Database for Electronic Books
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAlso use the library catalog to find electronic books.
Use WorldCat
Recent Acquisitions
A-Z Common Reference Questions for Academic Librarians by
This book will help academic librarians tackle the questions most commonly asked by students, academics and researchers. A broad cross-disciplinary A-Z of themes including topics such as literature searching, plagiarism, and using online resources are covered, helping you to address a query confidently and quickly. Each topic is split into three sections to guide your response: common inquiries encountered; points to consider, with an exploration of the issues and challenges that might arise; and guidance on where to look, listing annotated UK and international resources in print and online including key organizations, scholarly bodies, digital libraries, statistical data, and journal article indexes. A-Z Common Reference Questions for Academic Librarians updates and expands the author's previous book, Know it All, Find it Fast for Academic Libraries, and includes new sections on blogging and social media; text and data mining and data visualization; assistive technology resources; early career researchers; impact measurement including bibliometrics, citation analysis, and journal rankings; academic internet searching; LGBT studies; Middle East studies; project management; open access (OA) publishing; research data management; study skills; and systematic reviews
Call Number: ZA3075 .D39 2019xISBN: 9781783304110Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Beyond Reality by
Read an interview with the editor now! The current price of virtual reality headsets may seem out of economic reach for most libraries, but the potential of "assisted reality" tools goes well beyond merely inviting patrons to strap on a pair of goggles. Ranging from enhanced training to using third-party apps to enrich digital collections, there is a kaleidoscope of library uses for augmented, virtual, or mixed reality. In this collection, Varnum and his hand-picked team of contributors share exciting, surprising, and inspiring case studies from a mix of institution types, spotlighting such topics as collaborative virtual reality for improved library instruction, education, and learning and teaching; 3D modeling using virtual reality; virtual reality as collaboration space, from gaming to teleconferencing; balancing access with security, and other privacy issues; future possibilities for augmented reality in public libraries; and augmented reality for museums and special collection libraries. A perfect introduction to the topic, this book will encourage libraries to look beyond their own reality and adapt the ideas inside.
ISBN: 9780838917855Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections by
Packed with discussion questions, activities, suggested additional references, selected readings, and many other features that speak directly to students and library professionals, Gregory's Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections is a comprehensive handbook that also shares myriad insightful ideas and approaches valuable to experienced practitioners. This new second edition brings an already stellar text fully up to date, presenting top-to-bottom coverage of the impact of new technologies and developments on the discipline, including discussion of e-books, open access, globalization, self-publishing, and other trends; needs assessment, policies, and selection sources and processes; budgeting and fiscal management; collection assessment and evaluation; weeding, with special attention paid to electronic materials; collaborative collection development and resource sharing; marketing and outreach; self-censorship as a component of intellectual freedom, professional ethics, and other legal issues; diversity and ADA issues; preservation; and the future of the field. Additional features include updated vendor lists, samples of a needs assessment report, a collection development policy, an approval plan, and an electronic materials license.
ISBN: 9780838917121Publication Date: 2019-01-25
The Data Wrangler's Handbook by
Data manipulation and analysis are far easier than you might imagine--in fact, using tools that come standard with your desktop computer, you can learn how to extract, manipulate, and analyze data (and metadata) of any size and complexity. In this handbook, data wizard Banerjee will familiarize you with easily digestible but powerful concepts that will enable you to feel confident working with data. With his expert guidance, you'll learn how to use a single-word command to sort files of any size by any criteria, identify duplicates, and perform numerous other common library tasks; understand data formats, delimited text and CSV files, XML, JSON, scripting, and other key components of data; undertake more sophisticated tasks such as comparing files, converting data from one format to another, reformatting values, combining data from multiple files, and communicating with APIs (Application Programming Interfaces); save time and stress through simple techniques for transforming text, recognizing symbols that perform important tasks, a Regular Expression cheat sheet, a glossary, and other tools. Library technologists and those involved in maintaining and analyzing data and metadata will find Banerjee's resource essential.
Call Number: QA76.9.D26 B36 2019ISBN: 9780838919095Publication Date: 2019-08-05
Gender Issues and the Library by
With the legalization of same-sex marriage and the explosion of LGBTQ news coverage in recent years, gender studies is a subject of intense interest in popular media and a part of the curriculum at many colleges. Libraries realize the importance of supporting the field yet many have difficulty finding resources and programming ideas. This book provides case studies and a range of innovative solutions for better meeting patron needs. Twenty-seven chapters are arranged into sections covering Research and Library Instruction, History and Herstory, Programming, Collections and Beyond, and Resources.
ISBN: 9781476664736Publication Date: 2017-11-06
Leveraging Wikipedia by
The vision statement of the Wikimedia Foundation states, "Imagine a world in which every single human being can freely share in the sum of all knowledge." Libraries need not see Wikipedia as competition; rather, failing to leverage its omnipresence in the online world constitutes a missed opportunity. As a senior program officer at OCLC, Proffitt has encouraged collaboration between Wikipedia and cultural heritage institutions, leading to increased visibility and user engagement at participating organizations. Here, she brings onboard a raft of contributors from the worlds of academia, archives, libraries, and members of the volunteer Wikipedia community who together point towards connecting these various communities of knowledge. This book will inspire libraries to get involved in the Wikipedia community through programs and activities such as hosting editathons; contributing content and helping to bridge important gaps in Wikipedia; ensuring that library content is connected through the world's biggest encyclopedia; working with the Wikipedia education community; and engaging with Wikipedians as allies in a quest to expand access to knowledge. Speaking directly to librarians, this book shows how libraries can partner with Wikipedia to improve content quality while simultaneously ensuring that library services and collections are more visible on the open web.
ISBN: 9780838916322Publication Date: 2018-04-02
A Matter of Facts by
The safeguarding of authentic facts is essential, especially in this disruptive Orwellian age, where digital technologies have opened the door to a post-truth world in which "alternative facts" can be so easily accepted as valid. And because facts matter, evidence matters. In this urgent manifesto, archives luminary Millar makes the case that authentic and accurate records, archives, data, and other sources of documentary proof are crucial in supporting and fostering a society that is respectful, democratic, and self-aware. An eye-opening treatise for the general public, an invaluable resource for archives students, and a provocative call-to-arms for information and records professionals, Millar's book explains the concept of evidence and discusses the ways in which records, archives, and data are not just useful tools for our daily existence but also essential sources of evidence both today and in the future; includes plentiful examples that illustrate the critical role evidence plays in upholding rights, enforcing responsibilities, tracing family or community stories, and capturing and sharing memories; and examines the impact of digital technologies on how records and information are created and used. With documentary examples ranging from Mesopotamian clay tablets to World War II photographs to today's Twitter messages and Facebook posts, Millar's stirring book will encourage readers to understand more fully the importance of their own records and archives, for themselves and for future generations.
Call Number: ZA3075 .M55 2019ISBN: 9780838917718Publication Date: 2019-07-09
Move, Play, Learn by
Get ready to break out of your storytime routine by encouraging children's natural instincts to move, sing, and play! Unlike traditional storytimes, where children are expected to sit quietly and just watch, music and movement storytimes encourage children to learn by getting inside stories while interacting with others. Research shows that this kind of play stimulates the senses, provides connections to all four lobes of the brain, touches on a variety of intelligences, and heightens social and emotional awareness--all while extending the early literacy practices of Every Child Ready to Read® and preparing children for school. And because there are no crafts to cut out, no snacks to pack, no scripts to memorize, and no story kits to make, it's one of the simplest, most cost-effective storytime models to implement. Jewell's complete guide shows the way, offering 20 ready-to-use storytime plans tailored to specific age groups, including babies, toddlers, preschool and all-ages programs, a real time-saver for storytime organizers and presenters; advice and best practices gleaned from interviews with professionals who specialize in storytimes, music making with children and families, yoga storytime, and drama education; and lists of recommended resources, from interactive print books to children's music and videos available digitally, with tips on choosing the best materials. Children's librarians and educators will be delighted to learn that anyone can lead a movement and music storytime, regardless of their level of experience with music or movement, with this book in hand.
Call Number: Z718.3 .J49 2020ISBN: 9780838919125Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Transforming Young Adult Services by
How should LIS envision its young adult users? Now showcasing an even more rigorous debate about the theory and practice of YA librarianship than its first edition, this "provocative presentation of diverse viewpoints by leaders in the field" (Catholic Library World) has been updated and expanded to incorporate recent advances in critical youth studies. A comprehensive, evidence-based treatment that offers LIS instructors, students, and practitioners a valuable tool for aligning YA services to more fully reflect our diverse populations of young people, this collection delves deeply into such topics as the historical roots for current theories and practice; how intellectual freedom, storytelling, library collections, and other service topics can connect with the library's notion and vision of young adults; diverse YA identities, including critical race theory; competing perspectives on young adults' rights in libraries; envisaging YA librarianship from a teen-centered perspective; youth identities and the school library; and moving beyond coaching to copilot with young adults. The broad range of topics and arguments in this volume invites and challenges readers to see critical theory as a means to effect true transformations in young adult services.
Call Number: Z718.5 .T73 2020ISBN: 9780838917749Publication Date: 2019-02-25
Autoethnography and Heuristic Inquiry for Doctoral-Level Researchers by
"This book examines the conventions of autoethnography or heuristic research within the specific context of doctoral-level research"--
ISBN: 9781522593669Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Developing a Library Accessibility Plan by
Developing a Library Accessibility Plan: A Practical Guide for Librarians provides library professionals with the knowledge, tools and templates, and practical examples necessary for developing a tailored and comprehensive accessibility plan for their institution. Part One provides foundational knowledge about disability experiences in libraries, including an overview of existing legislation and a breakdown of the disability community in the United States. This part also names and defines the impact of different accessibility barriers within online, physical, and instructional settings for different populations. Part Two outlines the initial stages of a developing a comprehensive plan for resolving accessibility issues. These chapters in this part include a discussion on conducting an environmental scan / inventory of existing problems, identifying potential partners in the resolution of said problems, and how to prioritize which projects. Part Three provides several practical, real life examples of projects and initiatives drawn from the author's professional experiences. These case studies offer a summary of each accessibility project along the corresponding impact, finished by an analysis of "lessons learned" from the experience. A copy of all tools, templates, and other planning documents are available in the chapter itself. The book will help readers understand how to inventory, prioritize, plan, implement, and assess a comprehensive improvement plan for electronic, physical, and instructional and/or programming-related accessibility issues within their library.
ISBN: 9781538131138Publication Date: 2020-08-05
Online LIS Encyclopedias and Books
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Fourth Edition by
In recent years, our world has experienced a profound shift and progression in available computing and knowledge sharing innovations. These emerging advancements have developed at a rapid pace, disseminating into and affecting numerous aspects of contemporary society. This has created a pivotal need for an innovative compendium encompassing the latest trends, concepts, and issues surrounding this relevant discipline area. During the past 15 years, the Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology has become recognized as one of the landmark sources of the latest knowledge and discoveries in this discipline. The Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Fourth Edition is a commanding 10-volume set consisting of 705 completely new and original articles that impart a full range of applications and techniques, as well as critical perspectives on the impact of information science management and new technologies in modern settings. This authoritative content covers over 80 timely and trending categories, including but not limited to cloud computing, big data, educational technologies, management science, web technologies, and library science and administration, that spread across 11 major subject areas: Business, Computer Science, Education, Social Science, Library Science, Healthcare, Media and Communications, Security, Engineering, and Environmental Science. More than 1,100 experts from 74 unique countries contributed their specialized knowledge on these topics in order to challenge the academic community with some of the most timely and diverse research findings studied in the past few years. As with its predecessors, the fourth edition proves its convenience in an easy to navigate format. Two different tables of content are compiled at the beginning of each volume and each article is sorted into categories relevant to its topical coverage. Included within these articles are over 2,000 charts, graphs, tables, and formulae to be used as illustrative examples when applicable, as well as approximately 5,000 key terms and their concise definitions. An exhaustive list of references, as well as additional reading sections consisting of sources that complement the topical coverage within the article, are also provided for the benefit of scholars, students, and researchers looking to improve upon their own research. With each article submitted to a double-blind peer-review process, researchers are guaranteed accurate, original content to supplement their study. For professionals, researchers, academicians, and practitioners the pioneering content contained within this Encyclopedia is invaluable. With its discussion and presentation of potential opportunities, prospective solutions, and future directions in the field, it is a fundamental reference source for all those who wish to improve upon and further research in information science. It is an essential addition to libraries of every discipline, including academic, medical, corporate, and joint-use. Not only will this well-established publication benefit faculty and students, but it will also assist the entire academic community with staying abreast of the latest technology-driven changes. - 100% Original Content - Contains 705 new, peer-reviewed articles covering over 80 categories in 11 subject areas - Diverse Contributions - More than 1,100 experts from 74 unique countries contribute their specialized knowledge - Easy Navigation - Includes two tables of content and a comprehensive index in each volume for the user's convenience - Highly-Cited - Embraces a complete list of references and additional reading sections to allow for further research
ISBN: 9781522522553Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by
This third edition of the Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences reflects the growing convergence among the several disciplines that concern themselves with information and the cultural record. Covered are archives, museum studies, informatics, information systems, knowledge management, records management, document and genre theory, bibliography, and social studies of information, in addition to library and information science.
ISBN: 9780849397127Publication Date: 2009-12-17- SPEC KitsSPEC surveys gather information from ARL member institutions on current research library practices and policies. SPEC Kits combine the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the ever-changing challenges facing libraries. These guides help libraries learn about current practice in research libraries, implement new practices and technologies, manage change, and improve performance.
SPEC formerly stood for Systems and Procedures Exchange Center
