Archives and Special Collections: Highlighting Selected Irish Authors/Poets

Welcome to the LIU Post Library's rare book holdings of Irish contemporary poets. We are indebted to the generosity of the late Winthrop Palmer who has made this possible. Mrs. Palmer most especially desired the library to develop its collection in the areas of poetry and Irish and French literatures. The Archives and Special Collections Department of the library has adhered to this initial focus.

This catalog is concerned with the writings, including translations, of almost 100 contemporary Irish men and women who are primarily poets. Whenever these writers produce a work in another format it is so noted within brackets. A poet is "contemporary" whose works are published inclusively, or almost so, during the second half of the 20th Century. Translations are arranged after the poet's original works, and collaborations are so noted.

The writings of these poets found in various Anthologies and Collections and Periodicals are available on supplementary lists.

The Winthrop Palmer Irish Literature Collection is expanding as a result of ongoing purchases and donations. We welcome your comments and questions.

Conrad Schoeffling, Special Collections Librarian, July 1, 2003

Beckett, Samuel Boland, Eavan Bolger, Dermot Brett, Heather Campbell, John Cannon, Moya Carson, Ciaran Clarke, Austin Clifford, Sigerson Clifton, Harry Coffey, Brian Colum, Padraic Cronin, Anthony Dawe, Gerald Deane, John Deane, Seamus

Deeley, Patrick Delanty, Greg Devlin, Denis Dorgan, Theo Dunne, Sean Durcan, Paul Egan, Desmond Ennis, John Faller, Kevin Fallon, Peter Fanning, Gerard Fiacc, Padraic Fitzmaurice, Gabriel Foley, Michael Galvin, Patrick Gogarty, Oliver St. John Greacen, Robert Grennan, Eamon

Groarke, Vona Guinness, Bryan Hartnett, Michael Harvey, Francis Heaney, Seamus Hewitt, John Holzapfel, Rudi Hutchinson, Pearse Irvine, John Johnston, Fred Jordan, John Joyce, Trevor Kavanagh, Patrick Kell, Richard Kennelly, Brendan Kinsella, Thomas

Liddy, James Longley, Michael MacEntee, Máire McFadden, Roy MacGreevy, Thomas McGuckian, Medbh McNamee, Eoin MacNiece, Louis Mahon, Derek Mathews, Aidan Carl Maxton, Hugh Middleton, Kate Milne, Ewart Montague, John Muldoon, Paul Murphy, Gerry

Murphy, Richard Ni Chuilleanain, Eilean Ni Dhomhnaill, Nuala O'Brien, Patrick O'Callaghan, Conor O'Connor, Frank O'Direain, Mairtin O'Donnell, Mary O'Donohue, John O'Grady, Desmond O'Hagan, Sheila Ormsby, Frank Parker, Stewart Paulin, Tom Peskett, William Rice, Adrian

Rodgers, W. R. Roper, Mark Rowley, Rosemarie Ryan, Richard Simmons, James Sirr, Peter Smith, Michael Squires, Geoffrey Stephens, Michael Strong, L. A. G. Strong, Rupert Stuart, Francis Sweeney, Matthew Weber, Richard Welch, Robert Woods, Macdara

Poems in English. London: John Calder [1961]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author

Poems in English. London: John Calder [1961]. Inscribed by the author to Tara MacGowran, daughter of Beckett actor Jack MacGowran. Dust Jacket.

Poems In English. New York: Grove Press [1963]. 1st American edition, first printing. Inscribed by the author to American novelist and short-story writer, Kay Boyle and dated: "Paris April, 1963." The book ends with 4 poems in French with facing English translations by the author. The last line in English of the final poem has been lined out and a corrected translation written in ink and initialed by Beckett. Loosely inserted is a note from Boyle to "Dear reader," dated, "August, 16, 1991," which explains this textual change. She sent the book back to Beckett asking him "to be more accurate in his translating of his own work from French into English..." With his usual good nature, he made the change and mailed it back to her. Dust jacket.

Apollinaire, Guillaume. Zone. English translation by Samuel Beckett. Dublin: The Dolman Press; London: Calder & Boyars [1972]. 1st book edition. Bi-lingual text. Inscribed by the author. Dust jacket.

Rimbaud, Arthur. Drunken Boat. Translation of Arthur Rimbaud's poem Le bateau ivre [by] Samuel Beckett. Edited with an introduction by James Knowlson and Felix Leakey. Reading [Berkshire]: WhiteKnights Press, 1976. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 165. Bilingual text. Inscribed by Beckett.

Anna Liffey. [Dublin]: Poetry Ireland Pamphlets, 1997. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 27. Signed by the author.

A Christmas Chalice. [Buffalo, New York]: State University of New York at Buffalo, The University Libraries, 1994. Christmas Broadside, 3rd series, no. 6. Edition limited to 1750 copies. [Poem card]

Collected Poems. [Manchester]: Carcanet [1995]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Emigrant Irish. London: The British Council [and] The British Library [1994?] Poems on the Underground. [Poster]

In a Time of Violence. New York [and] London: W. W. Norton [1994]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author. Dust jacket.

Introducing Eavan Boland. Princeton, New Jersey: The Ontario Review Press [1981]. 1st edition. Ontario Review Press Poetry Series. Dust jacket.

The Journey. Illustration by Timothy Engelland. [Deerfield, Massachusetts]: Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: Gallery Press [1983]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Limitations. New York: Center for Book Arts, 2000. Edition limited to 25 copies reserved for the Center for Book Arts. Khadi natural black covers. Signed by the author.

Limitations. New York: Dim Gray Bar Press, 2000. Edition limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 57. Rossi Medieval Chant wrappers. Signed by the author.

Object Lessons; the life of the woman and the poet in our time. Manchester, 1995. 1st Edition. [Autobiography].

Object Lessons; the life of the woman and the poet in our time. New York/London, 1995. Signed. [Autobiography].

An Origin Like Water; collected poems 1967 - 1987. New York [and] London: W. W. Norton [1996]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Dublin Bloom; an original free adaptation of James Joyce's Ulysses. Dublin, 1994. Signed. [Play].

Internal Exiles; poems. [Mountrath, Portlaoise]: Dolmen Press [1986]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

A New Primer for Irish Schools [by] Dermot Bolger and Michael O'Loughlin. [Dublin]: Raven Arts Press [1985]. 1st edition. Limited to 80 numbered copies. This is no. 3. Signed by both authors. Dust jacket.

Night Shift. Dingle , Kerry, 1985. 1st edition. Signed. [Novel]

Abigail Brown. [Galway: Salmon Publishing, 1991]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

Corner Kingdom. Belfast, 1999. 1st edition. Inscribed to Irish poet, Robert Greacen.

The Rose and the Blade; new and selected poems 1957 - 1987. Belfast: Lagan Press, 1997. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

Golden Lane. [Illustration by] Kathleen Furey. Galway: Kenny's Book Shops, 2000. Edition limited to 2001 copies. This is no. 1801. Signed by the author and by the artist. [Poem Card].

Belfast Confetti. [Madison, Wisconsin]: Silver Buckle Press, University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries [1993]. Edition limited to 95 numbered copies. This is no. 59.

First Language. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1993]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Irish for No. [Dublin]: Gallery Press; [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1987]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "Apr '93". Dust jacket.

Letters from the Alphabet. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1995]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Lost Explorer. [Belfast]: Ultsterman Publications [1978]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The New Estate and other poems . [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1988]. Signed by the author and dated: "Apr. '93". Dust Jacket.

The Alexandrine Plan; versions of sonnets by Baudelaire, Mallerme and Rimbaud. [Old Castle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1998]. 1st edition. Signed by Carson. Dust jacket.

Forget-Me-Not. [Dublin]: Dolmen Press [1962]. 1st edition. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 200. Signed by the author.

The Wooing of Bectola. (After the Irish). [London]: Poem-of-the Month Club, 1973. Signed by Clarke. [Broadside]

Ballads of a Bogman. London: Macmillan; New York: St. Martin's Press, 1955. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Comparative Lives. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1982]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Desert Route, selected poems 1973-1988. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1992]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Night Train through the Brenner. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1994]. 1st editin. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Walls of Carthage. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1977]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

The Big Laugh. Dublin: Sugar Loaf [1976]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 21. Inscribed by the author and dated: "23/vii/76".

Brian Coffey. Edited by Trevor Joyce. Dublin: New Writer's Press, 1971. Versheet 1. Edition limited to 500 copies.

Poems and Versions 1929 - 1990. [Dublin]: Dedalus [1991]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to fellow Irish poet Robert Greacen and dated: "13/XI/91."

Selected Poems. [Dublin]: New Writers' Press [1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Irish Elegies. [Dublin]: Dolmen Press [1961]. 2nd edition. (1st edition in 1958). Inscribed by the author and dated: "Jan 1962". Manuscript corrections in the text by the author. Dust jacket.

The End of the Modern World. Dublin, 1988. Signed.

The End of the Modern World. [Dublin]: Raven Arts Press [1989]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Identity Papers, a Novel. Dublin, 1979. Signed.

The Minotaur, and other poems. [Dublin]: New Island Books [1999]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Relationships. Dublin: [New Island Books, 1994]. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Against Piety; essays in Irish poetry. Belfast, 1995. Signed.

False Faces; poetry, politics and place. Belfast, 1994. Signed.

Heart of Hearts. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1995]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Heritages. [Breakish, Isle of Skye]: Aquila [and] The Wayzgoose Press [1976]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Sheltering Places & Company; poems. Images by Noel Connor. [Biddulph Moor, Statfordshire]: The Rudyard Press [1993]. 1st edition. 500 copies. Signed by the author.

Far Country. [Dublin]: Dedalus [1992]. Icarus editions 1. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies.

In the Name of the Wolf. Belfast, 1999. Signed.

One Man's Place. Dublin, 1994. 1st edition. Signed. (Novel)

Upon Foreign Soil. Dublin: Dedalus, 1999. Icarus editions 3. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Signed by the author.

Walking on Water. Dublin: Dedalus [1994]. "Icarus" series 3. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Gradual Wars. Shannon [Limmerick]: Irish University [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 1000 paperback copies. Inscribed by the author. Includes a typed letter signed by Deane and dated: "7 Dec. 73".

Reading in the Dark. London, 1996. 1st edition. Signed.

Reading in the Dark. New York, 1997. 1st American edition. Uncorrected proof copy. [Novel]

While Jewels Rot. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queen's University at Belfast [1966]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

Decoding Samara. [Dublin]: Dedalus [2000]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Fifth Province. [Wood engravings by Bonnie Christensen]. [Minneapolis: Traffic Street Press, 2000]. 1st edition. "Deluxe edition of 26 lettered copies. This is letter U. Signed by the author, by the artist and initialed by the book designer and printer, Paulette Myers-Rich. Slipcase.

Striped Ink. [Photographs by Paulette Myers-Rich]. [Minneapolis: Traffic Street Press, 2000]. Limited edition of 15 copies in roman numerals. This is no. IX. Signed by the author and initialed by the photographer. Slipcase.

The Heavenly Foreigner. Edited and introduced by Brian Coffey. [Dublin: Dolmen Editions [1967]. Revised edition. Originally published in Poetry Ireland in 1950. Limited edition of 1000 copies. Signed by Coffey. Dust jacket.

Char, Rene. Poems./[Poemes]. Translated by Denis Devlin and Jackson Mathews. Roma [Rome]: Botteghe Oscure, 1952. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is no. 265.

Sappho's Daughter. [Dublin]: Wave Train Press [1998]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 229. Signed by the author.

Against the Storm; poems. [Mountrath, Portlaoise]: The Dolmen Press [1985]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

The Berlin Wall Cafe. Belfast and Dover, New Hampshire: The Blackstaff Press [1985]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "26-11-85".

Christmas Day with a Goose in the Frost. London: The Harvill Press [1996]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Going Home to Russia. Belfast and Wolfeboro, New Hampshire: The Blackstaff Press [1987]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

In the Land of Punt. [Illustrations (7 full color printed plates) by] Gene Lambert. [Dublin]: Clashaganna Mills Press [1988]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and by the artist. Dust jacket.

Teresa's Bar. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1976]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Collected Poems. [Orono, Maine]: The National Poetry Foundation, University of Maine at Orono, 1983. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 56. Dust jacket.

Collected Poems. [Orono, Maine]: The National Poetry Foundation, University of Maine at Orono, 1983. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Death of Metaphor. Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire/Newbridge, Kildare, 1990. Signed.

Elegies. [Newbridge, Kildare]: Goldsmith, 1996. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Famine. Drawings by James McKenna. [Newbridge, Kildare]: Goldsmith, 1997. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Hill of Allen, a sequence of poems. Drawings by James McKenna and a note by Daithi Ohogain. [Newbridge, Kildare]: The Goldsmith Press, 2001. 1st edition. Limited to 423 numbered copies. This is 404. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

In the Holocaust of Autumn, a sequence of eight parts with an epilogue. Foreword by Ben Briscoe. [Newbridge, Kildare]: Goldsmith, 1994. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Midland, poems. Drawings by Brian Bourke. [Dublin: The Goldsmith Press, 1973]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book.

Siege! Monasterevin 22 October/7 November. [The Curragh, Kildare]: Goldsmith, 1976. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Woodcutter. [The Curragh, Kildare]: Goldsmith, 1978. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Euripides. Medea. Translated by Desmond Egan. Laurinburg, North Carolina/Newbridge, Kildare, 1991. Signed by Egan.

Sophocles. Philoctetes. Tranlated by Desmond Egan. Newbridge, Kildare, 1998. Signed by Egan.

Arboretum. [Dublin]: Dedalus [1990]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 157.

Dolmen Hill. Dublin: Gallery Books [1977]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Night on Hibernia. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1976]. 1st edition. "Limited signed edition." Signed by the author. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

Selected Poems. Dublin: Dedalus, 1996. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Lyric and Script. Dublin/London/Paris, [1947]. 1st book. Inscribed.

Among the Walls. [Dublin]: Tara Telephone Publications [1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Author's 1st book.

Caesarean; a poem. Illustration by Carol J. Blinn. Easthampton, Massachusetts: Warwick Press, 1995. Limited edition of 120 copies. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

The Deerfield Series: Strength of Heart. [Woodcuts by Timothy Engelland]. [Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press [1997]." 1st edition. Limited to 1000 copies. Written "to commemorate the Bicentennial of Deerfield Academy 1797-1997. Signed by the author and by the book designer, Carol J. Blinn.

Eye to Eye. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1992]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Flowering; a poem. [East Hampton, Massachusetts]: Warwick Press, 2000. 1st edition. Limited to 125 copies. Signed by the author and by the book designer and printer, Carol J. Blinn.

A Gentler Birth. [Illustrations by Timothy Engelland]. [Deerfield, Massachusetts: The Deerfield Press, 1976]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies.

A Gentler Birth. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press [1977]. 2nd edition. Inscribed by the illustrator and signed by the author.

The News and Weather. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1987]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "Christmas 1987." Dust jacket.

The Speaking Stones. Drawings by Timothy Engelland. [Dublin]: Gallery Books, [1978]. 1st edition/Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Strength of Heart. Deerfield, Massachusetts, 1997. 1000 copies. Signed by author and by illustrator, Carol J. Blinn.

Winter Work. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1983]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Working for the Government. [Dublin]: Dedalus, 1999. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

By The Black Stream; selected poems 1947 - 1967. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1969]. Poetry Ireland Editions. 1st edition. 1st book.

Odour of Blood, poems from Northern Ireland. The Curragh [Kildare]: The Goldsmith Press [1983]. Second edition. Inscribed by the author.

Red Earth. Belfast: Lagan Press, 1996. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "13.xi.96".

Woe to the Boy. [Belfast: Lapwing Publications, 1994]. Won the AE Memorial Prize in 1957. Signed by the author.

Kerry on My Mind; of poets, pedagogues and place. Cliffs of Moher, Clare, 1999. Signed. [Essays].

Heil Hitler. [Portrush, Antrim: Ulsterman Publications [1969]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

By Nature Different, a poem. [Brighton, Sussex: Tone Press Publications, 1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 23. Signed by the author.

Folk Tales for the General. Dublin: Raven Arts Press [1989]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "Oct. 1989."

Heart of Grace. [London]: Linden Press [1957]. 1st edition. Author's 1st volume of poetry. Dust jacket.

Heart of Grace. [London]: Linden Press [1957]; 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to British poet C. Day Lewis, and dated: "Nov. 1957". Dust jacket.

Letter to a British Soldier on Irish Soil. [Highland Park, Michigan: The Red Hanrahan Press, 1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies.

The Madwoman of Cork, poems. [Cork: The Three Spires Press, 1991]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is unnumbered.

The Collected Poems... London: Constable [1951]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Dust jacket.

The Collected Poems... [New York]: Devin-Adair [1954]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Bright Mask; new and selected poems. [Dublin]: The Dedalus Press [1985]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "26th Nobember, 1987".

Carnival at the River. [Dublin]: Dedalus [1990]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Collected Poems 1944 - 1994. Belfast: Lagan Press, 1995. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Dreams, Nightmares. [ n.p.: Author?, 1980?]. Signed by the author. [Poem card].

Ecstasy. [Belfast: Lapwing Publications, 1999]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Even Without Irene, An Autobiography. Belfast, 1995. Signed.

The Garden. [n. p.: n. p., 1986]. Signed by the author and dated: "30.11.1986". [Poem card]

A Garland for Captain Fox. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1975]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Signed by the author.

A Garland for Captain Fox. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1975]. Inscribed by the author and dated: "3.1.78". Includes a typed letter, single sheet, signed by the author.

I, Brother Stephen. Designed and illustrated by Barbara Deane. [Dublin]: St. Beuno's Hand-printed Limited Editions [1978]. No. 2 "in a series of poetry booklets printed..." by John F. & Barbara Deane. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 18. Signed by the author.

Lunch at the Ivy. Belfast: Lagan Press, 2002. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Once upon a Christmas. [n. p.: n.p., 1980?]. Signed by the author. [Poem card]

The Only Emperor. [Belfast: Lapwing Publications, 1994]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "15 August '94".

Protestant without a Horse. Belfast: Lagan Press, 1997. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Twelve Poems. Woodside, California: Occasinal Works, 1988. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 106. Signed by the author. Includes the publisher's publication announcement card containing the text of one of the poems, "Patience in Renvyle".

Other People's Houses. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1999]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Clock. [Illustrations by "T. Q."]. Cambridge: Carter [1970's?]. Signed by the author. [Poem card]

Adharca Broic [by] Michael Hartnett/Micheál OhAirtnéide. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1978]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Text in Irish.

Anatomy of a Cliche. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1968]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author. Author's 1st book.

Collected Poems. Dublin: Raven Arts Press [and] Manchester: Carcanet Press [1987]. Volume 2. Signed by the author.

Collected Poems. Edited by Peter Fallon. [Oldcastle, Meath: Gallery Books, [2001]]. 1st edition. Limited to 110 numbered copies. This is no. 67. Includes a portrait of Hartnett "by John Shinnors, signed by the artist". Slipcase.

Do Nuala: Foighne Chrainn [by] Micheál OhAirtnéide. [Baile Átha Cliath (Dublin)]: Coiscéim [1984]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Text in Irish.

A Farewell to English. Edited by Peter Fallon. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1978]. Enlarged edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

[Haiku Poetry] n.p., n.d. Photographs with text 18 plates.

Inchicore Haiku. [Dublin]: Raven Arts Press [1985]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

A Necklace of Wrens, selected poems in Irish. English translations by the author. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1987]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Prisoners. Illustrated by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press [and Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1977]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Selected and New Poems. [Edited by "P. F." (Peter Fallon)]. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1994]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Hag of Beare. A rendition of the Old Irish by Michael Hartnett. Dublin: New Writer's Press [1969]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 32.

Háicéad, Padraigín. Háicéad. [Translations by] Michael Hartnett. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1993]. 1st edition. Signed by Hartnett. Dust jacket.

Lorca, Federico Garcia. Gypsy Ballads. A version of "Romancero Gitano" (1924-27)... [by] Michael Hartnett. [Dublin: The Goldsmith Press, 1973]. 1st edition. Enclosed slip with Hartnett's signature.

O Bruadair, Daibhi. O Bruadair; selected poems... Translated and introduced by Michael Hartnett. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1985]. 1st edition. Signed by Hartnett.

Tao. A version of the Chinese classic of the sixth century B. C. [by] Michael Hartnett. [Dublin]: New Writers' Press [1971]. Edition limited to 500 copies. Signed by Hartnett. Dust jacket.

Making Space; new & selected poems. Dublin: Dedalus, 2001 1st edition. Signed by the author.

After Summer. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press and Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1978]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Air Station. Wood-engraving by Miriam Macgregor. [Cheltenham, Gloucestershire]: Friends of the Cheltenham Festival of Literature [n. d.]. [Broadside]

Among Schoolchildren, In Memory of John M. Malone, a Public Lecture Given ... on 9 June, 1983. Belfast, 1984.

Audenesque. [Illustrated with 4 original lithographs by] Max Neumann. [Paris]: Maeght Editeur [1998]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 85. Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Slipcase.

Bog Poems. Illustrated by Barrie Cooke. [London]: The Rainbow Press, 1975. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 147. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

A Boy Driving His Father to Confession. [Farnham, Surrey: The Sceptre Press, 1970]. Edition limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 61.

The Clothes Shrine. [Banholt, Holland: Bonnefant Press, 2000. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no.87. Signed by the author. In a printed paper folder.

Commencement Address [at] The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [on] May 12, 1996. Lunenburg, Vermont, 1996. 13/100 copies. Signed.

Crediting Poetry. Oldcastle, Meath, 1995. [Nobel Lecture].

Crediting Poetry. Oldcastle, Meath, 1995. Signed. [Nobel Lecture].

Death of a Naturalist. London: Faber and Faber [1966]. Uncorrected proof copy. Author's 1st book.

Death of a Naturalist. New York: Oxford University Press, 1966. 1st American edition. Inscribed to American literary scholar and poet Samuel French Morse, and dated: "17th May 1982". Dust Jacket.

Death of a Naturalist. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1980]. Reprint of 1969 Faber paperback. Signed by the author and dated: "July 1985".

A Dog Was Crying To-night in Wicklow Also, in Memory of Donatus Nwaga. Photograph by Rachel Brown. Louisville, Kentucky: White Fields Press for the Literary Renaissance, 1994. Heaven poster series #4. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 36. Signed by the author. [Broadside]

Door into the Dark. London: Faber and Faber [1969]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author: "Our poesy is as a gum which oozes/From whence 'tis nourished...'Sleinte!" The quotation is from Shakespeare's Timon of Athens. Dust jacket.

Door into the Dark. London: Faber and Faber, [1969]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to British poet, Ted Walke, and dated: "12th July 1970." Includes a fuller Timon of Athens quote with these succeeding words: "...The fire I' the flint/Shows not till it be struck - our gentle flame/Provides itself." Photo of Heaney sitting at a festival is affixed by the book owner as a fronispiece. Dust jacket.

Door into the Dark. New York: Oxford University Press, 1969. 1st American edition. Signed by the author and dated: "April 1991". Includes a Folger Shakespeare Library program guide which lists a Seamus Heaney poetry reading on April 8, 1991. Dust jacket.

Dylan the Durable? On Dylan Thomas. Bennington, Vermont, 1992. [Lecture delivered at Bennington College on May 14, 1992]. 737/1000 copies. Signed.

The Earth House. Wood-engraving by John O'Connnor. [Cheltenham, Gloucestershire]: Friends of the Cheltenham Festival of Literature [1990]. Edition limited to ca 500 copies. [Broadside]

Electric Light. [London]: Faber and Faber [2001]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 264. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Electric Light. [London]: Faber and Faber [2001]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Electric Light. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux [2001]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Eleven Poems. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queens University of Belfast [1965]. 1st edition, 1st printing. Signed by the author and dated: "28" December 1965." Author's 1st publication.

Extending the Alphabet: on Christopher Marlowe's "Hero and Leander". St. John's, Newfoundland, 1994. 1st edition.

Field Work. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1979]. 1st edition. Uncorrected proof copy.

Field Work. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1979]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "February 1982". Dust jacket.

Field Work. New York: Farrar, Straus, Giroux [1979]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Includes a ticket to a Heaney poetry reading dated: "April 17, 2001".

The Fire Gaze. Wood-engraving by Hellmuth Weissenborn. [Cheltenham, Gloucestershire]: Friends of The Cheltenham Festival of Literature, 1989. Edition limited to ca. 500 copies. [Broadside]

The Fire i' the Flint: Reflections on the Poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins. London, 1975. 1st edition.

From the Republic of Conscience. Illustrated by John Behan. [Dublin]: Amnesty International [Irish Section, 1985]. 1st edition. Limited to 2000 copies. Inscribed at Christmas by "Seamus & Marie and the children".

Good-night. Etching by Beate Pionke. [Belfast]: Arts Council of Northern Ireland [n.d.]. "Poetry in Motion". For use on buses and subways [Ulsterbus]. [Poster]

The Government of the Tongue; the 1986 T. S. Eliot memorial lectures and other critical writings. London/Boston, 1988. Signed.

Hailstones. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1984]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Haw Lantern. New York: Farrar, Straus, Giroux [1987]. 1st American edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 115. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Hedge School; sonnets from Glanmore. Colour woodcuts by Claire Van Vliet. Newark, Vermont: Printed for Charles Seluzicki, Fine Books in Salem, Oregon at the James Press, 1979. Edition limited to 285 numbered copies. This is no. 136. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

In Their Element; a selection of poems by Seamus Heaney & Derek Mahon. [Belfast: Arts Council of Northern Ireland, 1977]. 1st edition. Inscribed by Heaney in 1991 and signed by Mahon in "'93".

In Their Element: a selection of poems by Seamus Heaney & Derek Mahon. Belfast, 1977.

An Innvocation. London: Bernard Stone and Raymond Danowski, The Turret Bookshop..., 1992. 1st edition unpublished, variant issue. [Broadside]

Iron Spike. Concord, New Hampshire: William B. Ewert, 1992. Edition limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author. [Broadside]

Keeping Going, poems. Illustrations by Dimitri Hadzi. Concord, New Hampshire: The Bow & Arrow Press...for William B. Ewert, Publisher, 1993. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies "specially cased in boards". This is no. 21. Signed by the author, by the illustrator, and by the book designer, Gino Lee.

Keeping Going. Illustrations by Dimitri Hadzi. Concord, New Hampshire: The Bow & Arrow Press...for William B. Ewert, Publisher, 1993. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies bound in wrappers. This is a "hors commerce" copy, being one of a few retained for use of author, illustrator and publisher. Signed by the author, by the illustrator, and by the book designer, Gino Lee.

Land. [London]: Poem-of-the Month Club, 1971. Signed by the author. [Broadside]

The Light of the Leaves. Screenprints by Jan Hendrix. [English text format followed by translations into Spanish by Pura Lopez Colombé and into Dutch by Jan Eijkelboom]. Banholt [Holland: In De Bonnefont]; Mexico D. F.: Imprenta De Los Tropicas, 1999. 1st edition. Limited to 63 numbered copies. This is no. 54. Signed by the author and by the artist. 2 vols. Slipcase. Accompanied by a 10 page booklet containing 10 of the screenprints in a smaller format. The first print is signed by the artist.

The Loose Box. [New York: The Oliphant Press, 2001]. Limited to 101 numbered copies. This is no. 42. (folded to 4pp). Signed by the author. Ocassioned by the 25th anniversary of Parnassus: Poetry in Review.

A Lough Neagh Sequence. [Didsbury, Manchester: Phoenix Pamphlet Poets Press, 1969]. 1st edition. Limited to 950 copies. Inscribed by the author.

A Lough Neagh Sequence. Didsbury, Manchester, 1969. 950 copies.

The Makings of a Music: reflections on the poetry of Wordsworth and Yeats. Liverpool, 1978. Signed.

The Midnight Verdict. Oldcastle, Meath, 1993. 1st edition. 1000 copies.

Mint. Original woodcut by Mary Azarian. Concord, New Hampshire: William B. Ewert, 1991. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 20. Signed by the author and by the artist, under the woodcut. [Broadside]

New Selected Poems 1966-1981. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1990]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 87, Signed by the author. Slipcase.

North. London: Faber and Faber [1975]. 1st edition. Uncorrected proof copy.

North. London: Faber and Faber [1975]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author with an Irish toast "S'lainte agus saol", and includes place and date: "Toronto, October 1971".

The Northern Muse. [Phone disc] [Baile Atlo Cliath (Dublin): Claddagh Records] (Ceirini Cladaig) CCT. 4, [1968]. One 12" 33 rpm sound recording. Seamus Heaney and John Montague read their own poetry. Notes by the poets on album's back cover.

Now and in England. (n.p., n.d.) Offprint from Critical Inquiry. Spring, 1977. "Artists on Art."

An Open Letter. [Derry: Field Day Theatre Company, 1983]. Field Day Pmaphlets, no. 2. 1st edition. Signed by the author, and dated "November 1986".

Opened Ground; poems 1966-1996. [London}: Faber and Faber [1998]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 171. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Opened Ground, poems 1966-1996. [London]: Faber and Faber [199888]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Opened Ground: selected poems 1966-1996. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux [1998]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Personal Selection, August 20-October 24, 1982. Belfast, 1982. [Art Exhibit Notes].

Poems 1965-1975: Death of a Naturalist; Door into the Dark; Wintering Out; North. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux [1980]. 1st edition. Uncorrected proof copy, with dust jacket proof.

Poems and a Memoir. Selected and illustrated by Henry Pearson... Introduction by Thomas Flanagan and a preface by Seamus Heaney. [New York]: The Limited Editions Club [1982]. 1st edition. Limited to 2000 numbered copies. This is no. 1514. Signed by the author, by the illustrator, and by Flanagan. Slipcase.

Poetry Ireland 50/60... [see Montague, John].

Poet's Chair. Linoleum block illustration by Dimitri Hadzi. Concord, New Hampshire: William B. Ewert, 1993. Edition limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author and by the artist, under the illustration. [Broadside]

Preoccupations, Selected Prose 1968-1978. New York, 1980. Uncorrected proof copy. Signed.

The Redress of Poetry. London, 1995. 1st edition. "Oxford Lectures."

The Redress of Poetry. New York, 1995. 1st American edition. Signed.

Remembering Malibu. Linoleum block illustration by Carol Wehrmann. Claremont, California: Scripps College Press, 1982. Supressed 1st edition. Limited to a planned 200 copies, but only about 10-15 were released. Dedicated to Irish novelist Brian Moore. [Broadside]

Remembering Malibu. [Linoleum print by Carol Wehrmann]. [Claremont, California: Scripps Collee Press, 1983]. 1st edition. Limited to 180 numbered copies. This is no. 27. Dedicated to Brian Moore. [Broadside]

Robert Lowell, a Memorial Address and an Elegy. London and Boston, 1978. Signed.

Seamus Heaney. [Kobenhavn (Copenhagen)]: Skoleradioen, 1977. 1st edition. [Edited by Edward Broadbridge]. Includes the script of the radio program broadcast on November 22, 1977. Contains poetry and prose by Heaney and interviews with him. Photographs.

Seamus Heaney, Felim Egan: Toward a Collaboration, October, 1986. [Enniskillen, Fermanagh: Ardhowen Centre: 1986]. Contains one sonnet and illustration. [see Heaney's Squarings].

Seeing Things. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1991]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 signed copies. This is no. 64. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Seeing Things. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1991]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Selected Poems 1965-1975. London and Boston: Faber & Faber [1980]. 1st edition. Limited to 750 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Selected Poems 1965-1975. London and Boston: Faber & Faber [1980]. Inscribed by the author and dated: "22 February 1982". Dust jacket.

Selected Poems 1966-1987. New York: Farrar Straus and Giroux [1990]. 1st American edition. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 112. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Servant Boy. Detroit: The Red Hanrahan Press, 1971. 1st edition. [Broadside]

The Sounds of Rain. [Atlanta]: Emory University [1988]. 1st edition. Privately printed to mark the inauguration of the Richard Ellmann lectures in Modern Literature, April 11-15, 1988. 300 copies.

The Spirit Level. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1996]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is no. 248. Signed by the author.

The Spirit Level. London/Boston, 1996. 290/350 copies. Signed. Slipcase.

The Spirit Level. London [and Boston: Faber and Faber [1996]. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Spirit Level. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux [1996]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author and dated. "28.IX.96". Dust jacket.

The Spirit Level. New York: Farrar, Strauss, Giroux [1996]. 2 volumes, consisting of the book and the book read by the author on audio cassette.

[Squarings]: Twelve poems. 4 lithographs [by] Felim Egan. Dublin: [Hieroglyph Editions], 1991. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no 51. Signed by the author and by the artist. Calf binding in a solander box.

Station Island. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1984]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Station Island. New York: Farrar, Straus, Grious [1985]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "14.x.87". Dust jacket. Owner's slipcase.

The Stick. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Privately Published by Peter Fallon at The Gallery Press, 1998. Edition limited to 74 numbered copies. This is no. 68. Signed by the author. Marks 'the presentation of the Parnell Stick by Seamus Heaney to Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill...". [Broadside]

The Tree Clock. Belfast: The Linen Hall Library [1990]. 1st edition. Limited to 750 copies. Signed by the author and dated: "20.ix.'90". Dust jacket.

An Upstairs Outlook. An evening of poetry by Seamus Heaney and Michael Longley [on] Thursday 4th May 1989 at the Elmwood Hall, University Road, Belfast. "Commemorative Programme". Belfast: Published in aid of the Linen Hall Library Development Campaign], 1989. Contains three poems by each author.

Verses for a Fordham Commencement. [New York]: NADJA [1984]. 1st edition. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 184. Signed by the author.

Verses for a Fordham Commencement. New York, 1984. 186/200 copies. Signed.

The Water Pause. Wood engraving by Gwenda Morgan. [Cheltenham, Gloucestershire]: Friends of The Cheltenham Festival of Literature, 1991. [Broadside]

Wintering Out. London: Faber and Faber [1972]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Beowulf. English. Beowulf. Translated by Seamus Heaney. [London]: Faber and Faber [1999]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 296. Signed by Heaney. Slipcase.

Beowulf. English. From Beowulf. Translated by Seamus Heaney. [London]: London Arts Board, The British Council and Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation [1999]. Poems on the Underground - 1000 years of poetry in English. [Poster]

Beowulf. English. A Skilled Poet. Translation of Beowulf, lines 88-98, [by] Seamus Heaney. [Cambridge, Massachusetts]: Bow & Arrow Press, 1999. Edition limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 63. Signed by Heaney. [Broadside].

Beowulf. English. "Then a Powerful Demon..." From Beowulf. London [1999?] Poems of the Underground [Poster]

Merriman, Brian. The Midnight Verdict. [Translated by] Seamus Heaney. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1993]. 1st edition. Limited to 1,000 copies. Consists of excerpts from Merriman's Cúirt an Mheán Oíche and 2 excerpts from Ovid's Metamorphoses. Dust jacket.

Les nouns de un leure en engleis/The Names of the Hare. [Translated] from the Middle English [by] Seamus Heaney. [Illumination by Barry Flanagan and photography by David Ward]. [London: Waddington Galleries, 1982]. 1st edition. Parallel texts in Middle English and English. Signed by Heaney. [Broadside]

O'Searcaigh, Cathal. Caoineadh. (I gcuimhne mo mháthar)/Lament (In memory of my mother). [Translated by] Seamus Heaney. [Photograph by] Kevin McKiernan. Baile Atha Claith [Dublin]: Coisceim Feirste [1995?]. 1st edition. Signed by author and translator. Texts in Irish and English. [Broadside]

O'Searcaigh, Cathal. Na Piopaí Crofoige/The Clay Pipes. Translated by Seamus Heaney. Photograph [by] Rachel Brown. Louisville, Kentucky: White Fields Press, 1995. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 24. Signed by the author, by Heaney, and by the photographer. [Broadside]

Sophocles. The Cure at Troy. A Version of Sophocles' Philoctetes [by] Seamus Heaney. Derry, 1990. 1st edition. 379/500 copies. Signed by Heaney.

Sophocles. The Cure at Troy. A version of Sophocles' Philoctetes [by] Seamus Heaney. New York, 1991. 1st American edition. Signed by Heaney, by Caribbean poet, Derek Walcott, by a director of the Guildhall, Derry production in October, 1990, Stephen Rea, and by a cast member.

Sweeney Astray. A version from the Irish [Buile Suibhne] by Seamus Heaney. Derry: Field Day Publication, 1983. 1st edition. Signed by Heaney and dated: "1 July 1992". Dust jacket.

Sweeney Astray. ["...Seamus Heney's version of the medieval Irish work Buile Suibhne..." London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1984]. 1st English edition. Dust jacket.

Sweeney Astray. A version from the Irish [Buile Suibhne] by Seamus Heaney. [Illustrated by Barrie Cooke]. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux [1984]. 1st American edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is no. 101. Signed by Heaney. Slipcase.

Sweeney's Flight. Based on the revised text of Sweeney Astray [by] Seamus Heaney. With the complete revised text of 'Sweeney Astray'. Photographs by Rachel Giese. [London]: Faber and Faber [1992]. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Agenda. 27, no. 1 Spring, 1989. London. "Seamus Heaney: Fifieth Birthday Issue". Contains poems and prose by Heaney, and critical essays about him. 2/50 copies. Signed by Heaney.

Vendler, Helen. Seamus Heaney. Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1998. 1st edition. Signed by Heaney.

Walker, Dorothy. Modern Art in Ireland. Foreward by Seamus Heaney. 24/100 copies. Signed by author and by Heaney. Slipcase.

The Chinese Fluteplayer [Lisburn, Antrim: Tomorrows Press, 1974]. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies.

Collected Poems, 1932-1967. [London]: Macgibbon & Kee [1968]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "9.X.76" Dust jacket.

Scissors for a One-Armed Tailor; marginal verses 1929-1954. Belfast: [privately printed for the author] 1974. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies.

Tesserae. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queens University of Belfast [1967]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "17.XII.67".

Time Enough; poems new and revised. [Belfast]: Blackstaff Press [1976]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "9.XI.76".

An Ulster Reckoning. [Coventry, Warwickshire: Privately printed for the author, 1971]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "14.VI.71".

Ask Silence Why; selected poems (1961-1982). Edited by Ellen Shannon-Mangan. [Dublin]: Beaver Row Press, 1987. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Cast a Cold Eye. [see Kennelly, Brendan].

The Frost Is All Over. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1975]. 1st edition. Limited to 225 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Tongue without Hands. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1963]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book of poetry.

Watching the Morning Grow. Dublin: Gallery Books [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Green Altars, poems. [Belfast]: Owenvarra Press, 1951. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "December 1951".

Last Sanctuary and Other Poems. Belfast: Quota Press, 1954. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "June 1955".

Keeping the Night Watch. Cork, 1998. Signed. [Short Stories].

True North. [Cliffs of Moher, Clare]: Salmon Poetry [1997]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Blood and Stations. [Dublin]: Gallery Press [1976]. 1st edition. "Limited edition signed by the author". Dust jacket.

Patrician Stations. [Dublin]: New Writers' Press [1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book.

A Raft from Flotsam, versifications 1948-1974. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1975]. 1st edition. Limited to 225 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Pentahedron. [Dublin]: New Writer's Press [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Sole Glum Trek. Dublin: New Writer's Press, 1967. 1st edition. "New Irish Poets". Author's 1st book.

Stone Floods. Dublin: New Writer's Press [1995]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

With the First Dream of Fire They Hunt the Cold; a body of work 66/00. [Dublin: New Writers' Press, 2001]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Collected Poems. London: Mac Gibbon & Kee, 1964. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 16. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Come Dance with Kitty Stobling and Other Poems. [London]: Longmans [1960]. 1st edition. Review copy with publisher's announcement laid in. "The choice of the Poetry Book Society".

Control Tower. [London]: Chatto and Windus [with] The Hogarth Press, 1962. 1st edition. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

Heartwood. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northunberland]: Northern House, 1978. 1st edition. Limited to 25 numbered copies. This is no. 8. Signed by the author.

In Praise of Warmth (New & Selected Poems). [Dublin]: Dedalus [1987]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "June 1987". Inscribed to Irish poet, Robert Greacen.

Begin. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northunberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1999]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Boats Are Home. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1980]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Boats Are Home. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1980]. Inscribed by the author in Dublin and dated: "19th March, '81". Laid in is author's written and signed letter on the University of Dublin, Trinity College, letterhead, addressed to the book owner and dated: "19.3.'81".

Bread, poems. [Dublin: Tara Telephone Publications, 1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 1,000 copies. Signed by the author. In manuscript on the title page is the last stanza of the last poem, "Proof". Also included is a brief note signed by the author and dated: "6/Feb/90".

Cast a Cold Eye. [by] Brendan Kennelly & Rudi Holzapfel. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1959]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by Kennelly. 1st publication for both authors.

Collection One: Getting Up Early. Dublin: Allen & Figgis, 1966. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to the widow of Irish poet, John Irvine. Dust jacket.

Cromwell, a poem. [Illustrations by Brian Kelly]. [Dublin]: Beaver Row Press [1983]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 133. Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Dust jacket.

The Crooked Cross. Dublin, 1963. Signed. [Novel].

Dream of a Black Fox. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1968. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to the widow of Irish poet, John Irvine. Dust jacket.

The Florentines. Dublin, 1967. Signed. [Novel].

Glimpses. [Tarset, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [2001]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket with publisher's wrap announcing author's signature.

Good Souls to Survive, poems. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1967. 1st edition. Inscribed to the widow of Irish poet, John Irvine. Dust jacket.

The House That Jack Didn't Build; poems. [Dublin]: Beaver Row Press [1982]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

In Spite of the Wise. Dublin: Trinity Closet Press, 1979. 1st edition. Limited to 50 copies. Signed by the author.

Islandman; a poem. [Design and drawings by Denis Bannister]. [Clondalkin, Dublin]: Profile Press [1977]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Kind of Trust. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1975]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Inscribed by the author and also signed by him on title page. Dust jacket.

Love Cry. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1972. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Man Made of Rain. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1998]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Moloney up and at It. Illustrations by John Verling. Dublin and Cork: The Mercier Press [1984]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 3 Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Dust jacket.

Moloney up and at It. Illustrations by John Verling. Dublin and Cork: The Mercier Press [1984]. Signed by the author.

My Dark Fathers. With a note to the poem (and a word list - by Johannes Hedberg). Nacka [Sweden]: Moderna Spräk [n. d.]. Offprint from Moderna Spräk. Signed by the author.

New and Selected Poems. Edited by Peter Fallon. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1976]. 1st edition. "Limited edition signed by the author". Dust jacket.

Poetry My Arse; a poem. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1995]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

Salvation, the Stranger. [Dublin]: Tara Telephone Publiations [1972]. 1st edition. Limited edition of 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Salvation, the Stranger. [Dublin]: Tara Telephone Publications [1972]. Limited to 1700 copies. Inscribed by the author.

Selected Poems. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1969. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Selected Poems. Edited by Kevin Byrne. [Dublin]: Kerrymount Publications [1985]. Edition limited to 750 numbered copies. This is no. 300. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Shelley in Dublin, poems. [Dublin]: Anna Livia Books, The Dublin Magazine Press [1974]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

Shelley in Dublin. [Dublin]: Egoist Press [1977]. Signed by the author.

Shelley in Dublin, poems. [Dublin}: Beaver Row Press [1982]. Revised edition. Signed by the author.

The Singing Tree. [Newry [and] Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press [1998]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 249. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Small Light; ten songs of O'Connor of Carrigafoyle. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1979]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Small Light; ten songs of O'Connor of Carrigafoyle. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1979]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Last stanza from "One", in manuscript beneath printed poem, and signed by the author.

A Time for Voices; selected poems 1960-1990. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1990]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no 79. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Up and at It. [Illustrated]. Dublin: New Square Publications, 1965. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

The Visitor, poems. Design and illustration by Barbara Deane. [Portmarnock, Dublin]: St. Beuno's Hand-printed Limited Editions [1978]. "No. 3 in a series of poetry booklets hand-printed by John F. & Barbara Deane. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 179. Signed by the author.

[The Visitor]. Gerrards Cross [Buckinghamshire]: Colin Smythe, 1980. Offprint from Yeats, Sligo and Ireland..., edited by A. Norman Jeffares. Signed by the author.

The Voices; a sequence of poems. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1973]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Voices, a sequence of poems. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1973]. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author.

Words for Women; poems. [Dublin: Poetry Ireland], 1977. Poetry Ireland pamphlets, 1st series. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 22. Signed by the author.

A Drinking Cup; poems from the Irish. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1970. 1st edition. Limited to 1000 copies. Poem, "The Bell", in manuscript on front endpaper, and signed by Kennelly.

A Drinking Cup; poems from the Irish. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1970. Poem "Etain", in manuscript on the title page, and signed by Kennelly.

A Drinking Cup; poems from the Irish. Dublin: Allen Figgis, 1970. Poem, "Fionn's Generosity", in manuscript on the front endpaper, and signed by Kennelly.

Love of Ireland; poems from the Irish. Cork and Dublin: The Mercier Press [1989]. 1st edition. Signed by Kennelly.

Another September. Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1958. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 33. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Another September. Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1958. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Butcher's Dozen. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1972]. Peppercanister series #1. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 5. Signed by the author.

Butcher's Dozen. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [distributed to The Dedalus Press", [1992]. Limited to 500 copies. 1/500. Signed by the author.

Citizen of the World. Dublin, 2000. 1st edition. 250 copies.

Citizen of the World. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed in Ireland by The Dedalus Press, 2000]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Death of a Queen. Drawings by Bridget Swinton. [Glenageary, Dublin: Dolmen Press, 1956]. 4pp. 1st edition.

Downstream. Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1962. Uncorrected proof copy.

Downstream. Dublin: The Dolmen Press [and] London: Oxford University Press, 1962. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Fair Eleanor: O Christ Thee Save; poems. [Phono disc]. [Baile Átha Cliath (Dublin)]: Cladagh Records (Ceirini Claddgh) [CCT 6, 1969]. One 12" 33 1/3 rpm sound recording. Thomas Kinsella reads his own poetry.

The Familiar. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed in Ireland by The Dedalus Press and in the United Kingdom by Coronet Press, 1999. Peppercanister series #20. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Fifteen Dead. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press in association with Peppercanister, 1979. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 42. Signed by the author. In slipcase with One and Other Poems (q.v.).

Finistere. [Dublin: Dolmen Press, 1972]. Dolmen Editions series #16. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 213. Signed by the author.

Godhead. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed in Ireland by The Dedalus Press and in the United Kingdom by Carcanet Press, 1999]. Peppercanister series #21. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Good Fight; a poem for the tenth anniversary of the death of John F. Kennedy. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1973]. Peppercanister series #4. 1st edition. Limited to 125 numbered copies. This is no. 118. Signed by the author. Original plain white cover.

The Good Fight; a poem for the tenth anniversary of the death of John F. Kennedy. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1973]. Signed by the author.

Her Vertical Smile. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1985]. Peppercanister series #10. 1st edition. Limited to 25 lettered copies. This is letter X. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Her Vertical Smile. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1985]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 22. Dust jacket.

Her Vertical Smile. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1985]. Edition limited to 350 copies. Signed by the author.

Littlebody. Dublin, 2000. 1st edition. 250 copies.

Littlebody. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed in Ireland by The Dedalus Press and in the United Kingdom by Carcanet Press, 2000]. Peppercanister series #23. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Madonna and Other Poems. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed by The Dedalus Press, 1991]. Peppercanister #16. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Signed by the author.

The Messenger. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1978]. Peppercanister series #8. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no 30. Signed by the author. Additional 14 line poem in manuscript on front endpaper. Slipcase.

The Messenger. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1978]. 1st edition. 450 copies. Inscribed by the author.

Moralities. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1960]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies.

New Poems 1973. [Dublin]: The Domen Press [1973]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Nightwalker and Other Poems. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1967]. Uncorrected proof copy.

Nightwalker. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1967]. New Dolmen Chapbooks #2. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 100. Signed by the author. Original glassine cover.

Nightwalker and Other Poems. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1968. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Notes from the Land of the Dead; poems. Dublin: The Cuala Press, 1972. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 383. Original plain white cover.

Notes from the Land of the Dead and Other Poems. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1973. 1st American edition. Signed by the author.

One. Drawings by Anne Yeats. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1974]. Peppercanister series #5. 1st edition. Limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter F. Signed by the author and by the artist. Additional 10 line poem in manuscript on front endpaper, "The storyteller's face...". Leather bound. Slipcase.

One. Drawings by Anne Yeats. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1974]. Edition limited to 124 numbered copies. This is no. 15. Enclosed note written by Kinsella on Peppercanister stationary indicates that though this is a duplicate no. 15, it is kept as "out of series". Signed by the author and by the artist. Quarter bound in calf.

One. Drawings by Anne Yeats. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1974]. Edition limited to 750 copies.

One and Other Poems. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press in association with Peppercanister, 1979. Edition limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 42. Signed by the author. In slipcase with Fifteen Dead (q.v.).

One Fond Embrace. Dublin, 1988 1st expanded edition. 500 copies. Signed.

One Fond Embrace. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1981]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Dust jacket.

One Fond Embrace. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1981]. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

One Fond Embrace. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1988]. Peppercanister series #13. Edition limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

One Fond Embrace. [Dubln}: Peppercanister [1988]. Edition limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author.

Open Court. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1991]. Peppercnister series #17. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Open Court. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1991]. Edition limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author.

Out of Ireland. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1987]. Peppercanister series #11. 1st edition. Limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter S. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Out of Ireland. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1987]. 1st edition. Edition limited to 100 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Out of Ireland. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1987]. 1st edition. Edition limited to 350 copies.

The Pen Shop. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [Distributed in Ireland by The Dedalus Press and in the United Kingdom by Carcanet Press, 1997]. Peppercanister series #19. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Personal Places. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1990]. Peppercanister series #14. 1st edition. Limited to 150 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Poems. [Engraving by Elizabeth Rivers] [Glenageary, Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1956]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 185. Dust jacket.

Poems & Translations. New York: Atheneum, 1961. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Poems from Centre City. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1990]. Peppercanister series #15. 1st edition. Limited to 150 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

St. Catherine's Clock. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1987]. Peppercanister series #12. 1st edition. Limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter K. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

St. Catherine's Clock. [Dublin}: Peppercanister [1987]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 copies. Dust jacket.

A Selected Life. [Dublin}: Peppercanister. [Printed at The Dolmen Press, 1972]. Peppercanister #2. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 82. Signed by the author. This edition is "...specially bound..." in black quarter -leather.

Selected Poems 1956-1968. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1973]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Short Sequence. [Storrs, Connecticut: The University of Connecticut Library, 1975. 4 pp. Edition limited to 300 copies. Issued on the occasion of a reading by the poet at The University of Connecticut Library on April 22, 1975.

Song of the Night and Other Poems. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1978]. Peppercanister series #7. 1st edition. [Library edition, limited to 50 copies]. Original plain white cover.

Song of the Night and Other Poems. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1978]. Edition limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author.

Songs of the Psyche. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1985]. Peppercanister series #9. 1st edition. Limited to 25 lettered copies. This is letter U. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Songs of the Psyche. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1985]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 5. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Starlit Eye. Drawings by Liam Miller. Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1952. 1st edition. Limited to 175 copies. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book.

Tear. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Pym-Randall Press, 1969. 1st edition. Limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter t. Signed by the author.

Tear. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Pym-Randall Press, 1969. 1st edition. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 180. Signed by the author.

A Technical Supplement. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1976]. Peppercanister series #6. 1st edition. Limited to XXV numbered copies. This is no. XV. Signed by the author. Contains an additional poem of 24 lines, in manuscript. Illustrated by "details selected from the volumes of plates issued with Diderot's Encyclopedie..." . Slipcase.

A Technical Supplement. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1976]. 1st edition. Limited to 550 copies. Signed by the author. Unprinted dust jacket.

A Technical Supplement. Dublin, 1976. 1st edition. 50 copies.

Thomas Kinsella: a poetry reading at the Peacock Theatre. [Dublin]: Peacock Theatre, 1967. Contains the poem "Before Sleep". [Program].

Three Irish Poets. [see Montague, John].

Three Legendary Sonnets. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1952]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is unnumbered. Signed by the author.

Trinity. [Dublin: Pepercanister; Portland, Oregon: Charles Seluzicki Fine & Rare Books, 2000. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 43. Signed by the author. [Poem card].

Vertical Man: a sequel to A Selected Life. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1973]. Peppercanisterseries #3. 1st edition. Edition limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 85. Signed by the author.

Vertical Man: a sequel to A Selected Life. [Dublin]: Peppercanister [1973]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies.

Wormwood. [Dublin]: Dolmen Editions [1966]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies. Signed by the author. Original glassine cover.

Longes Mac nUsnig: Being the Exile and Death of the Sons of Usnech. [Translated by Thomas Kinsella from the Irish in the Book of Leinster. Illustrations by Mia Cranwell]. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press, [1954]. 1st edition. Limited to 225 copies. This is no. 208.

Longes Mac nUsnig: The Exile of the Sons of Usnech & the Exile of Fergus & the Death of the Sons of Usnech & Deirdre. Translated by Thomas Kinsella from the Irish. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1960]. Revised edition. Signed by Kinsella.

Patrick, Saint. The Breastplate of Saint Patrick. Translated [from the Irish, Faeth Fiadha] into English by Thomas Kinsella. [Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1954]. 1st edition. Limited to 15 numbered copies bound in leather. This is no. 12. Signed by Kinsella and by the book designer,H. Neville Roberts. Slipcase.

Patrick, Saint. The Breastplate of Saint Patrick. Translated [from the Irish, Faeth Fiadha (the Deer's Cry)] into English by Thomas Kinsella. [Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1954]. Edition limited to 275 copies. 1st edition, 25/275 copies. Signed by Kinsella.

The Tain. Translated by Thomas Kinsella from the Irish [Táin Bo Cuailnge]. Brush drawings by Louis LeBrocquy. [Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1969]. Dolmen editions IX. 1st edition. Limited to 750 copies. Dust jacket in slipcase.

Thirty Three Triads. Translated by Thomas Kinsella from the xii century Irish. Decorated by Pauline Bewick. [Dublin: The Dolment Press], 1955. 1st edition. Limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 74. Signed by Kinsella and by the illustrator. Original glassine cover.

[Letter] 1980 October 30, Philadelphia [to] Bill Cole [New York] ALS, with envelope. 1 page.

Esau, My Kingdom for a Drink; homage to James Joyce on his LXXX birthday. Dublin, 1962. 1st book. [Lecture].

Homage to Patrick Kavanagh. Dublin, 1971. 500 copies. Inscribed.

In a Blue Smoke. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1964]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book of poetry. Dust jacket

A Lite of Stephen Dedalus. San Francisco: White Rabbit Press, 1969. 1st edition. Limited to 474 copies. Inscribed by the author.

A White Thought in a White Shade; new and selected poems. [Dublin]: Kerr's Pinks [1987]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

Anticleia. "Carrigskeewaun, 28 August 1989". Poem in manuscript; 18 lines on one page. Signed by the author.

Birds & Flowers, poems. [Edinburgh]: Morning Star Folio, 1994. 6pp. Edition limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter R. Signed by the author.

Birds & Flowers, poems. [Edinburgh]: Morning Star Folio, 1994. 6pp. Edition limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 205.

Broken Dishes. [Newry and Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press, 1998. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 203. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Echo Gate, poems 1975-79. London: Secker & Warburg [1979]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "12.3.82". Dust jacket.

An Exploded View, poems 1968-72. London: Victor Gollancz, 1973. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: '2 June 91". Dust jacket.

Fishing in the Sky: Love Poems. [Pinner, London: Poet & Printer, 1975]. 1st edition. Inscribed to Ulster painter Colin Middleton and to his wife, poet Kate Middleton. Dated: "29.x.75".

The Ghost Orchid. [London]: Cape Poetry [Jonathan Cape, 1995]. 1st edition. Limited to 750 numbered copies. This is no. 133. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Gorse Fires. [London]: Secker & Warburg [1991]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "2 June 91".

Gorse Fires. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1991]. 1st American Edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Laertes. "Cardose, 6 July 1989." Poem in manuscript; 18 lines on one page. Signed by the author.

Lares; poems. Illustrated by Brian Ferran. Woodford Green, Essex: Poet & Printer, 1972. 1st edition.

The Linen Workers. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1986]. Signed by the author.

No Continuing City; poems 1963-1968. [Dublin]: Gill and Macmillan [1969]. 1st edition.

No Continuing City; poems 1963-1968. [London]: Macmillan [1969]. Signed by the author.

Out of the Cold: Drawings and Poems for Christmas [by] Michael Longley & Sarah Longley. [Newry and Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press [1999]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 24. Signed by the author and by the illustrator Sarah Longley. Slipcase.

Out of the Cold: Drawings and Poems for Christmas [by] Michael Longley & Sarah Longley. [Newry and Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press [1999]. Edition limited to 500 copies. This is no. 279. Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Dust jacket.

Out of the Cold: Drawings & Poems for Christmas [by] Michael Longley & Sarah Longley. [Newry and Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press [1999]. Limited edition paperback of 250 numbered copies. This is no. 54. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

Patchwork. Drawings by Jim Allen. [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1981]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

Poems 1963-1983. [Harmondsworth, Middlesex]: Penguin Books [1986]. King Penguin. Signed by the author.

Secret Marriages; nine short poems. [Didsbury, Manchester: Phoenix Pamphlet Poets Press, 1968]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 42. Signed by the author.

Secret Marriages; nine short poems. [Didsbury, Manchester: Phoenix Pamphlet Poets Press, 1968]. Edition limited to 950 copies.

Selected Poems. [London]: Cape Poetry [Jonathan Cape, 1998]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Selected Poems. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina: Wake Forest University Press [1999]. 1st American edition. Includes publisher's typed letter signed soliciting a review.

The Ship of the Wind, eight poems. [Dublin]: Poetry Ireland Pamphlets, 1997. Edition limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 39. Signed by the author.

Ten Poems. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queens University of Belfast [1965]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

An Upstairs Outlook. [see Heaney, Seamus].

The Weather in Japan. [London]: Cape Poetry [Jonathan Cape, 2000]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 120. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Weather in Japan. [London]: Cape Poetry [Jonathan Cape, 2000]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

A Heart Full of Thought. Translations by Máire MacEntee from the Irish. [Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1959]. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 32. Signed by MacEntee. Unprinted tissue dust jacket.

Collected Poems 1943-1995. Introduced by Philip Hobsbaum. Belfast: Lagan Press, 1996. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Flowers for a Lady. London, 1945. 1st edition. 2nd book.

Collected Poems. Edited by Thomas Dillon Redshaw. Forword by Samuel Beckett. [Dublin]: New Writers' Press [1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by Beckett. Dust jacket. Signed by the owner, Beckett actor Jack Mac Gowran, on the front pastedown.

Captain Lavender. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1994]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Captain Lavender. Oldcastle, Meath, 1999. Signed.

The Flower Master. Oxford [and] New York: Oxford University Press, 1982. 1st edition. 1st book. Inscribed by the author.

Portrait of Joanne. [Belfast]: Ulster Publications [1980]. 1st edition. Author's 2nd publication.

Shelmalier. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1998]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Language of Birds. Dublin: New Island Books [1995]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 82. Signed by the author. Includes a broadside insert, "His Death", from this collection, which is also limited to 150 copies and signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Burning Perch. London: Faber and Faber [1963]. 1st edition. Inscribed to Beckett actor Jack MacGowran by his wife, Gloria, and dated: "September 1963". Dust jacket.

The Revenant; a song-cycle for Hedli Anderson. Dulin: The Cuala Press, 1975. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is no. 233.

Ten Burnt Offerings. London: Faber and Faber [1952]. 1st edition. Inscribed to American writer, Eleanor Clark, wife of American novelist and poet, Robert Penn Warren: "for Eleanor/with love/from Louis/Sept. '52". Dust jacket.

Ten Burnt Offerings. New York: Oxford University Press, 1953. 1st American edition. American poet Richard Eberhart's copy, and signed by him. Dust jacket.

Visitations. London: Faber and Faber [1957]. 1st edition. Inscribed to American writier, Eleanor Clark. Dust jacket, with wrap-around sleeve announcing this as a Poetry Book Society Choice.

Antarctica. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1985]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Beyond Howith Head. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1970]. Poetry Ireland Editions. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

Collected Poems. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1999]. 1st edition Limited to 110 numbered copies. This is no. 57. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Courtyards in Delft. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1981]. 1st edition. Limited to 325 copies. Inscribed by the author and dated: "April '81". Dust Jacket.

Derek Mahon Reads His Poetry. [Phonodisc]. [Baile Atha Cliath (Dublin): Claddagh Records (Ceirini Cladaig) CCT 11, 1973. One 12" 33 1/3 rpm sound recording. Notes on the poetry by Irish poet, Richard Ryan on the album's back cover.

Design for a Grecian Urn, poems. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Erato Publishing, 1966. 1st edition. Limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 10. Erato poets, pamphlet # 2.

Ecclesiastes. [Didsbury, Manchester: Phoenix Pamphlet Poets, 1970]. Phoenix Pamphlet Poets #9. 1st edition. Limited to 60 numbered copies. This is #43. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Hunt by Night. [Oxford]: Oxford University Press, 1982. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

In Their Element. [see Heaney, Seamus]

A Kensington Notebook. [London]: Anvil Press Poetry [1983]. 1st book edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies that are signed by the author. This is no. 7.

A Kensington Notebook. [London]: Anvil Press Poetry [1983]. Edition limited to 250 copies numbered 251-500, without a designated author's signature. This is no. 287. Signed by the author on the title page.

Light Music. [Belfast]: Ulstermann Publications [1977]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Lives. London: Oxford University Press, 1972. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Man Who Built His City in Snow; (in memoriam Wallace Stevens 1879 - 1955). [London]: Poem-of-the-Month Club, 1972. Signed by the author. [Broadside]

Poems 1962-1978. Oxford; New York; Toronto; Melbourne: Oxford University Press, 1979. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Resistance Days. [Drawings by Michael Kane]. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [2001]. 1st edition. Limited to 175 numbered copies. This is no. 115. Signed by the author and by the artist.

Roman Script. Drawings by Anne Madden. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1999]. 1st edition. Limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 40. Signed by the author and by the artist.

Roman Script. Drawings by Anne Madden. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1999]. Limited to 350 copies.

Roman Script. Oldcastle, Meath, 1999. 1st edition. 1/425 copies.

The Sea in Winter. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1979]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Twelve Poems. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queen's University of Belfast [1965]. 1st edition, 1st issue. Author's 1st book.

The Yaddo Letter. Frontispiece by Barrie Cooke. [Oldcaste, Meath]: Gallery Books [1992]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies.

Nerval, Gerard de. The Chimeras; a version of Les chimères... [by] [Derek Mahon. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1982]. 1st edition. Signed by Mahon.

Valery, Paul. The Seaside Cemetery; a version of 'Le cimetière marin'... [Translated by Derek Mahon]. Drawings by Fionnuala Ni Chiosain. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [2001]. 1st edition. Limited to 175 numbered copies. This is no. 114. Signed by Mahon and by the artist.

Windfalls. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1977]. 1st edition. 1st book. Inscribed by the author and dated: "July 3rd 1983".

The Noise of the Fields; poems 1970-1975. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1976]. Poetry Book Society choice. 1st edition. Signed by publisher, Liam Miller.

Passage; (with surviving poems). Bradford on Avon [Witshire]: [n.p.] 1982. 1st edition. Limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter M. Signed by the author.

6 Snapdragons. Clemson [North Carolina]: [Author] 1985. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author.

Into the Wind. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1974]. 1st edition.

Deus Est Qui Regit Omnia; a poem. [Morningstar, Meath]: St. Beuno's [1980]. St. Beuno's Hard-Printed Limited Editions, #9. 1st edition. Limited to 160 numbered copies. This is no. 3. Signed by the author. "Printed and bound by hand by John F. and Barbara Deane.

Spring Offering. Isle of Skye [Inverness-shire]: Aquila [1981]. Aquila Pamphlet Poetry second series. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 35. Signed by the author.

All Legendary Obstacles. Drawing by Barrie Cooke. [Dublin]: Dolmen Editions [1966]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Border Sick Call. [Photographs by Paulette Myers - Rich]. [Minneapolis, Minnesota]: Traffic Street Press, 2001. Edition limited to XV numbered copies. This is no. XII. Signed by the author and initialed by the photographer. Box.

The Bread God; a lecture, with illustrations in verse on the recent history of the church in the ancient parish of Errigal Kieran, already referred to in the Annals of the Four Masters as being a monastic center twelve centuries ago. [Dublin]: Dolmen Editions [1968]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author.

Chain Letter. [Dublin]: Poetry Ireland, 1997. Poetry Ireland Pamplets, 1st series. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 24. Signed by the author.

A Chosen Light. [Drawing by Louis Le Brocquy]. [London]: McGibbon & Kee [1967]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Feb. '78". Dust jacket.

The Dead Kingdom. [Mountrath, Portlaoise]: The Dolmen Press; [Dundonald, Strathclyde]: Blackstaff Press; [Oxford]: Oxford University Press [1984]. 1st edition. Limited to 725 numbered copies. This is no. 106. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

The Dead Kingdom. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press; [Toronto]: Exile Editions [1984]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author to the American poet, David Ignatow, and dated: "Spring '89'. Includes Ignatow's book-plate.

The Dead Kingdom. Part II: This Neutral Realm. North Tonawanda, New York: Bolt Court Press [1984]. Edition limited to 26 lettered copies. This is letter S. Signed by the author.

Deities. Illustration by Henry Pearson. [New York]: At-Swim Press [c/o Facsimile Book Shop, 1982]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author.

A Flowering Absence. New York: At-Swim Press [1986]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 numbered copies. This is no. 75. Signed by the author.

Forms of Exile. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1958]. 1st edition. Limited to 225 copies. Author's 1st book.

The Great Cloak. [Woodcut by Raoul Ubac]. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press, 1978. 1st edition. Limited to 75 numbered and specially bound copies. This is no. 33. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

The Great Cloak. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press; [Oxford]: Oxford University Press; [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1978]. Inscribed by the author.

Home Again. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queen's University of Belfast [1967]. 1st edition, variant issue with green covers.

Hymn to the New Omagh Road. Dublin: Privately printed at the Dolmen Press, 1968. 1st edition. Limited to 175 copies. Signed by the author.

Last Chance. [Buffalo, New York]: State University of New York at Buffalo, The University Libraries, 1988. Christmas Broadside, 2nd series, no. 10. Edition limited to 2000 copies. [Poem card].

The Leap. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press. [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1979]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Mount Eagle. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1988]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Sligo 92".

A New Siege, an historical meditation. [Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1970]. Part of a longer poem, The Rough Field. Inscribed by the author. Folded card.

The Northern Muse. [see Heaney, Seamus].

O'Riada's Farewell. [Cork]: Golden Stone [1974]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Patriotic Suite. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1966]. The New Dolmen Chapbooks. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 94. Signed by the author.

Poisoned Lands. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1977]. 2nd edition. Limited to 75 numbered copies. This is no. 8. Signed by the author. From the library of the Irish poet, Thomas Kinsella, with his signature. Slipcase.

Poisoned Lands and Other Poems. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1961. 1st edition. Author's 2nd book. Dust jacket.

Poisoned Lands and Other Poems. Philadelphia: Dufour Editions, 1963. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author.

Poetry Ireland 50/60. Poetry Ireland presents a reading to mark the sixtieth birthday of John Montague and the fiftieth birthday of Seamus Heaney. Dublin: Poetry Ireland, 1989. Poetry reading at "The Gate Theatre, Dublin, 8 p.m., Sunday 11 June, 1989". Contains one poem by each poet, with each poem signed by its author. [Program].

The Rough Field. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered and specially bound copies. This is no. 64. Signed by the author. Publisher's acetate dust jacket.

Selected Poems. [Mountrath, Portlaoise]: The Dolmen Press [1982]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 148. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

Selected Poems. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1982]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author to American poet, David Ignatow. Includes Ignatow's bookplate.

A Slow Dance. [Frontispiece by Jack Coughlin]. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1975]. 1st edition. Limited to 150 numbered copies. This is no. 74. Signed by the author. Signed by the artist under his drawing. Slipcase.

Small Secrets. [London]: Poem-of-the-Month-Club, 1972. Signed by the author. [Broadside].

Three Irish Poets: John Montague, Thomas Kinsella, Richard Murphy. Dublin: The Dolmen Press, 1961. A poetry reading presented by The Dolmen Press at the Royal Hibernian Hotel, Dublin [on] February 3, 1961. Edition limited to 250 copies. Contains one poem by each poet. Signed by Kinsella at his contribution. [Program]

Tides. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1970]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author. Dust jacket.

A Fair House: versions of Irish poetry. [Translated by John Montague]. Dublin: The Cuala Press, 1972. 1st edition. Limted to 350 numbered copies. This is no. 78. Plain white dust jacket.

Frenaud, Andre. November. A choice of translations from Andre Frenaud by John Montague and Evelyn Robson. Original woodcut by Raoul Buac. [Cork: Golden Stone, 1977]. 1st edition. Signed by both Montague and Robson.

The Bangle: (Slight Return). Princeton [New Jersey]: The Typography Studio, 1998. 1st edition. Limited to 110 numbered copies. This is no. 40. Signed by the author.

Hopewell Haiku. Illustrated by Carol J. Blinn. [Easthampton, Massachusetts]: Warwick Press, 1997. 1st edition. Limited to 150 copies. Signed by the author and by the illustrator. Decorated hard cover.

Immram. Drawings by Robert Ballagh. Dublin: [The Gallery Press] 1980. 1st edition. Limited to 174 numbered copies. This is no. 41. Signed by the author. "Bound in quarter cloth".

Knowing My Place. [Belfast?: Privately printed for] Paul Muldoon, 1971. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

Meeting the British. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1987]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author.

Mules & Early Poems. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1985]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Names and Addresses. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1978]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

New Selected Poems 1968-1994. London/Boston: Faber and Faber [1996]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

New Weather. London: Faber and Faber [1973]. 1st edition. Uncorrected proof copy.

New Weather. London/Boston: Faber and Faber [1994]. Signed by the author.

Out of Siberia. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1982]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author.

The Prince of the Quotidian. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1994]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author and dated: "1996".

Quoof. London/Boston: Faber and Faber [1983]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "October 83".

Quoof. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1983]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author.

Selected Poems 1968-1983. London/Boston: Faber and Faber [1986]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "1992". Dust jacket.

Selected Poems 1968-1986. New York: The Ecco Press [1987]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Oct 89". Dust jacket.

Why Brownlee Left. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1980]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author and dated: "1996".

The Wishbone. [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1984]. 1st edition. Limited to 750 copies. Signed by the author.

Extracts from the Lost Log-Book of Christopher Columbus. [Dublin]: Dedalus, 1999. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Archaeology of Love. [Glengeary, Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1955]. 1st edition. From the library of Irish poet, Thomas Kinsella, and signed by him. Author's 1st book.

The Battle of Aughrim. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1968. 1st American edition. Dust jacket.

The Battle of Aughrim. [Phonodisc]. Baile Átha Cliath (Dublin): Claddagh Records (Ceirini Cladaig) CCT.7, 1968. One 12" 331/3 rpm sound recording. Read by Cyril Cusack, C. Day-Lewis, Ted Hughes, Niall Toibin [and] Margaret Robertson. Music by Sean O'Riada, "played under his direction by Ceoltóin Chualaan". Historical notes by the author.

The Battle of Aughrim and The God Who Eats Corn. London: Faber and Faber [1968]. Choice of the Poetry Book Soceity. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Care. [Amsterdam]: Cornamona Press, 1983. 1st edition. Limited to 50 copies, numbered I-L. This is no. XI. Signed by the author. Bound together in twin-binding with Zorg Zaamheid, the translation of Care into Dutch by Jan Eijkelboom. Also no. XI of 50 copies. Signed by the translator. Buckran with hand-marbled endpapers. Box.

Collected Poems. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [2000]. 1st edition. Limited to 710 numbered copies. This is no. 39. Signed by the author. Slipcase.

High Island. London: Faber and Faber [1974]. 1st edition. Uncorrected proof copy.

High Island. New York/ Evanston/ San Francisco/ London: Harper & Row: [1974]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "23 April 1975". Dust jacket.

High Island. [Tacoma, Washington]: Printed for Pacific Lutheran University by the Elliot Press, 1985. Limited edition of slightly less than 100 copies. Illustrated letterpress. Signed by the author. [Broadside].

The Last Galway Hooker. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1961]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies.

The Mirror Wall. [Dublin]: Wolfhound Press [1989]. 1st edition. "Published simultaneously in Britain by Bloodaxe Books and in North American by Wake Forest University Press". Signed by the author and dated: "22 June 1989 Dublin". Dust jacket.

The Mirror Wall. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1989]. 1st English edition. Inscribed to Irish poet, Thomas Kinsella and his wife and dated: "13 May 1990." Dust jacket.

The Mirror Wall. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1989]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author: "To Leonard Nathan whose translation of Kalidasa's The Cloud Messenger [Meghaduta, a 5th century A. D. Sanskrit poem] inspired and instructed me while working on these poems 18 March 1990 at Berkeley, on a tour". The author then adds his Irish address and phone number. Dust jacket.

Niches. Illustrated by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dublin]: The Gallery Press [1978]. Limited edition of 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Price of Stone. [Madley, Hereford & Worcester: Five Seasons Press, 1985]. First Hand Editions. 1st edition. Limited to 115 numbered copies. This is designated "Five Seasons file copy". Signed by the author. Slipcase.

The Price of Stone & Earlier Poems. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1985]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "18 September 1987 London". The author includes a Sri Lankan proverb: "One crab said to another 'My son, Why do you have to walk sideways'," He adds his Irish address. Dust jacket.

Sailing to an Island. London: Faber and Faber [1963]. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Sailing to an Island. New York: Chilmark Press [1963]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Buffalo 23 October 1964". Includes publisher's presentation card. Dust jacket.

Selected Poems. London & Boston: Faber and Faber [1979]. Faber Paperbacks. Inscribed by the author and dated: "22 Feb 85".

Three Irish Poets. [see Montague, John].

The Woman of the House; an elegy. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press, 1959. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies.

Arts And Monuments. Dublin: Gallery Books [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

The Brazen Serpent. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1994]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Magdalene Sermon. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1989]. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

The Magdalene Sermon and Earlier Poems. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1991]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Real Thing. Bloomfield Hills, Michigan: Cranbrook Art Museum, 1995. Edition limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 124. Signed by the author. [Broadside].

The Second Voyage; poems. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1977]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Second Voyage. [Winston-Salem, North Carolina]: Wake Forest University Press [1991]. 1st American edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "29.4.97".

Pharaoh's Daughter. [Oldcastle Meath]: Gallery Books [1994]. Selected poems in Irish with translations into English, on facing pages, "by thirteen leading Irish writers. Inscribed by the author. Included author's photograph identified as recent by a note dated: 1/24/02.

Watching the Mountain. [Painting by Veronica Bolay]. [Galway]: Kennys, 2002. "Painting and poem commissioned by Kennys to celebrate the Arts in Galway in the Millenium. Edition limited to 2003 numbered copies. This is no. 266. Signed by the author and by the artist. [Poem card]

The History of Rain. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1993]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Seatown. [Oldcastle, Meath]: Gallery Books [1999]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

The Little Monasteries, Poems. Translated from the Irish by Frank O'Connor. Dublin: The Dolmen Press; London and New York: Oxford University Press, 1963. 1st edition. Limited to 1050 numbered copies. This is no. 2. Publisher Liam Miller's copy. Slipcase.

Four Poems. Illustrations by Timothy Engelland. [Old Deerfield, Massachusetts]: The Deerfield Press; [Dubln]: The Gallery Press; [1980]. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Text in Irish and in English translation on facing pages. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Reading the Sunflowers in September. [Upper Fairhill, Galway: Salmon Publishing, 1990]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

Echoes of Memory. Etchings by Patricia Burke. [Baldoyle, Dublin: Salmon Publishing, 1994]. Salmon Poetry. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author.

The Battle of Kinsale 1601. Kinsale [Cork]: Anam Press, 2002. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies.

Hellas. Dublin: New Writer's Press, 1971. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Rome 1973".

His Skaldcrane's Nest. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1979]. 1st edition. Signed by the author on the title page and dated: "1980 London". Also inscribed by the author on the half-title page.

Poems [by] Patrick Creagh, Norman Porter [and] Desmond O'Grady. Read in the Roman Theatre at Tusculum on Friday June 24th 1960. Rome: Poetry [1960]. 1st edition. Signed by all three authors.

Poems [by] Patrick Creagh, Norman Porter [and] Desmond O'Grady. Read in the Roman Tusculum on Friday June 24th 1960. Rome: Poetry [1960]. Includes a signed letter, loosely inserted, by Porter to Samuel French Morse, American poet and literary scholar.

Stations. Drawings by Margo Veillon [Cairo]: American University in Cairo Press, 1976. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 23. Signed by the author and dated: "Cairo 1976".0

The Seven Arab Odes. An English verse rendering by Desmond O'Grady with brief lives of the seven poets. [London]: Agenda Editions [1990]. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 22. Signed by O'Grady. Slipcase.

The Peacock's Eye. Upper Fairhill, Galway: Salmon Publishing [1992]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

Being Walked by a Dog. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1978]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "26th Nov. 1978".

Business As Usual. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1973]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "16th Oct. 1975".

A Northern Spring. London: Secker & Warburg; Dublin: The Gallery Press [1986]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

The Casualty's Meditation. [Belfast]: Festival Publicatons, Queen's University of Belfast [1966]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

"The Argument at Great Tew"; a poem. [Dublin]: The Willbrook Press [1985]. 1st book edition. Limited to 120 numbered copies. This is no. 23. Signed by the author.

The Book of Juniper; new poems. Drawings by Noel Connor. [Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland]: Bloodaxe Books [1981]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

Liberty Tree. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1983]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Selected Poems 1972 - 1990. London [and] Boston: Faber and Faber [1993]. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "5th April, 1993".

Theorectical Locations. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1975]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

Cleaning Stables. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1974]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

The Mason's Tongue. [Newry and Craigavad, Down]: Abbey Press [1999]. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 245. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Europa and the Bull and Other Poems. London: Secker & Warburg, 1952. 1st edition. Signed by the author and dated: "August 7, 1952". Dust jacket.

Field Day. [San Francisco: Grabhorn - Hoyem, 1967]. [Broadside]

The Home Fire. [Newry and Craigawvad, Down]: Abbey Press [1998]. 1st edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 135. Signed by the author.

The Broken Pledge, and other poem. [Illustration by Edward Maguire]. [Dublin]: Martello Publications [1985]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

Ledges. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1970]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book.

Ballad of a Marriage. [Belfast]: Festival Publications, Queen's University of Belfast [1966]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

Five American Sonnets. [n.p.: n.p.], 1980. Xerox transcript - 3 sheets. Inscribed by the author to American anthologist, Bill Cole. Dated: "May '80".

From the Irish. [Belfast: The Blackstaff Press, 1985]. 1st edition. Signed by the author.

Judy Garland and the Cold War. Belfast: Blackstaff Press [1976]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Nov 77".

Memorials of a Tour in Yorkshire. [Belfast]: Ulsterman Publications [1975]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated "Nov 77".

No Land Is Waste, Dr. Eliot. [Richmond, Surrey]: The Keepsake Press [1972]. 1st edition. Limited to 30 numbered copies. This is no. 15. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

No Ties. [Portrush, Antrim]: Ulsterman Publications [1970]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to English poet, D. J. Enright and dated: "Dec 73".

The Selected James Simmons. Edited by Edna Longley. [Belfast]: Blackstadt Press [1978]. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "June '78".

Marginal Zones. [Dublin]: Gallery Books [1984]. 1st edition. Author's 1st book. Dust jacket.

Dedications. Dublin: New Writers Press, 1968. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Signed by the author.

Sixteen Poems. [Portrush, Antrim]: Ulsterman Publications [1969]. Author's 1st publication.

Blues for Chocolate Doherty. [Portrush, Antrim]: Ulsterman Publications [1969]. 1st edition. Author's 1st publication.

The Magnolia Tree. [London: Privately printed for the author], Christmas 1953. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is unnumbered. Inscribed by the author.

From Inner Fires. Preface by Richard Cameron. Monkstown, Dublin: The Runa Press, 1962. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: '30.6.62". Dust jacket.

From Inner Fires. Preface by Richard Cameron. Monkstown, Dublin: The Runa Press, 1962. Inscribed to the Irish playwright and actor, Michael MacLiammoir: "from the author/after many years' appreciation/of his services to the/Spoken Word/24th October 1964". Dust jacket.

Arrow of Anguish, new poems. Dublin: New Island Books [1995]. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Signed by the author.

The Blue Taps, three poems. Illustration by John Ross. [Alton Hampshire: Clarion Publishing], 1994. Prospero Poets. 1st edition. Limited to 149 numbered copies. This is no. 113. Signed by the author and by the artist.

A Dream of Maps. [Dublin]: Raven Arts Press [1981]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Author's 1st book.

Where Fishermen Can't Swim. [Drawings by Rigby Graham]. Banholt [Holland: The Bonnefant Press], 2001. 1st edition. Limited to 60 numbered copies. This is no. 25. Signed by the author and by the artist. Slipcase.

A Few Small Ones. [Valleymount, Wicklow]: The Ballyknockan Press [1971]. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies. Inscribed by the author and dated: "August 1971'.

Poems. [Amherst, Massachusetts: Privately printed for the University of Massachusetts, 1967. 3 pages. "Read by the author, 7th November 1967, SU, U Mass." Mimeograph.

Stephen's Green Revisited, poems. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1968]. 1st edition. Dust jacket.

Stephen's Green Revisited, poems. [Chester Springs, Pennsylvania]: Dufour Editions [1968]. 1st American edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Time Being, a poem in three parts: Autumn to Winter, Winter to Spring, Spring to Summer. [Dublin]: The Dolmen Press [1957]. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Author's 2nd publication.

The Blue Formica Table. Dublin: Dedalus, 1999. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Decimal D. Sec Drinks in a Bar in Marrakesch; a poem. Dublin: New Writers' Press, 1970. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Author's 1st publication.

Miz Moon. [Drawing by MaryFritz Gerald]. [Dublin]: Dedalus [1988]. Dedalus Editions no. 1/1st edtion. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 14. Signed by the author and by the illustrator.

The Nightingale Water. [Cypress Downs, Dublin]: Dedalus [2000]. 1st edition. Signed by the author. Dust jacket.

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday