Browzine
- Browzine App for Reading Library JournalsBrowZine is a free app that lets you read over 11,000 of the library's current online journals on your tablet or smartphone. You can browse journals by subject or by title, create a personal library, save articles, and more. Click on the link to download.
-
BrowZine for iPadApp for iPad and iPhone
- Create or login into your Browzine Account
- Search by journal title or browse by subject area
- Find the title of interest.
- Select "Add to My Bookshelf" button. For example:
- Repeat steps to add more journals to your bookshelf
Searching Tips
Identify key words for your topic. You can combine search terms with AND so that each record in your results contains all of the terms. For example: libraries and censorship.
Consider using synonyms or related terms to expand your search, or to be sure you are covering your topic thoroughly. For example: school media specialist or school librarian. See if the database you are using has a thesaurus to help you decide on search terms.
Library and Information Science Databases
Use databases to find articles on your topic. Your username and password are the same ones that you use to log-in to your LIU email account.
Library & Information Science Source
This database was developed to meet the needs of librarians, information professionals, and students. Provides the full text of over 460 journals and 30 monographs, along with indexing of over 1,700 additional journals, books, theses, pamphlets, proceedings, and research reports dating back to 1911. Combines the contents of Ebsco's Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Wilson's Library Literature & Information Science (including Retrospective: 1905-1983) along with additional new content.
Library Literature and Information Science Retrospective (1905-1983)
A bibliographic database indexing articles and book reviews of critical library and information science periodicals published internationally and in the United States. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Coverage also includes full-text content from 69 years of the Wilson Library Bulletin (the classic trade magazine for librarians, founded in 1914). Periodical coverage includes scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines. Coverage consists of a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Abstracts accompany many articles from the years 1905-1957. Dates covered: 1905 - 1983.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in LISTA extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Public Library Core Collection
Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction provides over 22,000 of the most highly-recommended reference and non-fiction books for adults. Content in this database is searchable by subject, Dewey Decimal Classification Range, title, author, recommendation level and more.
Specialized Databases:
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
ERIC
ERIC is an education index that includes information about libraries, particularly school and academic libraries.
RCL (Resources for College Libraries)
RCL (Resources for College Libraries) provides a list of core titles for undergraduate study covering the entire two-year and four-year college curriculum. Developed and maintained by ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries).
SPEC Kits from the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) combine the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the ever-changing challenges facing libraries.
Other Library & Information Science Databases
The library provides access to many other library and information science databases including specialized databases for technical services and collection development.
Citation and Journal Metrics Databases
Use these databases for bibliometric information.
See all the library databases in various subject areas including general databases that cover a broad range of topics.
eBooks K-12
- Capstone Interactive Ebooks This link opens in a new windowCapstone Interactive Ebooks is a growing collection of interactive ebooks for the K12 reading level.
- Ebook K-8 Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook K-8 Collection contains more than 12,000 titles chosen to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools, and content aligns with Common Core Curriculum Standards (for participating U.S. states). The collection also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators.
- ePointPlus This link opens in a new windowePointPlus from Rosen Publishing is a collection of over 80 pre-school and primary school level ebooks from well-known K-8 publishers, offering curriculum based high interest content, that is aligned to national, state, and common core standards. Features include 24/7 unlimited simultaneous access, and tablet, smartphone, and Chromebook compatibility. Individual accounts allow users to save their work using its notebook enhanced features.
- Lerner Digital Interactive eBooks This link opens in a new windowLerner Digital offers interactive ebooks for the beginning reader, child, and young adults reading levels.
- Rosen Learning Center This link opens in a new windowA collection of interactive ebooks for K-6 curricula including topics on history, science, and language skills.
