Clifford Nickels Carver (1891-1965)
A graduate of Princeton University (1913), Carver became Secretary (1914-1915) to Walter H. Page, American ambassador to Great Britain, and then served as Secretary (1915) to Edward Mandell House ("Colonel House"), President Wilson's personal representative to Europe. He was an assistant to Bernard M. Baruch, working for the War Industries Board and then gained a commission in the U. S. Navy, attached to the Office of Naval Intelligence. Carver was a renowned collector of book-plates by famous Americans, Princetonians, and Europeans. He authored Book-Plates of Well-known Americans, 1911.
The Carver donation was received by the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library in 1966.
The collection includes such treasures as the first illustrated edition of Paradise Lost (1688) and a copy of The Poetical Works (1720) owned by an Irish Viscount, Powerscourt.
| L'Allegro. Illustrated by The Etching Club. London: Published for The Etching Club by Joseph Coudall, 1849. |
| Angli Pro Populo Anglicano. Defensio Contra Claudii Anonymi, alias Salmasii. Defenfionem Regiam. London: Du Gardiani's, 1651. |
| Areopagitica. A speech of Mr. John Milton for The Liberty of Unlicenc'd Printing, to the Parliament of England. [London: The Eragny Press; New York: John Lane, 1904.] 2nd issue "consisting of 160 copies, of which 134 are for sale." |
| Comus. A masque. As it is acted at The Theatres-Royal in Drury-Lane and Covent-Garden. Altered by Milton. London: W. Oxlade, 1777. |
| A Defence of the People of England. In answer to Salmasius's Defence of the King. [s.l.: s.n.,] 1692. 2 copies. |
| The History of Britain, the part especially now called, England. From the First Traditional Beginning, continued to the Norman Conquest. London: Printed by J.M. for Spencer Hickman, 1671. |
| Latin and Italian Poems of Milton, Translated into English Verse, and a Fragment of a Commentary on Paradise Lost. By the late William Cowper. With a preface by the editor, and notes of various authors. London: Printed by J. Seagrave for J. Johnson and R.H. Evans, 1808. |
| Milton's Poetical Works. With life, critical dissertation, and explanatory notes by the Rev. George Gilfillon. Edinburgh: James Nichol; London: James Nisbet and Co.; Dublin: W. Robertson, 1853. 2 volumes. |
| Paradise Lost. A poem in twelve books. The fourth edition, adorn'd with sculptures. London: Printed by Miles Flesher for Richard Bently and Jacob Tonson, 1688. 1st illustrated edition, 1st folio edition, and 1st subscription edition. Includes: The Names of the Nobility and Gentry that encourag'd, by Subscription, the Printing of this Edition of Milton's Paradise Lost. Bound with: Paradise Regain'd. A poem. In IV books. To which is added Samson Agonistes. London: Printed by R.E. and are to be sold by Randal Taylor ..., 1688. |
| Paradise Lost. A poem in twelve books. From the text of Thomas Newton. Birmingham: Printed by John Baskerville for J.R. Tonson in London, 1759. |
| Paradise Lost. A poem in twelve books. London: Printed for J. and H. Richter by T. Spilsbury and Son, 1794. 2 volumes. |
| Paradise Lost, a poem in twelve books. And Paradise Regain'd, in four books. Also Samson Agonistes, and Other Poems. A new edition, carefully collated with the best authorities. To which is prefixed, a life of the author, by the Rev. David M'Nicoll. Liverpool: Nuttall, Fisher, and Dixon, [1815.] "Stereotype Edition." |
| The Paradise Lost of Milton. With illustrations, designed and engraved by John Martin. London: Septimus Prowett, 1827. 2 volumes. |
| Paradise Lost. Illustrated by Gustave Dore. Edited, with notes and a life of Milton, by Robert Vaughan. London, Paris; New York: Cassell, Peter, Galpin & Co., [1866.] |
[Paradise Regain'd; a poem in four books; to which is added, Samson Agonistes: a dramatic poem, and Poems upon Several Occasions, with a tractate of education.] [London: Printed for John Tonson in the Strand, 1727.] [7th edition with corrections.] Main title page is missing. "Samson Agonistes" and "Poems upon Several Occasions" each have a separate title page, "A Small Tractate of Education to Mr. Hartlib" has a special half-title. |
| Paradise Regain'd. A poem in four books. To which is added Samson Agonistes, and Poems Upon Several Occasions with a tractate of education. London: J. and R. Tonson and S. Draper, R. Ware, J. Rodges, R. Wellington, C. Corbet, J. Brindley, R. Caldwell, and J. New, 1747. |
| Paradise Regained. A poem. With notes of various authors by Charles Dunster. London: Printed by George Stafford and sold by R.H. Evans, T. Payne, J. Robson, J. Nicolls - Archer, Dublin and Layng, Edinburgh, [1800]. Revised edition with new cuts and added notes. Engraved frontispiece and title page, with fold-in map. Includes the bookplate of William Thompson, probably the Irish political economist, the author of An Inquiry into the Principles of the Distribution of Wealth. |
| Poems Upon Several Occasions, English, Italian,and Latin, with Translations. With notes, critical and explanatory, and other illustrations by Thomas Warton. London: Printed for James Dodsley, 1785. |
| Poems Upon Several Occasions, English, Italian,and Latin with Translations. With notes, critical and explanatory, and other illustrations by Thomas Warton. London: Printed for G.G.J. and J. Robinson, 1791. Second edition, with many alterations, and larger additions. |
| The Poetical Works of Mr. John Milton. London: Printed for Jacob Tonson [II] ..., 1720. Two volumes. Edited by Thomas Tickell. Illustrated by Sir James Thornhill and Louis Cheron. Contains a list of 300 "Names of the Subscribers." Also includes an Index and "Notes upon the Twelve Books of Paradise Lost" by Mr. [Joseph] Addison. This copy was first owned by Lord Viscount Powerscourt, Richard Wingfield (1697 - 1751). His book plate displays the baronial arms of Powerscourt, an Irish peerage. |
| The Poetical Works of John Milton. With notes of various authors, by Thomas Newton. London: Printed for J. and R. Tonson in the Strand, 1761. 3 volumes. |
| Samson Agonistes. A dramatic poem. [New Rochelle, New York: Elston Press, 1904.] Edition limited to 120 copies. Decorations cut on wood from designs by H. M. O'Kane. Uncut pages. |
| Select British Poets. Containing the entire works of Milton, Young, Thomson, Gray; and Pope's translations of The Iliad and Odyssey with lives and portraits. London: Printed for The Proprietors by G. Hazard, 1810. Frontispiece: Portrait of John Milton, age 21. |
| Hayley, William. The Life of Milton in three parts. To which are added, conjectures on the Origins of Paradise Lost: with an appendix. London: Printed for T. Cadell, Junior, and W. Davies, 1796. |
[Williamson, George Charles.] Milton Tercentary: The Portraits, Prints and Writings of John Milton. Exhibited at Christ's College, Cambridge, 1908. [Cambridge: Printed by John Clay at the University Press, 1908.] "Second edition, 8 July, 1908." |
Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346
Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu
Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday