15, 1977. Publication concerns.
  5. Fax to Martin Pick from Bob Brier re: The Great Egyptians, March 16, 1997.
  6. Fax from Martin Pick (Charles Pick and Consultancy Limited) to Alex Gigante re: Bob Brier. Publication concerns. March 15, 1997.
  7. Fax message to Martin Pick (Cafe Productions) from Stephanie Cooke (Editor) at Michael O'Mara Books re: The Great Egyptians, March 12, 1977.
  Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.4
cont.
72
  1. Fax transmission to Cafe Productions André Singer re: refining agreement concerning Great Egyptians Book, March 14, 1977
  2. Copy of a Letter between Bob Brier and André Singer about last ditch effort on The Great Egyptians, March 20, 1977.
  3. Copy of Letter to Liza Dawson from Bob Brier, March 22, 1977.
  4. Fax from Doug Young (Headline Book Publishing LTD, London) to Martin Pick (Cafe Productions), May 2, 1977.
  5. Original Letter on LIU Letterhead from Bob Brier to Ray Johnson (Egyptologist), May 19, 1997.
  6. Original Letter from Dan Wright (Ann Wright Representatives, New York) to Bob Brier
  7. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Dan Wright (agent), May 21, 1997.
  8. Original Fax to Liza Dawson, G.P Putnam's Sons from Bob Brier (Bob Brier's hand written notes in body of fax), June 25, 1997.
  Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.4
cont.
72
  1. Original Letter from Michael R. Zimmerman, M.D., Ph.D., Director, Clinical Laboratories, Maimonides Medical Center, New York to Bob Brier re: death of Tutankhamen, July 8, 1997.
  2. Copy of Book Review by Publishing News - UK, November 14, 1997 for Bob Brier's publication The Murder of Tutankhamen.
  3. Original Letter from Dorothea at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Department of Egyptian Art to Bob Brier, November 21, 1997.
  4. Original letter from Liza Dawson, (The Putnam Publishing Group) to Barbara Mertz, Ph.D. requesting a quote for Bob Brier's Book, December 12, 1997.
(The items listed in 1.4 were chosen as highlighted selections from this file. There are more archives available as noted).
  Box 3
  1.5  
  1. "The Great Egyptians" hosted by Bob Brier. May 3. Announcement Note Card from TLC Productions.
  2. Murder of Tutankhamen... Subsidiary Rights Sales.
  3. Includes a few financial documents.
05/15/97 - 07/31/99 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.6 7
  1. Email- "The Murder of Tutankhamen" from Liza Dawson (literary agent) to Leslie, Penguin Group.
  2. "New Introduction". Email Correspondence between Bob Brier and Liza Dawson.
  3. Email on the "King Tut Exhibit" from Allison to Liza Dawson, December 13, 2004.
  4. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Alison on the Introduction/New Jacket Copy.
  5. C.W. Post Correspondence between Liza Dawson (literary agent) and Bob Brier on the corrected galley proofs for "The Murder of Tutankhamen".
  6. Typed "Questions and Answers. Dr. Bob Brier".
  7. Author Questionnaire from Marilyn Ducksworth, V. P. and Executive Director, Publicity Department sent to Bob Brier.
12/10/04 - 01/11/05 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.7 25
  1. A Letter to Bob Brier from Lisa Dawson, (Literary Agent).
  2. Email correspondence between Bob Brier and Liza Dawson
  3. Correspondence between Bob Brier and Sarah Self on "The Murder of Tutankhamen: A True Story"
  4. Correspondance between Bob Brier and Lisa Dawson on the "Tut Offer"
  5. Variety Article- "Centropolis Unearths Rights for the 'Murder of Tutankhamen'", August 10, 2000.
  6. Email between Bob Brier and Liza Dawson on finalizing the movie contract, December 1, 2000.
  7. Email between Bob Brier and Jack Kappler on the film television rights to Brier's book Murder of Tut, April 1, 2002.
  8. Email between Bob Brier and Tom Shelly who is Co-Executive Producer of the reality series Survivor, August 25, 2003.
  9. Email between Matthew Snyder and Liza Dawson re: renewal option on "TUT", October 8, 2003.
  10. A handwritten penned letter on Lisa Dawson Associates Letterhead to Bob Brier from Judith Engracia, Literary Assistant, re: the amendment to the option for The Murder of Tutankhamen, nd
  11. Business Card: The American Film Company.
  12. Hollywood Reporter.com page printouts. October 13, 2003.
  13. IMDB.com page printouts of movie "King Tut, 2005".
01/11/99 - 2013 Box 3
The Murder of Tutankhamen by Dr. Bob Brier 1.8 6 "The Murder of Tutankhamen" Movie Rights. Original Option and Acquisition of Rights for Movie including Amendments and check payment stub from Creative Arts Agency. August 9, 2000 - March 9, 2012. 08/9/00 - 03/09/12 Box 3
Tutankhamen: The Unknown Pharaoh by Dr. Bob Brier 2.1 1 1A. Original penned note from Bob Brier to Liza (Literary Agent), nd
1B. "Tutankhamen: The Unknown Pharaoh". Original Typed Manuscript by Bob Brier, 51 pages. nd
nd Box 3

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
"Egyptomania." Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.13
  1. Postcard. Egypt: Its Origins. A Symposium.
  2. Newsletter.American Research Center in Egypt.
  3. Announcement on Hillwood Art Museum Stationery regarding the Symposium. "Egypt: It's Origins"
Fall 1991 - 06/05/92Box 4
"Egyptomania." Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.28
  1. "Professor Celebrates 'Egyptomania'", The Chronical of Higher Education Newspaper Clipping, July 15, 1992.
  2. Original Letter of LIU Letterhead from Bob Brier to Richard Fazzini, Brooklyn Museum, NY, March 20, 1992.
  3. "Barnum & Bailey's New Superb Spectacle Cleopatra" Postcard, June 12 - July 24, 1992.
  4. Announcement on Hillwood Art Museum Letterhead re: "Egyptomania", April 28, 1992.
  5. Copies of Magazine Covers: Archaeology and KMT
  6. Brief handwritten Long Island University "Egyptomania" Memo penned from Bob Brier to Chris Hendricks, nd
  7. "Egyptomania Exhibition Catalogue. Hillwood Art Museum. June 12 - July 24, 1992.
03/20/92 - July/August 1992Box 4
"Napoleon in Egypt" Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.313
  1. "Mummies at Home." Bob Brier Article in Spotlight Magazine, August, 1990.
  2. 12 Burrell Press Releases
  3. LIU/C. W. Post Press Release (Exhibition on Napoleon's Campaign in Egypt)
  4. Xerox Copies of Assorted Advertisements for Napoleon Campaign in Egypt.
08/09/90 - September 1990Box 4
"Napoleon in Egypt" Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.45
  1. Original Hillwood Art Museum Brochure, "Napoleon in Egypt", 8/17/90-9/30/90
  2. Original Pamphlet: Hillwood Art Museum 1990-91 Schedule- Exhibitions and Lectures.
  3. Original Typed Manuscript Material "Napoleon in Egypt"
  4. Original Catalog of the exhibit "Napoleon in Egypt".
08/17/90 - 09/30/90Box 4
"Napoleon in Egypt" Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.516
  1. Slide photo sheet of Bob Brier working with the mummy. Handwritten pencil note of back "Mummy he kept in his office (property). (2 photo sheets)
  2. Press release- "Egyptian tomb with 2000- Year-Old Mummy to be Constructed at the C. W. Post's Hillwood Art Museum", June1, 1990.
  3. Original Newsday Article in Arts on the Island Section on Bob Brier- "A Rebuilding of the Past" nd
  4. Original Newsday in Spotlight Section on Bob Brier - " A View of Napoleon in Egypt", September 5, 1990.
  5. Copy of Article from Art & Auction [Magazine] "Campaign Buttons". November, 1990
  6. Copy of Press Release - "Egyptian Tomb Constructed at C. W. Post", June 13, 1990.
  7. Fax/Correspondence on Bob Brier's appearance on Cablevision News 12 on September 2, 1990. Arrival at studio 4:45p.
  8. Original LIU Letter from Chris Hendriks to Dr. Steinberg re: Napoleon in Egypt Media Coverage. 8/22/90
02/10/90 - November, 1990Box 4
"Napoleon in Egypt" Hillwood Art Museum Exhibition. 1.64
  1. Original Catalogue: The Tomb of Khetty- II. Reproduced from the Original Napoleonic Engravings. Includes detailed description of the tomb in the Hillwood Art Museum, September 30, 1990. (2 copies)
  2. 2-Typed Page Writing on "Napoleon's Egyptologists". (2 copies)
08/17/90 - 09/30/90Box 4
Sunken Fleet Dive Project2.113
  1. Copy of Letter Jean-Francois Marechal (President of the French Society of Underwater Archaeology) [to Bob Brier], Paris, May 9, 1989.
  2. 6 Different Copies Correspondences between Jean-Francois Marechal and Bob Brier
  3. Letter of Agreement between Long Island University and the Societe Francaise d'Archeologie Sous-Marine (SOFRAS) - a joint project at Aboukir, Egypt, February 21, 1990.
05/09/89 - 08/18/90Box 4
Sunken Fleet Dive Project2.29
  1. LIU Memorandum for the Marine Science Faculty to be Read in the Class. "A study of the thirteen vessels of Napoleon's fleet which went down in the coastal waters of Egypt", October 10, 1989.
  2. LIU Memorandum "For: All Divers. From Bob Brier" on the "Abukir Project", 3/7/90.
  3. Correspondence between Dr. Robert Brier and Rebecca Richardson, 12/9/89.
  4. Correspondence between Robert Brier and Cynthia Sandusky, October 17, 1989.
  5. Correspondence between Dr. Robert Brier and Cassandra Roberts, 10/16/89.
  6. Scott Hughes Resume
  7. Correspondence between Professor Robert Brier and Patrick C Hogan, October 22, 1989.
  8. Copy of Letter and Resume from Michael Ian Weiss to Dr. Bob Brier, January 17, 1990.
  9. Copy of LIU/C. W. Post Memo For: Southampton Divers From: Bob Brier, Chairman, Philosophy Department re: Napoleon's Sunken Fleet, February 5, 1990.
10/10/89 - 03/07/90Box 4
Sunken Fleet Dive Project2.310
  1. Press Release- "Historical Expedition Planned; Focus of Lecture at C.W Post, 9/15/90".
  2. Press Release: "Joint Diving Expedition Planned between Long Island University and French Team, 9/17/90
  3. Original Burrelle's Newspaper Clipping- "A Joint Diving Expedition is Planned", 9/20/90
  4. Inside Edition Article. "A Monthly Report to the Faculty and Staff", [C. W. Post]. September, 1990.
  5. Original LIU Press Releases: "Joint Diving Expedition Planned Between Long Island University and French Team. Lecture and Slide Presentation on Venture Set for September 27. (3 original typed copies).
  6. 2 Typed Copies of "The News From Cairo".
  7. Fax Cover Sheet to Patty Neger from Christine Hendricks, 9/21.
  8. Handwritten notes in red pen on letter paper re: Prince Napoleon/Knights of Malta/Sunken Treasures.
 Box 4
Vanderbilt Museum Mummy Investigation3.110
  1. Vanderbilt Museum [Press] Kit. Includes Press Release "Vanderbilt Museum begins high-tech investigation of 3,000 year old Egyptian Mummy", October 16, 1995. "The Investigation is being carried out under the direction of noted Egyptologist, Dr. Bob Brier of Long Island University's C. W. Post Campus." ...
October 1995-1996Box 4
Vanderbilt Museum Mummy Investigation3.2021
  1. "CT Scan for 3000-Year Old Mummy". Original Newspaper Article from The New York Times, nd.
  2. "Peeking into the Past. Probing the Mystery of a 3000-year-Old Mummy" Original and a copy of the Article in Newsday, November 1, 1995.
  3. "A Zillionaire's Souvenir is a Public Responsibility". Original and a copy of the Article in Newsday Edition, July 27, 1995.
  4. "Oh, Mummy! What's Under Those Wrappings?". Original Article in Long Islander Weekly edition, November 2, 1995.
  5. "Vanderbit Mummy Special Visitor for Hospital". Original article in Commack News, November 2, 1995.
  6. "Hospital Visit for Vanderbilt Mummy". Original Article and a copy of the Article in Huntington News. November 2, 1995.
  7. "Hospital's Lab Awakens for Mummy's Midnight Visit". Original and a copy of the Article published in The Arizona Republic, November 2, 1995.
07/27/95 - 08/22/96Box 4
Vanderbilt Museum Mummy Investigation3.20
cont.
21
  1. "Vanderbilt Begins Investigation of Mummy". Original Newspaper Article in Long Island Business News, November 6, 1995.
