Mrs. Mary M. Lai, Treasurer Emerita of Long Island University, generously donated her family's Personal Collection of Photo Albums and Scrapbooks in 2015 to both the Archives and Special Collections at
|Collection Time Period:
20th and 21st Centuries
The Archive of Mary and Buck Lai Personal Family Photo Albums and Scrapbooks housed at
The Collection is available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections' Reading Room. We encourage appointments in order to best serve our patrons. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Copyright considerations will be reviewed. For information on reproductions for academic publishing or commercial use please call or email us.
The Mary and Buck Lai Family Photo Albums and Scrapbooks were compiled by Mr. Buck Lai.
|Boxbinder 1: Photo Album and Miscellaneous Archives
Boxbinder 2: Scrapbook - Archives and Photographs
Boxbinder 3: Scrapbook - Archives and Photographs
Boxbinder 4: Scrapbook - Photographs, Press Clippings, Archives
Boxbinder 5: Scrapbook - Photographs, Press Clippings, Archives
Boxbinder 6: Photo Album - Original Photographs
Boxbinder 7: Photo Album - Original Photographs
Boxbinder 8: Photo Album - Original Photographs
Boxbinder 9: Photo Album - Original Photographs
Boxbinder 10: Photo Album - Original Photographs
Boxbinder 11: Scrapbook - Photographs, Programs and Press Clippings
|Boxbinder 12: Mary Frances Maneri Lai
Boxbinder 13: Scrapbook - Photographs and Press Clippings
The Archive of Mary Maneri Lai
Finding Aid 1: Awards, Correspondence, Periodicals, Ephemera
Finding Aid 2: Awards, Poems, Professional Citations, Watercolor
Finding Aid 3: Architectural Drawing, Collage, Professional Citations
Honor: The Trustees of LIU Confer Upon Mary M. Lai the Degree of
Doctor of Humane Letters. November 2, 1986
Finding Aids prepared and compiled by Jennifer Campos, January 6, 2017.
Shoot the Athletic Director (1950-79)
|1||Original Label for the Lai Family Album - Book 1.
|2||Letter to the Lai family from William T. Lai, Jr. nd
|3||Preface for Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (2 copies). nd
|4||Hand-written list of Albums (1-24).
|5||Hand-written list of Albums (25-34).
|6||List of Buck Lai-Live Play by Play on TV Also Pregame and Half Time Interviews. nd
|7||"Shoot the Athletic Director." Copy of cover of the original album. nd
|8||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks Albums: 1-7.
(Divided between LIU Post and LIU Brooklyn Archives and Special Collections).
|9||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Albums: 8-16. (Divided between LIU Post and LIU Brooklyn Archives and Special Collections).
|10||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Albums: #17-20A (Note to family from William T. Lai, Jr.).
(Divided between LIU Post and LIU Brooklyn Archives and Special Collections)
|11||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
|12||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Albums: 28- 35.
|13||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Albums: 36- 42.
|14||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
|15||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Albums 54- 59.
|16||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
|17||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
|18||Table of Contents: Picture Albums and Scrapbooks (cont.)
Scrapbooks: 14-16 and Additional scrapbook information.
|19||William T. Lai, Jr. sitting at the middle of the table, with four men -Equitable Life Assurance Society. May 1950. Photograph.
|20||William T. Lai, Jr. sitting at a table with four men -Equitable Life Assurance Society. May 1951. Photograph.
|21||Treasurer Mary M. Lai & William T. Buck Lai speaking to Dr. and Mrs. John Baiardi sitting at a table - 1975.
|22||Top photograph: Baseball team picture. Sitting left to right: Schwartz, P.R.; Ike Pappas, Editor of Sewanhaka.
Bottom photograph: Buck Lai, Head Coach; Bob Tunpin, LF; Joe Ruggiero, LHP; Ira Goldberg, RHP. (1950). 2 Photographs.
|23||Baseball Team at tryouts. Ebbets Field, Brooklyn 1952. Photograph.
|24||LIU Brooklyn C. Baseball Team at C.W. Post Center Campus
"Championship Baseball" cover. In photograph: Mickey Pinto, Hank Malfa, Joe Bono, Sal Solafani, Coach Lai. Spring. April 1953. Photograph.
|25||Jess Colyer, Tom Holmes, Greg Mulleauy, Buck Lai. Seated: Manager Walter Alston Feb. 21 1954. Photograph.
|26||Ed Picker and Buck Lai at Spring Training in Dodgertown, Verobeach Florida. Photograph.
|27||Walter O' Malley (center), Buck Lai and Bud Holman. Dodgertown, Vero Beach, Florida. The group of campers land at Airport. "Fly Easter Air Lines" Plane is behind the group. July 1955. Photograph.
|28||Ed Picker (former LIU Student) and Buck Lai at the pitching strings on the field. Dodgertown, Vero Beach, Florida. March 1955. Photograph.
|29||Buck Lai with Elmer Ripley, Former head basketball coach at Yale. Dodgertown, Vero Beach, Florida. July 1954. Photograph.
|30||Dodgertown Camp for boys - Dodgers Spring Training Camp Holman Stadium. Photograph. nd
Red Book 2 (1951-1961)
|1||Table of Contents of Red Book 1 - Red Book 3. Includes a note from William T. "Buck" Lai explaining the contents of the photo albums and scrapbooks. nd|
|2||Table of Contents continued Red Book 4 - Red Book 6. nd|
|3||Table of Contents continued Red Book 6 - Red Book 7 nd|
|4||"Sitting around a table Buck, Clay Bryant, Gussie Moran, Vince Scully. Dodgertown, Vero Beach, Florida." March 17, 1952. Photograph. |
|5||"Director of Athletics." William T. "Buck" Lai Headshot. 1950? |
|6||"LIU Baseball Coach Raps South's Segregation Rule." Buck Lai mentioned in article. Two Books - Written and Illustrated. Press Clipping. nd|
|7||"NCAA." (Left to right) Bob Wren from Ohio U., Chuck Farrington and William Lai from Long Island U. Photograph. nd|
|8||Original Letter to William Lai from Assistant to the President Clair F. Bee. Letter is asking William Lai to assume the duties of Assistant Director of Athletics. November 28, 1951. |
|9||"Lift the ban, students plead." (Photo of students protesting LIU's cancellation of its intercollegiate sports program. Press clippings. February 22, 1951. |
|10|| Baseball Clinic- Nuremberg, Germany. Photograph. nd|
|11||Alumni Review. Article mentions "PIC" Picariello and Buck Lai. April 1951. Copy of Press Clipping. nd|
|12||(Mary and William Lai's ) Two Sons - Billy and Rick. Photograph. nd|
|13||"Operation Rebound" - Revival of Basketball at LIU. nd|
|14||"Who's Who in the East". Article of William T. Buck Lai. Press Release. nd|
|15||LIU Baseball - First woman manager of a men's intercollegiate varsity team. Photograph. nd|
|16||Little League Baseball - Buck's doctoral dissertation. nd|
|17|| LIU Chairman - Department of Health and Physical Education. Photograph. nd|
|18|| New York Sandlot Baseball Program- Journal American. Press Clipping. nd|
|19|| Retirement as LIU Head Varsity Basketball Coach. (Also retired as Head Baseball Coach to devote time to Director of Athletics and Chairman of the Health and Physical Education Department.)|
|1||"LIU Eleven years later." Article mentions Coach William T. Lai. Press Clipping.|
|2||William T. Lai holding an award plaque. 1962. Photograph.|
"To Dr. William T. "Buck" Lai. For his distinguished leadership and guidance in conducting the rewarding athletic program at Long Island University May 11, 1962. Staff of Seawanhaka." Note below photograph of Buck Lai holding the award plaque.
|3||"LIU - Conversion of the Brooklyn Paramount Theater (second largest in New York City) into a Gymnasium." Buck Lai in photograph. May 4, 1963. Brooklyn Eagle. Copy of Press Clipping.|
|4||Long Island University. Varsity Club Awards Dinner. 11th Annual. May 10, 1963. Program.|
|5||Long Island University. Brooklyn Campus. Gymnasium. 1963. Copy of Photograph.|
|6||Brooklyn Sports Meeting. Hotel Granada. Buck Lai. 1965. Photograph.|
|7||"Who's Who in the East." William T. Lai. 1969. Copy of an Article.|
|8||"LIU - The Fastest Growing University In America Boasts the 'Best Equipped' Athletic Director in Buck Lai." Brooklyn Times. March 11 to 17, 1965. Original Press Clipping.|
|9||"LIU - University Director of Athletics (including Brooklyn, C.W. Post and Southampton)." Buck Lai. Press Release. nd|
|10||"WNYC to Telecast LIU Home Games." William T. Lai did play-by-play, plus half-time interviews. March 1, 1967. Press Clipping.|
|11||Chancellor's Dinner. Long Island University. NCAA and ECAC Basketball Champions College Division. 1966-1967. Metropolitan Club. April 20, 1967. Photograph.|
|12|| Original Letter from R. Gordon Hoxie, LIU Chancellor, to Dr. William T. Lai. Appointing Lai as Acting Provost of the Brooklyn Campus from April 5, 1967 to August 31, 1970.|
|13||Acting Provost William T. Lai. Speaking at the LIU (Brooklyn Center) Commencement. June 6, 1967. Copy of Photograph.|
|14|| "William T. Lai's Career: Grad to Top Man at LIU." Press Clipping. nd|
|15||"LIU's Mighty Rebound: From Depths to New Top." Daily News. February 22, 1968.|
|16|| Dr. William T. "Buck" Lai. February 29, 1968. Original Draft Typed Biography.|
Red Book 4 (1968-1971)
|1||LIU - National Invitation Tournament (NIT) - Bill Gallo's cartoons for the N.Y. Daily News. 9 Pictures. nd|
|2||"Black Unity Members at LIU Hold Acting Provost Hostage." The New York Times. April 26, 1968. Press Clipping.|
|3||William T. Lai Provost of Long Island University, Brooklyn, is escorted from his office by sit in student. Copy of News Photograph. nd|
|4||"Lai Declines Offer of Permanent Post." Seawanhaka News Article. May 9, 1968. Press Clipping.|
|5||LIU - Memorandum Petition by faculty members of the Brooklyn Campus, in an effort to convince Mr. Lai to reconsider his resignation. May 9, 1968. 6 Pages.|
|6||"Lai Request Reassignment." Seawanhaka News Article. May 16, 1968. Press Clipping.|
|7||"Athletics -The Merriweather Campus (C.W. Post) - Report of Dr. William T. Lai - University Director of Athletics, Long Island University." (Firing of the Chancellor). nd|
|8||Original Salutation Address by Dr. William T. Lai. Acting Provost. Commencement, Brooklyn Center, Long Island University. June 4, 1968. 2 Typed Pages.|
|9||Director of Athletics / Chairman of the Physical Education Department. (LIU Administration was decentralized after the Chancellor left).|
|10||Southampton College, LIU, Athletic Dinner. 1969. Copy of Photograph.|
|11||WNYC - TV LIU Basketball Game Interview. Left to right: Jackie Robinson, William T. "Buck" Lai, and Alexander Aldrich. Copy of Photograph. nd|
|12||C. W. Post Commencement after Lai is given new position as Athletic Director at C.W. Post Campus.|
Top Photo: William T. (Buck) Lai saluting flag during Star Spangled Banner. Bottom Photo: University treasurer, Mary Lai. Summer Seawanhaka. Sept. 9, 1971. Press Clipping.
|13||Retired baseball player, Jackie Robinson and William T. "Buck" Lai. Interview. January 1970. Copy of Photograph.|
Scrapbook 4 (1934-84)
|1||"A Message from the Director of Physical Education and Athletics." William T. Lai, Captain, USMMA, Director of Physical Ed. & Athletics. 1976.|
|2||Captain, "Bucky" Lai. Football Game: Audubon vs Woodrow Wilson. November 9, 1935. Copy of Photograph.|
|3||"LIU Sports Leader Off for Germany." William T. "Buck" Lai. March 2, 1956. Press Clipping.|
|4||Mary M. Lai, elected first woman president of the National Association of College and University Business Officers. Press Clipping. nd|
|5||"No Passing the Buck with Acting Provost." Long Island Press. July 30, 1967. Press Clipping.|
|6||"Captain William "Buck" Lai. Brief Biography. Rockaway Point News. August 21, 1975. Press Clipping.|
|7||Brief Ceremony after USMMA Basketball Game. Left to Right: Commander Dan Buckley, Rear Admiral Arthur B. Engel; Midshipman Dan Rogers and Captain William T. Lai. Photograph. nd|
|8||"This LIU Sporting Life. Anecdotes and Antidotes of an Athletic Director." The Long Island University Magazine. Fall 1966.|
|9||"Expenses Blitz Post, Hofstra Football." Buck Lai, Post AD, talks about the high cost of football. February 10, 1971. Press Clipping.|
|10|| "320 pay tribute to retiring Captain Lai." Press Clipping. nd|
|11|| "LIU - The Fastest Growing University In America Boasts the 'Best Equipped' Athletic Director in Buck Lai." Brooklyn Times. March11 to 17 1965. Press Clipping.|
|12|| "Faculty Vote to Join Students Tomorrow in Their March to the Mayor's Office." Seawanhaka Press. October 2, 1967. Press Clipping.|
|13|| "Lai Calls for Self-government in Faculty Farewell Address." Seawanhaka Press. May 16, 1968. Press Clipping.|
|14|| "'Buck' Lai is Saluted as 'Alumnus of Year'". Alumni Newsletter. December 1983. Press Clipping.|
|15|| Original correspondence from Who's Who, Inc. to William Thomas Lai Jr. Who's Who biographical sketch and data for 20th edition of Who's Who in the East. October 25, 1984.|
|16|| Thank you letter from Matthew Schure, President of NYIT to William Lai, NYIT Athletic Director. March 22, 1985.|
Photo Album 12 - Shoot the Athletic Director (1957-82)
|1||William T. Lai. Headshot 1941. Photograph|
|2||William T. Buck Lai. Holding LIU Varsity Club Achievement Award. 1958. Photograph.|
|3||"LIU - Left to right: Ken Hunter, Assistant Coach. Roy Rubin, Coach. William T. (Buck) Lai, Athletic Director." Photograph. nd|
|4||Buck Lai and Roy Rubin. Conversion of the Brooklyn Paramount Theater into a Gymnasium. LIU Brooklyn, NY. Photograph. nd|
|5||M/N John Bailey, NCAA Championship. 1st Place in 200 I-M. 1974. Photograph.|
|6||USMMA. Left to Right: Clive Rush, Admiral Eugel, Buck Lai. Kings Point, N.Y. August 8, 1976. Photograph.|
|7||Buck Lai, Congressman Pete McCloskey, CA. Captain Renick. Photograph. nd|
|8||Lou Rossini, Assistant Coach, St. Francis University and William T. "Buck" Lai. Madison Square Garden. December 9, 1978. Photograph.|
|9||LIU - St. Francis Game, St. Francis Gym, Brooklyn, NY.|
Lai-Lynch Award to Riley Clarida. January 1982. Photograph.
|10||Captain, William T. Lai. USMS. Head of Department of Physical Education and Athletics. Headshot. Photograph.|
Buck Lai (Blue Green Book 4 of 4)
|1||"Alice's Wedding, Audubon NJ -1945 World War II (Buck's Sister)" Mary Lai and William T. Lai. Photograph.|
|2||Captain "Buck" Lai, USMS LT. (S.C.) USNR, WWII - (1941-1946). Captain, USMS - (1973-1983). USMMA, Kings Point, NY. Headshot. Photograph.|
|3||Graduation of Student Athletes of LIU. Buck Lai, Athletic Director. 1954. Photograph.|
|4||LIU Baseball Champions - Left to right: Sal Claron, Mikey Pinto, Buck Lai Star Pitcher & Catcher. 1954. Photograph.|
|5||"William Thomas Lai Born Sept. 30, 1953." "Billy" 7 months. Photograph.|
|6||Buck Lai Manager of NY All Stars, Selecting Team at Ebbets Field. 1947. Photograph.|
|7||U.S. Baseball Coaches - Frank O' Hara, Baseball Coach - Colgate U. Buck Lai - Baseball Coach Director Athletics, LIU Nuremberg, Germany - Selected by U.S. Army to give Baseball Clinics to Coaches at German U.S. bases that had baseball teams, also England. 1954. Photograph.|
|8||Annual Varsity Club Dinner and Awards Jim Barrows, Pres., of Varsity Club. 1955. Photograph.|
|9||Construction of LIU Dormitory, Parking lot, Athletic field, and Gymnasium adjacent to LIU Brooklyn. Flatbush Ave and Pearl St. 1958. 8 Photographs.|
|10|| LIU Meeting. Mary and Buck Lai seated at table. 1960? Photograph.|
|11||William T. Lai. Sworn into TEP Fraternity. 1967. Photograph.|
|12||Mr. & Mrs. Lai Wedding. 1943. Photograph.|
Photo Album 14 - Mary (1938-1972)
|1||"Photo taken at the picnic grounds not far from Dee's house." (Dee kicking up. Mary Lai in background.) Photograph. nd|
|2||Mary Manner and Buck Lai. Photograph. nd|
|3||Mary M. Lai and Buck Lai. August 29, 1942. Photograph.|
|4||Dr. Campbell, John Murray and Mary Manner. October 1938. Photograph.|
|5||Mary - Breezy Point House. August 1966. Photograph|
|6||Family Photo Easter. Audubon, New Jersey. April 1968. Photograph.|
|7||Accounting Honor Society. "Waddaya mean we can't add". 1942. Photograph.|
|8||Mary Lai Headshot. November 10, 1961. Photograph.|
|9||Newman Club. 1942. Photograph.|
|10||Sigma Omega Phi - Mary Lai. 1942. Photograph.|
|11||Mary Lai. July 1963. Photograph.|
|12||Women's Advisory Council - W.A.C. 1942. "What - tea again?" 1942. Photograph.|
|13||Mary Lai. Commencement. C.W. Post. June 1967. Photograph|
|14||Matilda Tazi, Mary Puck Haber, Peggy Shank, Mary Lai (seated). July 1977. Photograph.|
|15||Mary Lai, V.P. Frank Lorenzo, Chancellor Bush - Brown and V.P. William J. Laragia (of Chemical Bank) donate $2,800 to LIU. January 1978. Photograph.|
|16||Mary Lai and William T. Lai. LIU 7th Cotillion. April 22, 1960. Photograph.|
|17||LIU Cotillion. Towers Hotel. November 19, 1954. Photograph.|
|18||Mary M. Lai. C.W. Post Graduation. June 1966. Photograph.|
Photo Album 15 - Mary M. Lai (1947-78)
|1||Mary Maneri. Headshot. 1938? Photograph.|
|2||Young Mary Maneri. Photograph. nd|
|3||Mary Maneri Lai, 42, and Clifford A. Foley, 52. Alumni Homecoming. May 20, 1977. Photograph.|
|4||Mr. James J. Wilson, 42, receiving distinguished award from Mary Maneri Lai, 42 at Alumni Awards. June 8, 1977. Photograph.|
|5||Mary Maneri Lai seated at table surrounded by people. Brooklyn Campus, LIU. March 1973. Photograph.|
|6||UFCT Union Chancellor Bush - Brown and Israel Kogler signing LIU - UFCT agreement. Mary Lai standing in background. Brooklyn Center, LIU. May 1972. Photograph.|
|7||Budget Director Robert Pavese checks the figures with Mary M. Lai, University Treasurer. April 1974. Photograph.|
|8||Mary Lai, R. Caso and Edward Cook. Archi Awards. November 1974. Photograph.|
|9||Archi Awards. Great Neck, NY. November 1974. Photograph.|
|10||David Janis presents award to Mary M. Lai. Photograph. nd|
|11||Chancellor Albert Bush-Brown and Treasurer Mary M. Lai discuss University needs with Chemical Bank Vice Presidents Frank Lourenso and William J. Laraia [a C.W. Post Alumnus]. January 1978. Photograph.|
|12||Mary. M. Lai, University Treasurer; Theodore M. Black, Chancellor, NY State Board of Regents; Albert Bush-Brown, LIU Chancellor; Herbert J. Brauer; MHT Vice-President; Peter Brandel, MHT Vice-President; Edward J. Cook, C.W. Post President. Manufacturers Hanover Trust. C.W. Post Center. February 27, 1978. Photograph.|
|13||"Ike" Pappas & Mary M. Lai. Brooklyn Center. Long Island University. June 1976. Photograph.|
|14||President Harry A. Marmion making presentation with Mary M. Lai. Southampton College, NY. March 1978. Photograph.|
|15||Budget Meeting for 1969-1970. March 1970. Photograph.|
|16||Charter Day Dinner. 40th Anniversary of LIU. 1966. Photograph.|
|17||Mary M. Lai. 1938. Photograph.|
|18||Rosalyn Yalow, Paul M. Fye, Mary M. Lai. Graduation. Brooklyn Center, LIU. June 1978. Photograph.|
Photo Album 16 - Mary (1942-81)
|1||Mary M. Lai, Ruth Samuels, Chancellor Albert Bush-Brown. Brooklyn Center, LIU. June 1979. Photograph.|
|2||Mary M. Lai. Peach Tree Plaza. Atlanta, GA. June 21, 1979. Photograph.|
|3||Mary M. Lai and William T. Lai. December 25, 1973. Audubon, NJ. Photograph.|
|4||Mary Maneri Lai and President [of Brooklyn Campus] Edward A. Clark. Alumni Letter Writing Workshop. May 2, 1979. Photograph.|
|5||Mary M. Lai making a toast. Chase Park Plaza. St. Louis, Mo. June 19, 1980. Photograph.|
|6||Mary M. Lai and William T. Lai dancing together. Chase Park Plaza. St. Louis, Mo. June 19, 1980. Photograph.|
|7||Mary Maneri Lai '42. "Alumnus of the year" 1978. Alumni Reunions/ Homecoming. May 1978. Photograph.|
|8||Mary Maneri Lai '42 presents award to Spencer Amory '79. Alumni Awards. 1979. Photograph.|
|9||Mary M. Lai and William T. Lai. New Year's Eve, Brookville, NY. January 1, 1980. Photograph.|
|10||Mary Lai, Treasurer, Long Island University. David Lyons, V.P. and Controller Rockefeller University. NACUBO. Waldorf Astoria Hotel. NYC, NY. June 25, 1981. Photograph.|
|11||Turnpike Lodge, Santa Barbara, CA. August 13, 1981. Photograph.|
|12||Villa Julie College, MD. Middle States Accreditation Committee. February 1982. Photograph.|
Book 54 - Mary Frances Maneri Lai (1981)
|1||Testimonial Dinner - May 14, 1981, University Bulletin, Song Sheet, Dinner Program, Cocktail Reception.|
|2||"Dinner Will Honor University Treasurer." University Bulletin. Vol 9. No. 5. April 1981. Photograph.|
|3||Long Island University Trustees' Award to Mary Maneri Lai. Seating List. Milleridge Cottage. May 14, 1981. Photograph.|
|4||Mary Maneri Lai and William T. Lai. Testimonial Dinner. May 14, 1981. Photograph.|
|5||"Mary Lai Reaches 35-Year Milestone." by William W. Lowe. Press Clipping. nd|
|6||Testimonial Dinner Guests in Attendance. May 14, 1981. Photograph.|
Book 54 A - Mary Frances Maneri Lai (1972-81)
|1||Original Invitation to the Testimonial Dinner. May 14, 1981. Milleridge Inn Cottage. Jericho, NY.|
|2||Letter to Mary M. Lai from Billie Billing and Bob Gesslein. Congratulating Mrs. Lai on 35 year of dedicated service to Long Island University. June 18, 1981. Original Letter.|
|3||Alumni Reunion. October 1972. Photograph.|
|4||Alan Teppee and Mary M. Lai. March 1974. Photograph.|
|5||Mary M. Lai and Edward A. Clark writing letters. 1979. Photograph.|
|6||Mary M. Lai. March 1974. Photograph.|
|7||Mary M. Lai speaking at the Alumni Awards. June 7, 1978. Photograph.|
Book 55 - Mary Frances Maneri Lai (1981)
|1||"400 Honor Mary Lai at 35-Year Dinner." University Bulletin. June 1981. Press Clipping.
|2||"Mary Lai Feted." Long Island University Trustees' Award to Mary Maneri Lai. Rockaway Point News. June 25, 1981. Press Clipping.
|3||"Pointers Who Attended Testimonial to Mary Lai." Rockaway Point News. July 16, 1981. Press Clipping.
|4||"Mary Lai Feted." Long Island University Trustees' Award to Mary Maneri Lai. Rockaway Point News. June 25, 1981. Copy of Press Clipping.
|5||Testimonial Diner - May14, 1981, Dinner Pictures, Songfest Pictures, Dais Pictures, Award Pictures, Post Dinner Pictures, University Bulletin. [June 1981]. 73 Photographs.
|1||1 Volume: "Sound" - 1967 LIU Brooklyn Yearbook. Includes Acting Provost Buck Lai's Letter to the Class of 1967. (Long Island University. The Brooklyn Center. Zeckendorf Campus, Brooklyn, NY 11201).|
(Buck Lai's stamp with "William T. Lai Director of Athletics" NYIT is on the front fly leaf).
Archival Box 1
|Folder 1||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: New York State Assembly Certificate of Merit. Presented by Kenneth P. Zebrowski.|
|Folder 2||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: Certificate of Achievement of the County of Rockland. Presented by Hon. William L. Darden, County Legislator.|
|Folder 3||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: New York State Assembly Citation, in recognition of her dedication to youth and education through her fine work as a Finance Officer in Higher Education. Presented by Ellen C. Jaffee, Member of Assembly. |
|Folder 3||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: Certificate of Achievement. On the occasion of being honored by the American Association of University Women as a "Woman Who Has Made a Difference" for her outstanding contributions to our community. Presented by Nita M. Lowey, Member of Congress.|
|Folder 3||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: Award of Excellence. In recognition of being a "Woman Who Has Made a Difference" in Rockland County, New York. Presented by Hon. C. Scott Vanderhoef, Rockland County Executive. |
|Folder 3||March 20, 2010||Mary Maneri Lai: Town of Ramapo, Certificate of Merit. In recognition of outstanding contributions to the community. American Association of University Women, Rockland Chapter. Presented by Christopher P. St. Lawrence, Supervisor.|
|Folder 4||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: Certificate of Recognition. Upon being Honored by the LI Center for Business and Professional Women - 34th Annual Achievers' Awards Gala. Presented by Senator Kemp Hannon.|
|Folder 5||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: United States of America House of Representatives. Proclamation. 2013 Achievers' Award Honoree. Presented by Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy 4th Congressional District of New York. |
|Folder 6||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: Certificate of Achievement. 34th Annual Achievers Award Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women. Presented by Steven Bellone, Suffolk County Executive.|
|Folder 6||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: Certificate of Recognition. Recognized for her service by Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women 34th Annual Achievers' Award Gala. Presented by Angie M. Carpenter, Suffolk County Treasurer. |
|Folder 7||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: Certificate of Special Recognition. Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women Achievers' Awards Gala - 2013. Presented by Congressman Peter T. King. |
|Folder 8||May 8, 2013||Mary Lai: New York State Senate Proclamation. Presented by Senator Dean G. Skelos. New York State Senate Majority Leader 9th District. |
|Folder 9||April 17, 2013||Mary Lai: State of New York Legislative Resolution. Honoring Mary M. Lai upon the occasion of her designation as a 2013 Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women Achiever. Presented by Senators Marcellino, Boyle, Flanagan, Fuschillo, Hannon, LaValle, Martins, Skelos, and Zeldin.|
|Folder 10||January 12, 2010||Correspondence from Dr. Inez L. Brisfjord, Historian, AAUW Rockland to Dr. Mary Maneri Lai, Long Island University Regarding "Women Who Have Made A Difference" in their communities.|
|Folder 10||March 26, 2010||Thank You Correspondence from Mary M. Lai, Treasurer Emerita, Long Island University to Dr. Cliff L. Wood, President, SUNY Rockland Community College. Regarding the hospitality and warm reception for the AAUW's awards program.|
|Date||Description||July/August 2012||NACUBO. "Business Officer." July/August 2012. Vol. 46, No. 1.
|Date||Description||2015||Dan Levin. Selected Essays, Stories and Poems. Collected and Edited by Forrest Levin and Joan and John Digby. 2015.
|Date||Description||nd||C.W. Post College China Dinner Plate. White with a green border. Also includes the C.W. Post insignia.
Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||May 27, 1966||The University of the State of New York Education Department. Absolute Charter of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. Mary M. Lai Treasurer 1966-72. Trustee 1966-72.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Poem||December 23, 1966||An acrostic poem about Long Island University. Presented by Business and Finance Office.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||May 14, 1981||Mary Lai: Long Island University Trustees' Award. In recognition of her 35 years of service to Long Island University and on behalf of higher education. Presented by Chancellor Albert Bush-Brown and Donald H. Elliott, Chairman, Board of Trustees.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||May 18, 1999||Mary Lai: Office of the Comptroller, City of New York Commendation. For her outstanding leadership in the field of higher education finance; her contribution in promoting the role of women in the accounting profession; and her demonstrated commitment to serving professional organizations. Presented by Alan G. Hevesi, Comptroller.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||March 4, 2010||Mary Lai: Certificate of recognition of her outstanding contribution to help C.W. Post students. "Making Your Mark: A Celebration of Women and Their Achievements". Presented by Alice Baumer, Chairperson C.W. Post Employer Advisory Board.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||March 25, 2016||Mary Lai: Long Island University Post Woman of Achievement. In appreciation of exemplary service and leadership to the university. Presented by Abagail Van Vlerah, Dean of Students.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Award||May 18, 1999||Mary Lai: Institute of Management Accountants Proclamation. Financial Executive of the Year Award. Presented by Pam Prinz Stewart. (1998-99 National President Institute of Management Accountants).||Archival Box 2
|Framed Poem - Award||nd||"A Tree Grows in Brookville." A acrostic poem about Mary M. Lai. In recognition of her 50 years at the University, a tree is planted at the Mary M. Lai Finance Building. From her staff.||Archival Box 2
|Framed Watercolor||nd||Framed small watercolor drawing. Administration Building C.W. Post Campus. Long Island University. 2" x 4"||Archival Box 2|
Archival Boxes 3-5
|Architectural Drawing||October 1983||Framed architectural drawing of the LIU Administration Building. By T.R. Hauck. 12" x 7"||Archival Box 3
|Collage||February 27, 2006||A shadow box gift to Mary Lai containing the Wellness, Recreation, and Athletic Center Opening Ribbon for the Brooklyn Campus, Gold scissors, a red wristband and a ticket to a men's basketball game on the opening day of the Wellness, Recreation, and Athletic Center.||Archival Box 4
|Citation Award||May 7th 2013||Mary M. Lai: Nassau County Legislature Citation. Honored by the Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women on the occasion of its 34th Annual Achievers' Awards Gala. Presented by David W. Denenberg. 14" x 11"||Archival Box 5
|Citation Award||May 8th 2013||Mary M. Lai: Office of the Executive Citation. On the occasion of Long Island Center for Business and Professional Women's 34th Annual Achievers' Awards Gala and in recognition and appreciation for her dedicated service to the community. Presented by Edward P. Mangano, Nassau County Executive. 16" x 20"||Archival Box 5
Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday
Mrs. Mary Maneri Lai earned a B.S. in accounting as well as economics from
In 1946, Tristram Walker Metcalfe, former President of LIU, asked Mrs. Lai if she would come help her alma mater get its business affairs in order. She was offered the position of Bursar. She originally agreed to work only on a temporary basis.
Over the next 58 years, Mary moved from a being temporary worker at LIU to one of the institution's most pre-eminent leaders, becoming the Chief Financial Officer, Vice President of Finance, and then Treasurer of the University. While CFO, Mrs. Lai served many different LIU presidents. Mrs. Lai has guided the University over periods of significant contraction, expansion, and progression. During her time as Chief Financial Officer, Mrs. Lai saw enrollment grow from 800 students to more than 30,000.
In 2003, after decades of dedicated service to Long Island University, Mary Maneri Lai stepped down from her position as Chief Financial Officer. She then assumed the role of Treasurer Emerita in December 2003. Throughout her career, Mrs. Lai has been a pioneer and visionary for both the LIU community and women in the labor force.
In the years 1974-1975, Mary was an influential leader when she assumed the position of first female President of the Eastern Association of College and University Business Officers (EACUBO) and then of NACUBO (national) a few years later. Mary has been presented countless awards over her lifetime, including a New York State Assembly Citation and a Certificate of Special Recognition from New York State Congressman Peter King. Mrs. Lai's many awards reflect how she has been a guiding voice at LIU for the students and for education.
Thanks to Mary Lai's hard work, dedication, and wisdom, Long Island University has become a distinguished academy whose mission is "to provide excellence and access in private higher education to people from all backgrounds who seek to expand their knowledge and prepare themselves for meaningful, educated lives and for service to their communities and the world."
Taylor, Karla. "NACUBO." NACUBO: A Woman for All Seasons. Business Officer, Sept. 2012. Web. 09 Jan. 2017. http://www.nacubo.org/Business_Officer _Magazine/Magazine_Archives/September _2012/A_Woman_for_All_Seasons.html
"Mary M. Lai Celebrates 70 Years at LIU." Mary M. Lai Celebrates 70 Years at LIU - Long Island University. LIU Post Campus Press Releases, 4 Apr. 2016. Web. 09 Jan. 2017. http://liu.edu/CWPost/About/News/Press-Releases/2016/April/Mary-M-Lai-Celebrates-70-Years-at-LIU
"Spotlight on LIU." Mary Lai. LIU. LIU Alumni, n.d. Web. 09 Jan. 2017. http://liu.edu/Alumni/Spotlight-On/Mary-lai
"The LIU Story." Jan. 2017. http://liu.edu/about
January 11, 2017