Archives and Special Collections: Irish Poetry after 1950: Periodicals

Antaeus. New York/London: The Ecco Press. Edited by Daniel Halpern.

• no. 17, Spring, 1975. Includes a poem by Seamus Heaney. no. 33, Spring, 1979. Features 6 poems by Seamus Heaney. no. 53, Autumn, 1984. Includes 3 poems by Seamus Heaney.

 

Anthos. Dublin: Anthos. Edited by John F. Deane.

• no. 4, Summer, 1975. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly and Peter Fallon. Signed by Kennelly.

 

Aquarius. London: Eddie S. Linden. Edited by Eddie S. Linden.

• no. 9, 1977. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Robert Graecen and Matthew Sweeney.
• no. 12, 1980. "A generous issue including poetry from Ireland". Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, Paul Muldoon, James Simmons and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.
• no. 15/16, 1983/84. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, Paul Durcan, Anthony Cronin, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, John Montague and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.

 

Aquarius; an annual religio-cultural review. Benburb, Tyrone: Servite Priory. Edited by Patrick Lowe.

• 1974. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, John Montague and Harry Clifton.

 

The Bell. Dublin: The Bell. vol. 1, no. 1 (October, 1940) - vol. 19, no II (December, 1954). Edited by Sean O'Faolain (1940 - 1946), and by Peader O'Donnell. (1946-1954).

• vol. 16, nos. 4-5, January & February, 1951. Includes peoms by Anthony Cronin, Ewert Milne and John Hewitt.
• vol. 17, nos. 1-12, April 1951 - March 1952. Includes poems by Kevin Faller, Patrick Kavanagh, Anthony Cronin, Roy McFadden, and Richard Kell.
• vol. 18, nos. 1-12, April 1952 - Autumn 1953. Includes poems by John Hewitt, Roy McFadden and John Montague.
• vol. 19, nos. 1-11, December 1953 - December 1954. Includes poems by Patrick Kavanagh, Ewart Milne, Thomas Kinsella and Anthony Cronin.

 

Capella. Rathoar, Dublin: Tara Telephone. Edited by Peter Fallon and Eamon Carr.

• no. 4, April 1970. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Seamus Heaney, Peter Fallon and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.
• nos. 5/6. Includes poems by Peter Fallon, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.

 

Caret. a poetry magazine. Edited by Robert Johnstone, Trevor McMahon and William Peskett.

• no. 1, Autumn 1972. Includes poems by Paul Muldoon, Michael Longley and James Simmons.
• nos. 5/6, Summer/Autumn 1974. Includes poems by Tom Paulin and Michael Longley.

 

Critical Quarterly Poetry Supplement. London: The Critical Quarterly Society.

• no. 7, "New Poems 1966". Selected by C. B. Cox and A. E. Dyson. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney.
• no. 10, "Poetry 1969". Edited by Damian Grant. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney and Derek Mahon.
• "Poetry 1973". Includes poems by Seamus Heaney and John Montague.

 

Cyphers. Ranelagh, Dublin: Cyphers. Edited by Leland Bardwell, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Pearse Hutchinson, and Macdara Woods.

• no. 2, Winter 1975. Includes poems by Macdara Woods, Paul Durcan and Eilean Ni Chuilleanain. Signed by Brendan Kennelly, the subject of a book review.
• no. 7, Winter 1977-78. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Paul Durcan, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, and John Jordan.

 

The Dubliner. Raheny, Dublin: New Square Publications. Edited by Bruce Arnold.

• vol. 1, no. 3, May - June 1962. Includes poems by Richard Weber, Derek Mahon and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.
• vol. 2, no. 2, Summer 1963. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney and Derek Mahon.
• vol. 3, no. 4, Winter 1964. Includes poems by Eavan Boland, Michael Longley, Brendan Kennelly and Derek Mahon. Signed by Kennelly.

 

The Dublin Magazine. (formerly The Dubliner). Killiney, Dublin: New Square Publications. Edited by Rivers Carew and Timothy Brownlow.

• vol. 4, nos. 1, 3/4. Spring, 1965, Autumn/Winter 1965. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Seamus Heaney, Eavan Boland, Brendan Kennelly, and Austin Clarke. Signed by Kennelly in both issues.
• vol. 5, nos. 1, 2, & 3/4. Spring, Summer and Auturm/Winter 1966. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Eavan Boland, Brendan Kennelly, Derek Mahon, Thomas Kinsella and Michael Longley. Signed by Kennelly in issues 1 and 3/4.
• vol. 6, nos. 1 & 3/4. Spring and Autumn/Winter 1967. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Eavan Boland, and Derek Mahon. Signed by Kennelly in issue 1.
• vol. 8, no. 6. Winter 1970/71. Edited by John Ryan. Signed by poetry contributor Brendan Kennelly.
• vol. 10, nos. 3 & 4. Autumn/Winter 1973/74 and Spring/Summer 1974. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly and Richard Weber. Signed by Kennelly in issue 3.

 

English. London: Published for the English Association by the Oxford University Press. Edited by Margaret Willy.

• vol. 18, no. 102. Autumn 1969. Includes a poem by Brendan Kennelly.

 

Era. Castleknock, Dublin: The Goldsmith Press. Edited by Desmond Egan.

• nos. 1 & 2. Spring 1974 & [1976]. Includes poems by Michael Hartnett, Desmond Egan, Patrick Kavanagh, Thomas Kinsella and Frank Ormsby.

 

Evergreen Review. New York: Gove Press. Edited by Barney Rosset and Donald Allen.

• vol. 1, no. 1, 1957. Includes 10 poems by Samuel Beckett. Inscribed by Beckett.

 

Everyman; an annual religio-cultural review. Benburb, Tyrone: Servite Priory. Edited by Cyril Farrell, Edmund Haughey, Gerard McCreesh, Denis Haughey and Seamus Heaney.

• nos. 1 & 3, 1968 & 1970. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Seamus Heaney, John Montague and Peter Fallon.

 

The Fiction Magazine. London: Fiction Magazine. Edited by Judy Cooke.

• vol. 1, no. 3, Autumn 1982. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney and Paul Durcan.

 

Fuse. Cambridge: Cambridge University? Edited by Paul Johnstone and David Thomas.

• no. 4, November, 1973. Includes a poem by Seamus Heaney.

 

Hermathena; a Dublin University review. Dublin: Hodges Figgis and Co.; London: The Academy Press. Edited by E. J. Furlong.

• nos. 102 & 104, Spring 1966 & Spring 1967. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly in issue 102.

 

The Honest Ulsterman; monthly handbook for a revolution... Castlerock, Derry: The Honest Ulsterman. Edited by James Simmons.

• nos. 1 & 2, 4 & 5, May & June, August & September 1968. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly, James Simmons, Derek Mahon, Seamus Heaney, John Hewitt, and Michael Longley. Signed by Kennelly in issues 1 & 4.
• nos. 13, 16, 18 & 19, May, August, October & November 1969. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, James Simmons, Paul Muldoon, Brendan Kennelly and Frank Ormsby. Signed by Kennelly in issue 16.
• nos. 22, 31 & 33, March/April 1970, November/December 1971, March/Arpil/May 1972. Edited by Michael Foley and Frank Ormsby. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Brendan Kennelly,Frank Orsmby, Paul Muldoon, and James Simmons. Signed by Kennelly in issue 22.
• nos. 36, 55 & 60, November/December 1972, March/April 1977 and July/October 1978. Edited by Frank Ormsby. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Frank Ormsby, Paul Muldoon, Brendan Kennelly, Padraic Fiacc, Seamus Heaney and Derek Mahon. Signed by Kennelly in issues 55 & 60, and signed by Ormsby in issue 60.
• nos. 75 & 78, May 1984 & Summer 1985. Edited by Frank Ormsby and Robert Johnstone. Includes poems by Michael Longley and Paul Muldoon.

 

Icarus. Dublin: Trinity College. Each issue has a different editor. Brendan Kennelly edits no. 32, Michael Longley no. 34 and Derek Mahon no. 38.

• nos. 29, 31, 32, 34 & 35. June and December 1959. (both issues claim to be "the 29 number"), June and December 1960, and June and December 1961. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly, John Montague, Michael Longley and Derek Mahon. Signed by Kennelly in each issue.
• nos. 38, 39, 40 and 42. December 1962, March & June 1963, March 1964. Includes poems by W. R. Rodgers, Michael Longley, Derek Mahon and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly in issues 38, 39 and 42.

 

Innti. Seanchill, Dublin: Innti. Edited by Proinsias Ni Dhorchai, Gabriel Rosenstock and Michael Davitt.

• no. 5, 1980. Includes poems by Michael Hartnett (Micheal OhAirtneide), and Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill.

 

Ireland of the Welcomes. Dublin: Bord Failte - Irish Tourist Board. Edited by Letitia Pollard.

• vol. 45, no. 5, September/October 1996. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly, Paul Muldoon, Seamus Heaney, John Montague and Peter Fallon.

 

Journal of Beckett Studies. London: John Calder. Edited by James Knowlson and John Piling.

• no. 4, Spring 1979. Includes a poem by Samuel Beckett. Inscribed by Beckett.

 

The Kilkenny Magazine; an all-Ireland literary review. Kilkenny: kilkenny Literary Society.

• no. 3, Spring 1961. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly and James Liddy. Signed by Kennelly.
• nos. 12, 13, 15 and 16/17. Spring 1965, Spring/Summer 1967 and Spring 1969. Edited by James Delehanty. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, John Montague, James Liddy, Brendan Kennelly, Michael Hartnett and Hugh Maxton. Signed by Kennelly in issue 15.

 

Krino.Corrandulla, Galway: Krino. Edited by Gerald Dawe.

• no. 5, Spring, 1988. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Thomas Kinsella and Gerald Dawe.

 

The Lace Curtain; a magazine of poetry and criticism. Dublin: New Writers Press. Edited by Michael Smith and Trevor Joyce.

• no. 1 [1969] - no. 6 (Autumn 1978). Includes poems by Paul Durcan, Trevor Joyce, Macdara Woods, Anthony Cronin, Michael Hartnett, James Liddy, John Montague, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Samuel Beckett, Brian Coffey, Michael Smith and John Jordan. Signed by Smith in issues 1, 2 & 3.

 

The Malahat Review; an international quarterly of life and letters. Victoria, British Columbia: University of Victoria. Edited by John Peter & Robin Skelton.

• nos. 16 & 17. October 1970 and January 1971. Includes poems by Richard Ryan, Seamus Heaney, Thomas Kinsella, and John Montague. Signed by Heaney in issue 17 and dated: "Dec. 1988".

 

NDQ: North Dakota Quarterly. Grand Forks, North Dakota: University of North Dakota. Edited by Robert W. Lewis, with Jay Meek, poetry editor.

• vol. 57, no. 1, Winter 1989. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Thomas Kinsella, Eavan Boland, Medbh McGuckian, and Peter Fallon.

 

New Departures. Bisely, near Stroud, Gloucestershire: Edited by Michael Horovitz.

• nos. 7/8 & 10/11, (special "fourfold visionary") issue...1975. Includes a poem by Samuel Beckett. Inscribed by Beckett.

 

The New Nation. Dublin: New Nation. Edited by James Downey.

• no. 4, February 1989, Includes a poem by Brendan Kennelly.

 

The New Review. London: The New Review. Edited by Ian Hamilton.

• vol. 2, no. 17. Includes a poem by Michael Longley.

 

North Magazine. Belfast: North Magazine. Edited by John Hughes.

• nos. 5/6. Autumn/Winter 1985/86. Includes poems by Matthew Sweeney and Gerald Dawe.

 

Paris/Atlantic; international magazine of poetry. Paris: American College in Paris. Edited by Michael Lynch and Joan Cornell.

• no. 4. Summer 1985. ("The Irish Issue"). Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Eavan Boland, Dermot Bolger, Harry Clifton, Peter Fallon, Brendan Kennelly, Medbh McGuckian, Frank Ormsby and Matthew Sweeney. Signed by Kennelly.

 

Phoenix, a review of poetry, criticism and the arts. Belfast: Phoenix (New Quarterly Series). Edited by Harry Chambers.

• no. 1, 2, 4 & 5. March, Summer 1967, Summer/Autumn 1968, & Summer 1969. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Derek Mahon, Michael Longley, James Simmons and John Montague. Signed by Heaney in 1 and dated: "October 20 1988"
• nos. 10 & 13, July 1973 and Spring 1975. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, James Simmons and Michael Longley.

 

Ploughshares. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Ploughshares.

• vol. 6, no. 1, 1980. Edited by Seamus Heaney. Includes poems by Paul Muldoon, John Montague, Seamus Deane, James Simmons, Derek Mahon, Seamus Heaney and Paul Durcan. Signed by Heaney and dated: "August 6 1985".
• vol. II, no. 4, 1985. Edited by Stratis Haviaras. Includes a poem by Seamus Heaney. Signed by Heaney and dated: "6.vii.87".

 

Poetry and Audience. Leeds, Yorkshire: University of Leeds. Edited by J. C. Hepworth.

• vol. 17, no. 5., 1969. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly.

 

Poetry Ireland. Dublin: The Dolmen Press. Edited by John Jordan.

• nos. 1, 2, 3 & 5. Autumn 1962, Spring 1963, Spring 1964, & Spring 1965. Includes poems by Austin Clarke, Thomas Kinsella, Michael Hartnett, Brian Coffey, John Montague, Desmond O'Grady, James Liddy, Richard Weber, Michael Longley, Seamus Heaney and Pearse Hutchinson.

 

The Poetry Ireland Review. Mornington, Meath: Poetry Ireland.

• nos. 1 & 2, Spring & Summer 1981. Edited by John Jordan. Includes poems by Seamus Heaney, Richard Murphy, Macdara Woods, John Montague, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Brendan Kennelly, Eavan Boland, John F. Deane, Matthew Sweeney and Frank Orsmby. Signed by Heaney in no. 1 and by Kennelly in no. 2.
• nos.10, 20, 26 & 40. Summer 1984, Autumn 1987, Summer 1989, and Winter 1993/94. Various editors. Includes poems by Michael Longley, Ewart Milne, Robert Greacen, James Liddy, Fred Johnston, Gerald Dawe, Eamon Grennan, James Simmons and Anthony Cronin.

 

The Rialto. Norwich, Norfolk: The Rialto. Edited by Michael Mackmin, Jenny Roberts and John Wakeman.

• no. 2, Spring 1985. Includes poems by Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly.

 

St. Stephen's; literature & opinions. Dublin: University College Dublin. Various editors.

• Michaelmas 1962, Trinity Term 1963 & Michaelmas 1966 (no. 10, series II). Incluces poems by Macdara Woods, Paul Durcan, Michael Hartnett, and Brendan Kennelly. Signed by Kennelly in no. 10.
• vol. 3, no. 3 1976. Includes poems by James Simmons and Harry Clifton.

 

Stand; a quarterly review of literature and the arts. Leeds, Yorkshire: Stand. Edited by John Silkin.

• vol. 5, no. 1 & vol. 19, no.2, 1961 & 1978. Includes poems by Samuel Becket, Seamus Heaney, John Montague, Eavan Boland, Tom Paulin and Seamus Deane.

 

The Stony Thursday Book. Rath Bahn, Limerick: The Stony Thursday Book. Edited by John Liddy.

• no. 6. 1978. Includes poems by Desmond O'Grady, Brendan Kennelly and Robert Greacen. Signed by Kennelly.

 

Threshold. Belfast: The Lyric Players Theatre.

• no. 22, Summer 1969. Edited by Seamus Heaney. no. 30, spring, 1979. Edited by Roger Mc Hugh. Includes poems by John Montague, Paul Muldoon, James Simmons, Seamus Heaney and Richard Ryan. Signed by Heaney in no. 30 and dated: "6.vii.87".

 

University Review. Dublin: National University of Ireland; Graduate Association. Various editors.

• vol. 3, no. 6, 1960 [circa]. Includes poems by Michael Hartnett and Michael Smith.

 

Workshop, a workshop of new poetry. London: Workshop Press. Edited by Norman Hidden and Michael Johnson.

• no. 11, 1970? Includes poems by Seamus Heaney.

 

X; a quarterly review. London: Barrie and Rockliff. Edited by David Wright and Patrick Swift.

• vol. 1, no. 1. November 1959. Includes poems by Patrick Kavanagh.

 

Conrad Schoeffling
Special Collections Librarian

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday