Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Chicago Manual of Style Guide: References List / Bibliography

This guide will help you format your paper according to the CMoS 17th (2017) edition.

Reference List or Bibliography?

 

If you are using the Author-Date format the list of citations you referenced will be placed in the "Reference List" and the end of the paper. The References list should be alphabetized by authors last name to make it easy to find a citation referred to in a parenthetical reference used in the Author-Date format.  The following rules should be adhered to:  
 
  • Start Reference list on new page
  • Type the word References at the top, centered on line
  • Set first line of the reference at left margin, indent all lines underneath in hanging indentation format
  • Alphabetize by the author's last name (surname)
  • For author's from eastern countries use the format the author uses in the work
  • Alphabetize letter by letter, "nothing precedes something"  Brown, J. goes before Browning, A.
  • Names beginning with Mac or Mc should be alphabetized as they are spelled
  • References by the same author should be arranged chronologically with the earliest work first
  • A one author work should be placed before a multi-author work that begins with the same author
  • References by the same author or multiple authors (in the same order) should be alphabetized by title
  • Use a "3-em dash" in place of repeated author's name ______.
  • Works with no authors should be alphabetized by title, with the title in the author position
  • Use Anonymous as an author only is the work is signed anonymously
  • Alphabetize a group or organization name as author by the first significant word

 

Please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style for more information
 
If you are using the Notes and Bibliography format the list of citations you referenced will be placed in the "Bibliography" at the end of the paper. The Bibliography should be alphabetized by authors last name to make it easy to find a citation. The Bibliography represents the resources you used in the Note section. Some authors choose not to include a full bibliography if the resources have been cited in the Note section.The following rules should be adhered to:
 
  • Start Reference list on new page
  • Type the word Bibliography at the top, centered on line
  • Set first line of the reference at left margin, indent all lines underneath in hanging indentation format
  • Alphabetize by the author's last name (surname)
  • For author's from eastern countries use the format the author uses in the work
  • Alphabetize letter by letter, "nothing precedes something" Brown, J. goes before Browning, A.
  • Names beginning with Mac or Mc should be alphabetized as they are spelled
  • References by the same author should be arranged chronologically with the earliest work first
  • A single-authored work should be placed before a multi-author work that begins with the same author
  • References by the same author or multiple authors (in the same order) should be alphabetized by title
  • Use a "3-em dash" in place of repeated author's name ______.
  • Works with no authors should be alphabetized by title, with the title in the author position
  • Use Anonymous as an author only is the work is signed anonymously
  • Alphabetize a group or organization name as author by the first significant word
 
Please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style for more information