Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Essays, Memos, Handwritten Letters and Notes, Miscellaneous Documents for Journal Preparation, Original Journals, Books, etc.

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Box 2: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Essays, Memos, Handwritten Letters and Notes, Miscellaneous Documents for Journal Preparation, Original Journals, Books, etc.: Folders 1-12

Item Date Description Location
Mechanical: ca. 1969 Contains: Logo of "The Long Island Book Collectors." Box 2
       
Folder 1.
Journal #1
nd Contains: 12 Corrected typed essays for LIBC Journal #1: Box 2
1.1.
2 page typed essay
nd "The First Privately Printed Trivia of Logan Pearsall Smith" by William J. Riley Box 2
1.2
2 page typed essay
nd "Limited to 600 Numbered Copies of Which This Is #1729" - By Alida Roochvarg Box 2
1.3
2 page typed essay
nd "A Black Manikin Press Checklist" by George R. Minkoff Box 2
1.4
2 page typed essay
nd "A Working Bibligraphy of Children's Books" by Milton Reissman Box 2
1.5
2 page typed essay
nd "Priority States of a Robert Graves Binding: Two Views" by Ellsworth Masson Box 2
1.6
2 page typed essay
nd "Extending The Lewis Carroll Bibliography" By Stan Marx Box 2
1.7
2 page typed essay
nd "End Papers"by Paulette G. Greene Box 2
1.8
2 page typed essay
nd "Collecting Cook Books" By Lucille Fillin Box 2
1.9
2 page typed essay
nd "Treasure Unearthered" by Ludwig Ries Box 2
1.10
2 page typed essay
nd "Is All About The Alphabet" by Sol Roochvarg Box 2
1.11
2 page typed essay
nd "An Association On Item" by Gerard Meyer Box 2
1.12
2 page typed essay
nd "The Case of Christopher Morley" by Herman Abromson Box 2
       
Folder 2.
Journal Xeroxes for Paste-up
nd Contains: L.I. Book Collectors Pre-Publication Materials for Journal Cover No. 5 sent from member Lili Wronker to Evert Volkersz Box 2
       
Folder 3.
Journal #1
1969 - 1970 Contains: LIBC Journal # 1: Memos; Letters; Invoice; Text Copy; etc. (ca 1969 -1970) Box 2
3.1
1 page memo
September 30, 1969 Memo: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Dated September 30, 1969: Dear member of LIBC from William J. Riley. On the preparation of journal # 1 and the next meeting. Box 2
3.2
1 page typed letter
January, 1970 Letter: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Dated January, 1970. Titled "Bibliographical information previously unavailable!" Box 2
3.3
1 page table of contents
1969 Table of contents: The Journal of the Long Island Collectors No.1 1969 Box 2
3.4
2 page list
nd List: "Suggested Articles for L.I.B.C. Journal" Box 2
3.5
1 page typed letter
February 14, 1969 Letter: American Library Association Letterhead. Dated February 14, 1969. Dear Mr. Marx from Mrs. Helen K. Prince. Regarding journal # 1. Box 2
3.6
1 page memo
nd Memo: Dear Stan from George Robert Minkoff. Regarding the checklist of Black Manikin Press books Box 2
3.7
3 page typed essay
nd Essay: Typed essay about rare book collections. Box 2
3.8
2 page typed essay
nd Essay: Typed essay about how L. I. B. C. was born. Box 2
3.9
1 page memo
October 17, 1969 Memo: George Robert Minkoff headtitled. Dated October 17, 1969.Dear Stan from George Minkoff., regarding removing some headtitles from the checklist. Box 2
3.10
1 page checklist
nd Checklist: "A Black Manikin Press Checklist" by George R. Minkoff. 2 copies. Box 2
3.11
1 page essay
nd Essay: "Sitting Scribe's Letter" by Pius Servien. Box 2
3.12
3 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Extending The Lewis Carrol Bibliography" by Stan Marx Box 2
3.13
5 page bibliobiography
nd Bibliobiography: "A Working Bibliography of Children's Books." Box 2
3.14
6 page handwritten essay
nd Essay: Discusses the experiences that happen while putting a collection. Box 2
3.15
1 page handwritten letter
February 2, 1969 Letter: Dated February 2, 1969. Letter regarding an article by one of the LIBC members. Box 2
3.16
1 page handwritten letter
October, 1916 Letter: Dated 10/16. To Strand. Box 2
3.17
6 page typed essay
nd Article: "The First Privately Printed Trivia of Logan Pearsail Smith" By William J. Riley. Box 2
3.18
2 page typed bibliobiography
nd Bibliobiography: "Three Incorrected Bibligraphical Listings" by Kenneth Clark. 2 copies. Box 2
3.19
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Errata in section covering Robert William Chamber in 1936 edition of American First Editions" by Merle Johnson. Box 2
3.20
2 page journal mockup
nd Journal Mock-up: Front cover and table of contents of LIBC Journal no. 1. Box 2
3.21
1 page table of contents
nd Photocopied Table of Contents: From Treasure Unearthed by Ludwig Ries. Box 2
3.22
1 page memo
September 30, 1969 LIBC Memo: Dated September 30, 1969: Dear member from William J. Riley, Secretary. On the preparation of Journal # 1 and the next meeting. Box 2
3.23
1 page typed letter
January 26, 1970 Letter: Dear Mr. Max from Mrs. Roger L. Pilloton. Dated Jan. 26, 1970. Box 2
3.24
1 page typed letter
January 2, 1970 Letter: Dear Mr. Max from Mrs. Roger L. Pilloton. Dated Jan. 2, 1970. Box 2
3.25
1 page typed letter
December 22, 1969 Letter: Dated December 22, 1969.Dear Mr. Malkin from Stanley Marx. Enclosing the journal of LIBC. Box 2
3.26
1 page typed letter
January 21, 1970 Letter: Dated January 21, 1970. Dear Mr. Heye from Stan Marx. Regarding the Journal orders. Box 2
3.27
1 page typed letter
January 21, 1970 Letter: Dated January 21, 1970. Dear Mr. Munnerlyn from Stan Marx regarding the journal orders and requesting meeting dates. Box 2
3.28
1 page letter
April 22, 1971 Letter: Cleveland Public Library letterhead. Dated April 22, 1971. From Mrs. Heather Folmar. Regarding LIBC Journals 1 and 2. Box 2
3.29
1 page invoice
April 15, 1971 Invoice: Princeton University Library. Dated 4/15/71 To Stanley Marx for his LIBC Journal order. Box 2
3.30
1 page handwritten letter
September 15, 1971 Letter: Illinois State University letterhead. Dated 9/15/71. From Mrs. Linda Click, regarding LIBC Journal orders. Box 2
3.31
1 page invoice
August 6, 1971 Invoice: Long Island Book Collectors. Dated 8/6/71. Box 2
3.32
1 original catalogue
nd Catalogue: Catalogue Six: Being a Selection of fine, old and rare books from the general stock of Glenn Books, Inc. Box 2
       
Folder 4.
Corrected Proof Copy - LIBC Journal 1969
1969 Contains: Corrected Proof Copy- Journal of the Long Island Book Collectors 1969. Box 2
       
Folder 5.
Journal #2
1970 - 1973 Contains: LIBC Journal # 2: Memos; Letters; Invoice; Text Copy; etc. (ca 1970 -1973) Box 2
5.1
2 page typed letter
nd Letter: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Includes order form for LIBC Journal no. 2. nd. Box 2
5.2
1 page handwritten letter
January 22. 1973 Letter: Dated January 22, 1973. To Ken from Sarah Chokla Gross, regarding the delivery of LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.3
1 page handwritten letter
January 26, 1973 Letter: Dated January 26, 1973. To Ken from Sarah Chokla Gross. Box 2
5.4
1 page handwritten letter
February 7, 1973 Letter: Dated February 7, 1973. To Kent from Sarah Chokla Gross. Box 2
5.5.
1 page handwritten letter
September 10, 1972 Letter: Dated September 10, 1972. To Jerry from Sarah Chokla Gross, regarding the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.6
1 page handwritten letter
August 14, 1972 Letter: Dated August 14, 1972. To Stan Marx from Sarah Chokla Gross. Box 2
5.7
1 page handwritten letter
June 25, 1972 Letter: Dated June 25, 1972. To Paulette from Sarah, Regarding the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.8
1 page handwritten letter
June 25, 1972 Letter: Dated June 25, 1972. To Bob from Sarah Chokla Gross, regarding the Long Island Book Collectors Journal. Box 2
5.9
1 page handwritten letter
September 10, 1972 Letter: Dated September 10, 1972. To Paulette from Sarah, regarding the production of the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.10
1 page handwritten letter
September 9, 1972 letter: Dated September 9, 1972. To Stan from Sarah Chokla Gross. Regarding the progress of the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.11
1 page handwritten letter
November 4, 1972 Letter: Dated November 4, 1972. To Stan from Sarah Chokla Gross, regarding the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.12
5 page journal mock-up
nd Journal Mock-up: The Long Island Book Collectors Journal. Box 2
5.13
1 publication
nd Publication: Book Collecting & Library Monthly. Features advertisement of LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.14
1 page advertisement
nd Adverstisement: LIBC Journal no. 2. nd. Box 2
5.15
1 page typed letter
February, 1973 Letter: Dated the 5th of February, 1973. From Alida Roochvarg regarding LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.16
1 publication
July - August, 1973 Publication: Book Report Vol. II, No. 4. Dated Jul., Aug., Sept., 1973. Box 2
5.17
1 page typed letter
January 30, 1973 Letter: American Book Collector letterhead. Dated the 30th of January, 1973. My dear Mr. W.B. Thorsen from Paulette Greene, regarding the LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.18
1 page typed letter
January 30, 1973 Letter: American Book Collector & Library Monthly letterhead. Dated the 30th of January, 1973. To Sir from Paulette Greene, regarding the LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.19
1 page memo
nd LIBC Memo: Regarding LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.20
1 page memo
January 28, 1973 LIBC Memo: Dated the 28th of January, 1973. To Sol & Ann Malkin regarding LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.21
1 page typed letter
March 20, 1973 Letter: The 20th of March, 1973. My Dear Jacob L. Chernofsky from Paulette Greene. Along with the letter there is an ad and another letter to Sol & Ann Malkin from Paulette Greene dated 30th of January, 1973. Box 2
5.22
1 page stationary paper
nd Stationary paper: Long Island Book Collectors letterhead. Information on the LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.23
3 page typed letter
nd Letter: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Includes 2 order forms for LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.24
2 page typed letter
January, 1970 Letter: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Dated January, 1970. Includes the table of contents of LIBC Journal no. 1. Box 2
5.25
1 page typed list
nd List:"List of paid up L.I.B.C. Members/Journal" Box 2
5.26
1 page typed balance sheet
March 11, 1973 Balance Sheet: "Journal of the Long Island Book Collectors-Sales Record" Dated March 11, 1973. Box 2
5.27
1 page typed balance sheet
April 15, 1973 Balance Sheet: "Statements of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors" Dated April15, 1973. Box 2
5.28
1 page typed balance sheet
May 13, 1973 Balance Sheet"Statements of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors" Dated May 13, 1973. Box 2
5.29
1 page typed balance sheet
June 10, 1973 Balance Sheet: "Statements of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors" Dated June 10, 1973. Box 2
5.30
1 publication
nd Publication: Book Collecting & Library Monthly. "Modern First Edition." Features advertisement for LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.31
1 page handwritten letter
Febraury 10, 1973 Letter: The American Book Collector Letterhead. Thank You letter to the LIBC. Dated 10 Feb. 1973. Enclosed in an envelope. Box 2
5.32
1 empty envelope
February 10, 1973 Envelope: Addressed to Paulette Greene from Deborah Benson, Bookseller of West Cornwall, CN. Dated Feb. 10, 1973. Box 2
5.33
3 page set of notes
nd Notes: LIBC adverstising possibilities in journals of other organizations. Box 2
5.34
1 page typed letter
nd Memo: Barbara Falk-Bookshop letterhead. To Paulette from Barbara, regarding the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.35
1 page handwritten letter
January 24, 1973 Letter: Robert D. Shapiro letterhead. Dated Jan. 24, 1973. To Paulette from Bob. Box 2
5.36
1 page typed letter
November 11, 1973 Letter: State of New Jersey Trento State College letterhead. Dated Nov. 11, 1973. To Mr. Greene from Hugh Ford, requesting a copy a journal of 1969. Box 2
5.37
1 page typed letter
February 10, 1973 Letter: Deborah Benson, Bookseller letterhead. Dated February 10, 1973. To Paulette from Debby, regarding payment of the journal. Box 2
5.38
1 page typed letter
Janaury 30 - - Letter: Collectors' Center letterhead. Dated Jan.30. To Miss Greene from Don Bloch, regarding of the issuing of LIBC Journal no. 2. Box 2
5.39
1 page typed letter
nd Letter: Babylon Memorial Grade School letterhead. To Paulette from Larry, regarding a copy of the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.40
1 page handwritten letter
January, 1973 Letter: To Paulette from Helen E. Heinrich, requesting copies of the LIBC Journal. Dated January 1973. Box 2
5.41
1 page handwritten letter
nd Letter: George Robert Minkoff letterhead. To P.G. (Paulette Greene), regarding the payment for some LIBC Journals. Box 2
5.42
1 page typed note
February 3, 1973 Note: Dated Sunday, 3 Feb 73. To Paulette from Gerry Meyer, regarding the payment for the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.43
1 page handwritten note
February 14, 1973 Note: Dated February 14, 1973. To Paulette, regarding the payment for the LIBC Journal. Box 2
5.44
1 page memo
October 14, 1973 Memo: "Sale of Long Island Book Collector Journal" Dated October 14, 1973. To Rudolph Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clar, Journal Secretary. Box 2
5.45
1 set of notes
nd Notes: LIBC Journal Sales and Cost. Box 2
5.46
1 page typed balance sheet
March 11, 1973 Balance Sheet: Journal of the Long Island Book Collectors- Sales Record Dated March 11, 1973. Box 2
5.47
1 page typed balance sheet
May 13, 1973 Balance Sheet: Statement of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors Dated May 13, 1973. Box 2
5.48
1 page typed balance sheet
June 10, 1973 Balance Sheet: "Statement of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors"Dated June 10, 1973. Box 2
5.49
1 page typed balance sheet
September 9, 1973 Balance Sheet: "Statement of Journal Sales Long Island Book Collectors" Dated September 9, 1973. Box 2
       
Folder 6.
LIBC Journal #2 - Proof Sheets
1972 Contains: LIBC Journal # 2: Proof Sheets; Memos; Letters (1972) Box 2
6.1
1 set of journal proof-sheets
nd Proof-Sheets: "Long Island Book Collectors Journal No. II" Box 2
6.2
1 page typed letter
nd Letter: To Stanley Marx from Herbert J.A. Runsdorf. Regarding some corrections of an article. Box 2
6.3
1 page typed letter
October 30, 1972 Letter: Fan Parker, Ph. D. letterhead. Dated October 30, 1972. To Stan from Fan. Regarding some correction. Box 2
6.4
1 page handwritten letter
nd Letter: To Stan Marx from Sarah Chokla Gross. Regarding LIBC Journal Box 2
6.5
1 page handwritten letter
nd Letter: To Stanley from Lucille. Regarding some corrections to be made in LIBC Journal. Box 2
6.6
1 corrected proof-copy
1972 Corrected Proof-Copy: Journal of the Long Island Book Collectors no. 2, 1972. Box 2
       
Folder 7.
Journal #2 - Layout
1972 Contains: Layout of LIBC Journal # 2 - 1972 sent to Mrs. J. Greene. Box 2
      Box 2
Folder 8.
Journal #2
1972 Contains: Mockup of LIBC Journal #2 - 1972. Box 2
       
Folder 9.
Journal #3
1975 - 1976 Contains: LIBC Journal #3: Notes; Letters; Balance Sheet; etc. (ca 1975 -1976) Box 2
9.1
1 page handwritten note
nd Note: To Alisa, regarding the publication of journal issues. Box 2
9.2
1 page typed note
November 14, 1975 Note: "For Every Collector". Copy for Journal #3. (Includes handwritten notation: "Send Ad, Nov. 14/1975 Bill P. G. Books" Box 2
9.3
1 page typed letter
December, 1975 Letter: Long Island Book Collectors Letterhead. Dated December, 1975: 2 Official Order Forms for LIBC Journal #3 Box 2
9.4
1 page typed balance sheet
March 12, 1976 Balance Sheet: "Long Island Book Collectors Journal Operation". Dated March 12, 1976. "Respectfully Submitted,H. Kenneth Clark, Journal Sec'y" Box 2
9.5
1 page typed balance sheet
April 11, 1976 Balance Sheet:"Long Island Book Collectors Journal Operation". Dated April 11, 1976. "Respectfully Submitted, H. Kenneth Clark, Journal Soc'y" Box 2
       
Folder 10.
Journal # 4
1977 - 1978 Contains: LIBC Journal #4: Advertisment; Memos; Notes; Letters; Balance Sheet; etc. (ca 1977 -1978) Box 2
10.1
1 page advertisement
nd Advertisment: LIBC Journal no. 4. Box 2
10.2
1 page typed balance sheet
September 10, 1978 Balance Sheet: Dated September 10, 1978. "Sales to Date, Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors". To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Sec'y. Box 2
10.3
2 page typed letter
nd Advertisment: LIBC Journal No. 4. Box 2
10.4
1 page typed balance sheet
January 8, 1978 Balance Sheet: Dated January 8, 1978. "Sales to date, Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors". To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Secretary. Box 2
10.5
1 page typed balance sheet
December 11, 1977 Balance Sheet: Dated December 11, 1977. "Sales to date of Jounal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors" To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Secretary. Box 2
10.6
1 page typed balance sheet
November 6, 1977 Balance Sheet: Dated November 6, 1977. "Sales to date of Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors" To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Secretary. Box 2
10.7
1 page typed letter
November 15, 1977 Letter: Adelphi University letterhead. Dated November 15, 1977. Dear Fred from Gary E. Cantrell. Regarding the copyright of the journal. Box 2
10.8
1 page journal mock-up
nd Journal Mock-up: The verso of the title page. Box 2
10.9
1 page typed balance sheet
March 12, 1978 Balance Sheet: Dated March 12, 1978. "Sales to Date, Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors". To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from from Kenneth Clark, Journal Sec'y. LIBC Box 2
10.10
1 page typed balance sheet
February 12, 1978 Balance Sheet: Dated February 12, 1978. "Sales to Date, Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors". To Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Secretary LIBC. Box 2
10.11
1 original newsletter
March, 1978 Newsletter: Newsletter No. 1. Dated March, 1978. On page 3 is a short paragraph about The Long Island Book Collectors. Box 2
10.12
1 page advertisement
1977 - 1978 Advertisment: "The Universal Coterie of Pipe Smoker" on the Winter 77- Spring 78. Box 2
10.13
1 page typed letter
January 3, 1978 Letter: Maximilian-Gesellschaft letterhead. 3, January 1978. To Mr. Gardner from Dr. Enst Hauswedell. Regading Journal Number 4. Attached is a copy of the corresponding letter to Dr. Ernst L. Hauswedell from Frederick R. Gardner, dated November 1, 1977. Box 2
10.14
1 page typed letter
February 21, 1978 Letter: Bernard Quarirtch LTD letterhead. Dated 21st February, 1978. To Mr. Kenneth Clark from Merlyn Holloway. Regarding a payment of a Journal. Attached is the corresponding letter to Mr. Holloway. Box 2
10.15
1 page typed balance sheet
October 9, 1977 Balance Sheet: "Journal Sales 10/9/77". Frederick R. Gardner Headtitle. Box 2
10.16
1 page typed balance sheet
April 9, 1978 Balance Sheet: "Sales to Date, Journal Number Four, Long Island Book Collectors" Dated April 9, 1978. To Mr. Rudolf Hertz, Treasurer from Kenneth Clark, Journal Sec'y LIBC. Box 2
10.17
1 page handwritten letter
October 10, 1977 Letter: Walter Fillin Letterhead. Dated October 10, 1977. To Fred, regarding Journal number 4. Box 2
10.18
1 page memo
August 4, 1977 Memo: Frederick R, Gardner letterhead. Dated August 4, 1977. Dear Rudi from Frederick. Regarding journal number. Box 2
10.19
1 page memo
July 27, 1978 Memo: Frederick R, Gardner letterhead. Dated July 27, 1978. Dear Ken from Frederick. Regarding the next LIBC meeting. Box 2
10.20
2 one-page Essays
nd Essays: Two handwritten essays on LIBC Journal Number Four. Box 2
10.21
1 page typed balance sheet
March 13, 1977 Balance Sheet: "Long Island Book Collectors Journal Operation". Dated March 13, 1977. To Rudolph Hertz, Treasurer from H. Kenneth Clark, Journal Sec'y. Box 2
       
Folder 11.
Subjects IV
1977 Contains: Photocopies of drafts for different sections of LIBC Journal #4 Box 2
11.1
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Subject Collecting." Photcopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.2
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "First Books" and "Keepsakes." Photocopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.3
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Betting on the Future." Photocopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.4
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Fantasy" and "Religion." Photocopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.5
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Poetry" and "Sports." Photocopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.6
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Americana" and "Chicago Geography." Photocopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.7
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Cook Books" and "High Spots." Photcopy of handwritten draft. Box 2
11.8
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Books About Books." Listing I. Photocopy of typed draft with handwritten corrections. Attached to listings II to VI. Box 2
11.9
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "The Physical Book." Listing II. Photocopy of typed draft with handwritten corrections. Attached to listings I, III - VI. Box 2
11.10
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Authors and Illustrators." Listing III. Photocopy of typed draft with handwritten corrections. Attached to listings I, II, IV - VI. Box 2
11.11
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Subject." Listing IV. Photcopy of typed draft with handwritten corrections. Attached to listings I - III, V, VI. Box 2
11.12
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "Juveniles." Listing V. Photocopy of typed draft with handwritten corrections. Attached to listings I - IV, VI. Box 2
11.13
1 page LIBC Journal entry
1977 "The Future." Listing VI. Photcopy of typed draft. Attached to listings I - V. Box 2
       
Folder 12.
Books About Books I
  Contains: Drafts of essays, entries, and Bibliography for the LIBC Journal pertaining to books about books. Box 2
12.1
1 page typed note
1970 Note: Brief note about Valenti Angelo, illustrator of a book being recognized. The book referred to is unknown. Entry titled "Checklist, 1970." Section, "Bibliographies." Typed draft featuring a typed card attached to it noting "J Box 2
12.2
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Aspects of Book Collecting." nd. Typed draft. Box 2
12.3
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Books About Books." nd. Typed draft with handwritten corrections. Box 2
12.4
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Book Collecting." nd. Typed draft. Box 2
12.5
5 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Philobiblon, 1599" and Bibliomania, 1809." Prepared by Alida Roochvarg. nd. Typed draft with handwritten corrections. Box 2
12.6
5 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Gossip About Book Collecting," "Amenities of Book Collecting, 1918," "Philobiblon, 1599," and "Biblomania, 1809." Prepared by Alida Roochvarg and Herman Abromson. nd. Typed drafts with handwritten cor Box 2
12.7
1 page handwritten index card
nd Index Card: "Some interesting bibliographies are listed here to indicate scope and variety. Additional bibliographies will be found in other sections as they relate specifically to the subject at hand." Writer unknown. nd. Handwritten. Appears t Box 2
12.8
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Bibliographies." nd. Typed draft. Box 2
12.9
1 page handwritten note
nd Note: Handwritten note about book, "Double and Triple Decker" novels. Written by Paulette Greene. nd. Box 2
12.10
1 page typed book card
nd Book Card: "A History of Stone and Kimball." Book description by Norman Jung. Typed. Box 2
12.11
6 page bibliographic listings
nd Bibliographies: Various Bibliographies by Alida Roochvarg and Paulette Greene. Typed and handwritten drafts. nd. Box 2
12.12
1 page handwritten journal entry
nd Entry: "Ransom - Private Presses. Handwritten by Herman Abromson. nd.  
12.13
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Catalogs." nd. Typed draft with handwritten corrections.  
12.14
1 page photocopied book cover
nd Book Cover: Photocopy of book cover of "Catalog: Intimate and Descriptive of my Kipling Collection" of 1935. nd.  
12.15
6 page bibliographic listings
nd Bibliographies: Various Bibliographies by Alida Roochvarg, Blossom Resnik, Herman Abromson, and Frederick Gardner. Typed drafts. nd.  

Box 2: Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors - Essays, Memos, Handwritten Letters and Notes, Miscellaneous Documents for Journal Preparation, Original Journals, Books, etc.: Folders 13-22; publications

Item Date Description Location
Folder 13.
Persons III
  Contains: Drafts of essays and bibliographies to be featured in the LIBC Journal pertaining to authors and illustrators. Box 2
13.1
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Authors and Illustrators." nd. Typed draft. Box 2
13.2
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Original Material." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.3
1 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Untitled" book by Walter John De La Mare, "The Coldharbour Ballad, 1911," and "Sams Three Wishes or Life's Little Whirligig, 1918?" Prepared by Dorothy Hatch. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.4
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "First Editions." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.5
1 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Salmagundi," "Knickerbocker's History of New York." All three titles by Washington Irving. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.6
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Collecting One Title." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.7
3 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: Lists various versions of James Joyce's Ulysses. Prepared by Alvin Boretz. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.8
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "The Family Circle." nd. Typed draft. Box 2
13.9
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "The Literary Circle." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.10
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Ephemera." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.11
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Artists and Illustrators." nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.12
2 page bibliography
2 page essay
nd Bibliography: Lists periodicals featuring the work of Winslow Homer. Prepared by Blossom Resnik. Attached is an essay on Homer by Resnik. nd. Box 2
13.13
1 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Little Lise," "Great Battles of the World," and "My Lady Nicotine." Prepared by Walter Fillin. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.14
1 page typed bibliography
nd Bibliography: "Bracebridge Hall" by Washington Irving. Prepared by Andrew Myers. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.15
1 page typed essay
nd Essay: "Journals" by Alida Roochvarg. nd. Typed draft with corrections. Box 2
13.16
1 page typed bibliography
1972 Bibliography: "Endless," "Casuals of the Sea," "Dreams and Dust." Prepared by Herman Abromson. Dated 1972. Box 2
       
Folder 14.
Physical II
1977 Contains: Original copies of typed and handwritten essays with corrections for the LIBC Journal # 4, 1977 and for the exhibition catalogue "Aspects of Book Collecting. An Exhibition at Swirbul Library Gallery October 8 - December 23, 1977. Adelphi Un Box 2
    Essays: Box 2
14.1
1 page essay
1977 "Binding" Box 2
14.2
1 page essay
1977 "Fantasy" Box 2
14.3
1 page essay
1977 "Religion" Box 2
14.4
1 page essay
1977 "Subject Collecting" Box 2
14.5
1 page essay
1977 "Betting on the Future" Box 2
14.6
1 page essay
1977 "First Books" Box 2
14.7
1 page essay
1977 "Keepsakes" Box 2
14.8
1 page essay
1977 "Sizes, Series, Shapes, and Soforths" Box 2
14.9
1 page essay
1977 "Paper" Box 2
14.10
1 page essay
1977 "The Book as a Physical Object" Box 2
14.11
1 page essay
1977 "Presses" Box 2
14.12
1 page essay
1977 "Paper" Box 2
14.13
1 page essay
1977 "Sizes, Series, Shapes, and Soforths" Box 2
       
Folder 15.
Future VI
  Contains: Article; Letter; Note; Listing Schedule Box 2
15.1
2 page typed article
nd Article: "Looking for Something to Collect? Why Not Try Computers?" Box 2
15.2
2 page handwritten letter
nd Letter: To Alida from HEH. Regarding the article "Betting on the Future" Box 2
15.3
1 page set of notes
nd Notes: Betting on the Future- Subject: Collecting Paperback Originals. Box 2
15.4
1 page listing schedule
nd Listing Schedule: Charles M. Gardner Company- Listing Schedule (Final) LIBC Exhibition. Box 2
      Box 2
Folder 16.
Juvenile Editorial V
  Contains: Corrected copy for Journal # 4; bibliographies; letters; list Box 2
16.1
1 corrected copy
1977 Corrected Copy: LIBC Journal # 4: "Juvenilla" ; "Nineteenth Century Juvenilles" Box 2
16.2
1 Set of bibliographic listings
nd Bibliographies: Multiple bibliographic listings. Box 2
16.3
1 page handwritten letter
nd Letter: To Fred, regarding the Picture Book for Children. Box 2
16.4
1 page List
nd List: "Gramatky Items" Box 2
16.5
1 set of bibliographic listings
nd Bibliographies: Multiple bibliographic listings. Box 2
       
Folder 17.
Original Notes
  Contains: Various notes, bibliographies, essays, sketches, and book cards pertaining to LIBC Journal. Box 2
17.1
9 typed book cards
nd Book Cards: Peepshow, 1700's; The Uncle's Present, 1810; Koran, 1800's; Rechenpfennige, 1500's; The Infant's Library, 1800; The Lay of the Last Minstrel, 1809; Nurse Truelove's Christmas Box, 1789; Hornbooks, 1897; New Hieroglyphical Bible for the Amuseme Box 2
17.2
3 typed book cards
nd Book Cards: Essays Commercial and Political, 1777; A Faithful Narrative of the Remarkable Revival of Religion in the Congregation of Easthampton on Long Island, 1808; An Easy Introduction to Astronomy for Young Gentleman and Ladies, 1812. Cards are staple Box 2
17.3
4 page set of handwritten notes
nd Notes: Handwritten notes on books. Box 2
17.4
2 page set of typed notes
nd Notes: 2 typed pages on books: Westerminster: Wynken de Worde, 1512. by William Caxton; Illuminated manuscript: Dutch Book of Hours, circa 1425; James Boswell: The Life of Samuel Johnson, LL.D. by Henry Baldwin, 1791; Poems by Box 2
17.5
1 page typed letter
nd Letter: Paulette Greene Letterhead. Dated Monday the 23 of May. Dear Fred from Paulette Greene. Regarding the notes for books in the exhibition. Box 2
17.6
1 page typed tribute
nd Tribute: Walter John De La Mare (1873-1956). 1 typed page. Box 2
17.7
1 page bibliography
nd Bibliography: on Walton W.M., Life and Adventure of Ben Thompson. Box 2
17.8
1 page Llst of submitted items
nd Items submitted by H. Kenneth Clark: The King in Yellow by Robert W. Chambers; Famous Fantastic Mysteries, September 1943; Starwind, volumes 2 number 1, Autum 1976. Box 2
17.9
1 page bibliography
nd Bibliography: Ulysses by James Joyce. Box 2
17.10
2 page handwritten essay
nd Essay: The Limited Edition Club Books by Lee Femares. Handwritten. Box 2
17.11
4 page set of typed notes
nd Notes on books: Amenities of Book Collecting, by A. Edward Newton; Endless Rivers by Felix Reisenberg; Causals of the Sea by William McFee; Dreams & Dust by Don Marquis. Box 2
17.12
4 page set of handwritten bibliographies
nd Handwritten bibliographies: The Man With the Golden Arm, by Nelson Algren; Chicago and the Great Conflagration..., by Elias Colbert and Everett Chamberlin; Illustrated History of the Union Stockyards..., by W. Joseph Grand; World's Columbian Exposition, 1 Box 2
17.13
2 page set of handwritten bibliographies
nd Handwritten bibliographies: The Big Rock Candy Mountain, by Wallace Stegner; Winter's Tales, by Isak Dimesen Box 2
17.14
1 page handwritten bibliography
nd Handwritten bibliography: Brace Bridge, By Washington Irving. Box 2
17.15
2 page bibliographic listing
nd Bibliographies: The Waste Land, by T.S. Eliot; Kora in Hell, W. C. Williams; Poems 1918-21, by Ezra Pound. Box 2
17.16
1 set of illustrated periodicals
nd Illustrated Periodicals by Winslow Homer, Illustrated. Box 2
17.17
3 pages of photocopied illustrations
nd Copy: "Framed Pencil Drawing" by Frederic Dorr Steele; The Transfiguration of Miss Philura, by Florence Morse Kinsley; A Modern Version of the Night Before Chirstmas, Robert McBlair. Box 2
       
Folder 18.
Simon & Schuster Fall 1976
1976 Contains: Various drafts of essays and bibliographies for LIBC Journal #3. Box 2
      Box 2
Folder 19.
Journal #5
1981 - 1993 Contains: Order formLIBC member journal 5; Report; Letters; Claim Box 2
19.1
1 page order form
February 24, 1993 Order form: LIBC Journal #5 order form for LIBC members. Dated February 24, 1993. 2 original copies - 1 is missing the order insert. Box 2
19.2
1 page typed report
November 8, 1981 Report: "Report From the Publications Committee." Submitted by Evert Volkersz and dated November 8, 1981. Typed. Box 2
19.3
1 page memo
March 25, 1984 Memo: To the LIBC Editorial Board, cc: Fred Gardner and David Galerstein, from Evert Volkersz. Dated March 25, 1984. Memo highlighting decisions to be made regarding the publication of the next LIBC Journal with suggestions. Typed on LIBC letterhead. Box 2
19.4
1 page memo
May 16, 1984 Memo: To the LIBC Editorial Board from Evert Volkersz. Dated May 16, 1984. Memo highlighting decisions to be made regarding the publication of the next LIBC Journal. Typed on LIBC letterhead. Box 2
19.5
1 page typed letter
nd Letter: To Jerome Yavarkovsky, Dean of the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY from Evert Volkersz, LIBC president. Letter asking Yavarkovsky if the LIBC may donate books on book history to the Adelphi University Library, as has been Box 2
19.6
2 page typed letter
July 16, 1990 Letter: To LIBC members from Carol Meyerson, asking members to choose a topic for their articles to be submitted for LIBC Journal #5. Dated July, 16, 1990. Typed on LIBC letterhead. 2 copies. Box 2
19.7
1 page LIBC claim sheet
June 29, 1982 LIBC Claim Sheet: Claim sheet regarding LIBC Journals which were ordered but not received. Issued June 29, 1982 by Betty Rosenkranz. Box 2
       
Folder 20.
General Book-Collecting Articles
  Contains: Newspaper articles; publication; publication entry; announcement; meeting notice; LIBC membership application. Box 2
20.1
1 page newspaper article
February 15, 1978 Newspaper Article: "All About Having Books Bound." Taken from The New York Times, Wednesday, February 15, 1978. Original copy. Box 2
20.2
6 photocopied publication pages
May, 1975 Publication: Texas Monthly. Issue of May, 1975. Photocopy of pgs. 43 - 47. Paired with a letter to "Michael" of Texas Monthly in Austin Texas from Paulette Greene, thanking him on behalf of the LIBC with regards to "So Rare" by John Pa Box 2
20.3
1 page notice
June 9, 1960 Notice: From The Grolier Club of New York City to individuals who had purchased its Catalogue of an Exhibition of Historical and Literary Americana. Notice prepared by Alexander Davidson, Jr., librarian. Dated June 9, 1960. Box 2
20.4
1 page welcome card
October 28, 1968 Welcome Card: From the Hofstra Library Associates to Paulette Green. Dated October 28, 1968. Enclosed in envelope. Box 2
20.5
1 page newspaper article
December 2, 1970 Newspaper Article: "Stravinsky Ready to Sell His Papers" by Donal Henahan. Taken from The New York Times, Wednesday, December 2, 1970. Original copy. Box 2
20.6
1 page newspaper article
March 20, 1969 Newspaper Article: "Far Out Investing: Rare Book Guide" by Sylivia Porter. Taken from New York Post, March 20, 1969. 2 original copies. 1 photcopy. Box 2
20.7
1 page newspaper article
February 3, 1974 Newspaper Article: "A Book Lover's Bookstore" by Pranay Gupte. Taken from The New York Times, Sunday, February 3, 1974. Original copy. Box 2
20.8
1 page newspaper article
September 2, 1973 Newspaper Article: "The Journal of Long Island History id Revived After an Absence of 8 Years" by David Gordon. Dated Sunday, September 2, 1973. Original copy. Box 2
20.9
1 page newspaper article
February 3, 1974 Newspaper Article: "A Book Lover's Bookstores" by Pranay Gupte. Taken from The New York Times, February 3, 1974. Box 2
20.10
1 page newspaper article
September 2, 1973 Newspaper Article: "The Journal of Long Island History Is Revived After an Absence of 8 Years" by David Gordon. Taken from The New YorkTimes, September 2, 1973. Box 2
20.11
1 page bulletin
June 16 - - Bulletin: "Happy Bloomsday." Features an essay on James Joyce with a list of books by and about Joyce. Bulletin dated June 16. Box 2
20.12
1 page newspaper article
March 4, 1974 Newspaper Article: "The Bookman's Product: All His Yesteryears" by J. A. C. Dunn. Taken from Newsday, Monday, March 4, 1974. Original copy. Box 2
20.13
1 page newspaper article
December 1, 1975 Newspaper Article: "Staying Ahead/On Trying to Sell Your Old Books" by Jane Bryant Quinn. Taken from Newsday, Monday, December 1, 1975. Original copy. Box 2
20.14
1 page newspaper article
March, 1969 Newspaper Article: "Handy Tips for Bookstore Browsers." Taken from National Observer, March, 1969. 3 photocopies. Box 2
20.15
1 page newspaper article
March 10, 1974 Newspaper Article: "Where the Book-Browsers Browse" by Kenneth Friedenreich. Taken from Newsday, Sunday, March 10, 1974. Original copy. Box 2
20.16
1 page newspaper article
June 6, 1973 Newspaper Article: "Collectors Taking to Children's Books" by Eric Pace. Taken from The New York Times, Wednesday, June 6, 1973. Original copy. Box 2
20.17
1 page newspaper article
April 6, 1973 Newspaper Article: "International Antiquarian Book Fair Opens at the Carlton House" by McCandlish Phillips. Taken from The New York Times, Friday, April 6, 1973. Original copy. Box 2
20.18
1 page newspaper article
March, 1977 Newspaper Article: "The Bookseller" by Gilbert Millstein. Dated March, 1977. Box 2
20.19
9 pages from publication
June 27, 1977 Publication: Personal Business: a Business Week Supplement. Section: A Guide to Literary Collectibles. 1 original copy and 1 photocopy. Box 2
20.20
1 page newspaper article
August 28, 1977 Newspaper Article: "The Sun Also Rises on Rare Books" by William Dunn. Taken from The New York Times, Sunday, August 28, 1977. Original copy. Box 2
20.21
1 page newspaper article
April 7, 1978 Newspaper Article: "Old Books in New Booths at Fair" by Thomas Lask. Taken from The New York Times, Friday, April 7, 1978. Orignal copy. Box 2
20.22
1 page original publication entry
November 19? Publication Entry: Description and price of reference book, "Book Collecting: A Modern Guide." Taken from Publishers Weekly, November. Original copy. Box 2
20.23
1 page newspaper article
November 27, 1977 Newspaper Article: "L.I. Library Sells a 1765 Rare Book" by Roy R. Silver. Taken from The New York Times, Sunday, November 27, 1977. Original copy. Box 2
20.24
1 original brochure
June, 1978 Brochure: "The Study of Books as Physical Objects: State of the Art." The Nineteenth ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Preconference. Preconference held June 21 - 24, 1978 at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. Sponsored by the American Lib Box 2
20.25
1 page announcement
June 19? Announcement: A tour of New York City sponsored by the Friends of the Free Library. Tour held June 8. Box 2
20.26
1 page meeting notice
February 28, 1974 Meeting Notice: LIBC meeting held Sunday, March 10, 1974 at the Swirbul Library at Adelphi University in Garden City, NY. Dr. Wesley Camp will present the topic "Publishing the First Edition of La Grande Encyclopedie of Diderot, 1751 - 1778." No Box 2
20.27
1 page membership application
nd LIBC Membership Appliation: Blank LIBC membership application. Undated. Box 2
20.28
1 booklet
June 21 - 24, 1978 Booklet: The Nineteenth ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Preconference;The Study of Books as Physical Objects: States of the Art. Yale University, June 21-24, 1978. Box 2
20.29
1 page announcement
nd Annoucement: "Friends of the Free Library Tour of New York City" Box 2
       
Folder 21.
Journal Planning
  Contains: Memo; note. Box 2
21.1
1 page memo
January 8, 1995 Memo: From John Woram for the members of the LIBC Journal Planning Committee. Memo outlines tips and suggestions regarding the upcoming LIBC Journal. Dated December 23, 1994. This copy of memo dated January 8, 1995. Box 2
21.2
1 page handwritten letter
January 27, 1981 Letter: To the LIBC Journal Planning Committee from Hugh McMillan Jr. asking the committee how he can subscribe to the LIBC Journal. Dated January 27, 1981. Handwritten on McMillan's personal letterhead. Box 2
       
Folder 22.
Friends of LIBC
  Contains: Miscellaneous: Letters; Newsletters; Booklet; Book; Catalogue; Post Card; newspaper article; Box 2
22.1
1 page typed letter
August 30, 1970 Letter: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Letterhead. To Mr. Gardner from Edgar Heyl, President. Dated "30 August 1970" Box 2
22.2
1 original newsletter
1980 Newsletter No. 2, Summer 1980 Box 2
22.3
1 original newsletter
1979 Newsletter No. 3, Fall 1979 Box 2
22.4
1 original newsletter
1979 Newsletter No. 2, Summer 1979 Box 2
22.5
1 original newsletter
March, 1979 Newsletter No. 1, March 1979 Box 2
22.6
1 original newsletter
August, 1978 Newsletter No. 2, August 1978 Box 2
22.7
1 page meeting notice
February 13, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for February 13, 1980. Box 2
22.8
1 page meeting notice
January 16, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for January 16, 1980. Box 2
22.9
1 page meeting notice
November 8, 1979 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for November 8, 1979 Box 2
22.10
1 page meeting notice
June 5, 1979 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Notice of June & July Meetings. Jun 05, 1979. Ben C. Bowman, Program Chairman. Box 2
22.11
2 page meeting calendar
nd Meeting Calendar: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Calendar of Spring Meetings. Ben C. Bowman, Program Chairman. (2pg) Box 2
22.12
1 page meeting memo
nd Meeting Memo: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting Memo by Hal Williams, President. Box 2
22.12
1 page meeting notice
November 18, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for November 18, 1980. The 26th Annual Meeting . Box 2
22.13
1 page meeting notice
October 15, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for October 15, 1980. Box 2
22.14
1 page meeting notice
July 27, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for July 27, 1980. Box 2
22.15
1 page meeting notice
June 24, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for June 24, 1980. Box 2
22.16
1 page meeting notice
March 20, 1980 Meeting Notice: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Meeting for March 20, 1980. Box 2
22.17
1 exhibition booklet
1968 Exhibition Booklet: Detroiters Collect - An Exhibition of Books and Manuscripts from Private Collections... April 9 - May 18, 1968. Exhibit held at Adam Strohm Hall, Detroit Public Library, 1968. Box 2
22.18
1 booklet
1975 Booklet: The Universal Coterie of Pipe Smokers: The Pipe Smoker's Ephemeris. Winter-Autumn: 1975. Edited by Tom Dunn. Limited edition. Box 2
22.19
1 booklet
nd Booklet: The Universal Coterie of Pipe Smokers: The Pipe Smoker's Ephemeris. Bibliographical checklist of books and others materials used in The Pipe Smokers Ephemeris. Box 2
22.20
1 page Flyer
nd Flyer: "Dadaism & Surrealism" and exhibiton "Books, Manuscripts, Graphics & Objects." From The Howard l. and Muriel Weingrow Fine Art Library at Hofstra. Box 2
22.21
1 page typed letter
May, 1975 Letter: To LIBC member from Evelyn F. McGArr, President. Friends of the Adelphi University Library, Inc. letterhead. Dated May 1975. Box 2
22.22
1 page handwritten note
April 24, 1974 Note: To Mrs. Greene from Edgar Heyl. Dated 24 April '74. Box 2
22.23
1 booklet
May 19, 1974 Booklet: The Baltimore Bibliophiles Third Auction., May 19, 1974. Box 2
22.24
1 original brochure
June 28, 1976 Brochure: The Angelica Press: Publishers and printers of Fine Books and Ephemera, The Angelica Press Corporation. [New York City]. June 28, 1976. The brochure is signed by the owners of the press. Box 2
22.25
page original newspaper article
June 1, 1977 Newspaper Article: "Ben Grauer, NBC's 'Al-Around Man,' Is Dead at 68" by Les Brown. Taken from The New York Times, June 1, 1977. Box 2
22.26
1 booklet
nd Booklet: This Book-Collecting Adventure, from The Delaware Bibliophiles, Newark, Delaware. Box 2
22.27
1 page typed note
February 28, 19? Note: To Mr. Gardner from Wesley D. Camp. Dated 28 February. Note requesting that Mr. Gardner join The Friends. Typed on Adelphi University letterhead. Box 2
22.28
1 page original newspaper obituary
nd Newspaper Obituary: Lew D. Feldman. Box 2
22.29
1 page linoleum cut
May 17, 1967 Linoleum Cut: Created by James and Ruth McCrea, as a keepsake for the Annual Institute of the Suffolk County Libraty Association, Huntington Town House, May 17, 1967. Box 2
22.30
1 book
June 10, 1976 Book: France and the American War for Independence by Stanley J. Idzerda., Published by Scott Limited Edition, Inc. [n.d.] Inscribed "To Long Island Book Collectors Roga E Smith June 10, 1976" Box 2
22.31
1 catalogue
nd Catalogue: The Cartographer, Catalogue No. IV Box 2
22.32
1 page typed letter
October 31, 1977 Letter: To Friends from Janith Stewart Kice, M.D., regarding the commemoration for Mr. Marion Groves. Dated October 31, 1977. Typed on Adelphi University letterhead. Box 2
22.33
1 page typed letter
July 5, 1977 Letter: To Edgar from Frederick R. Gardner, President. Dated July 5, 1977, regarding the usages of some lines from Journal No. 4. Typed on Adelphi University letterhead. Attached is the Catalog The Love of Books: Highlights from the Collections of the Bal Box 2
22.34
2 page original newspaper article
November 5, 1978 Newspaper Article: "West View: Jake Zeitlin at 75--looking back by Ward Ritchie." Taken from The Los Angeles Times, November 5, 1978. Box 2
22.35
1 page flyer
nd Flyer:"Dada in Berlin." An exhibition documenting the artistic literary and political activities of the Dada movement in Berlin at the time of the Weimar Republic. Box 2
22.36
1 booklet
July, 1977 Booklet: The Ephemerist "US INAUGURATION" Vol. 1 No. 11 July 1977. Box 2
22.37
1 booklet
September, 1980 Booklet: The Ephemerist "World Ephemera Year" Vol. 1 No. 30 Sept. 1980. Box 2
22.38
1 booklet
September, 1980 Booklet: The Ephemerist "World Ephemera Year" Vol. 1 No. 29 Sept. 1980. Box 2
22.39
1 booklet
May, 1980 Booklet: The Ephemerist "World Ephemera Year" Vol. 1 No. 28 May 1980. Box 2
22.40
1 booklet
March, 1980 Booklet: The Ephemerist "World Ephemera Year" Vol. 1 No. 27 March 1980. Box 2
22.41
1 post card
nd Post Card: "Asimov's Sherlockian Limericks" by Isaac Asimov Box 2
22.42
1 page invitation
June 8, 1980 Invitation: To Walt Whitman's Birthday Celebration, June 8, 1980. Box 2
22.43
1 original brochure
nd Brochure: Features descriptions of the following books - Mysterious News: The Roman Hat Mystery by Ellery Queen; The Anagram Detectives by Norma Schier; The Armchair Detective Magazine; Green For Danger by Christianna Brand. Box 2
22.44
1 exhibition booklet
April - May, 1979 Exhibition Booklet: Hand Bookbinding: The Art & Craft. Exhibition held at the Swirbul Library Gallery, Adelphi University from April 2 to May 20, 1979. 2 copies. Box 2
22.45
1 set of signed books and manuscripts
November 18, 1990 Signed Books and Manuscripts: "Rare Books" Travel, Exploration, Topography Western & Islamic Manuscripts Books Illustrated by Arthur Rackham Modern Press & Illustrated Books Costumes, Natural History Set, Binding, Literature Bibles, Earl Box 2
22.46
1 original library newsletter
September 5, 1972 Newsletter: The Library Chronicles of the University of Texas at Austin. New series number 5, September, 1972. Box 2
       
LIBC Publications and Books:      
LIBC Journal No.1 1969 LIBC Journal: No. 1 - 1969. 5 copies. Box 2
       
LIBC Journal No. 2 1972 LIBC Journal: No.2 - 1972. 4 copies, 1 of which is enclosed in plastic. Box 2
       
LIBC Journal No.3 1975 LIBC Journal: No. 3 - 1975. 2 copies. Box 2
       
LIBC Journal No. 4 1977 LIBC Journal: No. 4 - 1977. Publication celebrating the exhibition "Aspects of Book Collecting" held at the Adelphi University Library in Garden City, NY from October 8 - December 23, 1977. 3 copies, each enclosed in an envelope. Box 2
       
LIBC Journal No. 5 1993 LIBC Journal: No. 5 - 1993. Publication celebrating 25 years of the LIBC from 1966 to 1991. 2 copies. Box 2
       
Exhibition Handbook 1977 Exhibition Handbook: "Aspects of Book Collecting." Exhibition held October 8 - December 23, 1977 at the Adelphi University Library in Garden City, NY.
2 copies.
Box 2
       
Book 1976 Book: The New Robinson Crusoe. By Joachim Heinrich Campe. Preface by Frederick R. Gardner. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1976. Volumes 1 and 2. Box 2
       
Book 1982 Book: Renewals: Selected Poems and Translations. By Gerard Previn Meyer. Roslyn Harbor, NY and New York: The Stone House Press, 1982. Box 2
       
Book May 18, 1905 Book: Wise Men Fish Here. By W. G. Rogers. New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, Inc., [1965]. Inscribed "To The Long Island Book Collectors ... [from] Ruth and Herbert Runsdarf" and dated "10 December 1978." Box 2