Library Guides: Library and Information Science Resources for Palmer Students: Library Statistics

.

Library Resources

ALISE Statistical Report and Database The ALISE Statistical Report and Database is a compilation and analysis of statistical data and information about graduate library and information science education programs in ALISE Institutional Member schools/institutions.
ARL Annual Salary Survey Annual surveys that describe collections, expenditures, service activities, staffing, and salaries in ARL member libraries.

2012 SLA Salary Survey Includes average salary breakdowns separated by 21 primary job responsibilities, job title, geographic region, company size, years of experience, and more. [Newer surveys are available for purchase]

SPEC Kits SPEC Kits analyze survey data from ARL member libraries.

Statista This link opens in a new window A database that provides statistical data in many subject areas including information and libraries.

Websites

ALA Library Fact Sheets ALA prepared fact sheets on the most asked-about topics, many of which include data.
ALA Library Statistics Includes the yearly "Research on Libraries and Librarianship" article from the Library and Book Trade Almanac.

ALA’s State of America’s Libraries Report This year the report focused on the "COVID-19 pandemic and how public, school, and academic libraries stepped up to meet patrons’ and communities’ needs. Issued during National Library Week, April 4–10, the report features snapshots of libraries throughout the United States—highlighting the ways they’ve adapted to the changes, restrictions, budget contractions, and opportunities created by the pandemic—and includes a list of the Top Ten Most Challenged Books of 2020."

America’s Star Libraries: The LJ Index of Public Library Service Library Journal's "Star Libraries" measurement tool compares U.S. public libraries with their spending peers based on four types of output measures of their per capita use.
Compare Academic Libraries National Center for Education Statistics website allows users to compare a library with a comparison group.
Library Research Service Research is conducted about libraries; statistics and analyses are provided.
Library Statistics Program The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) includes the Academic Libraries Survey and the School Library Media Center Survey.
Public Libraries Survey/ Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Provides statistics on the status of public libraries in the United States Data includes information about library visits, circulation, size of collections, public service hours, staffing, electronic resources, operating revenues and expenditures and number of service outlets.
Research & Statistics Resources The Office for Research and Statistics (ORS) and the American Library Association (ALA) maintains a number of statistical and informational resources
School Libraries Impact Studies Links to school library impact studies.
State Library Administrative Agency Survey / Institute of Museum and Library Services(IMLS) Includes state library agency identification, governance, public service hours, service outlets, collections, library service transactions, library development transactions, services to other libraries in the state, allied operations, staff, income, expenditures, and electronic services and information.