Britannica School
For more information view the flyer by clicking on the PDF link below
To access Britannica School, go to the A-Z Databases: B page
BrainPOP
From introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrating complex subject matter, content is mapped to Common Core, and aligned to academic standards. This software is compatible with interactive whiteboards, Macs, and PCs. No downloading, installation, or special hardware is required.
The combo subscription to BrainPOP includes the following:
BrainPOP -- http://www.brainpop.com
BrainPOP jr -- http://www.brainpopjr.com
BrainPOP ESL --- http://www.brainpopesl.com/
BrainPOP Espanol -- http://esp.brainpop.com/
BrainPOP Francais -- http://www.brainpop.fr/
BrainPOP UK -- http://www.brainpop.co.uk/
BrainPOP China -- http://www.brainpop.cn/index.weml
BrainPOP Google Chrome Ap -- https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/cdikkckjinnmjpgkjjpnfmmbcpbhmklf
BrainPOP iTunes ap -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brainpop-featured-movie/id364894352?mt=8
NOVELNY
The following NOVELNY databases contain information to help teachers prepare lesson plans and class assignments:
Business/Economics
Business Insights: Essentials
Encyclopedias
Britannica Academic: Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Britannica Escolar: Accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students and students learning Spanish. Available at two levels—primary and secondary.
Britannica School: A source for all grades (Pre-K-12) and all reading abilities. Available at three levels--elementary, middle, and high.
Social Studies
Elementary/Middle School
Kids Infobits
(Full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator [Lexiles].)
Gale In Context: Middle School: Contains magazines, newspapers, primary sources and videos for students in grades 6 to 8.
Middle/High School
Gale General OneFile: A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints: Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 21,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
College
Gale Academic OneFile: Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources
Other Resources
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete: Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. Includes full-text for many titles cited in ERIC.
Resources and Services for Teachers (New York State Library)
Selected Education Web Sites (New York State Library)
Virtual Learning System (New York State Education Department)
Visit EngageNY for an extensive library of resources to support the Common Core Standards for parents and educators.
Rosen Learning Center
Interactive eBooks for grades K - 12
|
Core Language Skills Energy Everywhere How are they different? Let's Celebrate Freedom My Community : New York's Geography Pioneer Spirit : The Westward Expansion Powerkids Readers : American Symbols Powerkids Readers : My Community |
Power Kids Readers : The Universe Save Earth's Animals Science Tools Spotlight on New York Under the Sea What really happened? Yours five senses and your sixth sense
|
Free Kids Books
- Free Kids Books “Free Kids Books is a growing library of unique children’s books and literary resources available online and for download in a user friendly pdf format. We aim to provide easy access to great free children’s books and resources, for the enjoyment of reading and writing, and to promote improved literacy standards, and thus improved lives.”
Databases
- Children's Core Collection This link opens in a new window Children’s Core Collection covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, and picture books recommended for readers in preschool through fifth grade. Professional literature for the children’s librarian is also covered. Selected and recommended by specialists in library service to children, books listed within Children’s Core Collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including a new abundance of books on technology, social sciences and sciences.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window Children's Literature Comprehensive Database provides access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. Includes information about books, authors and illustrators from around the world.
- Fiction Core Collection This link opens in a new window Fiction Core Collection represents a selective list of titles featuring classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience by collection development specialists. The best authors in literary and popular fiction are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, graphic novels, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Does not contain full text.
- Graphic Novels Core Collection This link opens in a new window Graphic Novels Core Collection highlights more than 3,000 librarian-recommended titles for all age levels with descriptive and evaluative annotations, cover art, review excerpts and awards the title has won. Types of graphic novels include Adventure, Biographical, Fantasy, Superhero, Horror, Mystery, Romance, Science Fiction and more.
- Middle and Junior High Core Collection This link opens in a new window Middle and Junior High Core Collection is a collection development tool containing over 19,000 nonfiction works, fiction, and short story collections for children and adolescents.
- Public Library Core Collection This link opens in a new window Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction provides over 22,000 of the most highly-recommended reference and non-fiction books for adults. Content in this database is searchable by subject, Dewey Decimal Classification Range, title, author, recommendation level and more.
- Senior High Core Collection This link opens in a new window Senior High Core Collection contains more than 16,000 entries that consist of a selective list of fiction and non-fiction titles–recommended by collection development specialists–for high school students (grades 9 through 12), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
- eLibrary eLibrary contains over 140 magazines and books such as the American Heritage Dictionary for elementary students.
- Kids InfoBits Kids InfoBits features age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics, full-text proprietary reference content from Blackbirch Press that supports the K-5 curriculum and over 3,000 searchable, indexed images.