Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. - Miscellaneous

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 5: Miscellaneous

  • Newsday Article. "The Middle Years: Caught in the Sandwich Syndrome."
    Handwritten note penned in the upper corner of the article: May 17, 1977. Adelphi. May 31, 1977 Newsday. The Long Island Paper. Nassau County.
  • Newsday Article. "Women Urged to Seek Own Success".
    Newsday, Sunday, November 7, 1976.
  • Original Press Release. C. W. Post Center of Long Island University. October, 1974.
    "C. W. Post Offers Minor in Women's Studies."
    Associate Professor of Sociology and Director of the Women's Studies Program Alice Scourby is quoted in this press release.
  • Program: The Greek Experience in America. Symposium '76. Center for Continuing Education. The University of Chicago. October 29 - 31, 1976.
    Afternoon Session: Alice Scourby Presents: "Three Generations of Greek Americans".
  • Presentation: Scourby, Alice. "Myths and The Mary Jane Principle". Adelphi University. Garden City, NY. Conference on The Long Island Women: Moving Beyond the Myth. November 6, 1976.
  • Program: Psycho-Social Perspectives of the Greek American Community Symposium. Sunday, March 5, 1977. Fordham University at Lincoln Center, New York, NY.
    Workshop 3. The Sociological and Anthropological Perspectives. Discussion Leader. Alice Scourby, Ph.D. Professor of Sociology. Director: Women's Studies Program.
    C. W. Post Center. Long Island University.
  • Program: The Presentation of The Charioteer Award for 1977. February 5, 1977. Carnegie International Center. New York City.
    Speaker Alice Scourby: "The Greek American Artist: A Sociological Perspective."
  • Solicitation from Adelphi University's Career Advisement Center. "Two on a See-Saw- The Dual Career Couple. Tuesday, May 17, 1977.
    Guest Speaker Dr. Alice Scourby: "What is Middle Age." (Dr. Scourby is Coordinator of Women's Studies at C. W. Post and is also Associate Professor in the departments of Sociology and Anthropology at Post.
  • Book Review: "Sociologist says meaning of "ethnic" is obscure for newer generations. (A review of Dr. Scourby's new publication The Greek Americans. The Hellenic Journal. January 10, 1985. (Copy).
  • "New York author to discuss studies of Greek-Americans". The Hellenic Journal. May 2, 1985. (Alice Scourby was the guest speaker on May 21 at a dinner meeting of the Hellenic American Professional Society).
  • "Greek sociologist is guest speaker in Sacramento". The Hellenic Journal. May 2, 1985. (Alice Scourby was featured speaker at a dinner meeting of the Sacramento American Hellenic Professional Society of Northern California on Sunday, May 19, [1985]).
  • News Release. May 11, 1985: "New York Sociologist Will Speak in Fresno". Alice Scourby ends a California lecture tour in a speech at the St. George Greek Orthodox Church in Fresno on May 26, [1985]".
  • Program: Centennial Banquet Commemorating the One Hundredth Anniversary of the Birth of His All Holiness Patriarch Athenagoras. Saturday, February 14, 1987. Anaheim, California.
    Includes a copy of The Hellenic Journal March 19, 1987 article "The Patriarch, the Philoptohos, and Greek-American Women". Editor's note: "The first installment of this paper, which Dr. Scourby read at the Athenagoras Centennial Celebration Banquet on February 14 at the Anaheim Hotel appeared last issue". "Church role of women. Eastern Orthodox officials to consider allowing deaconesses" by Daily News Religion Writer, Ira Rifkin. Daily News. Saturday, February 14, 1987. (Copy).
  • Program: The Expanding Role of Women in Modern Society. Fifth Annual Symposium on Medicine, Psychology and Religion. April 19, 1986. Maliotis Cultural Center. Hellenic College. Brookline, Massachusetts.
    "Greek Women in Modern Society" [presented by} Dr. Alice Scourby, Chair, Department of Sociology and Anthropology. Long Island University. 19:00 a.m.
  • Program: "Archbishop Iakovos Nameday Dinner. Commemorating the 40th. Anniversary of Holy Cross Greek Orthodox School of Theology. Grand Ballroom. The Waldorf Astoria. Sunday, October 21, 1977". Greetings: Professor Alice Scourby. ... Long Island University.
  • Brochure/Mailer: "Enroll in Our Cooperative Education Seminar. The New Long Island University". Brochure describes "The Long Island University Plan. Experience Enriched Education...." Includes return address: Dr. Alice Scourby. Chair, Department of Sociology and Anthropology. Long Island University. C. W. Post Campus. Brookville, New York. 11548.
  • "Network for Greek-American Women Created." Hellenic Journal. October 11, 1990. Page 5. (Copy).
    Dr. Alice Scourby was one of the original founders of the Greek-American Women's Network.
  • Brochure/Mailer: "Introducing Greek American Women's Network." (G.A.W.N.) Includes descriptive information about G.A.W.N. and an application to join. Includes Dr. Alice Scourby's contact information at Long Island University.
  • Book Review: "Bookshelf" contributor Alice Scourby reviews "Holy Mothers of Orthodoxy" by Eva Catafygiotu Topping. The Greek American. nd.
    "This book review also appeared in Modern Greek Studies Yearbook, Volume 5, 1988 and is a reprint."
  • Book Review, February, 1993: Alice Scourby, Ph.D., Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology, Long Island University, reviews Demons and the Devil by Charles Steward, 1991. (This review is a copy of the 1992 Scourby review).
    (This review first appeared in Sociological Analysis: A Journal in the Sociology of Religion. Winter, 1992).
  • Book Review. Alice Scourby, Long Island University reviews Studies on Greek Americans. By George A. Kourvetaris. East European Monographs. New York: Columbia University Press, 1997. This review was from the Journal of American Ethnic History, Winter 1999. (Copy).
  • Rich, Harlem. "New Minor Women's Studies". Pioneer. June 27, 1974.
  • Twayne Publishers/ G.K. Hall & Co. Press Release: The Greek Americans by Alice Scourby. Includes short biography on Alice Scourby. (Copy).
  • Notes: "Introduction". Descriptive Listing of books by Alice Scourby. np. nd.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 5: Selected Honors

  • Original typed invitation: "You Are Invited To A Reception for Dr. Alice Scourby hosted by Tom & Peggy Stephanopoulos. Saturday May 25 7:00 P.M. (Buffet Dinner").
  • Invitation: The Second Annual Greek World Awards. 1978. On the Occasion of the 157th Anniversary of Greek Independence. Greek World. The Magazine for the Friends of Greece Cordially invites.... (Alice Scourby is one of four recipients to receive the Second Annual Greek World Award on Saturday, March 18, 1978. Americana Hotel. New York City). Copy of a newspaper (np) announcement is included with the invitation.
  • LIU Announcement: "Author of "The Greek Americans Honored". "Dr. Alice Scourby of Garden City, New York has been named a recipient of Long Island University's Trustees Awards for Scholarly Achievement for 1986".
  • LIU Press Release: "Long Island University Trustees Honor Three at C. W. Post for Scholarly Achievement". Dr. Alice Scourby was one of three C. W. Post faculty members to receive $1,000.00 cash award at the Ninth Annual TASA awards dinner scheduled for September [1986].
  • Original Letter dated March 18, 1999 from Alan Fleishman to Dr. Alice Scourby.
    inviting her to be an honoree at New York City Comptroller Alan G. Hevesi's upcoming celebration of Greek Heritage on Wednesday, April 28, 1999 in the Public Hearing Room at City Hall.
    Alan Fleishman's letterhead: The City of New York. Office of the Comptroller. Office of Community Relations. 1 Centre Street, Room 720. New York, NY 10007-2341.
  • Invitation from Alan G. Hevesi. Comptroller of the City of New York for the celebration of Greek Heritage and Culture. Wednesday, April 28, 1999. (Dr. Alice Scourby is one of five Distinguished Honorees. (Copy).

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 5: Obituary Notices

Alice Scourby. Ph.D. February 5, 1925 -- October 18, 2009
Professor Emerita. Long Island University

  • "In Memoriam. Professor Alice Scourby Passed Away". The Hellenic Link, Inc. No. 82, November 2009.
  • "A Celebration of the Life of Alice Scourby. February 5, 1925 - October 18, 2009". A tribute to Alice Scourby by Alex Vavoulis. October 18, 2009. Fresno, California. (Typed copy. 2 pages).
  • Copy of a photo of Alice Scourby.

Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. -- Folder 5: Media

Illuminations Presents Religion and Ethnicity with Prof. Alexander Kitroeff, Dr. Alice Scourby,. Rev Ilia Katre. Host and Exec. Producer: Yannis Simonides. Circa: 1987. A Panel Discussion. DVD.
(Includes a handwritten penned note from Alex Vavoulis (Donor of the Archive Alice Scourby, Ph. D.) to Jarron [Jewell, LIU Post Archives and Special Collection].
 

Prepared by Abraham Orenstein and Jennifer Campos. August 24, 2016.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday