Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Member Folders

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Box 1: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Member Folders: 1-17

Item Date Description Location
Folder 1.
Lucille and Walter Fillin
  Contains: Flyer; newspaper articles; brochure; newspaper entries; dinner invitation; news release; speech; exhibition catalogs; seminar program; LIBC bibliobiographies; newspaper obituary; letter; auction announcement; announcement; business card. Box 1
1.1
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June - September, 1976 Flyer: "Cook Books, A Special Collection." Event held June 23 - September 30, 1976 at the Hofstra University Library in Hempstead, NY. Box 1
1.2
Lucille and Walter Fillin
July 11, 1976 Newspaper Article: "A Book Show to Relish" by Florence Fabricant. From The New York Times, Sunday, July 11, 1976. Features a B/W photograph of "Walter and Lucille Fillin with part of their special collection of cookbooks." On the reverse side are the articles "Two Centuries of Gastronomical Literature" and "All About Food." 2 photcopies. Box 1
1.3
Lucille and Walter Fillin
July 21, 1976 Newspaper Article: "All About Food" by Ella Elvin. From Daily News, Wednesday, July 21, 1976. Features the B/W sketch featured on the cover of the invitation to the Omar Khayyam Club honorary dinner held May 17, 1901. Photocopy made by Hofstra Library Associates? 2 photocopies. Box 1
1.4
Lucille and Walter Fillin
May 1, 1975 Brochure: The Hofstra Library Associates. Dated May 1, 1975. Features an essay "On the 19th of April in 75" by Walter Fillin, president of the Hofstra Library Associates of Hofstra University In Hempstead, NY. Features a 16th century woodcut on the front cover. Box 1
1.5
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June 24, 1976 Newspaper Entry: "Cookbooks date back to 1774." From A Bicentennial Salute: The Roslyn News, Thursday, June 24, 1976. Vol. 99 No. 12. Photocopy. Box 1
1.6
Lucille and Walter Fillin
May 17, 1901 Dinner Invitation: In honor of Arabic poet, Omar Khayyam at Restaurant Frascati May 17th, 1901. [Dinner given by the Omar Khayyam Club.] Features a sketch of Khayyam on the front page with a verse, a dinner menu, a list of those present at the dinner, and an ode to Khayyam by Austin Dobson on the back page. Box 1
1.7
Lucille and Walter Fillin
July 21, 1976 Newspaper Article: "All About Food" by Ella Elvin. From Daily News, Wednesday, July 21, 1976. Features the B/W sketch featured on the cover of the invitation to the Omar Khayyam Club honorary dinner held May 17, 1901. Photocopy. Box 1
1.8
Lucille and Walter Fillin
May 20, 1976 Newspaper Entry: "Serving up the cookbooks." From Newsday, Thursday, May 20, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.9
Lucille and Walter Fillin
July 19, 1976 Newspaper Entry: "200 Years of Cookbooks." From AB Bookman's Weekly, July 19, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.10
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June 17, 1976 Newspaper Entry: "Cookbook Exhibit." From East Rockaway/Lynbrook Observer - June 17, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.11
Lucille and Walter Fillin
July 12, 1976 Newspaper Article: "Hofstra Books Exhibit of Cookbooks." From Long Island Business Review, July 12, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.12
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June 27, 1976 Newspaper entry: Regarding cookbook exhibit at Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY. From The New York Times, Sunday, June 27, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.13
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June - September, 1976 News Release: From Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY regarding its cookbook exhibit to be shown from June 23 - Sept. 3, 1976. 2 original copies. Box 1
1.14
Lucille and Walter Fillin
January 12, 1969 Speech: Copy of speech delivered by Florence Kaye to the LIBC on January 12, 1969 at the home of Lucille Fillin. Copy sent to Paulette Green from Florence Kaye. Envelope attached. Box 1
1.15
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June - September, 1976 Exhibition Catalog: "Cook Books: A Special Collection." All books came from Lucille Fillin's collection. Catalog lists books featured in the exhibition held from June 22 - September 3, 1976 at the Hofstra University Library in Hempstead, NY. Box 1
1.16
Lucille and Walter Fillin
August 29, 1976 Newspaper Article: "A Taste of Culinary History" by Ann Taylor. From The Long Island Sunday Press: Everyday, Sunday, August 29, 1976. Photocopy. Box 1
1.17
Lucille and Walter Fillin
November - Decemeber, 1978 Exhibition Catalog: "W. P. A. - The Writers Project." All books came from the collection of Dr. Jen Yeh. Catalog lists books featured in the exhibition held from November 8 to December 31, 1978 at the Hofstra Library in Hempstead, NY. Lucille and Walter Fillin were two of the compilers of this catalog. Box 1
1.18
Lucille and Walter Fillin
June - September, 1980 Exhibition Catalog: "From Hornbook to Storybook. American Reading Instruction. 1607 - 1935 ... ." Exhibition of selected material from the Nila Banton Smith Histroical Coellection, held from June 2 - September 12, 1980 at the Hofstra University Library in Hempstead, NY. This is catalog number 48. Inside is a note from Walter Fillin to Janet Jurist giving her the catalog to show to the LIBC. The note is handwritten on personalized letterhead. nd. Box 1
1.19
Lucille and Walter Fillin
March 9 - 10, 1979 Envelope:
Seminar Program - "The Long Island Seminar on the Russian Revolution Present The Trotsky-Stalin Conflict and Russia in the 1920's." Seminar held Friday, March 9, 1979 at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY and Saturday, March 10, 1979 at Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY.
Exhibition Catalog - "The Trotsky/Stalin Conflict: An Exhibition of Soviet Revolutionary Posters, Caricatures, Book and Manuscript Materials Related to the Trotsky/Stalin Conflict."
Box 1
1.20
Lucille and Walter Fillin
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Lucille Fillin. (Joined LIBC in 1964). Box 1
1.21
Lucille and Walter Fillin
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Walter Fillin. (Joined LIBC at its inception). Box 1
1.22
Lucille and Walter Fillin
February 11, 1991 Newspaper Obituary: For Lucille Fillin. From The New York Times, Monday, February 11 1991. Original and photocopy. Box 1
1.23
Lucille and Walter Fillin
March 7, 1991 Letter: To Janet Jurist from Susan Fillin-Yeh and Amy? & Dan Fillin thanking Janet and the LIBC for their condolences for their parents, Walter and Lucille. Dated "7 March 1991." Enclosed in an envelope. Box 1
1.24
Lucille and Walter Fillin
September 26 19? Auction Announcement: "American Paintings, Drawings, Watercolors and Prints from The Collection of Lucille and Walter Fillin." Held Thursday, September 26. Announcment from Christie's. nd. Photocopy. On same page is announcement "Christopher Morley Collection To Be Sold" and Tony Zwicker's business card. Box 1
       
Folder 2.
Herman Abromson
  Contains: Exhibition Invitation; exhibition catalog; death notice; magazine bibliography; book list; course bulletin; newspaper article; rare book catalogs; sales listings; memorial invitation. Box 1
2.1
Herman Abromson
May - June, 1976 Exhibition Invitation: "Eighty-Five Golden Florins: First and Rare Editons of Favorite Books Selected by Christopher Morley." Given by The Chrisopher Morley Knothole Association at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY May 21 to June 23, 1976. Exhibiton ran from [April 30] to June 23, 1976. Box 1
2.2
Herman Abromson
April - June, 1976 Exhibition Catalog: "Eighty-Five Golden Florins: First and Rare Editions of Favorite Books Selected by Christopher Morley," April 30 - June 23, 1976 at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Catalog created by Erica Doctorow and Gary Cantrell. Box 1
2.3
Herman Abromson
January, 1988? Death Notice: LIBC announcement of the death of Herman Abromson, founder of the LIBC. (January 1988?) 2 original copies. Enclosed in an envelope. Box 1
2.4
Herman Abromson
nd Magazine Bibliography: Christopher Morley. Compiled by G. H. Schade. From The American Book Collector. nd. (Magazines range from 1913 - 1940). Photocopy. Box 1
2.5
Herman Abromson
nd Book List: "Books Want List" of Herman Abromson. Lists Christopher Morley books wanted by Abromson. nd. Typed. Box 1
2.6
Herman Abromson
January, 1977? Course Bulletin: "This Spring at The New School - Rare Books: A Guide to Collecting, Appreciating, and Selling Antiquarian Books." (Given at The New School for Social Research in New York, NY). Box 1
2.7
Herman Abromson
February 20, 1972 Newspaper Article: "Book Collectors Organize To Share Joy of Hobby" by William Barber. From The Long Island Press, Sunday, February 20, 1972. Features B/W photograph of Herman Abromson. Original clipping. Box 1
2.8
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "The Collector's List of Illustrated and Art Books: Catalog Three." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with a few art pieces listed on the back cover. nd. Cover features a copy of Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Box 1
2.9
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "A Collector's List of Books About Books: Catalog Ten." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with portraits of Rudyard Kipling, James Joyce, Carl Sandburg, Walt Whitman, Willa Cather, and Robert Louis Stevenson listed on the back cover. nd. Cover features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate in the center. Addressed to Janet Jurist on the back cover. Box 1
2.10
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "A Collector's List of Books About Books: Catalog Twelve." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with portraits of Willa Cather, James Joyce, Rudyard Kipling, Walt Whitman, Fred W. Goudy, Bruce Rogers, and Carson McCullers listed on the back cover. Pages from the Heritage Club Edition of Somerset Maugham's The Moon and Sixpence featuring illustrations by Frederic Dorr Steele are referenced on the verso of the cover page. nd. Cover features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Addressed to Janet Jurist on the back cover. Box 1
2.11
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "A Collector's List of Books About Books: Catalog Nine." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Pages from the Heritage Club Edition of Somerset Maugham's The Moon and Sixpence featuring illustrations by Frederic Dorr Steele are referenced on the verso of the cover page. nd. Cover features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Addressed to Janet Jurist on the back cover. Box 1
2.12
Herman Abromson
nd Sales Listing: Herman Abromson's list of books, pamphlets, magazines, and signed editions for sale from the collection of Stephen Vincent Benet. nd. Works listed range from 1915 to 1954. Typed. Box 1
2.13
Herman Abromson
July 3, 1974 Sales Listing: Created by Herman Abromson in Rockville Centre, NY and sent to Paulette Greene on July 3, 1974. Lists periodicals for sale such as William Faulkner, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Robert Frost, Ernest Hemingway, Edna St. Vincent Millay, and Thomas Wolfe. Typed on Herman Abromson letterhead and addressed to Paulette Greene. Box 1
2.14
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog, Collector's List #6: "A Collector's List of Poets and Their Works." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with portraits of Willa Cather, Joseph Conrad, A. Conan Doyle, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Christopher Morley, Rabindranath Tagore, Mark Twain, Walt Whitman, Edgar Lee Masters, and Somerset Maugham. nd. Cover page features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Addressed to Mr. and Mrs. Walter Fillin. Box 1
2.15
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "A Collector's List - No. 4." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with art work mentioned on the cover page. nd. Cover page features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Addressed to Mr. and Mrs. Walter Fillin. Box 1
2.16
Herman Abromson
nd Rare Book Catalog: "A Collector's List of Illustrated Books." Published by Herman Abromson, A Collector's List Inc. in Rockville Centre, NY. Lists books for sale with art work mentioned on the cover page. nd. Cover page features Abromson's Christopher Morley book plate. Box 1
2.17
Herman Abromson
January 8, 1989 LIBC Memorial Invitation: For Herman Abromson. Memorial to be held by the LIBC on January 8, 1989 at the Bryant Library in Roslyn, NY. Front cover features Abromson's name and his Christopher Morley book plate. The verso of the cover features a B/W photograph of Abromson. 10 original invitations. Box 1
       
Folder 3.
Terry Bender
  Contains: Newspaper obituaries; letter; essay. Box 1
3.1
Terry Bender
nd Newspaper Obituary: J. Terry Bender. From AB Bookman's Weekly. nd. Original clipping. Box 1
3.2
Terry Bender
April 5, 1977 Newspaper Obituary: J. Terry Bender. From The New York Times, April 5, 1977. 3 Original Copies. Box 1
3.3
Terry Bender
nd Newspaper Obituary: J. Terry Bender. nd. Original copy. Box 1
3.4
Terry Bender
July 8, 1974 Letter: To "Fellow Library Associates" from Dorothy L. Hatch, President of the Hofstra Libray Associates in Hempstead, NY. The letter concerns Terry Bender's essay, "Hofstra's Experience in London" that was to appear in Hofstra's upcoming publications. Essay dated "July 8, 1974." Typed on Hofstra University letterhead. Bender essay enclosed. Box 1
       
Folder
4. Abraham Blinderman
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
4.1
Abraham Blinderman
November 9, 1980 LIBC Membership Application: Abraham Blinderman. Dated November 9, 1980. Box 1
       
Folder
5. Alvin and Lucille Boretz
  Contains: Rare book catalog; newspaper articles; publication. Box 1
5.1
Alvin and Lucille Boretz
nd Rare Book Catalog: "19th [and] 20th Century First Editions: Catalogue 4." Published by Sterling Books in Woodmere, NY. nd. Box 1
5.2
Alvin and Lucille Boretz
March 19, 1972 Newspaper Article: "The Young Filmmakers of L.I." by Alvin Boretz. From The New York Times, Sunday, March 19, 1972. Original copy. Box 1
5.3
Alvin and Lucille Boretz
October 7, 1975 Newspaper Article: "Confessions of a Man Who Writes TV Stories" by Stan Isaacs. Article about Alvin Boretz. From Newsday, Tuesday, October 7, 1975. Original copy. Features 2 B/W photographs of Boretz. Box 1
5.4
Alvin and Lucille Boretz
April, 1973 Publication: The Overleaf. Volume 7 No. 6. Published by The Hewlett Woodmere Public Library. Dated April - 1973. Features an entry by Alvin Boretz titled "Literary and Literate." Box 1
       
Folder 6.
Timothy Carew
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
6.1
Timothy Carew
October 10, 1993 LIBC Membership Application: Timothy Carew. Dated 10/10/93. Box 1
       
Folder 7.
Estelle Chessid
  Contains: Publication; LIBC membership application; newspaper articles. Box 1
7.1
Estelle Chessid
May 1, 1978 Publication: AB Bookman's Weekly for the Specialist Book World. Dated May 1, 1978. Box 1
7.2
Estelle Chessid
April 9, 1973 LIBC Membership Application: Estelle Chessid. Dated April 9, 1973. Box 1
7.3
Estelle Chessid
September 13, 1979 Newspaper Article: "Collecting Rare Books: The Goal is Appreciation" by Henry Gilgoff. From Newsday, Sept. 13, 1979. Features B/W photograph of Estelle Chessid. 2 original copies. Box 1
7.4
Estelle Chessid
April 6, 1978 Newspaper Article: "A Festival of Books" by Audrey Clinton. From Newsday, Thursday, April 6, 1978. Features a B/W photograph of Estelle Chessid. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 8.
Ken Clark
  Contains: LIBC membership card; encyclopedia pages; business card. Box 1
8.1
Ken Clark
1972 LIBC Membership Card: H. Ken Clark. Dated 1972. Box 1
8.2
Ken Clark
1961 - 1962 Encyclopedia Pages: Copies of pages from Encyclopedia Brittanica of 1961 and 1962, concerning the moon. Attached is Ken Clark's business card.
Business Card: H. K. Clark, administrative manager of IBM Research at the Watson Laboratory in New York, NY. On the back is written Ken Clark's address.
Box 1
       
Folder 9.
Lillian Cohen
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
9.1
Lillian Cohen
December 24, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Lillian Cohen. Dated Dec. 24, 1982. Envelope attached. Box 1
       
Folder 10.
Harry and Lucille Cuttler
  Contains: LIBC membership application; tribute essay. Box 1
10.1
Harry and Lucille Cuttler
April 18, 1972 LIBC Membership Application: Harry and Lucille Cuttler. Dated 4/18/72. Box 1
10.2
Harry and Lucille Cuttler
November 8, 1990 Tribute Essay: For Harry Cuttler. . Dated November 8, 1990. Typed. Box 1
       
Folder 11.
Nora Gallagher
  Contains: Newspaper article; letter. Box 1
11.1
Nora Gallagher
August 2, 1963 Newspaper Article: "This is One for Books." From Newsday, Aug 2, 1963. Features B/W photograph of Nora Gallagher. Original copy. (Article incomplete). Box 1
11.2
Nora Gallagher
March 13, 1980 Letter: To Norman O. Jung, Library Director of SUNY Old Westbury, from Nora Gallagher, Director of Libraries at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY, thanking the LIBC for a donation. Dated "March 13, 1980." Typed on Adelphi University letterhead. Box 1
       
Folder 12.
Fred and Irene Gardner
  Contains: LIBC membership cards; LIBC bibliobiographies; letters; newspaper articles; exhibition catalog; publication; newspaper obituary; newspaper death announcement. Box 1
12.1
Fred and Irene Gardner
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Fred Gardner. Dated 1972. Box 1
12.2
Fred and Irene Gardner
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Irene Gardner. Dated 1972. Box 1
12.3
Fred and Irene Gardner
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Irene Gardner. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
12.4
Fred and Irene Gardner
March 12, 1978 Letter Draft (?): To Rita Reif of The New York Times from Frederick R. Gardner, President of the LIBC, regarding errors in her column about the sale of the Gutenberg Bible to "the Museum in Mainz." Dated "March 12, 1978." Typed. Attached is Reif's article "Gutenberg Bible Brings $1.8 Million." Box 1
12.5
Fred and Irene Gardner
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Frederick Gardner. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
12.6
Fred and Irene Gardner
November 13, 1977 Exhibition Catalog: "Checklist of Drawings and Watercolors 1922-1957 for Books Illustrated by Robert Lawson in The Frederick R. Gardner Collection of The Free Library of Philadelphia [on] 13 November 1977." Top cover features a B/W illustration of a bull's head whiich appears on the title-page of the exhibition's dummy copy of "The Story of Ferdinand." Box 1
12.7
Fred and Irene Gardner
March 2, 1967 Letter: To "My dear Mr. Gardner" from Paulette Greene, asking Gardner to consider joining the LIBC and advising him to speak with LIBC President, Herman Abromson. Dated "the 2nd of March 1967. Handwritten on Greene's personalized stationery paper. Attached is a letter from Abromson to Gardner. Letter: To Frederick R. Gardner from Herman Abromson, president of the LIBC, asking Gardner to make time to discuss books with the LIBC. Dated "March 14, 1967." Typed on LIBC letterhead. Box 1
12.8
Fred and Irene Gardner
November 9, 1980 Honorary Address: Copy of address given by Gearge Allen, rare book dealer, at a honoray program held at the Montgomery Auditorium at The Free Library of Philadelphia on November 9, 1980 for donors of historical children's books. Box 1
12.9
Fred and Irene Gardner
nd Brochure: Created by the Rare Book Department of The Free Library of Philadelphia. Top cover features a B/W photograph of "Charles Dickens' desk in the Elkins Room." Brochure sponsored by The Public Committee for the Humanities in Pennsylvania. nd. Box 1
12.10
Fred and Irene Gardner
November, 1977 Publication: "Robert Lawson On My Shelves" by Frederick R. Gardner. An essay written by Gardner about Lawson's life and works. Featured is a list of books illustrated by Robert Lawson. Lawson's illustrations are featured throughout the booklet. Published by The Free Library of Pennsylvania in [November] 1977. "Six hundred copies of this keepsake have been printed for distribution in November of 1977." Box 1
12.11
Fred and Irene Gardner
April 6, 1977 Letter: To Fred Gardner from Ellsworth Mason, Head of the Special Collections Department at the University of Colorado at Boulder, thanking Gardner for supporting the Rare Book Associates and acknowledging him as a member of the Rare Book Associates. Dated "April 6, 1977." Typed on University of Colorado at Boulder letterhead. Box 1
12.12
Fred and Irene Gardner
December 2, 1990 Newspaper Obituary: Frederick Gardner by Ellen Yen. From Newsday, Sunday, December 2, 1990. Original copy. Box 1
12.13
Fred and Irene Gardner
November 29, 1990 Newspaper Death Announcement: Frederick R. Gardner. Died on Nov. 26, 1990. From The New York Times, Thursday, November 29, 1990. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 13.
Helene Geist
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
13.1
Helene Geist
March 8, 1981 LIBC Membership Application: Helene Geist. Dated 3/8/81? Box 1
       
Folder 14.
Esther and Leonard Geller
  Contains: Rare book catalog; LIBC membership applications. Box 1
14.1
Esther and Leonard Geller
1983 Rare Book Catalog: "Medicines and Sciences: Catalog Six." Published in the spring of 1983 by Elgen Books in Rockville Centre, NY. The front cover features the frontispiece of a book featured in the catolog. Box 1
14.2
Esther and Leonard Geller
March 12, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: Esther Geller. Dated 3/12/78. Box 1
14.3
Esther and Leonard Geller
May 7, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: Leonard Geller. Dated May 7, 1978. Box 1
       
Folder 15.
Roslyn and Saul Grand
  Contains: Presentation packet. Box 1
15.1
Roslyn and Saul Grand
Novwember 20, 1995 Presentation Packet: Presented by Rosyn Grand. Features three illustrations from Sigfred Taubert's Bibliopola II. Also features article "Paths to Book Collecting" by Joel Silver, taken from AB Bookman's Weekly, November 20, 1995. Top page features a quote from Phillip Hofer, former Curator for the Spencer Collection at the NY Public Library. Box 1
       
Folder 16.
Paulette Greene
  Contains: Photograph; newspaper mention; event flyer; letters; thank you card; brochure layout; exhibition flyer. Box 1
16.1
Paulette Greene
nd Photograph: Color photograph of Paulette Greene. nd. Original photo. Box 1
16.2
Paulette Greene
March 21, 1977 Newspaper Mention: Paulette Green Books of Rockville Centre, NY. Listed under "New ABAA Members" in AB Bookman's Weekly, March 21, 1977. Photocopy. Box 1
16.3
Paulette Greene
nd Event Flyer: "Joys of Book Collecting: Three Lectures for The Rockville Centre Public Library." Lists dates and times of lectures by Paulette Greene, Alida Roochvarg, and Herman Abromson. Flyer features Abromson's Christopher Morley bookplate. Flyer doublesided. nd. 2 copies. Box 1
16.4
Paulette Greene
May 12, 1968 Letter: To Paulette [Greene] from Ellsworth [Mason] thanking Paulette for her concern in his collection. Dated "12 May 1968. Handwritten on personalized letterhead. Box 1
16.5
Paulette Greene
May 24, 1969 Letter: To Paulette [Greene] from Herman [Abromson] asking Greene to send him a letter for his own collection of correspondence talking about how she became interested in collecting books. Dated "May 24, 1969." Handwritten on personalized letterhead. Envelope included. Attached is Greene's letter to Abromson telling how she became interested in bookcollecting. Letter Draft (?): To Herman Abromson from Paulette telling how she became interested in bookcollecting. Dated "June 11, 1969." Typed. Box 1
16.6
Paulette Greene
November 13, 1967 Letter: To Paulette Greene from Ellsworth Mason, Director of Library Services at Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY. Letter is presenting Greene with an article on the Yale Library. Dated "November 13, 1967." Typed on Hofstra University letterhead. Yale article not included. Box 1
16.7
Paulette Greene
November 28, 1967 Letter: To Paulette Greene from Ellsworth Mason, Director of Library Services at Hofstra University in Hempstead, NY. Letter is thanking Greene for her letter and "Omnibus" brochure. Dated "November 28, 1967." Typed on Hofstra University letterhead. Attached were her letter but those are not included. Box 1
16.8
Paulette Greene
November 3, 1968 Thank You Card: To Paulette Greene from Vera Ries thanking Greene for her sympathy. Reason uncertain. Dated 3 Nov 1968. Card is preprinted. Card enclosed in envelope. Box 1
16.9
Paulette Greene
nd Letter: To Paulette Greene from George Minkoff discussing book sales and purchases. nd. Handwritten on personalized letterhead. Box 1
16.10
Paulette Greene
December, 1977 Brochure Layout: For a holiday brochure for LIBC members. Created by Paulette Greene and Alida Roochvarg in December, 1977. Box 1
16.11
Paulette Greene
nd Exhibition Flyer: "The Story of the Night Before Christmas." Exhibition of the collection of Paulette Greene to be held in December at the Rockville Centre Public Library. Flyer features illustration of Santa Claus in the center. nd. Box 1
       
Folder 17.
Sarah Gross
  Contains: Tribute speeches; newspaper obituary; tribute essay; newspaper tribute article; memorial packet; holiday card; children's book catalog; booklet; brochures; newsletters; publication. Box 1
17.1
Sarah Gross
nd Tribute Speech: For Sarah Chokla Gross. Author and date unknown. Handwritten. Draft. With it is a piece of paper on which is written "Having done what men could, they suffered what men must." Box 1
17.2
Sarah Gross
nd Newspaper Obituary: Sarah C. Gross. Date and source unknown. Original copy. Box 1
17.3
Sarah Gross
nd Tribute Essay: "My Friend Sarah [Gross]" by Frances Woodsen. nd. Photocopy. Box 1
17.4
Sarah Gross
August 1, 1976 Newspaper Tribute Article: "Tribute to Sarah [Gross]" by Allen Maxwell. From The Dallas Morning News, Sunday, August 1, 1976. 1 original and 1 photocopy. Box 1
17.5
Sarah Gross
nd Tribute Speech: For Sarah Chokla Gross by Janet Jurist. nd. Box 1
17.6
Sarah Gross
nd Memorial Packet: "As We Remember Sarah." Prepared by the LIBC in memory of Sarah Gross. Draft. nd. Box 1
17.7
Sarah Gross
nd Holiday Card: Handwritten to Paulette [Greene] from Sarah Chokla Gross inviting Greene to her home to see her collectables. nd. Reverse side features excerpt titled "The World's Christmas Party" taken from The Infant's Magazine, vol. 21, Dec. 1886 courtesy of The Osborne Collection of Early Children's Books at the Boys and Girls House of Toronto Public Libraries in Toronto, Canada. Box 1
17.8
Sarah Gross
1968 Children's Book Catalog: "Fall 1968 Catalog: Franklin Watts Inc." Catalog addressed to Mrs. Robert Green with a note from Franklin Watts, Inc. attached on the inside of the cover reading "A friend of yours has done the book that leads off our Fall list. We thought you might like to know." The friend is Sarah Gross and her book is marked on page 1. The illustration on the cover was adapted from "Every Child's Book of Verse," illustrated by Marta Cone. Catalog published by Franklin Watts, Inc in New York, NY. Box 1
17.9
Sarah Gross
March, 1970 Booklet: "Planning a School Book Fair" by Sarah Chokla Gross. Instructional booklet for putting on a book fair. Published in 1970 by Children's Book Council, Inc. in New York City. Features drawings by Daniel Colbert. Inscribed by Gross, "For the files and archives of the Long Island Book Collectors" and dated "March, 1970." Inside is brochure titled "Summer Reading 1970." Brochure: "Summer Reading 1970." Lists summer reading materials on sale. Front page features a poster by Ezra Jack Keats. Brochure published by Children's Book Council, Inc in New York, NY. 3 copies. For each the front page is inscribed by Sarah Chokla Gross, "Look inside for notice of the booklet I've written [Planning a School Book Fair] to help put on book fairs." One brochure is inside booklet "Planning a School Book Fair" by Sarah Chokla Gross. Box 1
17.10
Sarah Gross
October, 1948 Newsletter: Theatre Library Association. Volume nine, October 1948, number three. Newsletter edited by Sarah Gross and published by the Theatre Library Association in New York, NY. Box 1
17.11
Sarah Gross
Ocotober, 1970 Newsletter: Theatre Library Association. Volume twenty-nine, October 1970, number one. Newsletter edited by Sarah Gross and published by the Theatre Library Association, Theatre Collection, Library of Performing Arts, Lincoln Center in New York, NY. Box 1
17.12
Sarah Gross
June, 1971 Newsletter: Theatre Library Association. Volume thirty, June 1971, number one. Newsletter edited by Sarah Gross and published by the Theatre Library Association, Theatre Collection, Library of Performing Arts, Lincoln Center in New York, NY. Box 1
17.13
Sarah Gross
September 30, 1965 Publication: Scholastic Teacher. Vol. 3, no. 3., Sept. 30, 1965. An edition of Scholastic Scope. Features article "Tumblin' Creek's Cabin Library" by Sarah Chokla Gross on page 17. Box 1
17.14
Sarah Gross
1976 Newsletter: The Theatre Library Association. Volume 4, number 2, Fall 1976, News Series. Features article on Sarah Chokla Gross by Edyth Renshaw after Gross' death. Photocopy. Box 1

Box 1: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Member Folders: 18-37

Item Date Description Location
Folder 18.
Dorothy Hatch
  Contains: Invitation; exhibition catalog; newspaper articles; photograph; notecard; letter. Box 1
18.1
Dorothy Hatch
May 16, 1980 Invitation: From The Post Library Association for an evening presentation on "The World of Books at The Hutchins Gallery" in the B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, C.W. Post Long Island University in Greenvale, NY on Friday, May 16, 1980. Invitation addressed to Mr. and Mrs. James Jurist. Box 1
18.2
Dorothy Hatch
March - April, 1969 Exhibition Catalog: "Walter De La Mare: An Exhibition of Books, Letters, and Manuscripts." Exhibition held from March 3 - April 25, 1969 by the Rare Book Department of Temple University Libraries in Philadelphia, PA. Introduction by Thomas M. Whitehead, Curator, Rare Books and Manuscripts. Box 1
18.3
Dorothy Hatch
December 3, 1976 Newspaper Article: Title missing. Article is about the Garden City Public Library's presentation of Dorothy Hatch to be held Dec. 6, 1976. From Garden City News, Friday, December 3, 1976. Original Copy. Box 1
18.4
Dorothy Hatch
1976 Photograph: Dorothy Hatch items at Hatch's Reading Poetry Aloud Workshop at the Garden City Public Library held Fall 1976. Box 1
18.5
Dorothy Hatch
November 21, 1973 Newspaper Article: "De La Mare Collection Loaned For Library Exhibit By Actress." Discusses Dorothy Hatch's De La Mare collection. From The Garden City Leader, November 21, 1973. Box 1
18.6
Dorothy Hatch
November 25, 1977 Notecard: Handwritten to the LIBC from Dorothy Hatch in appreciation of the LIBC's giving a memorial volume donated to the Adelphi University Library in honor of William Hatch. Dated November 25, 1977. Box 1
18.7
Dorothy Hatch
November 6, 1977 Letter: To "Rudi" from Frederick R. Gardner of Books-Consultant Services asking Rudi to write a check to the Friends of Adelphi Libraries. 11-6-77. Typed on personalized letterhead. Box 1
18.8
Dorothy Hatch
November 29, 1973 Newspaper Article: "De La Mare Show." Article discusses Dorothy Hatch's De La Mare collection. From Long Island Press, Thursday, November 29, 1973. Box 1
       
Folder 19.
Thomas Healey
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
19.1
Thomas Healey
October 10, 1993 LIBC Membership Application: Thomas J. Healey. Dated October 10, 1993. Box 1
19.2
Thomas Healey
February 11, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Thomas J. Healey. Dated February 11, 1996. Box 1
       
Folder 20.
Helen Heinrich
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiography; newspaper articles; newspaper mentions; newspaper photographs; event flyer. Box 1
20.1
Helen Heinrich
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Helen Heinrich. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
20.2
Helen Heinrich
April 27, 1971 Newspaper Article: "Little Toot Makes a Big Impression" by Sylvia Carter. Discusses children's author and illustrator Hardie Gramatky's visit to North Coleman Elementary School. Mentions Helen Heinrich, reading specialist at the school. From Newsday, Tuesday, April 27, 1971. Original copy. Box 1
20.3
Helen Heinrich
May 12, 1971 Newspaper Mention: "Children's Book Fair." Notes actor and producer Lon Clark's visit to North Coleman Elementary School for a children's book fair. Features B/W photo of Lon Clark speaking to the children at the fair. From The Long Island News, Wednesday, May 12, 1971. Original copy. Box 1
20.4
Helen Heinrich
March 2, 1970 Newspaper Photographs: "At Home in a Very Small World." B/W photographs of 4 Easter eggs handcrafted by Mrs. Fred Heinrich (Helen), on display at the Bethpage Public Library. From Newsday, Monday, March 2, 1970. Original copy. Box 1
20.5
Helen Heinrich
December 2, 1969 Newspaper Article: "Storied Eggs Open Eyes to Books." Discusses Helen Heinrich's handcrafted Storybook Eggs, which were displayed at several public libraries. Features a B/W photograph of three Storybook Eggs on display at East Rockaway Library. From Newsday, Tuesday, December 2, 1969. Original copy. Box 1
20.6
Helen Heinrich
1970 Event Flyer: "North Coleman Road School Book Fair 1970." Contains 4 photocopied newspaper clippings announcing the book fair in Centereach and the authors that5 will be attending. Source unknown. Box 1
20.7
Helen Heinrich
April 8, 1971 Newspaper Article: "Five Authors To Visit Here For Annual Fair." Discusses The North Coleman Road School's annual book fair to be held from April 20 to April 29, 1971 in Centereach. Features a photograph of author Peter Spier, who would be present at the fair. From The Mid Island News, April 8, 1971. Photocopy. Box 1
20.8
Helen Heinrich
May 13, 1970 Newspaper Article: "Authors Of Children's Books To Visit Schools, Lecture." Discusses The North Coleman Road School's book fair to be held May 18 to May 22, 1970 in Centereach. From The Mid Island News, 5/13/70. Photocopy. Box 1
20.9
Helen Heinrich
October 29, 1970 Newspaper Mention: "Something For The Children; Little Toot In The Making." Mentions author/illustrator Hardie Gramatky's visit to Middle Country School to speak to Helen Heinrich's children's literature class. Features photograph of Gramatky at the October 1970 North Coleman Road School Book Fair. From The Mid Island News, October 29, 1970. Photocopy. Inscribed at the top, "Hi - I thought you might like to have this. Terriffic - Judy Morabits[?]." Box 1
       
Folder 21.
Argiros (Bill) Hellen
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC acceptance letter. Box 1
21.1
Argiros (Bill) Hellen
February 14, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Argiros S. Hellen. Dated "2/14/1982." Attached is a copy of Hellen's LIBC acceptance letter dated "Monday March 15th, 1982." Box 1
       
Folder 22.
Helene Hertzlinger
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
22.1
Helene Hertzlinger
Novenber 14, 1993 LIBC Membership Application: Helene Hertzlinger. Dated 11/14/93. Box 1
22.2
Helene Hertzlinger
January 14, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Helene Hertzlinger. Dated 1/14/96. Box 1
       
Folder 23.
Helen Hurewitz
  Contains: LIBC membership card; New Years greeting; publication; letter; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
23.1
Helen Hurewitz
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Helen Hurewitz. Dated 1972. Box 1
23.2
Helen Hurewitz
nd News Years Greeting on Paper: Features an old Pagan prayer. Signed at the bottom "Helen & Herman." nd. Box 1
23.3
Helen Hurewitz
December, 1976 Publication: The Antiquarian. Vol. 2 no. 12, December 1976. Published in Long Island, NY. Box 1
23.4
Helen Hurewitz
December 24, 1995 Letter: To "Carol and Marvin" from Helen Hurewitz. Hurewitz is wishing them a happy holiday. "December 24, 1995." Typed on personalized letterhead. Box 1
23.5
Helen Hurewitz
February, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Helen Hurewitz. Dated Feb 1996. Box 1
       
Folder 24.
Kenneth Jenkins
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC acceptance letter; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
24.1
Kenneth Jenkins
February 1, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Kenneth V. Jenkins. Dated February 1, 1982. Attached is Jenkins' LIBC acceptance letter dated "Monday, March 15th, 1982." Box 1
24.2
Kenneth Jenkins
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Kenneth Jenkins. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
       
Folder 25.
Norman Jung
  Contains: Photograph; LIBC bibliobiography; letter. Box 1
25.1
Norman Jung
May, 1977 Photograph: Color photograph of Norman Jung. Dated May 1977. Box 1
25.2
Norman Jung
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Norman Jung. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
25.3
Norman Jung
January 6, 1995 Letter: To Norman O. Jung from Dr. Ruth Ann Smith, Associate Professor at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University at Blacksburg, Virginia. Smith thanks Jung for participating in her study. Dated "January 6, 1995." Typed on Virginia Tech letterhead. Attached is a typed summary of Ruth's study. Box 1
       
Folder 26.
Janet Jurist
  Contains: Speech; photograph; articles; brochure; LIBC membership application. Box 1
26.1
Janet Jurist
nd Speech: Speech for the "last meeting of the season" for the LIBC, featuring Charles Feinberg. Handwritten. Draft. nd. Box 1
26.2
Janet Jurist
nd Photograph: Color photograph of Janet Jurist called "Dinner at Janet Jurist's." nd. Box 1
26.3
Janet Jurist
July 27, 1976 Article: Typed article about Janet Jurist. "Translated from the Kristeligt Dagblad," July 27, 1976. With photocopy of original newspaper article. Box 1
26.4
Janet Jurist
nd Brochure: "Turn A $3.00 Book into A $100 Book." Created by Janet Jurist of Biographic research in New York, NY. Discusses how her organization can help individuals research critical information on books. nd. Box 1
26.5
Janet Jurist
April, 1986 Article: Copy of article "The Scandal of The Anglo-American Authors' Association" by Janet Jurist. Dated April 1986. Taken from American Book Collector. Box 1
26.6
Janet Jurist
April 16, 1976 LIBC Membership Application: Janet Jurist. Dated 4/16/76. Box 1
       
Folder 27.
John Kasius
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
27.1
John Kasius
January 22, 1984 LIBC Membership Application: John W. Kasius. Dated 1/22/84. Box 1
27.2
John Kasius
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: John W. Kasius. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
       
Folder 28.
Ron Katzberg
  Contains: LIBC membership application; memo. Box 1
28.1
Ron Katzberg
September 14, 1983 LIBC Membership Application: Ron Katzberg. Dated 9/14/83. Box 1
28.2
Ron Katzberg
1983 Memo: Announces LIBC's review of Ron Katzberg's application. Dated 1983. Box 1
       
Folder 29.
David King
  Contains: Pamphlet; publications; bulletin; newsletters; business card; LIBC membership application; articles; booklet; card; letter; invitation; memos; flyers. Box 1
29.1
David King
May, 1982 Pamphlet: Bentley Drivers Club Review. Dated May 1982. Contains "A Collectors Guide To The Books of W.O. Bentley. Box 1
29.2
David King
September, 1984 Publication: The Rolls-Royce Review - The Journal of Rolls-Royce and Bentley Book and Literature Collecting. Issue number one, September, 1984. This is the journal of the "David M. King Rolls-Royce Archives." Published in Rockville Centre, NY. Box 1
29.3
David King
January, 1985 Publication: The Rolls-Royce Review - The Journal of Rolls-Royce and Bentley Book and Literature Collecting. Issue number two, January, 1985. This is the journal of the "David M. King Rolls-Royce Archives." Published in Rockville Centre, NY. Box 1
29.4
David King
November 21, 1986 Bulletin: B'nai Sholom temple bulletin. November 21, 1986. 19 Cheshvan, 5747, No. 3. Addressed to David M. King. Box 1
29.5
David King
November - Decemeber, 1987 Newsletter: The Journal of the Society of Automotive Historians, Inc. November-December 1987. Issue Number 111. Mentions a LIBC meeting held on June 14, 1987 to discuss books on travel by automobile. David King, speaker. Attached is David King's business card inscribed "To The LIBC Archives From The David King Rolls-Royce Archives." Box 1
29.6
David King
September, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: David M. King. Dated 9 September 1978. Box 1
29.7
David King
December, 1996 Publication: The Ellerman Report. December 1996. Features a Rolls-Royce and Betley postcards section by David King. Box 1
29.8
David King
June, 1995 Article: "Rolls-Royce Armoured Cars" by David M. King. From T.E. Notes: A T.E. Lawrence Newsletter, volume 6, no. 6, June 1995. Article first appeared in The Ellerman Report, May/June 1993, vol. 3, no. 3. Box 1
29.9
David King
July - August, 1993 Article: "Getting Started; How to Build a Collection" by David M. King. From The Rolls-Royce Archives of The Ellerman Report, July/August 1993. Photocopy. "Reproduced From The Original In The Library Of David M. King." Box 1
29.10
David King
July - August, 1998 Photocopied Article: Title unknown. By John McGlynn. Article discusses David King and his Rolls-Royce archives. Mentions King's involvement in the LIBC. Article taken from The Rolls-Royce Enthusiasts' Club Bulletin, No. 224 July/Aug 1998. Includes photograph of John McGlynn and David King. Box 1
29.11
David King
March 9, 1997 Booklet: "The David M. King 'Rolls-Royce Archives.' Thirty Years - Thirty Books." Created by King for a talk to the LIBC? at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY on March 9th, 1997. First page inscribed by King "To The Archives of The Long Island Book Collectors." Box 1
29.12
David King
1987 Newsletter: LIBC newsletter no. 1. Fall 1987. Includes column "Automotive Travel Collection" about David King's talk at the June 14, 1987 meeting concerning his "Automotive Travel Books Collection" dated 1897 to 1918. Box 1
29.13
David King
September 4, 1995 Handwritten Card: To David King from Jane[?] Pitt Sodlow thanking him for the gift he made in her mother's honor. Dated "September 4, 1995." Notecard front cover is an illustration of two girls. Enclosed in an envelope. Box 1
29.14
David King
October 18, 1996 Letter: To David King from Karen Crowley, Director of Development at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY, thanking him for his $20 donation to Swirbul Library in memory of Erich Wronker. Dated "October 18, 1996." Typed on Adelphi University letterhead. Box 1
29.15
David King
November 14 19? Invitation: LIBC's annual dinner party at Arbor Inn in Rockville Center, NY Sunday, November 14. Autograph Auctioneer Herman Darvick will speak. Box 1
29.16
David King
November 14 19? Memo: LIBC asks that members who have not responded to the invitation for the annual dinner party at Arbor Inn in Rockville Center, NY Sunday, November 14 respond to this memo as quickly as possible. Return coupon is to be mailed to David King. Reverse side contains the announcement of the dinner party. Box 1
29.17
David King
June 14, 1987 Memo: LIBC June meeting held June 14, 1987 at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. David King will discuss topic "Travel By Automobile Books 1897 - 1918." Box 1
29.18
David King
March 9, 1997 Flyer: "The David M. King 'Rolls-Royce Archives': Thirty Years-Thirty Books." Presentation given by King at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY on Sunday, March 9, 1997. Box 1
29.19
David King
June 8, 1997 Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, June 8, 1997 at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Members will discuss materials concerning or by Nevil Shute Norway, aeronautical engineer and novelist. Flyer addressed to David King. Box 1
       
Folder 30.
Max Kleinman
  Contains: Email; LIBC bibliobiography; lists; flyer. Box 1
30.1
Max Kleinman
January 27, 2010 Email: Special Collections of the B. Davis Scwartz Memorial Library at C.W. Post Long Island University in Brookville, NY. Email pertains to LIBC archives gifted to the library. Email sent Wednesday, January 27, 2010. Attached is a photocopy of Max Kleinman's LIBC bibliobiography dated 30 January 1996. Box 1
30.2
Max Kleinman
March 9, 1988 Membership List: "Long Island Book Collectors Membership List." Dated 3/09/88. Box 1
30.3
Max Kleinman
November 1, 1987 Membership List: "Long Island Book Collectors Membership as of 11/01/87." Box 1
30.4
Max Kleinman
March 13, 1994 Flyer: LIBC will give a "GAM" Sunday, March 13, 1994 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. The topic will be whales, fishery, and book collecting. Box 1
       
Folder 31.
Juliet and Myron Luke
  Contains: Book; booklet; LIBC acceptance letter; LIBC membership applications; letter. Box 1
31.1
Juliet and Myron Luke
1976 Book: "Long Island in the American Revolution" by Myron H. Luke and Robert W. Venables. Published 1976 in Albany, NY by The New York State American Revolution Bicentennial Commission. Title page signed "Myron H. Luke." Box 1
31.2
Juliet and Myron Luke
1980 Booklet: "This Long Island" by Myron H. Luke. Reprinted from The Nassau County Historical Society Journal, vol. 35, 1980. Front cover signed "Myron H. Luke." Box 1
31.3
Juliet and Myron Luke
September 24, 1981 LIBC Acceptance Letter: To Juliet G. Luke from Harry Cuttler, LIBC President. Dated "September 24th, 1981." Typed. 2 photocopies. One is attached to Juliet Luke's LIBC membership application dated May 12, 1981. Box 1
31.4
Juliet and Myron Luke
May 12, 1981 Letter: From Myron H. Luke to Dave King presenting Juliet Luke's LIBC membership application and telling King won't be able to attend the May 17th meeting. Dated "May 12, 1981." Typed on personalized letterhead. Attached to Juliet Luke's LIBC application and a copy of her acceptance letter. Box 1
31.5
Juliet and Myron Luke
March 21, 1980 LIBC Membership Application: Myron H. Luke. Dated March 21, 1980. Box 1
       
Folder 32.
Alex Lurkis
  Contains: Event flyer; LIBC bibliobiography; newspaper article; book jacket; card; death notice; flyer. Box 1
32.1
Alex Lurkis
June 19 - 21, 1992 Event Flyer: "Carin T. Lurkis Retrospective Exhibit." To be held June 19 - 21, 1992 at the Manhattan Fine Art Storage Gallery in New York, NY. Box 1
32.2
Alex Lurkis
January 15, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Alexander Lurkis. Dated 1/15/96. Box 1
32.3
Alex Lurkis
November 28, 1996 Newspaper Article: "Queens Author Unravels Tale of Romance & Intrigue in Indonesia" by Dan Havlik. Discusses Alex Lurkis' new book A Serpent At Her Breast. Features a photograph of Lurkis holding a copy of his book. From Queens Chronicle, Thursday, November 28, 1996. Photocopy. Box 1
32.4
Alex Lurkis
1996 Book Jacket: B/W photocopy of the dust jacket of "A Serpent At Her Breast" by Alexander Lurkis. The book was published in 1996. Box 1
32.5
Alex Lurkis
nd Card: To David King from Alex Lurkis thanking him for his donation to advance the Jewish religion and his sympathy at the time of the Lurkis' wife, Carin's death. Handwritten with printed greeting on the front. nd. Box 1
32.6
Alex Lurkis
April 30, 1995 Death Notice: To the LIBC from Max Kleinman, announcing the death of Carin Lurkis on March 24, 1995. A memorial service to be held at the Maspeth Jewish Center in Queens, NY on Sunday, May 7, 1995. Card is hand-dated "4/30/95." Typed on a small card. Addressed to David King. Box 1
32.7
Alex Lurkis
nd Flyer: New book A Serpent At Her Breast by Alexander Lurkis is now on sale. Includes an order form to be mailed to Commonwealth Publications Inc. in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. nd. Box 1
32.8
Alex Lurkis
February 11, 1996 Flyer: LIBC meeting held on Sunday, February 11, 1996 at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Alexander Lurkis will talk about A Capsule from Hell, a section of Yiddish Writing in the Warsaw Ghetto. Talk sponsored by The Yidish Book Club. Box 1
       
Folder 33.
Bonnie McClanahan
  Contains: Memo; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
33.1
Bonnie McClanahan
August 8, 1977 Memo: To the LIBC members about preparations for the upcoming Book Collectors Exhibit at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. From Bonnie Lee McClanahan. Dated August 8, 1977. Handwritten note from Bonnie: "You were easy to find in the telephoone book so I sent this on before I received the list. B." Box 1
33.2
Bonnie McClanahan
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Bonnie McClanahan. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
       
Folder 34.
Anne Markiewicz
  Contains: Notecard; newspaper article. Box 1
34.1
Anne Markiewicz
February 3, 1973 Notecard: Handwritten to Paulette [Green] from Anne Markiewicz inviting her to the grand opening of Markiewicz's bookshop, The Andonia, in Massapequa, NY. Grand opening to be held "Saturday, Feb 3, 1973." Notecard is personalized "Anne and her antics." Box 1
34.2
Anne Markiewicz
February 28, 1973 Newspaper Article: "A Shop Full of Kingdoms and Virtues" by John Pascal. Discusses Anne Markiewicz and her bookshop, The Andonia. From Newsday, Wednesday, February 28, 1973. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 35.
Frederick Marks
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC acceptance letter. Box 1
35.1
Frederick Marks
February 14, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Frederick G. Marks. Dated 14 Feb, 1982. Attached is a copy of Mark's acceptance letter dated "Monday March 15th, 1982." Box 1
       
Folder 36.
Stan Marx
  Contains: Event flyers; publication; newspaper articles; want list; newspaper clippings; brochure; newspaper mention; book catalog. Box 1
36.1
Stan Marx
June 16, 1979 Event Flyer: Opening of Bookmarx Booksellers, owned by Stan and Evan Marx. Store located in Hempstead, NY. Opening held on Saturday, June 16, 1979. Box 1
36.2
Stan Marx
March 4, 1974 Publication: AB Bookman's Weekly. Dated March 4, 1974. Box 1
36.3
Stan Marx
February 1, 1968 Photocopied Newspaper Article: "Book Buffs Exhibit Collections." Discusses LIBC Rare and Unusual Books Exhibit at Hofstra University during February 1968. From The Roslyn News, Thursday, Feb 1, 1968. Features photograph of participants in exhibit. Box 1
36.4
Stan Marx
1990 Event Flyer: "Book Collector's Seminar." Seminar given everyday by Stan Marx. Seminars are held in The Bryant Library children's room in Roslyn, NY. Flyer dated 1990. Box 1
36.5
Stan Marx
nd Want List: Belonging to Stanley Marx. Lists works to be obtained relating to Lewis Carroll. Typed. Box 1
36.6
Stan Marx
nd Newspaper Clipping: "Marx Explores Book Collecting." Source unknown. Discusses Stan Marx's upcoming seminar series "Book Collecting for Joy and Profit" at the Bryant Library in Roslyn, NY starting in November. LIBC is mentioned. nd. Original clipping. Box 1
36.7
Stan Marx
March 31, 1974 Photocopied Newspaper Article: "The Wonderland of Lewis Carroll" by Joan Cook. Discusses the Lewis Carroll Collection to be displayed at the Hewlett-Woodmere Library in Roslyn, NY. The collection is owned by the Lewis Carroll Society, of which Stan Marx is President. From The New York Times, Sunday, March 31, 1974. Box 1
36.8
Stan Marx
August 23, 1973 Newspaper Clipping: "Long Island Book Collectors." Discusses the LIBC's meeting at the Bryant Library in Roslyn, NY to watch a panel presentation planned by Stan Marx. From The Roslyn News, Thursday, August 23, 1973. Features a B/W photograph of Stan Marx and 4 LIBC members at the presentation. Original clipping. Box 1
36.9
Stan Marx
September 29, 1983 Brochure: "Book Collector's Seminar." A seminar led by Stan Marx at the Bryant Library in Roslyn, NY every other Thursday. Series begins September 29, 1983. Box 1
36.10
Stan Marx
February, 1984 Photocopied Newspaper Article: "Memories of Lewis Carroll Alive and Well in Roslyn" by Joel Samberg. Discusses Stan Marx's collection of Lewis Carroll memorabilia. Features a photograph of Marx and his "Alice" doll. From Long Island Heritage, February, 1984. Article spread across two sheets of paper. Some of text is cut off. Box 1
36.11
Stan Marx
November 15, 1979 Newspaper Mention: "Rare Books On View At Bryant This Month." Discusses rare book exhibition at Bryant Library in Roslyn, NY during November 1979. Exhibition features collections from the participants of the library's Book Collector's Seminar led by Stan Marx. From The Roslyn News, Vol. 102, no. 31, Thursday November 15, 1979. Box 1
36.12
Stan Marx
nd Book Catalog: "Books For Collectors." Catalog no. 2. Created by Stan Marx in Roslyn, NY. nd. Box 1
       
Folder 37.
Ellsworth Mason
  Contains: LIBC membership cards; event program; journal section; newspaper article; publication. Box 1
37.1
Ellsworth Mason
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Elsworth Mason. Dated 1972. Box 1
37.2
Ellsworth Mason
1972 LIBC Membership Card: John Criscione. Dated 1972. Box 1
37.3
Ellsworth Mason
May 19, 1973 Event Program: "Hofstra University Library Celebrates The Acquisition of Its Half Millionth Book." Sponsored by The Hofstra Library Associates in Hempstead, NY. Held May 19, 1973 at the Special Collections Gallery of the Hofstra Library. Box 1
37.4
Ellsworth Mason
May, 1965 Journal Section: "The Beinecke Siamese Twins: An Objective Review of Yale's New Rare Book Library Building" by Ellsworth Mason. From College & Research Libraries, May, 1965. Original copy. Reprinted from College & Research Libraries, vol. 26, no. 3. Box 1
37.5
Ellsworth Mason
January 28, 1968 Newspaper Article: "Fieldston School to Begin Library Construction in Spring." Discusses the construction of a new library at the Fieldston School in Riverdale, NY. The library will be called Tate Library in memorial of the school's former principal. Features a B/W design of the upcoming library. From The New York Times, January 28, 1968. Original copy. Box 1
37.6
Ellsworth Mason
May 15, 1971 Publication: Library Journal. May 15, 1971. Cover features a quote from Ellsworth Mason. Addressed to Sarah Gross. Box 1

Box 1: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Member Folders: 38-55

Item Date Description Location
Folder 38.
Gerard Meyer
  Contains: List; essay. Box 1
38.1
Gerard Meyer
nd List: Belonging to Gerard P. Meyer. List of authors and books. Typed. 2 copies. Box 1
38.2
Gerard Meyer
nd Photocopied Essay: "Growing Up In A House Of Books" by Eugene L. Meyer. Meyer talks about growing up with book collector, Gerard P. Meyer. Source unknown. nd. Box 1
       
Folder 39.
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
  Contains: Photographs; LIBC membership applications, LIBC acceptance letter; marriage announcement; LIBC bibliobiography; invitation; flyers. Box 1
39.1
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
nd Photograph: Color photograph of Carol Meyerson and another woman in a classroom. nd. Box 1
39.2
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
nd Photograph: Color photograph of Carol Meyerson in a classroom. nd. Box 1
39.3
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
March 24, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Carol Landau. Dated March 24, 1982. Attached is Landau's acceptance letter dated "Monday October 11th, 1982." Box 1
39.4
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
April 2, 1989 Marriage Announcement: Marriage of Carol Landau and Marvin Meyerson on April 2, 1989 in Long Beach, NY. Enclosed in an envelope addressed to Mr and Mrs James Jurist. Box 1
39.5
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
February 11, 1979 LIBC Membership Application: Marvin Meyerson. Dated 2/11/79. Box 1
39.6
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
February 13, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Carol Meyerson. Dated February 13, 1996. Box 1
39.7
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
November 20, 1994 Invitation: LIBC Annual Luncheon at the home of Carol and Marvin Meyerson in Long Beach, NY. Guest speaker will be Mr. Marvin Mondlin, Senior Executive Vice-President of the Strand Bookstore. Luncheon held Sunday, November 20, 1994. Front of invitation features a black and whie photograph of Mondlin. Enclosed is directions to the Meyerson home. Box 1
39.8
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
June 11, 1995 Flyer: LIBC meeting in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the end of World War II. Meeting held Sunday, June 11, 1995 at the Adelphi Library in Garden City, NY. Box 1
39.9
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
September 10, 1995 Flyer: LIBC meeting hosted by Carol Meyerson. She will discuss "John Hersey: The Man and His Work." Meeting held Sunday, September 10, 1995 at the Adelphi University Library in Garden City, NY. Box 1
39.10
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
October 8, 1995 Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, October 8, 1995 in the Goodyear Room of the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. The topic is "A Visit With Jack Newfield." Newfield wrote book, "Only in America: The Life and Crimes of Don King." Box 1
39.11
Carol and Marvin Meyerson
nd Flyer: LIBC annual luncheon at the home of Carol and Marvin Meyerson In Long Beach, NY. Book dealer, librarian, and student of renaissance literature Roger Friedman will speak about "Tarot Cards and Circus Parades; What Popular Culture Owes to Early Printed Books." nd. Box 1
       
Folder 40.
Andrew Myers
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
40.1
Andrew Myers
February 8, 1976 LIBC Membership Application: Andrew B. Myers, Jr. Dated 2-8-76. Box 1
       
Folder 41.
George Minkoff
  Contains: Subscription announcement; rare book catalogs; note; soliciting letter; catalog. Box 1
41.1
George Minkoff
February 3, 1968 Subscription Announcement: First edition rare book catalog available for subscription by George Minkoff. From SR, February 3, 1968. Original copy. Box 1
41.2
George Minkoff
nd Rare Book Catalog: "Rare Books and First Editions." Catalog 6. Catalog distributed by George Robert Minkoff-Rare Books of Great Neck, NY. nd. Box 1
41.3
George Minkoff
nd Rare Book Catalog: "Rare Books and First Editions." Catalog 9. Catalog distributed by George Robert Minkoff-Rare Books of Great Neck, NY. nd. Box 1
41.4
George Minkoff
nd Rare Book Catalog: "Modern First-Editions." Catalog 67-2. Catalog distributed by George Robert Minkoff-Rare Books of Great Neck, NY. nd. Cover inscribed "To Paulette Green, thank you for all your help, respectfully, George R. Minkoff." Box 1
41.5
George Minkoff
nd Note: To the LIBC from Charles Garrick Minkoff thanking them for the illustrated edition of Collodi's Pinocchio. Handwritten on personalized stationery paper. Box 1
41.6
George Minkoff
June, 1968 Soliciting Letter: To "Collector" from George Robert Minkoff - Rare Books/First Editions asking him/her to subscribe to the company's catalog. Dated June 1968. Typed on personalized letterhead. Box 1
41.7
George Minkoff
nd Catalog: Catalog of rare books for sale from George Robert Minkoff - Rare Books in Great Neck, NY. Catalog # 7. nd. Catolog incomplete. Box 1
       
Folder 42.
Sally Packard
  Contains: Newspaper article; newspaper obituary. Box 1
42.1
Sally Packard
August 19, 1992 Newspaper Article: "[Sally] Packard Heads For New Hampshire To Volunteer Anew" by Dorine Ellel. Features a B/W photograph of Packard receiving a plaque of appreciation from the Three Village Historical Society. From The Three Village Herald, 8/19/1992. Original copy. Box 1
42.2
Sally Packard
September 10, 1993 Photocopied Newspaper Obituary: Agnes (Sally) Packard. Died September 8, 1993. By Collin Nash. From Newsday, Friday, Sept. 10, 1993. Box 1
       
Folder 43.
Fan Parker
  Contains: Brochure; LIBC bibliobiography; flyer. Box 1
43.1
Fan Parker
1994 Brochure: "Lewis Carroll in Russia: Translations of Alice in Wonderland, 1879-1989." A study conducted by Fan Parker. Parker studied Russian translations of Alice in Wonderland and wrote a book on her findings. Brochure created by Michael Juliar. Dated 1994. Box 1
43.2
Fan Parker
1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Fan Parker. Dated 1996. Box 1
43.3
Fan Parker
September 18, 19? Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, September 18 at Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Year of meeting unknown. Fan Parker will discuss "Published Works of Vladimir Nabokov in Russia Today." Box 1
       
Folder 44.
Jane Perr
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC acceptance letter. Box 1
44.1
Jane Perr
March 8, 1980 LIBC Membership Application: Jane Perr. Dated March 8 1980. Attached is Perr's LIBC acceptance letter dated "September 24th, 1981." Box 1
       
Folder 45.
Paul Phillips
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
45.1
Paul Phillips
March 7, 1987 LIBC Membership Application: Paul Phillips. Dated 3/7/87. Box 1
       
Folder 46.
Stuart Prall
  Contains: Bulletin. Box 1
46.1
Stuart Prall
March, 1973 Bulletin: The Overleaf. Volume 7, no. 5, March - 1973. The bulletin of the Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library. Box 1
       
Folder 47.
Blossom Resnik
  Contains: Photograph; newspaper article; newspaper death announcement; LIBC bibliobiography; LIBC membership application. Box 1
47.1
Blossom Resnik
May, 1977 Photograph: Color photograph of Blossom Resnik at a "meeting at Adelphi." Dated May 1977. Box 1
47.2
Blossom Resnik
February 1, 1968 Newspaper Article: "Book Buffs Exhibit Collections." Discusses the LIBC Rare and Unusual Books Exhibit at Hofstra University during February 1968. From The Roslyn News, vol. 80 no. 50, Thursday, Feb 1, 1968. Features B/W photograph of Blossom Resnik, her husband, and other participants in exhibit. Original copy. Box 1
47.3
Blossom Resnik
February 3, 1988 Newspaper Death Announcement: Blossom Resnik. From The New York Times, Wednesday, February 3, 1988. Original copy. Box 1
47.4
Blossom Resnik
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Blossom Resnik. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
47.5
Blossom Resnik
April 30, 1976 LIBC Membership Application: Blossom Resnik. Dated April 30, 1976. Box 1
       
Folder 48.
Vera and Ludwig Ries
  Contains: Notecard; newspaper page; series of thank you notes; letters; section of publication; publication; newspaper death announcement; newspaper announcement; newspaper obituary; LIBC bibliobiography; newspaper article; cards; audio tape. Box 1
48.1
Vera and Ludwig Ries
November, 1968 Notecard: To "Mr. Abromson" from Vera Ries thanking him for his letter after Ludwig Ries' death. Dated "November 1968." Handwritten on personalized notcard. Enclosed in an envelope. Box 1
48.2
Vera and Ludwig Ries
September 8, 1972 Newspaper Page: From Kufbau, Friday, September 8, 1972. Section of newspaper called "Kulturzentrum New York." Some parts are in German?, some in English. Original copy. Box 1
48.3
Vera and Ludwig Ries
December 1970 - October, 1961 Photocopied Thank You Notes: 8 Notes are from LIBC members to Ludwig and Vera Ries thanking them for hosting meetings in their home. The notes are dated 12-13-70, 5-3-68, 5-4-68, 5-6-68, 5-11-68, 10-17-61, 10-21-61, and 10-28-61. Notes are on 5 sheets of paper. Box 1
48.4
Vera and Ludwig Ries
April 9, 1968 Letter: To [Paulette] Greene from Ludwig Ries thanking her and her husband for having Ries and his wife at her home. Ries had enclosed two samplecards from French and Italian paperprints, but they are not here. Letter dated " April 9 1968." Handwritten on personalized stationery. Box 1
48.5
Vera and Ludwig Ries
1979 Section of Publication: Section titled "Individual Collections." Features essay by Margaret N. Coughlan. From Library Trends, Spring 1979. Pages stapled together. A bookmark labeled "Habitat for Humanity International" marks page where Ludwig Ries is mentioned. Original copy. Box 1
48.6
Vera and Ludwig Ries
January, 1967 Publication: Top of the News. Vol. 23, no. 2, January 1967. Cover is noted "Ludwig Ries - Special Collection Number One." Features Ludwig Ries' essay "Treasure Unearthed," which is marked with a bookmark labeled "Habitat for Humanity International." Essay is signed "Ludwig Ries." Box 1
48.7
Vera and Ludwig Ries
October 22, 1968 Newspaper Death Announcement: Ludwig Ries. Died October 22, 1968. From The New York Times, Oct 22, 1968. Original copy. Box 1
48.8
Vera and Ludwig Ries
nd Blank Notecard: Top cover features a color illustration of three children playing instruments. Labeled "Prentgeschenk Voor Kleine Kinderen, Amsterdam 1844, Ludwig Ries Collection of Early Children's Books." Enclosed in a blank envelope. Box 1
48.9
Vera and Ludwig Ries
April 21 - 27, 1968 Newspaper Announcement: From AB Bookman's Weekly. Announcment that The Printing Paper Division of the American Paper Institute is giving the Library of Congress money to publish a book about paper-making in association with a major exibit during National Library Week April 21-27, 1968. Original copy. Box 1
48.10
Vera and Ludwig Ries
June 10, 1995 Newspaper Obituary: Vera A. Ries. Died June 5, 1995. From The New York Times, Saturday, June 10, 1995. 1 original copy and 1 photocopy. Box 1
48.11
Vera and Ludwig Ries
January 28 19? Card: To "Mr. [Stan] Marx" from Vera Ries thanking him for sending her a numbered and autographed copy of a journal. Dated "January 28." Handwritten. Box 1
48.12
Vera and Ludwig Ries
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Vera Ries. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
48.13
Vera and Ludwig Ries
October 22, 1972 Newspaper Article: "Whimsy' of Youth Collected" by Susan Margolies. Discusses Vera Ries and her children's book collection. Features two B/W photographs of items in Ries' collection. From The New York Times, Sunday, October 22, 1972. 2 original copies. Box 1
48.14
Vera and Ludwig Ries
September 3, 1995 Card: To Janet Jurist from Jane [Ries] thanking Jurist for her donation to the NY Public Libray in her mother, Vera Ries', memory. Dated "Sept 3, 1995." Handwritten. Cover features a color illustration from "The Little Enquire" published by Harvey and Darton in 1830. Paired with an envelope. Box 1
48.15
Vera and Ludwig Ries
September 1, 1995 Card: To Janet Jurist from Jane (Ries) Socdow thanking Jurist for her note of sympathy after the death of her mother, Vera Ries. Dated "Sept 1, 1995." Handwritten. Cover features a photograph of a color illustration from a children's book. Paired with an envelope. Box 1
48.16
Vera and Ludwig Ries
July 4, 1995 Audio Tape: "Funeral Service for Vera Ries." June 8, 1995. Paired with a note to Janet [Jurist] from Jane [Ries] - "Thanks agan for your call this morning." Note dated "7/4/95." Box 1
48.17
Vera and Ludwig Ries
September 12, 1995 Letter: To LIBC members from Carol Meyerson, President. Meyerson asks members to each write a letter to Vera Ries' daughter, Jane, in honor of Vera's death. The letters will be combined in a memorial guest book to be presented to Jane and the rest of the family at the December 10th memorial and holiday meeting. Letter dated "September 12, 1995." Typed on LIBC letterhead. Box 1
       
Folder 49.
Milton Riessman
  Contains: Newspaper death announcement. Box 1
49.1
Milton Riessman
December 23, 1990 Newspaper Death Announcement: Milton Riessman. Died December 21, 1990. From The New York Times, Sunday, December 23, 1990. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 50.
Bill Riley
  Contains: Photographs; publication photographs; publication; card; LIBC bibliobiography. Box 1
50.1
Bill Riley
nd Photographs: 7 color photographs labeled "meeting at the Rileys." nd. Meeting held in Southport. Box 1
50.2
Bill Riley
April 29, 1969 Publication Photographs: Two B/W photographs of William (Bill) Riley at a convention for the Mayor. From Investment Dealers' Digest, April 29, 1969. Box 1
50.3
Bill Riley
December 13, 1970 Publication: The Serif. Vol. 7, no. 3, September, 1970. Kent State University, Kent, Ohio. Article "High Buildings: Some Excerpts from the Journals of Logan Pearsall Smith in the Kent Collection, with a Descriptive Comment" by William J. Riley (Bill) on pg. 19. Article inscribed "For a dear lady Lucille Fillin - William Riley." Inscription dated "12/13/70." Box 1
50.4
Bill Riley
September 14, 19? Card: To "Norman" from "Anne" thanking him for welcoming her to the LIBC. Dated "September 14th." Handwritten. Cover features a B/W illustration of a house on "Pine Neck Road in Southhold, New York." Box 1
50.5
Bill Riley
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: William Riley. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Box 1
       
Folder 51.
Phyllis and Murray Robin
  Contains: LIBC membership applications; LIBC acceptance letter; LIBC bibliobiographies. Box 1
51.1
Phyllis and Murray Robin
February 8, 1981 LIBC Membership Application: Murray Robin. Dated 2/8/81. Box 1
51.2
Phyllis and Murray Robin
September 12, 1981 LIBC Membership Application: Murray Robin. Dated 9/12/81. Attached is Robin's LIBC acceptance letter dated "September 24, 1981." Box 1
51.3
Phyllis and Murray Robin
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Murray Robin. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
51.4
Phyllis and Murray Robin
January 16, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Murray Robin. Dated 1-16-96. Box 1
       
Folder 52.
Alida Roochvarg
  Contains: Photographs; flyers; reference guide; holiday pamphlet; exhibition catalog; advertisements; book catalog; brochure; handwritten note; post card; newspaper article; publication; letter; listl; newspaper death announcement. Box 1
52.1
Alida Roochvarg
1977 Photograph: Color photograph of Alida Roochvarg "presiding" at a meeting. Dated 1977. Box 1
52.2
Alida Roochvarg
nd Flyer: "Announcing The Catalogue Sales of The Books About Books Library of Alida Roochvarg." Collectors can purchase the catalogue set for Roochvarg's library. nd. Box 1
52.3
Alida Roochvarg
1982/1983 Reference Guide: "Collectrix: Books on Antiques & Collectibles." Winter 1982-1983. Reference guide for what books are on sale, what books are wanted, and what books will be for sale in the future. Features essay by Janet Jurist titled "Periodically Speaking." Box 1
52.4
Alida Roochvarg
December, 1977 Holiday Pamphlet Mock-up: "Season's Greetings To All Long Island Book Collectors." Attached is a paper on which is written "From Paulette Greene and Alida Roochvarg December, 1977." Box 1
52.5
Alida Roochvarg
April, 1964 Exhibition Catalog: "Paperbacks at the Fair." Lists all books for sale from "the Exhibit at the Hall of Education New York World's Fair 1964-65. " Features introduction by Alida Roochvarg dated April 1964. Exhibit was held in Flushing, NY. Box 1
52.6
Alida Roochvarg
December, 1975 Advertisement: "Paperback Talk." Presented by The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY. Advertises books and calendars for sale at the store during the holiday season. Advertisement dated December 1975. Box 1
52.7
Alida Roochvarg
1977 Book Catalog: Paperback Book Christmas Catalog. Presented by The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead,NY. Lists books for sale at the store during the holiday season. Box 1
52.8
Alida Roochvarg
nd Advertisement: "Paperback Talk." Presented by Alida Roochvarg's store, The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY. Advertises books and for sale at the store during the holiday season. Box 1
52.9
Alida Roochvarg
1977 Brochure: "Sierra Club Calendars 1977." Shows Sierra Club calendars of 1977 for sale at the Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY. Box 1
52.10
Alida Roochvarg
nd Handwritten Note: "Re: Book Collectors Club. To Alida [Roochvarg] Flowers Smell Flowers Look, Ah But a Book Lasts, Get Well." nd. Box 1
52.11
Alida Roochvarg
February 23, 1993 Postcard: To the LIBC from Max Kleinman informing members that Alida Roochvarg is ill in the hospital and a card from the club would be a nice gesture. Card stamped 23 Feb 1993. Typed. Hand addressed to Janet Jurist. Box 1
52.12
Alida Roochvarg
December 12, 1976 Newspaper Article: "Bookshops With a Heart" by Shawn G. Kennedy. Mentions Alida Roochvarg, owner of The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY. From The New York Times, Sunday, December 12, 1976. Box 1
52.13
Alida Roochvarg
nd Flyer: "Joys of Book Collecting: Three Lectures for the Rockville Centre Public Library." One lecture is by Alida Roochvarg, "Byways in Book Collecting. Collecting the Book for its Physical Properties Rather Than Its Content." Features a Christopher Morley bookplate graphic in the bottom left corner. Box 1
52.14
Alida Roochvarg
nd Color Photograph: Alida Roochvarg at a "Dinner at Janet Jurists." nd. Box 1
52.15
Alida Roochvarg
April 5, 1965 Newspaper Article: "Profile: Alida Roochvarg" by Virginia Pasley. Dated Monday, April 5, 1965. Features B/W photograph of Alida Roochvarg. Original copy. Box 1
52.16
Alida Roochvarg
March 10, 1974 Publication: LI: Newsday's Magazine for Long Island. March 10, 1974. Features Alida Roochvarg's The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY. Box 1
52.17
Alida Roochvarg
February 2, 1970 Letter: To Alida [Roochvarg] from "Sarah C. G" (Sarah Chokla Gross) presenting Roochvarg with reading material. The reading material not included. Dated "February 2, 1970." Handwritten on a notecard with a map on the top labeled "Speed, anno 1627." Box 1
52.18
Alida Roochvarg
nd Alida Roochvarg's List: Lists books on different subjects. nd. Typed. 2 copies. Box 1
52.19
Alida Roochvarg
November 1, 1973 Newspaper Article: "It's just the ticket for LI arts patrons" by Howard Schneider. Discusses Alida Roochvarg's implemenation of a "bulletin-board box office" at her store, The Paperback Bookseller in Hempstead, NY, to sell tickets for Long Island events. From Newsday, Thursday, November 1, 1973. Features a B/W photograph of Roochvarg's bulletin board. Original copy. Box 1
52.20
Alida Roochvarg
February 28, 1993 Newspaper Death Announcement: Alida Roochvarg. Died Friday, February 26, 1993. From The New York Times, Sunday, February 28, 1993. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 53.
Sol Roochvarg
  Contains: Publication page; newspaper letter; newspaper death announcment; newspaper article; list; flyer. Box 1
53.1
Sol Roochvarg
December 23 - 30, 1968 Publication Page: Page from AB Bookman's Weekly. Features "Mail Box" section with letter titled "Stolen Books" to Sol Roochvarg and letter to "Malkins" from Sol Roochvarg. Publication dated December23-30, 1968. Original page. Box 1
53.2
Sol Roochvarg
February 7, 1968 Newspaper Letter: Titled "Dear Friends" by "Sheila." Mentions "Doc Roochvarg" and his collections. Features a B/W photograph of Alida Roochvarg? From The Beacon, February 7, 1968. Original copy. Box 1
53.3
Sol Roochvarg
April 16, 1974 Newspaper Death Announcment: Sol Roochvarg. From The New York Times, Tuesday, April 16, 1974. Original clipping. Paired with photocopy of a photograph of Solomon A Roochvarg 1897-1974. Box 1
53.4
Sol Roochvarg
September 15, 1967 Newspaper Article: "Nobel Winner Named." Discusses prize-winning faculty members at SUNY Stonybrook. From Newsday, Sept. 15, 1967. Original copy. Box 1
53.5
Sol Roochvarg
nd Solomon Roochvarg's List: Lists 4 categories: children's books, medical quakery, alphabet books, and light verse. nd. Typed. 2 copies. Box 1
53.6
Sol Roochvarg
nd Photocopied Flyer: "Catalog 70. The Long Island Book Collectors announce with pride their new publication by Solomon A. Roochvarg, 'The Birthday Celebrant; or, of Drugs & Books; or, Drugged by Books.'" 70th edition for Sol Roochvarg's 70th birthday. Box 1
       
Folder 54.
Marjorie Rosenthal
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiography; flyers; brochure. Box 1
54.1
Marjorie Rosenthal
February 8, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Marjorie Rosenthal. Dated Feb. 8, 1996. Box 1
54.2
Marjorie Rosenthal
April 2, 1995 Flyer: LIBC annual field trip to the rare book room of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America in Manhattan. Trip will take place Sunday, April 2, 1995. Trip organized by Marjorie Rosenthal and her committee. Return coupon to be mailed to Rosenthal. Box 1
54.3
Marjorie Rosenthal
May 18, 1997 Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, May 18, 1997 at the Plainview-Old Bethpage Public Library in Plainview,NY. Members are to bring their acquisitions from the April book fairs. Members are to RSVP to Marjorie Rosenthal, President. Box 1
54.4
Marjorie Rosenthal
December 8, 1996 Flyer: LIBC annual luncheon held Sunday, December 8, 1996 at Spencer's in the Woodlands Mansion at the Oyster Bay Golf Course in Woodbury, NY. Return coupon to be sent to Marjorie Rosenthal. Attached is an article about the Mansion titled "History-Estate-Mansion-Family" by Arlene Travis-Carole Aronson. Enclosed between them are directions to Spencer's. Box 1
54.5
Marjorie Rosenthal
October 13, 1996 Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, October 13, 1996 in the Goodyear Room in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Members are to bring items they aquired for their collections over the summer. Meeting hosted by Marjorie and Ronald Rosenthal. Box 1
54.6
Marjorie Rosenthal
October 9, 1996 Flyer: LIBC trip to The Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point on Wednesday, October 9, 1996. Members must RSVP to Marjorie or Ronald Rosenthal. Flyer includes schedule for the day. Paired with flyer is a brochure titled "United States Merchant Marine Academy Campus Guide." Box 1
54.7
Marjorie Rosenthal
October 9, 1996 Brochure: The United States Merchant Marine Academy Campus Guide. The Academy is located in Kings Point, NY. Brochure paired with the flyer for the LIBC annual field trip to the Academy on October 9, 1996. Box 1
54.8
Marjorie Rosenthal
May 5, 1996 Flyer: LIBC meeting held Sunday, May 5, 1996 in the Goodyear Room in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Members are to bring books that turned them into collectors. Meeting hosted by Marjorie and Ronald Rosenthal. Box 1
       
Folder 55.
Herbert Runsdorf
  Contains: Brochure; letter. Box 1
55.1
Herbert Runsdorf
May 18, 1975 Brochure: "The Scots and Their History." Created by The Friends of the Adelphi University Library in Garden City, NY. The organization will sponsor a "talk" by Armstrong M. Starkey on The Scots and Their History in honor of The Edward Langguth Memorial Collection on Scottish History. The following reception is dedicated to Mr. and Mrs. Runsdorf. Jesse Andrew P. Stoff will play Scottish and Irish music on bagpipes. Event will be held Sunday, May 18, 1975 at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Brochure addressed to Paulette Greene. Cover print is dedicated to Andrew Myllar. Box 1
55.1
Herbert Runsdorf
May 12, 1981 Letter: To Harry Cuttler from Herbert Runsdorf. Runsdorf states that he is resigning from the LIBC. Dated "May 12, 1981." Typed on personalized letterhead. Box 1

Box 1: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Member Folders: 56-70

Item Date Description Location
Folder 56.
Hank Salerno
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiographies; flyers. Box 1
56.1
Hank Salerno
June 9, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Henry M. Salerno. Dated 6-9-96. Box 1
56.2
Hank Salerno
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Henry M. Salerno. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
56.3
Hank Salerno
November 10, 1996 Flyer: "Raphael Foyer, The Artist Found in Books." Presentation by Hank Salerno held in the Goodyear Room in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Event held Sunday, November 10, 1996 by the LIBC. Box 1
56.4
Hank Salerno
January 8, 1995 Meeting Notice: LIBC meeting held January 8, 1995 at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Hank Salerno will host a show and tell of books he and other members have received for the holidays. Box 1
       
Folder 57.
Gladys & George Spector
  Contains: Invitation; LIBC membership application. Box 1
57.1
Gladys & George Spector
February 20, 1983 Invitation: From Gladys and George Spector for a Champagne Brunch in celebration of their 25th Wedding Anniversary. Bruch will be held Sunday, Feb. 20, 1983 at the Windows On The World Restaurant in New York City. Cover features a B/W illustration of a man and woman. Box 1
57.2
Gladys & George Spector
May 10, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: Gladys and George Spector. Dated May 10th, 1978. Box 1
       
Folder 58.
Diana Spirt
  Contains: LIBC membership application. Box 1
58.1
Diana Spirt
January 13, 1997 LIBC Membership Application: Diana Spirt. Dated Jan 13th, '97. Box 1
       
Folder 59.
Dianne Stalker
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiography; LIBC membership application. Box 1
59.1
Dianne Stalker
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Dianne Stalker. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
59.2
Dianne Stalker
August 1, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: Dianne Stalker. Dated 8/1/78. Box 1
       
Folder 60.
Frances Steloff
  Contains: Publication page; newspaper articles; publications; program card; newspaper obituaries; newspaper death announcment; obituary profile. Box 1
60.1
Frances Steloff
January 16, 1978 Publication Page: From Publishers Weekly, January 16, 1978. Features article "Gotham's Grande Dame Turns Ninety" by J.G. Article discusses Frances Steloff's 90th birthday celebration held Dec. 28, 1978 at her store, the Gotham Book Mart in New York City. Her birthday was on Dec. 31. Features three B/W photographs from the party. Original page. Box 1
60.2
Frances Steloff
December 31, 1972 Newspaper Article: "A Heroine of Gotham" by Letty Cottin Pogrebin. Discusses the career of Frances Steloff. Article marks Steloff's 85th birthday on Dec. 31, 1972. From The New York Times, December 31, 1972. Features a photograph of Frances Steloff. 1 original copy and 1 photocopy. Box 1
60.3
Frances Steloff
December 12, 1977 Publication: AB Bookman's Weekly. December 12, 1977. Issue dedicated to Frances Steloff, owner of the Gotham Book Mart in New York City, for her 90th birthday on Dec. 31., 1977. Box 1
60.4
Frances Steloff
April 15, 1989 Program Card: "Frances Steloff 1887-1989." A memorial tribute to Frances Steloff at the New York Public Library. Steloff died April 15, 1989. Inside cover features a quote by George Bernard Shaw. Box 1
60.5
Frances Steloff
May 23, 1989 Newspaper Obituary: "Frances Steloff is Fondly Recalled By Patrons of Gotham Book Mart" by Herbert Mitgang. From The New York York Times, Tuesday, May 23, 1989. Steloff died April 15, 1989 at 101 years old. Original copy. Box 1
60.6
Frances Steloff
April 16, 1989 Newspaper Obituary: "Frances Steloff, 101, Independent Bookseller, Dies" by Herbert Mitgang. From The New York York Times, Sunday, April 16, 1989. Steloff died April 15, 1989 at 101 years old. Features B/W photograph of Steloff. Original copy. Box 1
60.7
Frances Steloff
April 17, 1989 Newspaper Death Announcment: Frances Steloff. Died April 15, 1989. From The New York Times, Monday, April 17, 1989. Original copy. Box 1
60.8
Frances Steloff
April 18, 1989 Newspaper Obituary: "So Hungry for Books". Obituary of Francis Steloff. From The New York York Times, Tuesday, April 18, 1989. Steloff died April 15, 1989 at 101 years old. Original copy. Box 1
60.9
Frances Steloff
January 4, 1988 Publication: AB Bookman's Weekly. January 4, 1988. Issue dedicated to Frances Steloff, owner of the Gotham Book Mart in New York City, for her 100th birthday on Dec. 31., 1987. Addressed to Janet Jurist. Box 1
60.10
Frances Steloff
May 1, 1989 Obituary: "Frances Steloff: Patron of a Literary Era." From AB Bookman's Weekly, May 1, 1989. Features a B/W photograph of Steloff. Steloff died April 15, 1989 at 101 years old. Original copy. Box 1
60.11
Frances Steloff
December 30, 1987 Newspaper Article: "Doyenne of Booksellers Is 100" by Herbert Mitgang. Discusses the career of Frances Steloff in celebration of her 100th birthday on Dec. 31 1987. Features a B/W photograph of Steloff in her bookstore, the Gotham Book Mart in New York City. From The New York Times, Wednesday, December 30, 1987. Original copy. Box 1
60.12
Frances Steloff
Janauary 13, 1988 Newspaper Article: "Grand Dame of the Gotham: At 100, One for the Books" by Jonathan Mandell. Discusses the career of Frances Steloff in celebration of her 100th birthday on Dec. 31 1987. Features a color photograph of Steloff with author Garson Kanin at her 100th birthday party, and B/W photographs of Steloff and her friends and customers. From Newsday, Wednesday, January 13, 1988. Original copy. Box 1
       
Folder 61.
Robert Stenard
  Contains: LIBC membership application; letter. Box 1
61.1
Robert Stenard
June 11, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: Robert K. Stenard. Dated 6/11/78. Box 1
61.2
Robert Stenard
Janaury 5, 1981 Letter: To "Norman" from "Bob Stenard." Stenard states that he is resigning from the LIBC. Dated "Jan 5, 1981." Handwritten on personalized letterhead. Box 1
       
Folder 62.
Myron Sywak
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiography; LIBC membership application; list; meeting notice. Box 1
62.1
Myron Sywak
March 8, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Myron Sywak. Dated 3/8/96. Box 1
62.2
Myron Sywak
November 4, 1995 LIBC Membership Application: Myron Sywak. 11/4/95. Attached is Sywak's list of books on 1960's radical movements. List dated "Oct 9 1995." Box 1
62.3
Myron Sywak
June 9, 1996 Meeting Notice: LIBC meeting held June 9, 1996 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University. Myron Sywak will present "The Student Revolutions of the 60's and 70's." Box 1
       
Folder 63.
Glenys Tarlow
  Contains: LIBC membership application; LIBC acceptance letter, LIBC bibliobiography; publication. Box 1
63.1
Glenys Tarlow
March 15, 1982 LIBC Membership Application: Gleny L. Tarlow. Dated March 15, 1982. Attached is Tarlow's LIBC acceptance letter dated "Monday October 11, 1982." Box 1
63.2
Glenys Tarlow
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Glenys Tarlow. (Joined LIBC ca. 1980's). Box 1
63.3
Glenys Tarlow
1993 Publication: Friends of the Bronxville Public Library. Volume 10, number 1. Fall, 1993. Features article on Glenys Tarlow's lecture about author Kate Douglas Wiggin on Sunday, Sept. 26, 1993. Features photograph of Tarlow. Box 1
       
Folder 64.
Lee Temares
  Contains: Postcard; adoption announcement; LIBC bibliography; essay. Box 1
64.1
Lee Temares
December 5-7, 19? Postcard: "10,000 Used Books For Sale At 50 c Per Book." Sale held at the Temple Beth Sholom Bazaar in Flushing, NY Dec. 5 - 7. Lee Temares is in charge of the sale. Typed. Postcard hand-addressed to Paulette Greene with note: "Thanks for the leads. We finally were sent to Museum Books. We go there with the books next week. LT." Box 1
64.2
Lee Temares
Augusr 24, 1971 Adoption Announcement: Lee and Mike Temares adopted Kari Linn on Aug. 24, 1971. She was born Feb. 17, 1969. Typed. Paired with envelope addressed to the LIBC "c/o Mrs. P. Greene." Box 1
64.3
Lee Temares
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Lee Barnett Temares. (Joined LIBC ca. 1970's). Paired with Temares' essay about why she began collecting books. Box 1
       
Folder 65.
Evert Volkersz
  Contains: Business card; campus map; brochure; library guide; LIBC membership application; publication; flyers. Box 1
65.1
Evert Volkersz
nd Business Card: Evert Volkersz of Book Journeys: Nautical, Travel, Exploration in Stony Brook, NY. On back is written "Tim Carew." Box 1
65.2
Evert Volkersz
nd Campus Map: State University of New York at Stony Brook. On reverse side is a short essay about the university and travel directions by plane, car, and train. nd. Box 1
65.3
Evert Volkersz
nd Brochure: "Stony Brook at a glance ..." Gives information on Stony Brook State University. nd. Box 1
65.4
Evert Volkersz
1979/1980 Library Guide: "University Libraries: State University of New York at Stony Brook." Gives literary materials found at Stony Brook University libraries. Features lists prepared by Evert Volkersz. Box 1
65.5
Evert Volkersz
March 9, 1980 LIBC Membership Application: Evert Volkersz. Dated 9 March 80. Box 1
65.6
Evert Volkersz
1995 Publication: Publishing Research Quarterly. Summer 1995. Volume 11, number 2. Features essay "McBook: The Reader's Digest Condensed Books Franchise" by Evert Volkersz. Box 1
65.7
Evert Volkersz
February 8, 1998 Flyer: "Coming to the Points: Shall I Buy This Book?" LIBC meeting held Sunday, February 8, 1998 in the Goodyear Room in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Meeting hosted by Hank Salerno with Evert Volkersz as Point Person. Box 1
65.8
Evert Volkersz
Janaury 12, 1997 Flyer: "What Should I Do With My Books and Papers?" LIBC meeting hosted by Evert Volkersz. Meeting held Sunday, January 12, 1997 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Box 1
65.9
Evert Volkersz
October 9, 1994 Flyer: "Collecting Direct-Mail Subscription Books." LIBC meeting hosted by Evert Volkersz. Meeting held Sunday, October 9, 1994 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Box 1
       
Folder 66.
John Woram
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiograpy; newsletter; email; editorial summary; book covers; publication;book pages;newspaper article;journal section; certificate; magazine cover; business card; CD cover; flyers. Box 1
66.1
John Woram
February 10, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: John Woram. Dated "Feb 10, 1996." Box 1
66.2
John Woram
May 8, 1996 Photocopied Newsletter: Bethpage Public Library Newsletter. Dated May/June 1996. Features advertisement of John Woram's presentation "An Armchair Traveler's Tour Of The Galapagos Islands." Given Wednesday, May 8, 1996. Box 1
66.3
John Woram
1995 Email: To Janet Jurist from John Woram. Dated 1995. Heading on page: "Memorandum." Email presents Jurist with the "Bib/Bio sheet" of an LIBC member, Woram's "Editorial Summary," and "other sheets." Only the editorial summary is included. Box 1
66.4
John Woram
1989 Photocopied Book Cover: John Woram's Sound Recording Handbook. Book published in 1989. Box 1
66.5
John Woram
1991 Publication: Noticias de Galapagos. No. 50. 1991. Cover has post-it note from John Woram to read his article "Who Killed the Iguanas?" on pg. 12. Box 1
66.6
John Woram
1987 Photocopied Book Covers: 8 photcopies of John Woram's The PC Configuration Handbook in various English and foreign edtions. Copies stapled together. Book first published in English in 1987. Box 1
66.7
John Woram
1993/1994 Photocopied Book Covers: English and Spanish editions of John Woram's Windows Configuration Handbook. Book published in English in 1993 and in Porteguese in 1994. Attached is a copy of pages 1 and 2 of the English edition. Box 1
66.8
John Woram
nd Photocopied Book Cover: Introduction to Professional Recording Techniques by Bruce Bartlett and edited by John Woram. Box 1
66.9
John Woram
1974 Photocopied Book Cover: Microphones: Design and Application by Lou Burroughs and edited by John Woram. Book published in 1974. Box 1
66.10
John Woram
1981 Photocopied Book Cover: The Microphone Handbook by John Eargle and edited by John Woram. Book published in 1981. Box 1
66.11
John Woram
nd Photocopied Book Page: Acknowledgments page of Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon. The author thanks John Woram. On reverse side is a copy of the book cover. Box 1
66.12
John Woram
nd Photocopied Book Page: Page from section "Growth, Tourism, and Conservation" of the book A Traveler's Guide to the Galapagos Islands. The author briefly discusses John Woram's ideas. On reverse side is a copy of the book cover. Box 1
66.13
John Woram
March, 1989 Photocopied Journal Page: The correspondence page of The Geographical Journal. Vol. 155 Part 1. March 1989. Featured is an entry from John Woram. On reverse side is a copy of the journal cover. Box 1
66.14
John Woram
1992 Photocopied Journal Page: Features John Woram's "Notes on the History of Galapagos Cartography," which he presented in Lima, Peru, 1992. On reverse side is the cover of Boletin de la Sociedad Geografica de Lima. Segunda Epoca. Volumen No 105: 1992. Box 1
66.15
John Woram
April 28, 1994 Photocopied Newspaper Article: "The Computer Always Beeps Twice" by Peter H. Lewis. Discusses John Woram's speedy correspondence with the Galapagos over the Internet and the evolution of mail. From The New York Times, Thursday, April 28, 1994. Box 1
66.16
John Woram
nd Photocopied Journal Section: "On the cartography of the Galapagos Islands" by John Woram. From Map Collector. nd. Attached is a copy of a certificate to Woram from the South Nassau Communities Hospital for outstanding photography in the Eighth Annual Photo Contest dated February 24, 1994. Box 1
66.17
John Woram
December, 1995 Photocopied Magazine Cover: Windows Magazine. December 1995. John Woram is the magazine's Senior Contributing Editor. Photocopied on top is John Woram's business card. The real business card is also attached. Box 1
66.18
John Woram
1977 CD Cover: Greatest Hits of 1720. Dated 1977. CD engineered by John Woram. Box 1
66.19
John Woram
June 18 19? Flyer: "Book Beat." Event held at Bethpage Public Library Tuesday, June 18. John Woram, LIBC President and other collectors will give presentations. Box 1
66.20
John Woram
April 13, 19? Flyer: "After Galapagos, Then What? Or Cousin Swift, you will never be a poet." LIBC meeting held Sunday, April 13 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Hosted by John Woram. Box 1
66.21
John Woram
December 11, 1994 Flyer: "Of Books and Buccaneers." LIBC meeting held Sunday, December 11, 1994 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Speaker will be John Woram. Box 1
       
Folder 67.
Lili and Erich Wronker
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiography; event flyer; folder; journals; journal reprint; postcard; newsletter. Box 1
67.1
Lili and Erich Wronker
January, 1996 LIBC Bibliobiography: Lili Wronker. Dated January 1996. Box 1
67.2
Lili and Erich Wronker
December 7, 1996 Event Flyer: "Fifteenth Annual Kolbe/Spink New York Public Auction Sale [of] Important Numismatic Books." Featured in the sale is The Erich Wronker Collection of Early Numismatic Books. Sale to be held Saturday, December 7, 1996. Reverse side features a a brief description of Erich Wornker's journey to collecting and an introduction into the collections at the auction. Enclosed in an envelope addressed to David King from Lili Wronker. Box 1
67.3
Lili and Erich Wronker
1995/1996 Folder: Labeled "LIBC 95/96." Inside is 2 issues of the Society of Scribes Journal and a reprint from American Artist. Box 1
67.4
Lili and Erich Wronker
December, 1995 Journal: The Society of Scribes Journal. Volume 1. Number 5, December 1995. Features article "About Rudolf Koch" by Lili Wronker. First page inscribed "For the Archives of the Long Island Book Collectors from Lili Wronker." Box 1
67.5
Lili and Erich Wronker
1986 Journal: The Society of Scribes Journal. Spring/Summer. Volume 1. Number 2, 1986. Features article "The Graphic Work of Lili Wronker" by Joanne Fink. Artwork of Wronker's is shown. Box 1
67.6
Lili and Erich Wronker
February, 1958 Article Reprint: "The Graphic Art of Lili Cassel [Wronker]" by Norman Kent. Features illustrations by Wronker. Article reprinted from American Artist, February 1958. Box 1
67.7
Lili and Erich Wronker
nd Postcard: To David King from Lili and Erich Wronker, thanking him for his card to Erich, but they can't rejoin the LIBC yet. nd. Handwritten. Box 1
67.8
Lili and Erich Wronker
August 26, 1996 Newsletter: ... News of the Long Island Book Collectors. Dated August 26, 1996. Volume 1, Number 1. Mentions the death of Erich Wronker on July 9. The LIBC will plan a memorial. Box 1
       
Folder 68.
Dave Galerstein
  Contains: LIBC bibliobiographies; LIBC membership application.  
68.1
Dave Galerstein
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Rosalind Galerstein. (Joined LIBC in 1979).  
68.2
Dave Galerstein
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: David Galerstein. (Joined LIBC in 1978).  
68.3
Dave Galerstein
November 12, 1978 LIBC Membership Application: David and Rosalind Galerstein. Dated 11/12/78.  
       
Folder 69.
Rudolph Hertz
  Contains: Color photograph; LIBC bibliobiography.  
69.1
Rudolph Hertz
May, 1977 Color Photograph: Rudy Hertz with Herman Abromson and Fred Gardner. Dated May, 1977.  
69.2
Rudolph Hertz
nd LIBC Bibliobiography: Rudolph Hertz. (Joined LIBC in 1970).  
       
Folder 70.
Miscellaneous Documents
  Contains: LIBC membership cards; LIBC notices; letters; LIBC membership applications; restaurant business card. Box 1
70.1
Miscellaneous Documents
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Robert Shapiro. Dated 1972. Box 1
70.2
Miscellaneous Documents
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Lawrence Smith. Dated 1972. Box 1
70.3
Miscellaneous Documents
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Madeline Powell. Dated 1972. Box 1
70.4
Miscellaneous Documents
1972 LIBC Membership Card: Fan Parker. Dated 1972. Box 1
70.5
Miscellaneous Documents
January - December, 1990 LIBC Notice: "1990 Annual Dues Notice Reminder (January - December 31)" Sent to Lynn Veatch. Includes a handwritten note from Veatch to King saying that "we" will not participate in the LIBC for that year. Box 1
70.6
Miscellaneous Documents
March 25, 1992 Letter: To Frank Farinella from Norman O. Jung of the LIBC. Dated "March 25, 1992." The LIBC decliines Farinella's membership application. Typed. Box 1
70.7
Miscellaneous Documents
March 19, 1995 LIBC Membership Application: Ronald P. Brindle. Dated March 19, 1995. Box 1
70.8
Miscellaneous Documents
September 10, 1995 LIBC Membership Application: Ernest Richard Pitman. Dated 9-10-95. Box 1
70.9
Miscellaneous Documents
September 10, 1995 LIBC Membership Application: Carol Louise Pitman. Dated 9/10/95. Box 1
70.10
Miscellaneous Documents
June 8, 1997 LIBC Membership Application: R.M. Jacobs. Dated 6/8/97. Box 1
70.11
Miscellaneous Documents
November 9, 1997 LIBC Membership Application: Kay Ramsteck. Dated Nov. 9, 1997. Box 1
70.12
Miscellaneous Documents
January 15, 1997 LIBC Membership Application: Joe Perlman. Dated 1/15/97. Box 1
70.13
Miscellaneous Documents
January 10, 1992 LIBC Membership Application: Yvette Brown. Dated Jan. 10, 1992. Box 1
70.14
Miscellaneous Documents
May 17, 1992 LIBC Membership Application: Barbara Bonids. Dated 5-17-92. Box 1
70.15
Miscellaneous Documents
February 19, 1995 Letter: To "Fellow Book Collector" from Annemarie Riess, stating that she will be the speaker at the LIBC meeting held on Sunday, February 19, 1995 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Her main theme will be exiled works. Member may bring related books to the meeting. nd. Typed on A. & A. Riess-Books letterhead. Box 1
70.16
Miscellaneous Documents
February 19, 1995 LIBC Notice: Meeting to be held on Sunday, February 19, 1995. Box 1
70.17
Miscellaneous Documents
April 13, 19? LIBC Notice: Meeting to be held Sunday, April 13 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Topics include The Origin of Man, Darwin, Robinson Crusoe, Lord Byron, and Jonathan Swift. Box 1
70.18
Miscellaneous Documents
April 21, 1996 LIBC Notice: "How to Start ... How to build a book collection." Meeting held Sunday, April 21, 1996 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Box 1
70.19
Miscellaneous Documents
April 17, 1994 Meeting Notice: LIBC meeting held Sunday, April 17, 1994 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. The topic will be "Collecting Al Capp," hosted by Michel Marrell. Members may where a polka dot tie if they wish. Box 1
70.20
Miscellaneous Documents
December 12, 1993 Meeting Notice: "Hearing to absolve one Robin Hood & his Men." Hosted by Frederick Lorenzen, "The New Sheriff of Nottingham." Hearing will take place at the LIBC meeting on Sunday, December 12, 1993 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Box 1
70.21
Miscellaneous Documents
nd Restaurant Business Card: Arbor Inn in Rockville Centre, NY. Box 1
70.22
Miscellaneous Documents
October 10, 1993 Meeting Notice: "Show and Tell." LIBC meeting held Sunday, October 10, 1993 in the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Box 1
70.23
Miscellaneous Documents
March 12, 2002 Meeting Notice: "A Morning of Book Collecting." Each guest may bring one book to show or have evaluated. Event held Tuesday, March 12, 2002 at the Syosset Public Library. Box 1
70.24
Miscellaneous Documents
April 18, 19? Meeting Notice: "Calling All Book Buffs." LIBC will discuss books and their value and care. Each guest may bring one book to show or have evaluated. Event will be held Wednesday, April 18 at the South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY. Box 1