  2. "Mummy's Past is Prologue to Discovery". Copy of the Article in Sunday Newsday, December 31, 1995.
  3. Fax to Rita Langdon from Ted Ferrand, Vanderbilt Museum re: Draft of the Press Release that Ferrand been working on includes statement that Bob Brier requires approval before article is released, October 16, 1995.
  4. Letter from Rita Langdon to Ted Ferrand, Vanderbilt Museum. re: Mailing list from 1994, October 17, 1995.
 Box 4
Vanderbilt Museum Mummy Investigation3.302
  1. Original Memo to Joseph Shenker [Post Provost] from Bob Brier re: "Possible Publicity." Includes attached copy of detailed handwritten note and hieroglyphics by Bob Brier, December 18, 1995
  2. Original Student Work: "A Mummy From Egypt"- drawings, notes and photos by three (students). Phl. 367 Dr. dd Brier
1995?Box 4
Dahesh Museum Exhibit4.1046Emails between Bob Brier and various other people for the Dahesh Museum.03/03/05 - 12/08/06Box 4
Dahesh Museum Exhibit4.2011
  1. Official invoices and receipts- "Dahesh Museum Exhibit" 31 May 2006
  2. "List of works in Receiving Room to be Returned to Bob Brier" (2 lists)
  3. Lists of Works offered for Sale by Bob Brier to the Dahesh Museum of Art (2 Lists)
  4. Checklist: Bob Brier. Description of Egypt Plates (Listing).
  5. Billing Statements of the Dahesh Museum, September 21, 2006.
  6. Dahesh Museum of Art Form: Accounting of Loaned Art Objects to Dahesh Museum Art Registrar.
05/31/06 - 09/21/06Box 4
Dahesh Museum Exhibit4.305Dahesh Museum Original Programs. (5 Items). Fall 2005 - 12/31/06Box 4
Dahesh Museum Exhibit4.4017
  1. Dahesh Museum of Art Business Card
  2. Handwritten notes - Questions for Bob Brier
  3. "Napoleon on the Nile: Soldiers, Artists and the Rediscovery of Egypt". Typed Overview. June 8, 2006 - September 17, 2006.
  4. Typed Article "Napoleon Returns to the Nile" by Carol Vogel. Inside Art. New York Times, Friday, July 28, 2006. (2 copies).
  5. 8 - Original Newspaper Articles
  6. New York Post. Online Edition. "Napoleon on the Nile" by James Gardner, August 11, 2006.
  7. Sotheby's [Auction Catalogue]: The Library of Henry M. Blackmer II, London, October, 1989.
  8. FedEx receipt- To Bob Brier from Macon Museum of Arts/ Sciences, Macon, Georgia. May 15, 2006.
01/06/06 - 08/11/06Box 4

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
Fish Mummy Project141 Burrelle's Original Newspaper Clipping,
3 Photographs
July 1992 - 10/28/92Box 5
Cheops Boat Project1.12Copies of Chapter 3: "Shire Egyptology" from Egyptian Boats and Ships by Steve Vinson.1/1/1994Box 5
Cheops Boat Project1.27
  1. Copy of article "Finding a Pharaoh's Funeral Bark". National Geographic, April, 1988. vol. 173, no. 4. Copy of article "Replica of Pharaoh's Boat Sets Sail on History Mission" by Bill Bleyer. Newsday. Thursday, Feb. 23, 1995.
  2. Copy of article "The Boat in the Tomb". Science [Magazine]. March 10, 1995. Vol. 267. Number 5203.
  3. Original Newspaper Article. "Sink or Swim? Pharaoh's Boat is Put to a Test" by Bill Bleyer (Newsday). The Philadelphia Inquirer. National/International. Sunday, March 12, 1995.
  4. Original Newspaper Article. "Replica of Pharaoh's Boat Sets Sail on History Mission"by Bill Bleyer. Newsday.Thursday, Feb 23, 1995.
  5. Foreign Language Magazine Article on Bob Brier, 1995.
  6. Original Newspaper Article. "Sail into History", Newsday, Feb 23, 1995.
  7. Magazine "Junior", June 1995. [Original].
April 1988 - June 1995Box 5
Cheops Boat Project1.310
  1. Fax from Sharon DeVivo to Bill Brier "The Cheops Boat Project - Background" (3 pages), C. W. Post Public Relations.
  2. Original LIU Post Press Release - "The Cheops Boat Project"- Background and History.
  3. Original LIU Post Press Release Listing of "The Participants in The King Cheops Boat Project."
  4. Draft of a Press Release- "The Riddle of the Great Pyramid Boat to be Solved on February 21st." Includes many hand-written notes. February 16,1995.
  5. Original LIU Memorandum from Bob Brier to Public Relations. "Possible Newsday Articles".
  6. Correspondence between Rita Langdon [LIU Public Relations] and Mr. and Mrs. David Greene, March 1, 1995.
02/16/95 - 03/27/95Box 5
Cheops Boat Project1.42Copies of the article "Museum of Cheops Boat" - The Historical Development.ndBox 5
Cheops Boat Project1.535
  1. Photo Slides housed in photo sheets.
  2. Correspondence between Marion Latta, Burda Publications and Rita Langdon, Office of Public Relations, July 3, 1995.
  3. 10 Photos and 2 Pages of Photo Strips of Bob Brier working on the Cheops Boat Project.
2/23/1995Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.64
  1. LIU Post Press Kit, 2002. Includes Press Releases, example: "The Mystery of the Mummy's Hand. Family Heirloom Donated to C. W. Post Mummy Expert.... [Bob Brier]
  2. Letter from Professor Bob Brier to Ms. Marilyn Tope Doolen, Donor of an Original Mummy Hand.
10/21/2002Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.712
  1. Original Partial Newspaper Article from the Chronicle, No. 1, Vol. XLIX, November 1, 2002 concerning the Mummy's Hand Found under Short Subjects. Includes 2 copies of the partial article.
  2. Various Original Burelle's Newspaper Clippings
10/21/02 - 11/01/02Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.84
  1. Email? Correspondence between M. T. Doolen [Marilyn Tope] and Professor Bob Brier, 8/19/02.
  2. Original C. W. Post Memorandum between Olivia Winslow and Rita Langdon, October 16, 2002.
  3. Email Correspondence between Rita Langdon and Wendy Goldstein, 10/17/02.
  4. Correspondence between Rita Langdon and Joe Manfredi re: Professor Bob Brier- Mummy Hand Press Event.
  5. Original and Copy of Newsday Article "History's Helping Hand. LIU Professor receives teaching aid from ancient Egypt", Tuesday , Oct. 22, 2002. Nassau Edition.
08/19/02 - 10/22/02Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.95
  1. Original C. W. Post Press Release "The Mystery of the Mummy's Hand Family Heirloom Donated to C. W. Post Mummy Expert - Dr Bob Brier to Conduct Authenticity Test".
  2. Copy of Presentation "Radiologic Technology. Simulated Radiography Laboratory Exercises with the Production of Radiographs." includes Photographs
  3. "Media Attending Mummy Hand Press Conference as of 11:20 am." Typed document includes scrawls of handwritten penned notes.
October 2002Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.108
  1. Color photos of "Mummy's Hand".
  2. CD entitled "Mummy Hand" 10/21/02.
  3. 3.Negative Film Strips.
October 2002Box 5
Mummy Hand Donation1.113Original Albuquerque Newspaper Article "Mummy Hand Finds Home", Journal Edition, 10/24/02 and photocopy.November 2002Box 5
Crypt of the Medici1.124
  1. 1.Original Flyer. "You're Invited to a Special Lecture by World-Renowned Mummy Detective Bob Brier. "A Renaissance Murder Mystery: Secrets of the Crypt of the Medici." Tuesday, March 8, 2005.
  2. Original Typed Presentation with Hand-Written Edits, 15 pages. "The Crypt of the Medici" by ProfessorBob Brier. Typed Copy of Facts about Duke Gian Gastone, 1671-1737.
  3. C. W. Post Philosophy Department Newsletter "Secrets of the Medici Unearthed" by Bob Brier. Volume 1, Spring 2005.
2005Box 5

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Category Folder No. of
items
Description Dates Location
Canopic Jar - Mummification   1 Storage jar for holding natron, the salts used to dehydrate the body during mummification. nd Box 9

Silpa Telagamsetti, Editor. May, 2018.
Prepared by Diane Malkin, Archivist.

Loading ...

Bob Brier, Ph.D.

Bob Brier, Ph.D.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday