Skip to main content

Instructional Media Center: Department Resources

Presentations Using Media

Students and faculty members are invited to use our media lab and production facilities in preparation for a conference or class presentation. Some assistance is provided for the production of a small display, banner, instructional signs, posters, or laminations. There is a small material fee for supplies used.

DVDs and Music CDs

The Instructional Media Center's DVD collection covers a wide range of academic disciplines to supplement the LIU Post curriculum. In addition, faculty, staff and students at LIU Post can view educational videos from Kanopy and Films on Demand video streaming services from any LIU classroom or remotely from home using your LIU ID card.

The IMC has purchased several software programs suited for the K-12 curriculum such as:

Adobe Reader

Bailey’s Book House

Camtamsia Studio 7

Google Earth

Inspire Data

Inspiration 9

Kid Pix Deluxe 4

Kidspiration 3

Microsoft Office

Photo Story 3

Reader Rabbit 1 & 2

Reading Fun Pack

Screencast – O – Matic

Smart Ideas 5

SMART Notebook

 

   Some of these popular programs are installed on all computers in the IMC lab.

Please note: IMC staff members are constantly adding new titles to the collection. Requests for the purchase of suitable new titles can be directed to them.

Additionally, the IMC has a collection of music CDs which covers a broad variety of music genres.   The Naxos Music Library provides  streaming access to music CDs for Classical, Jazz and Rock in addition to other genres.

 

Textbooks

Our extensive collection of K-12 textbooks includes such subjects as language arts, math, science, social studies, English as a second language, health education, music, and art.