The Chicago Manual of Style Guide: Digital Sources

• Add enough information in order for others to locate the electronic resource (e.g. DOI, URL)
• DOI is an acronym for Digital Object Identifier. It is a permanent link to an online resource represented by a string of numbers and letters
• URL is an acronym for a Universal Resource Locator or web address. Unlike a DOI, URLs can change and are not necessarily permanent
• Use a DOI, if available, when citing an online resource. Many citations in online databases have a DOI available
• Not every online resource will have a DOI
• If no DOI is available use the URL of the resource

Magazine Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available (Kelly 2011) Reference List Kelly, Kevin. 2011. "Why the Basis of the Universe isn't Matter or Energy, it's Data." Wired, March.

http://www.wired.com /magazine/2011/02/mf_gleick_qa/.

Newspaper Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available (Severson 2011) Reference List Severson, Kim and Andrew Martin. 2011. "It's Organic, but Does that Mean it's Safer?" The New York

Times, March 3. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/04/dining/04cert.html?_r=0&adxnnl=1&pagewanted=all&adxnnlx=1361884218-Z/NZ1Ya/OnRq44N3eSSAHA.

Scholarly Journal Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is available Braga, Anthony, Karen Wintemute, Glenn Pierce, Philip Cook, and Greg Ridgeway. 2012. "Interpreting

the Empirical Evidence on Illegal Gun Market Dynamics." Journal Of Urban Health 89: 779-793. doi:10.1007/s11524-012-9681-y.

Scholarly Journal Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available (Jitsumori 2010) Reference List Jitsumori, Masako. 2010. "Do Animals Recognize Pictures as Representations of 3D

Objects?" Comparative Cognition & Behavior Reviews 5: 136-138. http://psyc.queensu.ca/ccbr/index.html.

Article from Online Journal with a DOI (Reardon 2011) Reference List Reardon, Sara. 2010."Ten Months after Deepwater Horizon, Picking up the Remnants of Heath

Data." Science 331 (March): 1252. doi: 10.1126/science.331.6022.1252.

Article from an Online Database Use permanent or persistent link when available (Opheim 1993) Reference List Opheim, Teresa. 1993. "Fire on the Cuyahoga." EPA Journal, 19, no. 2 (April-June):

44.http://0-search.ebscohost.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9612172672&site=ehost-live.

Online Version of a Print Book (Burlingame 2011) Reference List Burlingame, Michael. 2011. Lincoln and the Civil War. Carbondale, IL: Southern Illinois University

Press. Ebrary edition.

Online Only Book (Devoss 2009) Reference List DeVoss, Dànielle Nicole, Heidi A. McKee, and Richard Selfe, eds. 2009. Technological Ecologies and

Sustainability. Logan, UT: Utah University Press/Computer and Composition Digital Press. http://ccdigitalpress.org/tes/.

Online Encyclopedia Signed (Blonigen and Krueger 2007) Reference List Blonigen, Daniel M., and Robert F. Krueger. 2007. "Personality and Violence: The Unifying Role of

Structural Models of Personality." In The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression. New York: Cambridge University Press. Accessed February 25, 2013, http://0-go.galegroup.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX1311800025&v=2.1&u=nysl_li_liu&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w.

Unsigned Reference List Optional if cited in text or cite as Note.

Magazine Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available Note 24. Kevin Kelly, "Why the Basis of the Universe isn't Matter or Energy, it's Data," Wired, 19 (2011, March): http://www.wired.com /magazine/2011/02/mf_gleick_qa/. Bibliography Kelly, Kevin. "Why the Basis of the Universe isn't Matter or Energy, it's Data." Wired, 19 (2011, March):

http://www.wired.com /magazine/2011/02/mf_gleick_qa/.

Newspaper Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available Note 28. Kim Severson, and Andrew Martin, "It's Organic, but Does that Mean it's Safer?" The New York Times, March 3, 2011, http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/04/dining/04cert.html?_r=0&adxnnl=1&pagewanted=all&adxnnlx=1361884218-Z/NZ1Ya/OnRq44N3eSSAHA. Bibliography Severson, Kim and Andrew Martin. "It's Organic, but Does that Mean it's Safer?" The New York Times,

March 3, 2011. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/04/dining/04cert.html?_r=0&adxnnl=1&pagewanted=all&adxnnlx=1361884218-Z/NZ1Ya/OnRq44N3eSSAHA.

Scholarly Journal Article from an Online Periodical when DOI is not available Note 33. Masako Jitsumori, "Do Animals Recognize Pictures as Representations of 3D Objects?" Comparative Cognition & Behavior Reviews5 (2010): 136-138, http://psyc.queensu.ca/ccbr/index.html. Bibliography Jitsumori, Masako."Do Animals Recognize Pictures as Representations of 3D Objects?" Comparative

Cognition & Behavior Reviews 5 (2010): 136-138. http://psyc.queensu.ca/ccbr/index.html.

Article from Online Journal with a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) Note 11. Sara Reardon, "Ten Months after Deepwater Horizon, Picking up the Remnants of Heath Data," Science331 (March 2011): 1252, doi: 10.1126/science.331.6022.1252. Bibliography Reardon, Sara."Ten Months after Deepwater Horizon, Picking up the Remnants of Heath Data." Science331 (March 2011): 1252. doi: 10.1126/science.331.6022.1252. Article from an Online Database√ Use permenant or persistent link when available Note 51. Teresa Opheim, "Fire on the Cuyahoga," EPA Journal, 19, no. 2 (April-June 1993): 44, http://0-search.ebscohost.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9612172672&site=ehost-live. Bibliography Opheim, Teresa. "Fire on the Cuyahoga." EPA Journal, 19, no. 2 (April-June 1993): 44.

http://0-search.ebscohost.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu /login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=9612172672&site=ehost-live.

Online Version of a Print Book Note 47. Michael Burlingame, Lincoln and the Civil War(Carbondale, IL: Southern Illinois University Press, 2011), Ebrary edition. Bibliography Burlingame, Michael. Lincoln and the Civil War. Carbondale, IL: Southern Illinois University Press, 2011. Ebrary edition. Online Only Book Note 23. Dànielle Nicole DeVoss, Heidi A. McKee, and Richard Selfe, eds., Technological Ecologies and Sustainability(Logan, UT: Utah University Press/Computer and Composition Digital Press, 2009), http://ccdigitalpress.org/tes/. Bibliography DeVoss, Dànielle Nicole, Heidi A. McKee, and Richard Selfe, eds. Technological Ecologies and

Sustainability. Logan, UT: Utah University Press/Computer and Composition Digital Press, 2009. http://ccdigitalpress.org/tes/.

Online Encyclopedia

Note

Signed 46. Daniel M. Blonigen, and Robert F. Krueger, "Personality and Violence: The Unifying Role of Structural Models of Personality," in The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression.New York: (Cambridge University Press, 2007), accessed February 25, 2013, http://0-go.galegroup.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX1311800025&v=2.1&u=nysl_li_liu&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w. Bibliography Blonigen, Daniel M., and Robert F. Krueger. "Personality and Violence: The Unifying Role of Structural

Models of Personality." In The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2007. Accessed February 25, 2013, http://0-go.galegroup.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX1311800025&v=2.1&u=nysl_li_liu&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w.

Unsigned Note 22. Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, s.v. "Attention Deficit Disorder," Accessed July 19, 2010, http://www.xreferplus.com/entry.do?id=9788059. Bibliography Optional. Website Content

• Provide as much of the required information that you can find, including author, title, and date
• If no author is apparent use the organization name as author
• If no date is apparent (look for copyright statement) provide accessed date.
• Be sure to provide enough information so the resource can be found

Note 44. "Dolphin Natural History," Dolphin Research Centre, accessed February 26, 2013, http://www.dolphins.org/marineed_natural_history.php. 62. "The Twilight Zone," Wikipedia, last modified on 23 February 2013, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twilight_Zone. Bibliography Optional. Blogs (Weblogs) Note Blogs in Chicago style are treated similarly to periodical articles. 18. K. G. Schneider, "MOOC Nation, Part 1: My So-called Online Teaching Life," Free Range Librarian(blog), 2013, http://freerangelibrarian.com/2013/02/24/mooc-nation-part-1-my-so-called-online-teaching-life/. Bibliography Schneider, K. G. "MOOC Nation, Part 1: My So-called Online Teaching Life," Free Range Librarian(blog).

2013. http://freerangelibrarian.com/2013/02/24/mooc-nation-part-1-my-so-called-online-teaching-life/.

Please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style for further information on citing electronic resources