Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Alice Scourby, Ph.D. - Home

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Biography: Alice Scourby, Ph.D. (February 5, 1925 - October 18, 2009)

In 1967, Alice Scourby, Ph.D. joined the C. W. Post academic community. She served as a faculty member and Chair in the Sociology and Anthropology Departments at LIU Post. She was a pioneer who made important contributions to LIU as well as the Greek-American Community. In 1974, she established and became Coordinator of the first program at C. W. Post to offer a Minor in Women's Studies. While championing women's issues, she took on the study of the "Middle Age Years". She published six books and numerous articles and lectured on ethnicity and gender studies throughout the United States and abroad. Scourby was heralded for her ethnographic work in her book The Greek Americans. She was one of the original founders of the Greek-American Women's Network (G.A.W.N) in 1990.

Dr. Scourby won many awards such as the Second Annual Greek World Award from the Greek World Magazine in 1978 and LIU's honorary Trustees Award for Scholarship Achievement (TASA) in 1986. In 1999, she received an invitation from Alan G. Hevesi, Comptroller of the City of New York, to be a one of few distinguished honorees at the City's Greek Heritage and Culture Celebration. Though Alice Scourby's death in 2009 was a great loss for the LIU community, her legacy remains vital and inspirational.

Collections Facts at a Glance

Benefactor:
Between 2014-2016, Alice Scouby's brother Alexander Vavoulis and her son Lex Scourby, generously donated the materials housed in the Archive of Alice Scourby. Dr. Vavoulis is Professor Emeritus at California State University, Fresno, and Lex Scourby received an MBA degree at Long Island University, and was awarded the William Troy Award (2015) as a Board Member of New England College (BA 1975), as a leader in business, the community and sports.
Collection Time Period:
20th century
Writings:
6 Books/Journals
5 Folders of archival material including numerous articles by Dr. Scourby
1 DVD: Illuminations Presents "Religion and Ethnicity"
Location:
Archives and Special Collections. Room #345 and 346. Second Floor. LIU Post Library.
Repository:
Archives and Special Collections - B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library, LIU. LIU Post.
User Restrictions:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. Appointments are necessary for researchers. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment. 516/299-2880.

Donors: Alex Vavoulis (brother) and Lex Scourby (son)

Professor Vavoulis writes that he was inspired by his sister Alice to become an academician. The following is a moving tribute for his sister:

Opticon Yearbook Photograph of Dr. Alice Scourby in 1978

Alice Scourby in 1978

Opticon Yearbook Photograph of Dr. Alice Scourby with the Sociology Faculty in 1986

Alice Scourby with the Sociology Faculty

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday