Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: George Bernard Shaw Theatre Programs Archive

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

George Bernard Shaw Theatre Programs Archive

Shaw's prolific outpouring of plays for some six decades are reflected in this short theatrical list of programs. It combines the records of such legendary productions as Vivien Leigh and Laurence Olivier's Caesar and Cleopatra, Charles Laughton and Charles Boyer's Don Juan in Hell and Katherine Hepburn's The Millionairess. These programs accompany our collection of Shaw books.


(The online full text of the related articles is available only to LIU users. If you are off-campus, enter your LIU username and password. Outside users may contact their local libraries with these citations.)

Androcles and the Lion

Androcles and the Lion  

Phoenix Theatre, New York. The Phoenix Acting Company. November, 1961.


Starring: Dana Elcar, Patricia Falkenhain, and John Heffernan


About this production:

The Apple Cart

The Apple Cart  

The Plymouth Theatre, New York. December 17 (week of), 1956.


Starring: Maurice Evans and Signe Hasso


About this production:

  • Atkinson, Brooks. "Theatre: Apple Cart." New York Times 19 Oct. 1956, sec. 1: 23. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Web. 16 July 2012.

Back to Methuselah

Back to Methuselah  

Ambassador Theatre, New York. March 1958.


Starring: Tyrone Power, Faye Emerson and Arthur Treacher


About this production:

Caesar and Cleopatra

Caesar and Cleopatra  

The Ziegfeld Theatre, New York. March 24 (week of), 1952.


Starring: Vivian Leigh, Laurence Olivier and Robert Helpmann


About this production:

Candida

Candida  

The Pearl Theatre Company, New York. September 1-October 11, 1998.


Starring: Joanne Camp, Daniel J. Shore, Dan Daily, Kia Christina Heath, Christopher Moore and Edward Seamon


About this production:

  • Hampton, Wilborn. "Theater Review: Between a Whelp and a Windbag." Rev. of Candida, by George Bernard Shaw. Pearl Theatre Company. New York Times 16 Sept. 1998, Arts sec.: E5. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Web. 17 July 2012.

The Devil's Disciple

The Devil's Disciple  

Circle in the Square Theatre, New York. January, 1989.


Starring: Philip Casnoff and Roxanne Hart


About this production:

Don Juan in Hell

Don Juan in Hell  

New Century Theatre, New York. November 29 (week of), 1951.


Starring: Charles Laughton, Charles Boyer, Agnes Moorehead and Cedric Hardwicke


About this production:

 

  Don Juan in Hell

Heartbreak House

Heartbreak House  

Billy Rose Theatre, New York. November 26, 1959.


Starring: Maurice Evans, Pamela Brown, Sam Levene and Diana Wynyard


About this production:

  • "Heartbreak House Revisited." New York Times Magazine 20 Sept. 1959, sec. 6, part 2: SM86-SM87. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Web. 17 July 2012.

In Good King Charles's Golden Days: A True History That Never Happened

In Good King Charles's Golden Days: A True History That Never Happened  

The Downtown Theatre, New York. March 16, 1957.


Starring: Elaine Eldridge, Diane Shalet, Frank Schofield, Felix Deebank, Philip Matthews, Sasha von Scherler, Geraldine Hanning, Muriel Dooley, William Major, William Landis and Rhodelle Heller


About this production:

Major Barbara

Major Barbara  

Morosco Theatre, New York. February 11, 1957.


Starring: Eli Wallach, Glynis Johns, Burgess Meredith, Charles Laughton and Cornelia Otis Skinner


About this production:

  • Atkinson, Brooks. "Theatre: Major Barbara." New York Times 31 Oct. 1956, sec. 1: 27. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Web. 23 July 2012.

 

  Major Barbara

Major Barbara

Major Barbara  

Roundabout Theatre Company of the American Airlines Theatre, New York. July, 2001.


Starring: Dana Ivey, Cherry Jones, David Warner and David Lansbury


About this production:

Man and Superman

Man and Superman  

Hudson Theatre, New York. May 24 (week of), 1948.


Starring: Maurice Evans, Frances Rowe and Malcolm Keen


About this production:

  • Atkinson, Brooks. "The New Play in Review." Rev. of Man and Superman, by George Bernard Shaw. Alvin Theatre. New York Times 9 Oct. 1947, sec. 1: 31. ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Web. 23 July 2012.

Man and Superman

Man and Superman  

Association of Producing Artists at the Phoenix Theatre, New York. June 25, 1965.


Starring: Richard Woods, Jennifer Harmon, Donald Moffat, Ellis Rabb, Nancy Marchand, Joanna Roos, Paddy Croft, Rosemary Harris, Keene Curtis, Clayton Corzatte, Paul Sparer, Joseph Bird, Gordon Gould, John Allan Mancunovich, Mark White, Robert Lumish and Ronald Bishop


About this production:

The Millionairess

The Millionairess  

Sam S. Shubert Theatre, New York. December 15, 1952.


Starring: Katharine Hepburn, Cyril Ritchard and Robert Helpmann

Misalliance

Misalliance  

New York City Center of Music and Drama, New York. February 22, 1953.


Starring: Barry Jones, Tamara Geva, Roddy McDowall, Richard Kiley and Dorothy Sands

Pygmalion

Pygmalion  

Ethel Barrymore Theatre, New York. (week of) April 22, 1946.


Starring: Gertrude Lawrence, Raymond Massey, Melville Cooper and Cecil Humphreys

Pygmalion

Pygmalion  

Ethel Barrymore Theatre, New York. (week of) April 29, 1946.


Starring: Gertrude Lawrence, Raymond Massey, Melville Cooper and Cecil Humphreys

Saint Joan

Saint Joan  

Martin Beck Theatre, New York. May 18, 1936.

You Never Can Tell

You Never Can Tell  

Provincetown Playhouse, New York. April 29, 1955.


Starring: Jane Altman and John Francis

You Never Can Tell

You Never Can Tell  

Circle in the Square Theatre, New York. September 1986.


Starring: Philip Bosco, Victor Garber, Stefan Gierasch, Uta Hagen and Amanda Plummer

You Never Can Tell

You Never Can Tell  

Criterion Center Laura Pels Theatre, New York. Roundabout Theatre Company. August 1998.


Starring: Charles Keating and Robert Sean Leonard

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday