Archives and Special Collections: Underhill Collection

Benefactor:
Dudley F. Underhill donated the Underhill Collection to LIU Post/Long Island University in 1959.

Collection Time Period:
17th - 20th Century

Abstract:
A collection of mostly classics of Quaker literature. Although predominantly containing 18th and 19th Century publications, there are some 17th and 20th century items as well. The collection ranges from a George Fox 1694 classic to a 1983 issue of the News and Views of the Underhill Society.

Scope and Content:
64 books of mostly classic Quaker literature. Several Issues of 3 periodicals.

User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment.

Anketell, John. Poems on Several Subjects. To which are added, the epistle of Yarico to Inkle. Boston: Printed and sold by William Spotswood, 1795. "First American edition." The epistle "Yarico to Inkle" is often attributed, but erroneously, to Isaac Story.

Anson, George. A Voyage Round the World. In the years MDCCXL, I, II, III, IV. By George Anson, Esq; commander in chief of a Squadron of His Majesty's Ships, sent upon an expedition to the South Seas. Compiled from papers and other materials of the Right Honorable George Lord Anson, and published under his direction. By Richard Walter. Illustrated with Forty-two copper-plates. London: Printed for the author by John and Paul Knapton, 1748. "First edition."

Barclay, Robert. An Apology for the True Christian Divinity: being an explanation of the principles and doctrines of the people called Quakers. Written in Latin and English..., and since translated in High Dutch, Low Dutch, French, and Spanish, for the information of strangers. London: Printed by W. Richardson and S. Clark, 1765. "The seventh edition in English."

Barclay, Robert. An Apology for the True Christian Divinity: being an explanation of the principles and doctrines of the people called Quakers. Written in Latin and English..., and since translated in High Dutch, Low Dutch, French, and Spanish, for the information of strangers. Philadelphia: Printed by Joseph James, 1789. Rebound in cloth.

Barclay, Robert. An Apology for the True Christian Divinity: being an explanation of the principles and doctrines of the people called Quakers. Written in Latin and English..., and since translated in High Dutch, Low Dutch, French, and Spanish, for the information of strangers. New York: Printed by S. Wood and Sons for the trustees of Obadiah Brown's Benevolent Fund, 1827. "First stereotyped edition from the eighth London edition." Rebound in cloth.

Barclay, Robert. Truth triumphant through the spiritual warfare, Christian labours and writings of that able and faithful servant of Jesus Christ, Robert Barclay: To which is prefixed an account of his life and writings. Philadelphia: Republished by Benjamin C. Stanton, 1831. Three volumes, missing volume two. "From the octavo edition of 1718 collated with the folio edition in 1692." Rebound in cloth.

Besse, Joseph. A Collection of the Sufferings of the People Called Quakers: For the Testimony of a Good Conscience from the Time of Their Being First Distinguished by That Name in the Year 1650 to the Time of the Act Commonly Called the Act of Toleration Granted to Protestant Dissenters in the First Year of the Reign of King William the Third and Queen Mary in the Year 1689. London: Printed by Luke Hinde, 1753. Two volumes.

Blackstone, William. An Analysis of the Laws of England: To Which Is Prefixed an Introductory Discourse on the Study of the Law. Oxford: Printed at the Clarendon Press, 1759. "Fourth Edition." Rebound in cloth.

Bownas, Samuel. An Account of the Life, Travels, and Christian Experiences in the Work of the Ministry of Samuel Bownas. London: printed and sold by James Phillips, 1795. Donated by Mr. Hamilton Tompkins to the Newport Historical Society Library, and dated: "Nov. 19, 1903."

Bownas, Samuel. A Description of the Qualifications Necessary to a Gospel Minister, ... London: Printed at the Bible in George-Yard, 1767. "Second edition."

The Central School Reader: Being a Collection of Essays and Extracts from Approved Writers. Complied by the Female Association for the Improvement of Juvenile Books. Philadelphia: Thomas, Cowperthwait & Co, 1847.

Charles I, King of Great Britain. The Trial of Charles the First, King of England, Before the High Court of Justice, for High-Treason: Begun January 20, in the 24th Year of His Reign, and Continued to the 27th, to Which Is Added, the Journal of the High-Court of Justice, for the Trial of the King, as it was read in the House of Commons, and attested by Mr. Phelps, Clerk to that Court. With Additions, by John Nalson, Doctor of the Civil Law. London: Printed and sold by the Booksellers in town and country, 1740.

Clarkson, Thomas. A Portraiture of Quakerism: Taken from a View of the Moral Education, Discipline, Peculiar Customs, Religious Principles, Political and Civil Economy, and Character of the Society of Friends. London: Printed by R. Taylor and Co. for Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, 1807. Volume one of three volumes. Rebound in cloth.

Cushny, Cora Cavanagh. The Hourglass: The Lives of Michael Francis Burns and Cora Butler Burns: Their Forebears including Albertsons, Bartons, Burnses, Butlers, Clarkes, Mc Murtries, Swantons and Underhills and Their Descendants including Bradleys, Cavanaghs, Cushnys, McDonnells, Packards and Stealls and their children and grandchildren: With a History of the Burns Bros. Coal Company. Baltimore: Gateway Press, 1990.

Delano, Amasa. A Narrative of Voyages and Travels, in the Northern and Southern Hemispheres: comprising three voyages round the world; together with a voyage of survey and discovery, in the Pacific Ocean and Oriental Islands. Boston: Printed by E.G. House, for the Author, 1817. Frontispiece portrait of author.

[Edmundson, Willliam. A Journal of the Life of William Edmundson. Lindfield [West Sussex]: Printed at the Schools of Industry [W. Eade, Printer] and sold by Longman and Co..., 1833]. (Series: Friends Library consisting principally of Journals...of Members of the Society of Friends, vol. 4). Series title page only.

Emmott, Elizabeth B. The Story of Quakerism. Published for the Friends' Central Education Committee. London: Headley Bros, 1916.

Fothergill, Samuel. Eleven Discourses, Delivered Extempore, at Several Meeting-Houses of the People Called Quakers. Mostly Taken Down in Characters, by a member of the Church of England. Wilmington [Delaware]: Printed for, and published by, Coale & Rumford, 1817. Inscribed and dated: "4m.-9-1820".

[Fothergill, Samuel. Discourses Delivered Extempore at Several Meeting Houses of the People called Quakers. Philadelphia: Printed by B. & Johnson, 1800] Inscribed and dated: "18th of the 3 [?] 1808". Title page missing.

Fox, George. Gospel-truth Demonstrated: In a Collection of Doctrinal Books, Given forth by that Faithful Minister of Jesus Christ, George Fox: Containing Principles, Essential to Christianity and Salvation, held among the People called Quakers. London: Printed and sold by T. Sowle, 1706. At head of title page owner identified: "Northampton Monthly Meetings Library no. 30". 1st edition.

Fox, George. A Journal or Historical Account of the Life, Travels, Sufferings, Christian Experiences and Labour of Love in the Work of the Ministry, of that Ancient, Eminent and Faithful Servant of Jesus Christ, George Fox, Who departed this life in great Peace with the Lord, the 13th of the 11th Month, 1690. [Preface by William Penn]. London: Printed for Thomas Northcott, 1694. 1st edition. "The First Volume." Inscription by owner James Blackmore dated 1703.

Friends, Society of. Discipline of the Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends; Held in New York, for the State of New York, and Parts Adjacent. New York: Corlies, Macy & Co., Stationers, 1872. "Revised in 1872." Inscribed and dated: "12/12/72".

Friends, Society of. New York Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends. Meeting for Sufferings. Memorials concerning several ministers, and others, deceased, of the Religious Society of Friends: With some of their last expressions. New-York: Published by Samuel Wood, 1814. Inscription: "Lydia P. Howes' Book: Given by her mother Phebe Howes".

Friends' Miscellany: Being a collection of essays and fragments, biographical, religious, epistolary, narrative and historical; designed for the promotion of piety and virtue, to preserve in remembrance the characters and views of exemplary individuals, and to rescue from oblivion those manuscripts left by them, which may be useful to survivors. Volume three, Numbers 1-8. 1832-1833. [monthly]. Edited by John & Isaac Comly, Byberry. Philadelphia: Printed for the Editors by J. Richards, 1833.

Gilpin, Thomas. Exiles in Virginia: With observations on the conduct of the Society of Friends during the revolutionary war, comprising the official papers of the government relating to that period : 1777-1778. Philadelphia: Published for the Subscribers, 1848.

[Hilles, David, defendant.] Report of the trial of Friends; At Steubenville, Ohio, from the 15th to the 26th of October, 1828, before the Hon. Jeremiah H. Hallock, Esq., president judge of the 5th Judicial District of the state. Philadelphia: Jespar Harding, 1829. Defendants: David Hilles, Isaac James. Stenographer: Malcolm T.C. Gould. Signed by owner dated: "May 16th 1829".

Hoag, Joseph. A journal of the life and gospel labors of that devoted servant and minister of Christ, Joseph Hoag. Sherwoods, New York: Printed and Sold by David Heston, 1860.

Howgill, Francis. The Dawnings of the Gospel-Day, and its Light and Glory Discovered: By a Faithful and Valiant Follower of the Lamb, and a Labourer in the Work and Service of God, and a Sufferer for the Testimony of Jesus... [London?: s.n.], "Printed in the Year 1676." Includes "A true relation of the tryals, sufferings and death of Frances Howgill..." by Ellis Hooks. 1st edition.

Hume, Sophia. An Exhortation to the Inhabitants of the Province of South Carolina: To Bring Their Deeds to the Light of Christ, in Their Own Consciences. In Which Is Inserted, Some Account of the Author's Experience in the Important Business of Religion. Dublin: Printed by Isaac Jackson, 1754.

Imitation of Christ. English. Of the Imitation of Christ: In Three Books. Translated from the Latin of Thomas A Kempis, by John Payne. Stanford, New York: Printed by Daniel Lawrence, for Henry & John F. Hull, 1803. Ownership signature: "Reuben Howes' Book, ...25th of 6th Mo. 1805."

Jaffray, Alexander. Diary of Alexander Jaffray ... to which are added particulars of his subsequent life, given in connexion with memoirs of the rise, progress, and persecutions, of the people called Quakers in the north of Scotland; among whom he became one of the earliest members. By John Barclay. London: Printed by Darton & Harvey; [et. al.], 1834. "Second edition." Inscribed by owner and dated "10m: 3.1851".

Lewis, William, of Bristol. Memoirs of the Life and Religious Experience of William Lewis, Late of Bristol; To Which are Added, Extracts from Letters, Addressed by Him to Individuals, on Different Occasions. Philadelphia: Published by B. & T. Kite, 1821.

Martin, Isaac. A Journal of the Life, Travels, Labours, and Religious Exercises of Isaac Martin, Late of Rahway, In East Jersey, Deceased. Philadelphia: Printed by William P. Gibbons, 1834. Signed by owner and dated 1835.

Milton, John. [Milton's Paradise Lost. Illustrated with texts of scripture, by John Gillies, ...London: Printer to J.F. and C. Rivington [et. al.], 1788.] With index. Includes: "The Life of Mr. John Milton" by Elijah Fenton. Rebound in cloth.

Murray, Lindley. Memoirs of the Life and Writings of Lindley Murray: In a Series of Letters with a preface and continuation of the memoirs, by Elizabeth Frank. New York: Samuel Wood and Sons, 1827. Frontispiece portrait of the author.

News and Views of the Underhill Society. Vol. IV, No.2, Fall 1983 and vol. XI., No. 1, Fall 1989. Oyster Bay, N.Y.

Ormerod, George. The History of the County Palatine and City of Chester: Compiled from Original Evidences in Public Offices, the Harleian and Cottonian Mss., Parochial Registers, Private Muniments, Unpublished Ms. Collections of Successive Cheshire Antiquaries, and a Personal Survey of Every Township in the County; Incorporated with a Republication of King's Vale Royal, and Leycester's Cheshire Antiquities. by George Ormerod. Illustrations by Lackington and Co. London: Printed for Lackington, Hughes, Harding, Mavor, and Jones, 1819. In three volumes. Volume I: Frontispiece of the author. Illustrations include placteu and maps. Loosely enclosed: two newspaper articles dated Nov. 27, 1847 and October 16, 1852 in volume one and two sketches of churches in Congleton and Astbury, Cheshire in volume three.

Parsons, Cornelia M. The Quaker Cross: A Story of the Old Bowne House. New York: National Americana Society, 1911. Inscribed and dated: "Christmas 1911".

Penn, William. The Invalidity of John Faldo's Vindication of His Book, Called Quakerism No Christianity. Being a Rejoynder in Defence of the Answer, Intituled, Quakerism a New Nick-Name for Old Christianity... in II Parts. [London?: s.n.], Printed in the Year, 1673. 1st edition.

Penn, William. No Cross, No Crown: A Discourse Shewing the Nature and Discipline of the Holy Cross of Christ; and That the Denial of Self, and Daily Bearing of Christ's Cross, Is the Alone Way to the Rest and Kingdom of God. To Which Are Added, the Living and Dying Testimonies of Many Persons of Fame and Learning, Both of Ancient and Modern Times, in Favour of This Treatise. In Two Parts. Philadelphia: Printed and Sold by Kimber, Conrad, & Co., Sold also, by Samuel Wood: New York, and by Abraham Shearman: New-Bedford, 1807.

Penn, William. No Cross, No Crown: A Discourse Shewing the Nature and Discipline of the Holy Cross of Christ: To Which Are Added, the Living and Dying Testimonies of Many Persons of Fame and Learning, both of Ancient and Modern Times, in Favour of This Treatise. In Two Parts. [Lindfield [West Sussex]: Printed at the Schools of Industry [W.Eade, Printer] and sold by Longman and Co...,1834]. (series: Friends' Library consisting principally of Journals...of Members of the Society of Friends, vol. 10). Series title page.

Philadelphia Society for Promoting Agriculture. Memoirs of the Philadelphia Society for Promoting Agriculture Containing Communications on Various Subjects in Husbandry and Rural Affairs. Philadelphia: Published by Johnson & Warner ..., printed by Lydia B. Bailey, 1814. "Volume III." Frontis piece portrait of George Clymer. Rebound in cloth.

Phillips, Catharine. Memoirs of the Life of Catherine Phillips: To Which Are Added Some of Her Epistles. Philadelphia: Printed by Budd and Bartram for Robert Johnson and Co., 1798. First American Edition.

Porter, Jane. The Scottish Chiefs. Revised, Corrected, and Illustrated with a New Retrospective Introduction, Notes, etc. by the Author. In two volumes. London: George Virtue, 1841. Frontispiece of the author. Rebound in cloth.

Richardson, Jane Marion. Six Generations of Friends in Ireland (1655-1890). By J.M.R. London: Edward Hicks, 1894. "Second Edition." frontispiece of John Grubb Richardson. Illustrated with Author's presentation bookplate "...Bessbrook, Ireland, through Friends Book and Tract Committee, New York."

Rogers, Nehemiah. The Disabled Debtor Discharged: Or, Mary Magdalen Pardoned: Set Forth in an Exposition on That Parable Luke 7. 40.-51. There Was a Certain Creditor, Which Had Two Debtors, &c. by Nehemiah Rogers, Minister of the Gospel. London: Printed for Geo. Saubridge, at the Bible on Ludgate-Hill, 1658. Marginal notes and index. First published in 1640 as part I of "A Mirror of Mercy..." under the title "The Penitent Citizen, or, Mary Magdalens Conversion." Bound with: The Good Samaritan; or an exposition on that parable Luke X. ver. XXX-XXXVIII. ...Separate title page.

Sewel, William. The History of the Rise, Increase and Progress of the Christian People, Called Quakers, Intermixed with Several Remarkable Occurrences. Written Originally in Low-Dutch by William Sewel, and by Himself Translated into English. Now Revised and Publish'd, with Some Amendments. London: Printed and Sold by the Assigns of J.Sowle, at the Bible in George-Yard, 1722.

Sewel, William. The History of the Rise, Increase, and Progress of the Christian People Called Quakers: Intermixed with Several Remarkable Occurrences. Written Originally in Low Dutch, and also translated by himself into English. Philadelphia: Benjamin & Thomas Kite, 1823. In two volumes. Index. Rebound in cloth.

Sewel, William. The History of the Rise, Increase, and Progress of the Christian People Called Quakers: Intermixed with Several Remarkable Occurrences. By William Sewel. Written in Low Dutch, and translated by himself into English. To which is prefixed a short biographical notice of the author. Philadelphia: Friends' Book Store, n.d. "In two volumes". Bound as one. Owner's inscription "Presented by Solomon Lukens to his Nephew Israel Lukens, 11 month 3rd, 1858."

Smith, Michael. A Geographical View of the British Possessions in North America: Comprehending Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, New Britain, Lower and Upper Canada, with All the Country to the Frozen Sea on the North, and Pacific Ocean on the West: with an Appendix, Containing a Concise History of the War in Canada, to the Date of This Volume. Baltimore: Printed by P. Mauro for the author, 1814.

Story, Thomas. A Journal of the Life of Thomas Story: Containing an Account of His Remarkable Convincement of, and Embracing the Principles of Truth As Held by the People Called Quakers; and also, of His Travels and Labours in the Service of the Gospel; With many other Occurrences and Observations. Newcastle upon Tyne: Printed by Issac Thompson and Company, 1747. Owner's note: "It was apprehended the Trustee of his Estate who was authorized to print a certain number of these books could not meet the full demand for them therefore the Publisher Issac Thompson was allowed to print a certain number of his own books of which this is one. Presented to Benjamin H. Doane by Elizabeth W. Taber 1916. Index. Bound in calf.

Summers, William Henry. Memories of Jordans and the Chalfonts and the Early Friends in the Chiltern Hundreds. By W.H. Summers. [Illustrated with photographs] London: Headley Brothers; New York: Friends' Book and Tract Committee, 1904. "Second Edition." Frontispiece. Pictorial cover.

Three Treatises, in which the fundamental principles, doctrines, worship, ministry and discipline of the people called Quakers, are plainly declared. The first by William Penn, in England, ["A Brief Account of the Rise and Progress of the People called Quakers..."]; The second by Robert Barclay, in Scotland, [" The Anarchy of the Ranters..."]; The Third by Joseph Pike, in Ireland, ["An Epistle to the National Meeting of Friends, in Dublin..."]. Wilmington [Delaware]: Printed by James Adams, 1783. Separate title pages for each item.

Underhill Society of America. Bulletin. June 1963, December 1966, December 1967, November 1978, September 1989. New York. Title change for the last three issues: Underhill Society of America. Education and Publishing Fund. Bulletin. "Bulletin of, and Distributed by, the Underhill Society of America Education and Publishing Fund, Greenwich, Connecticut."

Ussher, Elizabeth. Extracts from the Letters of Elizabeth, Lucy, and Judith Ussher: Late of the City of Waterford. Philadelphia: Printed and Published by Thomas Kite, 1829. "Third American Edition." Loosely placed presentation slip: "From the Library of a Friend. Presented by The Book and Tract Committee of The Religious Society of Friends, New York."

[Vancouver, George] A Chart Shewing Part of the Coast of N.W. America with the Tracks of His Majesty's Sloop Discovery and Armed Tender Chatham..." London: Published May 1, 1798 by J. Edwards, Pall Mall and G. Robinson, Paternooter Row." Charts to accompany Vancouver's A Voyage of Discovery to the North Pacific Ocean...Loosely placed: Letter from Francis P. Harper (Publisher & Bookseller) to "Capt. Benj. Doane." Dated: "New York, Dec. 23rd 1904".

Weems, Mason Locke. The Life of William Penn: The Settler of Pennsylvania, the Founder of Philadelphia, and one of the First Lawgivers in the Colonies, now United States, in 1682. By M.L. Weems. Philadelphia: H. C. Carey and I. Lea, 1822. Frontispiece portrait of William Penn. Accompanying note from Mary S. Doane dated "June 26/36."

Williams, John. A Narrative of Missionary Enterprises in the South Sea Islands: With Remarks Upon the Natural History of the Islands, Origin, Languages, Traditions, and Usages of the Inhabitants. Illustrated with a portrait of the author and engravings on wood. London: John Snow, 1842. "Thirty Seventh Thousand."

Williams, William. Journal of the Life, Travels, and Gospel Labours of William Williams; a Minister of the Society of Friends, Late of White-Water, Indiana. Cincinnati [Ohio]: Lodge, L'Hommedieu and Hammond, printers, 1828.

Wood, George. The Arguments of the Counsel of Joseph Hendrickson, in a Cause Decided in the Court of Chancery of the State of New Jersey, between Thomas L. Shotwell, Complainant, and Joseph Hendrickson and Stacy Decow, Defendants. By George Wood and Isaac H. Williamson. To which is appended, the Decision of the Court. Also, the Opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of New York, in a Cause in which James Field was Plantiff, and Charles Field Defendant. Philadelphia: For Sale by Uriah Hunt, and New York: Mahlon Day, and S. Woods & Sons, 1833. Published in 1832 under title: "The Society of Friends Vindicated."

Woolman, John. The Works of John Woolman: In Two Parts. Philadelphia: Printed by Joseph Crukshank, 1775. "The Second Edition."

Woolman, John. The Works of John Woolman: In Two Parts. Philadelphia: Printed by Benjamin & Jacob Johnson, 1800. "The Third Edition."