Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection - Archive

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection (CSHSC) -- Box 1959-1999

This CSHSC archive is the first box of approximately 20 to be processed. The remaining archival boxes will be available as they are completed.
Prepared by Daniel Dobroff, MSLIS, 8/13/2019. Originally Compiled by John Caniano. MSLIS Candidate

Folder # Folder Name Date Description Location
27.1 Cedar Swamp Road 1976-1990 Miscellaneous documents, original hand-written notes/listings of John Peterkin(?) (former President of CSHSC), original photographs, original and copies of newspaper clippings. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
27.2 Cedar Swamp Road - Route 107 1972-1979 Original Correspondence to John Peterkin - From James N. MacLean, Frederick H. Zurmuhlen, P.E., Austin H. Emery, A. H. Emery, Robert W. Schmidt, Gary F. Musiello, Esq., Francis T. Purcell, Murray Berrie. To Honorable Norman F. Lent from Francis T. Purcell and Re: Application of Edward H. Troll - letter to Ann R. Ocker (Town of Oyster Bay) from Leslie A. Pecheur Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
27.3 Cedar Swamp Road - Route 107 1990-1999 Documents-Pedestrian Crossings, Parking Problems-Glen Head Post Office, Sidewalk Improvement-Glen Head. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
27.4 Cedar Swamp Road - Route 107 1980-1989 Miscellaneous documents, Correspondence-Original letters addressed to John Peterkin, Original notes hand-written by John Peterkin, Original Police Report-1987 Complaint regarding roadway flooding and speeding trucks resulting in accidents in Cedar Swamp Road in Brookville. A original map of Brookville. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
28 Route 25A 1992-1997 Correspondence - Original letters addressed to John Peterkin, a hand written note by John Peterkin on a letter he received by State Senator Carl Marcellino in 1996, Original newspaper articles on the proposed Route 25 A Expansion, Letters from Concerned Citizens for Route 25A, a original photograph. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
29 Long Island Bridge Proposal 1966-1976 Original articles regarding the Long Island Bridge Proposal, Original letter from John Peterkin who was a Republican Committeeperson reminding people to vote. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
30.1 Zoning (Glen Head) Halfway House Misc. 1987-1988 Correspondence - Original letters regarding the halfway house proposal, Original hand-written notes regarding the halfway house proposal, Original photographs houses that were considered for halfway houses, Original newspaper articles regrading the halfway house proposal. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
30.2 Zoning (Glen Head) Halfway House 1987/88 1987-1988 Correspondence - Original letters regarding the halfway house proposal, Original hand-written notes regarding the halfway house proposal, Original photographs houses that were considered for halfway houses, Original newspaper articles regrading the halfway house proposal. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
31 Zoning (Diamond Valley Nursery) 1960-1977 Correspondence - Original letters regarding the Diamond Valley Nursery, Original hand-written notes regarding the Diamond Valley Nursey, Original photograph, Original newspaper articles regrading the Diamond Valley Nursery, Original pamphlet of building zone ordinances of the Incorporated Village of Old Brookville. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
32 Cannon Development Zoning 1990-1992 Correspondence - Original letters regarding the Cannon Development Zoning, Original articles regarding the Cannon Development Zoning, Original newspaper clippings regarding the Cannon Development Zoning. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
33 Zoning Car Wash 1991-1993 Correspondence - Original letters, original articles and original handwritten notes regarding the proposal to build a car wash on Glen Cove-Greenvale Highway. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
34 LI Environmental Organizations (General) 1973-1991 Correspondence - Original newsletters, original articles, original typed letters, an original map, an original event notification, an original flyer, an original map. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
35 LI Environmental Organizations - Committee for the protection of Old Brookville Property Owners 1980-1986 Correspondence - Original typed letters, original meeting notices, original report for the committee for protection of Old Brookville property owners along with original minutes for a meeting they held 11/11/1986 and an original agenda for that meeting, an original map of Old Brookville, an envelope regarding details of a special meeting of the committee for protection of Old Brookville property owners held on 8/4/1986. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
36 LI Environmental Organizations (ACTION) 1982-1991 Original Action Newsletters. The area coverage was the towns of Oyster Bay, Huntington, Smithtown and Brookhaven. A pamphlet of Actions purposes and policies from 1965-1985. Action for the Preservation and Conservation of the North Shore of Long Island. An original news article regarding action. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
37 LI Trees 1959-1998 Original newspaper articles, original magazine articles, original types letters and original pages of the Town of Oyster Bay Code regarding issues and stories related to Long Island Trees. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999
38 LI Newsday's Magazine 1/27/1980 Original Newspaper Article: "Preserving Long Island's Coastline: 'The 37 Areas of Concern'." LI Newsday's Magazine for Long Island. January 27, 1980. Archive of the CSHSC
Box: 1959-1999

Archive of Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection (CSHSC) -- Boxes 1-2

This CSHSC archive is the first box of approximately 20 to be processed. The remaining archival boxes will be available as they are completed.
Prepared by Camille Giordano, B.A. Theatre Arts, 2023 (10/31/2019)
Originally Compiled by John Caniano. MSLIS Candidate

Folder # Folder Name Date Description Location
1 1986 Environmental Bond Act (Equality Bond Act - EQBA) 1985-1987 New York State Legislative Commission on Water Resource Needs of Long Island: original booklets, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
2.1 1986 Environmental Bond Act 1963-1987 Documents regarding the Committee for the Environmental Bond Act, original photographs, miscellaneous documents, original hand-written notes, orignal hand-written and typed letters, copy of map, copies of newspaper clippings Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
2.2 1986 Environmental Bond Act/Underhill Property 1986-1987 Documents regarding the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation: Original photographs, original typed and hand-written letters, copies of maps, copies of newspaper clippings, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
2.3 1986 Environmental Bond Act/Underhill Property 1988-1989 Original and copies of letters from State of New York Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation, Albany, copies of newspaper clippings regarding the "EQBA" and Underhill property, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
2.4 1990 Bond Act/Underhill 1987-1997 Map of 17th Century of settlement of Cedar Swamp in 1987, original and copies of newpaper clippings concerning the Underhill purchase and the "EQBA", original and copies of letters on CSHS letterhead, Nassau County Executive Building, Town Supervisor of Oyster Bay and others, Copy of the 21st Century EQBA, copies of the Brookville Oracle, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
2.5 1990 Bond Act/Underhill Aquisition 1991-1998 Original Statement: Conserving Open Space in New York State. Draft Plan & Draft Generic Environmental Impact Statement, 2 November 1991, pp. 263.
original hand-written notes, original and copied letters on CSHS letterhead, Nassau County Executive Letterhead, pamphlet of a summary of the Draft Open Space Conservation Plan, copies of newspaper clippings, miscellaneous documents
Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
3.1 Water Preservation Misc 1977-1991 Original pamphlets concering Long Island water, Suffolk County Sanitary Code Article 7, original and copies of newspaper clippings regarding water crisis, original and copied letters, map of Lloyd Aquifer Observation Wells, court case involving the Long Island Pine Barrens Society, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
3.2 Water Preservation 1980-1991 Original pamphlets of Understanding Our Groundwater and Cornell Cooperative Extension, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
3.3 Water Preservation 1961-1977 Original and copies of newspaper clippings regarding Long Island's water crisis, original and copied letters from The Coalition for the Protection of Long Island's Groundwater and others, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
4 Groundwater Pamphlets 1985 Original and copies of newspaper clippings regarding Long Island's water crisis, Nassau County Fresh Waters and Wetlands Inventory Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
5 Water Confrence May 2, 1986 1985-1986 Original and copied letters from The Coalition for the Protection of Long Island's Groundwater, North Shore Central School District and others Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
6 Land Preservation 1949-1999 Original cassette tape, Recomendations for Environmental Legislation - 1985 Session booklet, original hand-written notes, original pamphlets, original map of Suffolk County Groundwater Management Zones & Water Supply Sensitive Areas, original and copies of newspaper clippings regarding land preservation, Island Recycling & Environmental Corp. information folder, miscellaneous documents Archive of the CSHSC
Box 1
The Impact of the Proposed Environmental Bond Act on New York State's Environment / New York Environmental Institute, Inc. 1985

Prepared by Andrew Serken, BA History and Philosophy, 2021.
Originally Compiled by John Caniano. MSLIS Candidate.

Folder # Folder Name Date Description Location
13 L.I. Wetlands - L.I. Sound 1985-1995 Miscellaneous original and copied documents, copies of maps, original pamphlets and law book, original photograph book, Hydrological Affidavit, environmental studies, copies of newspaper clippings, original newspaper relating to the wetlands. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
14 N.Y.S. Dec Wetland Hearing 3/25/1987 Copies of legal documents, copy of a letter from the Cedar Swamp Historical Society, copy of a map. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
15 L.I. Drainage 1986-1990 Miscellaneous documents, Copies of newspaper clippings, original photographs, copies of legal documents, copies of drainage maps, original typed letters and copies. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
16 Hazardous Waste Sites - Landfills 1984-1993 Miscellaneous documents, original newspaper, copies of newspaper clippings, pamphlet, original newsletters, original note with signature of Senator Lewis J. Yevoli, original letters, copy of a maps. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
17 Glen Head Landfill 1985-1991 Miscellaneous documents, copies of newspaper clippings, original and copied letters. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
18.1 A-1 Carting Site Legal Documents 1990 Concerning A-1 Carting Recycling and solid waste transfer site application for permits: Original legal documents in five exhibits pertaining to issues of the location of the site. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
18.2 A-1 Carting Site Legal Documents 1992 Original Federal Express receipt, original letters, original copies of an appeal against A-1 Carting. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
18.3 A-1 Carting Site. 1990/91 1990-1991 Miscellaneous documents, copies of newspaper clippings original notecard, original and copies of letters. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
18.4 A-1 Carting Site. 1992 1992 Copy of legal documents, original and copy of letters, Copy of a letter with John Peterkin's handwriting, copy of a deposition regarding A-1 Carting site. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
19.1 L.I. Incinerators. Misc. 1988-1990 Concerning pollution and garbage: Original photographs, miscellaneous documents, original newsletters, copies of newspaper clippings, copy of a New York State, Senate-Assembly Bill regarding NY State Environmental Conservation Law, February 19, 1987. Copy of a map. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
19.2 L.I. Incinerators 1986-1994 1986-1994 Concerning reopening the Glen Cove incinerator: Original and copied newspaper clippings, original letters, Copy of a statement by Supervisor Lewis J. Yevoli, Tuesday, March 29, 1994 at the Public Hearing on Glen Cove Incinerator. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
20 Cedar Swamp Historical Society Misc. 1985-2002 Copy and original of newsletters, original newspaper, copies of newspaper clippings, Original letters, Article on West Hills, NY from Wikipedia. Archive of the CSHSC
Box 2
Hazardous waste cleanup cartoon from New York State Environment, April 1986
Loading ...

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday