Skip to main content

Instructional Media Center: Video Streaming for Classroom Use

.

Educational Video Streaming Collections @ LIU Post Library

The LIU Post library offers faculty two wonderful video streaming collections, Kanopy and Films on Demand for classroom purposes only. Both of these services cover a vast range of subjects in many disciplines --the arts and humanities, social sciences, education, business and health sciences.

                
                

Kanopy

Kanopy offers a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and training videos covering a variety of academic disciplines.

The collection includes a number of leading producers such as: Criterion Collection, New Day Films, The Great Courses, First Run Features, BBC, and many more.

  • Please log in directly with the link provided for on campus use. If you log in remotely to the Kanopy database (or any library database), please use your liu email username and password and not your library card. Be sure to indicate if you are a student or staff/faculty. This is very important.

  • To access from the library homepage, click on Databases A-Z. In the alphabetic index list, and search under K for Kanopy.
  • All Kanopy videos that are not already licensed will need to be requested in advance. When you try to play a film in Kanopy that is not already licensed, you will be presented with a pop-up form to request access. Please fill out this form. Once the request is approved by the library, you will be and given a link to the streaming video. This link can be easily copied and pasted to your Blackboard.

Request Form for Kanopy

The Request Form for Kanopy

Figure 1. Screenshot of a Kanopy request form, with "This film is not available at your library yet - don't be dismayed!

undefined

Complete the form below to request the film from your library." Fields for a full name and email address are also included, with buttons to select "How would you describe yourself" with options for "Librarian," "Academic," "Student," and "Other."

There is a blank text box for "Your Message" to tell your library why you are requesting this video. There is also a button to send the form, with a link to a privacy commitment.

What to include in the form:

The form will ask for your name, email address, and how you would describe yourself.  Instructors should select “Academic.”

In the message box please include the following information:

  • Name of campus: LIU Post or LIU Brooklyn
  • The course number for the class in which you will be using this title.  For example, ENG 786 or CHS 345.
  • The date on which students will need to view the film.

The request form from LIU Post faculty is sent to the media librarian at LIU Post Library – Maria.Zarycky@liu.edu

The request form for LIU Brooklyn faculty is sent to librarian at LIU Brooklyn Library – Patricia.Keogh@liu.edu

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand (FOD) is accessible to all LIU Post faculty and administrators. The database includes the Master Academic Collection, consisting of 25,208 documentary, educational and independent film titles. This video database has more than 700 distinct areas of study within more than 25 core subject areas designed to mirror the academic curriculum. Producers include: PBS, National Geographic, California Newsreel, Annenberg Lerner, TED, and others.

  • Films on Demand can be accessed from the LIU Post campus, or remotely from home using your liu email username and password.  Please see the Help section of the database for information on using some of its features.

http://0-online.infobaselearning.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/Direct.aspx?aid=105205&pid=WE00

 

 

Library Databases with Videos

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination

https://0-batesvisualguide-com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.

Dance in Video: Volume I   

https://0-video-alexanderstreet-com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/channel/dance-online-dance-in-video

Dance in Video from Alexander Street Press contains streaming videos of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Theater in Video

https://0-video-alexanderstreet-com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/channel/theatre-in-video

Theatre in Video is useful for teaching, learning, and research. While the texts of plays can serve as lasting documents, the productions are ephemeral; a live performance is gone when the curtain falls. And yet the collaborative elements of theatre in performance—the work of the actors, directors, and designers—have tremendous scholarly and educational value long after a production closes

Accessible Internet Sites for Free

A number of openly accessible Internet sites for streaming videos.

American Memory

American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. It is compiled by the Library of Congress. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections, and several hundred early motion pictures are viewable on the Library of Congress Digital Collections web page.

American Rhetoric

Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two

Archive of American Television The Interviews: An Oral History of Television!

Founded in 1997, the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation's Archive of American Television has conducted hundreds of long-form videotaped interviews with the pioneers of television. The Archive’s vision is to chronicle electronic media history as it evolves and make the interviews available worldwide. New interviews are produced every year. Includes over 900 in-depth video conversations with key figures in television, both in front of and behind the camera.

C-Span Video Library

The C-SPAN Video Library began in 1987 as a way to archive and index the thousands of hours of congressional coverage produced by the network every year. The project quickly became one of the most comprehensive video archives of governmental and political content.

Folkstreams

Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures.

Frontline

FRONTLINE has served as American public television’s flagship public affairs series since 1983. Described by The Atlantic as “the best news program on television,” the series has built a reputation for powerful investigative storytelling that tackles the tough, controversial and complex stories that shape our times. More than 180 FRONTLINE documentaries are streaming in full online.

HippoCampus

A free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students.

Internet Archive

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Internet Movie Database

Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain.  The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video.  The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu

Nova (PBS)

Provides access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Closed captions are available. Available videos are organized by broad subject categories:  Ancient Worlds, Body & Brain, Evolution, Military & Espionage, Nature, Physics & Math, Planet Earth, Space & Flight, and Tech & Engineering.

Paramount Vault (You Tube)

The Paramount Vault showcases a collection of Paramount full-length films and clips including selections that range from black-and-white to color, comedy to horror, and everything in between. Viewers are invited to explore the vast landscape of cinema’s history, share their favorite films, and discover new ones through this official channel created by Paramount Pictures.

PBS Video

PBS offers programming that expands the minds of children, documentaries that open up new worlds, non-commercialized news programs that keep citizens informed on world events and cultures, and programs that expose America to the worlds of music, theater, dance and art. It is a multi-platform media organization that serves Americans through televisionmobile and connected devicesthe webin the classroom, and more.

PBS Learning Media

LIW21 and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans and more for New York Teachers.

YouTube

YouTube is a video platform that's driven by two types of users: Video creators (people who have channels and upload videos to them) Video viewers (people who watch videos, interact with videos and subscribe to channels)