Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Berta and Elmer Hader Books Housed within the American Juvenile Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Berta and Elmer Hader Books Housed within the American Juvenile Collection

Illustration from The Little townThe Curator of the American Juvenile Collection (AJC) is actively collecting first edition books written and illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. The AJC currently houses 70 first edition Hader books including two books in manuscript, several original photographs and a few correspondences written by the Haders. We welcome general visitors, students of all ages and researchers to come enjoy the offerings within our growing Twentieth Century American Juvenile Collection containing more than 12,000 first edition U. S. imprints in fiction, folklore, fairy tale and poetry! Classes are welcome and donations are appreciated! Today we are highlighting Berta and Elmer Hader, their books and contribution to generations of children.

Berta Hoerner Hader (ca. 1890-1976) and husband Elmer Stanley Hader (1889-1973) were both authors/illustrators. They wrote and illustrated their own books and illustrated for other authors’ publications. The Hader’s combined work resulted in more than 100 books published for children between 1927 - mid-1960’s.1 Their books delighted their readers and were in great demand throughout their long careers.

Elmer Hader was born in Parajo, California in 1889, and lived in San Francisco during his youth. Elmer held many jobs, including serving in the National Guard during the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and fighting in France during World War I. In spite of his early experiences, Elmer knew that he wanted to become an artist.

Berta Hoerner was born in 1891 in San Pedro, Coahuila, Mexico where her brother and parents were cotton growers. Her mother recognized Berta’s artistic talent early on, and made certain that she attended art classes. The family moved to Texas, and after her father’s untimely death, Berta and her mother moved to Seattle, Washington. Later Berta went to San Francisco where she met Elmer. In San Francisco, Berta and Elmer were surrounded with many good friends. The Haders continued to enjoy regular gatherings with their friends throughout their lives.

After Elmer served in World War I, he returned to New York where Berta was working. They married and lived briefly in Greenwich Village. The Haders realized early in their relationship that they wanted to live a more rustic life in the countryside. In the early 1920’s they moved from New York City to Lyle Cottage in Grandview-on-Hudson, a home that they shared with some of their artist friends. Author Katherine Anne Porter was one of their great early friends in New York who often visited at the Grandview cottage.2

Illustration of Roger and The Pilot from The SkyrocketElmer was the painter with a broad brush, while Berta loved to work with detail in miniature. Their working relationship was much the same; Berta insured that they made their book deadlines on time. This was quite a responsibility as they were producing many books simultaneously in their early publishing years. One of the Haders’ trademarks, which began in 1931 while illustrating a book by Hamilton Williamson called Lion Cub, is a delightful illustrated miniature of them in story character on the verso (copyright page) of each book. These miniature self-portraits stylized them in the dress befitting each story.3

The body of their work has a timeless quality. Their books and archives are housed in several pre-eminent children’s rare book collections such as the American Juvenile Collection;4 the de Grummond Collection; the Kerlan Collection;5 and the Costen Collection.6 Some Hader books are still available in children’s public libraries throughout the United States.7

For over forty years, Berta and Elmer charmed us. They keenly understood and conveyed so simply through their work what is truly important in our human existence. The Haders’ subject matter often was not gender-specific, appealing to young children and their parents alike, by using illustrated stories involving small animals such as birds, squirrels, chipmunks, ponies and burros. These animals’ struggles, confronting and overcoming life’s challenges, are rendered delicately and artfully throughout the Haders’ books .

In the early 1920’s, the Haders began working together on the creation of pictures and cut-outs for special children’s pages for magazines such as Good Housekeeping, McCall’s and the Christian Science Monitor. New postal regulations prohibiting the mailing of magazines with cut-outs ended this brief line of work. The Haders then sent several dummy copies for a new series of books for the very young to Macmillan Publishing. Two examples of their delightful renditions of traditional fairy tales were the Ugly Duckling and The Three Bears. The tales became part of the "Happy Hours Books" that were produced from 1927-1929. In 1928, they collaborated on The Picture Book of Travel. This was among the first of a lifetime of books that they would write and illustrate together. The Haders produced over 34 books between 1927-1931. They illustrated all and wrote some of them during this time period.

Illustration from The Mighty HunterOver an impressive publishing career spanning from 1927-1964, Berta and Elmer incorporated autobiographical material and championed their favorite causes in many of their 100 books: conservation, animal rights and pacifism.8

The Big Snow, that won a Caldecott Medal in 1948, exemplified through their relationship with text and illustration, the important role that human beings hold in the balance of nature, in caring for other living creatures and in our interdependence in the web-of-life. It is a story describing how small animals won’t survive a harsh winter without the help of an elderly couple who thoughtfully care enough to feed them after a terrible winter blizzard. The need to nurture the important relationship between humans and their environment is a truth that the Haders recognized and reflected in many of their books. This understanding is increasingly critical now, which gives their books enduring appeal.

The Haders were early environmentalists, who continue to share their vision with children today. They were caretakers living in their corner of the planet overlooking the Hudson River at Willow Hill in Nyack, New York. There they built their own stone house, stone by stone, from the quarry on their property with the help of their many friends and local artisans. Building their stone house took many long years and was another one of their passions that they memorialized in their book The Little Stone House written in 1944.

Elmer claimed that he and Berta wrote about many of the things they loved as children. In Skyrocket, 1946, Roger Robinson’s journey around the world in twenty-four hours in a mail-carrier plane was an adventure sure to thrill any child growing up during the 1940’s. This time period is a part of our history that is preserved and made available for scholarly access in reading rooms like the one located in the American Juvenile Collection.

The Haders also wrote about their vacations to Maine, seen in their book Tommy Thatcher Goes to Sea and Rainbows End. They also envisioned their travels to Mexico in the colorful book, The Story of Pancho and the Bull with the Crooked Tail. Author Melicent Lee asked the Haders to illustrate her book Marcos, Mountain Boy of Mexico. These four titles are among many of the Hader books that are accessible in the American Juvenile Collection’s Hader Book Collection.

Illustration from Little AppaloosaThe charming books of the "Willow Hill" series are autobiographical renditions of the Haders' life on Willow Hill in Nyack, NY. Two of these titles are Squirrely of Willow Hill, 1951 and The Friendly Phoebe, 1953. The Friendly Phoebe was a compelling story about nursing an injured creature back to health. The Haders showcased other familiar animals living at Willow Hill, made famous in books such as Little Whitefoot, 1952 (a little mouse who lived with his family in the McGinty’s toolshed and attic); Little Chip of Willow Hill, 1958 (a little chipmunk who learned about his environment and safety from his mother, Mrs. Chipmunk) and The Runaways, 1956 (all the small animal creatures ran from Branch Hill Woods to Willow Hill for protection when their homes were razed by bulldozers and fire in order to clear the land for development). Many of their books were ahead of their time.

Billy Butter, 1936, is an example of a book the Haders illustrated for another author. The story was based on an experience Berta had while living on Telegraph Hill in San Francisco. The art in this book influenced John Steinbeck to request that Elmer illustrate the dust jacket for the first edition of The Grapes of Wrath. The Haders’ former editor Louise Seaman asked them to illustrate her book Mr. Peck’s Pets, 1947 (a man who loved and surrounded himself with animals). The authors enjoyed including their friends in their stories.

The following quotation from the Imprint: Oregon, Spring-Fall, 1977 sums up much about the Haders and how inexorably entwined their philosophy of life weaved through their life’s creative work.

Illustration from Midget and Bridget"Hader readers became true or vicarious friends, for the Haders' art and writing appealed to every age of reader. Their work is a timeless reflection of the beauty of nature, of a love of life and of an appreciation for all living things."9

The Haders’ work serves to remind us of the beauty of the spring garden they so loved, and the delicate balance between all living creatures on earth. Like the changing of the seasons, their work is perennial, still offering life’s important lessons, brought alive through small animals, offering pleasure to little hands and minds searching today’s public library shelves. The Hader books housed within the American Juvenile Collection offer the general visitor delight in experiencing a view of who we were and how we have come to be.

The Hader’s forty-year span of publishing books in the Twentieth Century offers unique insight for the academic researcher investigating juvenile literature in the United States. Researchers are offered lessons about the way we humans need to live as environmentalists, as well as a treasure trove of information concerning the history, psychology, illustrative arts and sociological imprints of the Hader’s time period.

In examining the life work of Berta and Elmer Hader, we learn to stop and question the importance of valuing juvenile authors who transcend time.

Jarron L. Jewell, Curator   
American Juvenile Collection, January, 2019   


1. "Berta and Elmer Hader Papers". De Grummond Collection. November 19, 2008. http://www.lib.usm.edu/~degrum/html/research/findaids/hader.htm

2. Imprint: Oregon. Vol. 3. No. 2 Spring-Fall, 1977. Editors: Martin Schmitt, E. C. Kemp, Keith Richard. The University of Oregon Library.

3. Ibid

4. The "American Juvenile Collection" website. Special Collections. C. W. Post Campus/Long Island University. November 16, 2008. http://library.liu.edu/ajc/index.html

5. "Berta and Elmer Hader Papers." deGrummond Collection. McCain Library and Archives. University Libraries. University of Southern Mississippi. November 17, 2008. http://www.lib.usm.edu/~degrum/html/research/findaids/hader.htm

6. "Berta and Elmer Hader Papers. 1920- 1948." 2006. Kerlan Collection. University of Minnesota Libraries. Online Finding Aids. http://discover.lib.umn.edu/cgi/f/findaid/findaid-idx?c=umfa;id=navbarbrowselink;cginame=findaid-idx;cc=umfa;view=reslist;subview=standard;didno=CLRC-35;rgn=Entire%20Finding%20Aid. November 16, 2008.

7. "Online Catalogue". Nassau County Library System. New York: Nassau County Library System. http://www.nassaulibrary.org/database/database.html. November 16, 2008.
"Online Catalogue". Chicago Public Library. Chicago, Illinois: Chicago Public Library System. http://www.chipublib.org/search/results/?searchType=keyword&terms=hader%2C+berta. November 16, 2008
"Online Catalogue". Seattle Public Library. Seattle, Washington: Seattle Public Library System https://catalog.spl.org/ipac20/ipac.jsp?index=%2EGW&profile=dial&term=hader%2C+berta&aspect=power&menu=search&session=1E2L4O1958089.16067#focus November 23, 2008.

8. Imprint: Oregon. Vol. 3. No. 2 Spring-Fall, 1977. Editors: Martin Schmitt, E. C. Kemp, Keith Richard. The University of Oregon Library.

9. Imprint: Oregon. Vol. 3. No. 2 Spring-Fall, 1977. Editors: Martin Schmitt, E. C. Kemp, Keith Richard. The University of Oregon Library.

Hader Bibliography Arranged by Title

Prepared by Jarron L. Jewell and Nadia Lubrano -- January 2019 (updated 8/6/2019)

  1. Williamson, Hamilton. Baby Bear. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday & Company, (c1930). First Edition. 40 pp.
  1. Garrard, Phillis. Banana Tree House. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Coward-McCann, Inc. (c1938). First edition. 108 pp.
  1. Garrard, Phillis. Banana Tree House. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. London: George G. Harrap & Co. Ltd. (c1938). First edition. 108 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Berta and Elmer Hader’s Picture Book of Mother Goose. New York: Coward-McCann, Inc. (c1930). First edition. 151 pp. [2 copies].
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Berta and Elmer Hader’s Picture Book of the United States. New York and London: Harper & Brothers Publishers. (c1932). First edition. 60 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Big City. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1947. First edition. 80 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Big Snow. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1948. First edition. 48 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Billy Butter. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1936. First edition. [2 copies]. 92 pp.
  1. Stoddard, Anne. Bingo is My Name. Pictured by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York and London: The Century Co. (c1931). First Edition. First Printing. unp
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Cat and the Kitten. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1940. First edition. [2 copies]. 100 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Chicken Little and Little Half Chick. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Fort Salonga, NY: Book Club of America, Inc., (c1992). (c1990 by Wieser and Wieser, Inc.). (Illustration copyright by Berta and Elmer Hader for original 1927 Macmillan First Edition). unp
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Chuck-A-Luck and His Reindeer. [Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader]. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1933. 28 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Cock-A-Doodle Doo: The Story Of A Little Red Rooster. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Co. (c1939). First edition. 56 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Cricket. The story of a little circus pony. Told and pictured by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The MacMillan Company, 1938. (c1938). First edition. 160 pp. [2 copies].
  1. Peedie, Jean M. Donald in Numberland. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Rae D. Henkle Co. Inc. (c1927). First Edition. Signed by Berta and Elmer Hader. unp
  1. Hahn, Julia L. Everyday Fun. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company. (c1935). (The Child Development Readers Series). 154 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Farmer in the Dell. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1931. First edition. 92 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Friendly Phoebe. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The MacMillan Company, 1953. First printing. 48 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Green and Gold. The Story of Banana. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1936. First edition. 48 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Home on the Range. Jeremiah Jones and his friend Little Bear in the far west. Story and Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The MacMillan Company, 1955. First edition. First printing. 38 pp.
  1. Williamson, Hamilton. Humpy: Son of the Sands. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, Doran & Company Inc., 1937. First edition. 47 pp.
  1. Singmaster, Elsie. The Isle of Que. Elmer Hader, illustrator. New York: Longmans, Green and Co., 1948. First edition. 152 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Jamaica Johnny. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1935. First edition. 92 pp.
  1. Miller, Jane. Jimmy, the Groceryman. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. Boston/New York: Houghton Mifflin Company. (c1934). First Edition.
  1. Williamson, Hamilton. Lion Cub: A Jungle Tale. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, Doran and Co. (c1931).
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Little Antelope. An Indian for a Day. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1962. First edition. First printing. 42 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Little Appaloosa. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company. First edition. (c1949). 26 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Little Chip of Willow Hill. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1958. First edition. [2 copies]. 56 pp.
  1. Williamson, Hamilton. Little Elephant. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday & Company, Inc. (c1930).
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer, Illustrators. The Little Red Hen. [New York]: The Macmillan Company, 1928. First Edition. (The Happy Hour Books Series). 42 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Little Stone House: A Story of Building a House in the Country. By Berta and Elmer Hader. (Book in Manuscript). (Proof copy).
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Little Stone House: A Story of Building a House in the Country. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, (c1944). First edition. Signed by both authors. 32 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Little Tootsies Paper Dolls. New York: Dover Publications. (c1990).
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Little Town. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1941. First edition. 90 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Little White Foot. His Adventures on Willow Hill. Told and Pictured by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The MacMillan Company, 1954 (c1952). First edition. (Second printing). 48 pp
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Lost in the Zoo. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, (c1951). First edition. 40 pp.
  1. Lee, Melicent Humason. Marcos: A Mountain Boy of Mexico. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Chicago and New York: Albert Whitman & Co., 1937. First edition. 80 pp. [2 copies].
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Midget and Bridget. New York: Macmillan, 1934. First edition. [2 copies]. 92 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Mighty Hunter. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan. nd (Book in Manuscript). (Bound Proof Copy). unp
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Mighty Hunter. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan. (c1943). First edition. 49 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Mister Billy’s Gun. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan. (c1960). First edition. 40 pp.
  1. Williamson, Hamilton. A Monkey Tale. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, Doran & Company, Inc. (c1929). First edition.
  1. Seaman, Louise. Mr. Peck’s Pets. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1947. First edition. 96 pp. [2 copies].
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. The Picture Book of Travel: The Story of Transportation. Told and Pictured by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1928. First edition. 64 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Quack Quack: The Story of a Little Wild Duck. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1961. First edition. First printing. 48 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Rainbow's End. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1945. First edition. Signed by the authors. 168 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Rainbow’s End. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1946. (c1945). 168 pp.
  1. Hahn, Julia Letheld. Reading for Fun. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader and Dorothy Handsaker. New York: Houghton Mifflin Company. (c1939). 154 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Reindeer Trail: A Long Journey From Lapland to Alaska. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company. (c1959). First edition. First Printing. 50 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Runaways: A Tale Of The Woodlands. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1956. First edition. 44 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta. The Skyrocket. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1946. First edition. 146 pp.
  1. Dalgliesh, Alice. The Smiths and Rusty. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons. (c1936). First edition. 118 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Snow in the City: A winter’s tale. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company; London: Collier Macmillan Limited, 1963. First edition. First printing. 42 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta. Spunky. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1933. First Edition. 92 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta. Spunky. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1956. (c1933). 92 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Squirrelly Of Willow Hill. By Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1951. (c1950). First edition. 46 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Stop Look and Listen. New York: Longmans, Green, and Co. (c1936). First edition. 48 pp.
  1. Feuillet, Octave. Translated from the French by J. Harris Gable. The Story of Mr. Punch. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: E. P. Dutton & Co., Inc. (c1929). First edition. 140 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Story of Pancho and the bull with the crooked tail. Written and Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1942. (c1942) ( Reprinted, January, 1946, 1944). 56 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. The Story of Pancho and the bull with the crooked tail. Written and Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company. First Edition. Seventh Printing. (c1966, 1942,). 56 pp.
  1. Williamson, Hamilton. Stripey: A Little Zebra. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, Doran, and Company Inc., 1939. First edition. 43 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Summer Under the Pig-Nut Tree. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1931. First Edition.
  1. Mason, Miriam. Timothy Has Ideas. Illustrations by Berta and Elmer Hader. The MacMillan Company, 1944. First Edition (2 Copies).
  1. Hader, Berta Hoerner. Tommy Thatcher Goes to Sea. Story and Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1937. First edition. 96 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Tommy Thatcher Goes to Sea. Story and Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1950. (c1937). 96 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Tooky. The Story of a Seal Who Joined the Circus. London/New York: Longmans, Green and Co., 1931. First Edition. unp
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer. Two is Company, Three’s a Crowd: A Wild Goose Tale. Story and Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1965. London: Collier-Macmillan Limited. (c1965). First edition. First printing.
  1. Andersen, Hans Christian. Berta Hader, Reteller. The Ugly Duckling. Pictures by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Co., 1927. First Edition. unp
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Under the Pig-Nut Tree. [Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader]. London/New York: Oxford University Press. (c1933). First Edition. unp
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Whiffy McMann. Summer. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1931. First Edition.
  1. Hader, Berta and Elmer Hader. Wish on the Moon. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1954. First edition. 40 pp.
  1. Meigs, Cornelia L. The Wonderful Locomotive. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1928. First edition. 104 pp.
  1. Meigs, Cornelia L. The Wonderful Locomotive. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: The Macmillan Company, 1955. (c1928). 105 pp.
  1. Mother Goose. Wee Willie Winkie and Some Other Boys and Girls from Mother Goose. Illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. [New York]: The Macmillan Company. (c1927). First Edition. 42 pp.
  1. Hader, Berta. Working Together. The Inside Story of the Hader Books. Written and illustrated by Berta and Elmer Hader. New York: Macmillan, 1937. First Edition. This book was "From the Library of Chandler Grannis, Editior-in-Chief of Publishers' Weekly." Inscribed on inside front cover "Chandler B. Grannis NY Times Book Fair. Nov. 8, 1937."
Biographies of Berta and Elmer Hader

Rich, Joy Hoerner. Karen Tolley, John Waller and Judy Waller. Berta and Elmer Hader. A Lifetime of Art. Illustrated by John and Judy Waller. Roseburg, OR: Joyful Productions (c2013). First Edition. Signed by Joy Hoerner Rich, Karen Tolley, John Waller and Judy Waller. First Edition. (This copy was acquired from John and Judy Waller). Includes a handwritten note from John and Judy Waller "Jarron [Jewell] Enjoy our little book about the Haders!" John and Judy Waller. (Joy Hoerner Rich, recently deceased, was the beloved niece of Berta Hader).

Cook, Sybilla A. Drawn Together … in art … in love … in friendship. The Biography of Award-Winning Authors Berta and Elmer Hader. Foreward by Eric Kimmel. Portland, Oregon: Concordia University Press. (c2016). First Edition.
 
Grapes of Wrath
Steinbeck, John. The Grapes of Wrath. Dust Jacket Illustration by Elmer Hader. New York: The Viking Press. (c1940, 1939). First Edition. Eleventh Printing.
 

Berta and Elmer Hader

Berta and Elmer Hader at Willow Hill
Berta and Elmer Hader at Willow Hill

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday