Skip to main content

Instructional Media Center: John Steptoe New Talent Award



"The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award for New Talent affirms new talent and offers visibility for excellence in writing and/or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published African-American creator of children’s books." American Library Association

2017 - 1995

2017  Nicola Yoon (author) -- The Sun Is Also a Star F Y81s

2016  Ronald L. Smith (author) -- Hoodoo

          Ekua Holmes (illustrator) -- Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement (written by 

          Carole Boston Weatherford) B H178W

2015  Jason Reynolds (author) -- When I was the greatest

2014 Theodore Taylor III (illustrator) --When the beat was born: DJ Kool Herc and the creation of hip hop (written by

          Laban Carrick Hill)  B H418H

2013  No award presented

2012  No award presented

2011 Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon (authors) -- Zora and Me

2010 Kekla Magoon (author) -- The Rock and the River  F M272R

2009 Shadra Strickland (illustrator) -- Bird (written by Zetta Elliot) F E157b

2008 Sundee T. Frazier (author) -- Brendan Buckley's Universe and Everything in It

2007 Traci L. Jones (author) -- Standing Against the Wind F J7261s

2006 Jaime Adoff (author) -- Jimi & Me

2005 Barbara Hathaway (author) -- Missy Violet and Me

         Frank Morrison (illustrator) -- Jazzy Miz Mozetta (written by Brenda C. Roberts)

2004 Hope Anita Smith (author) -- The Way a Door Closes

         Elbrite Brown (illustrator) -- My Family Plays Music

2003 Janet McDonald (author) -- Chill Wind F M146c

         Randy DuBurke (illustrator and author) -- The Moon Ring

2002 Jerome Lagarrigue (illustrator) -- Freedom Summer (written by Deborah Wiles)

2001 No award presented

2000 No award presented

1999 Sharon Flake (author) -- The Skin I'm In

         Eric Velasquez (illustrator) -- The Piano Man, written by Debbie Chocolate 1998

1998  No award presented

1997  Martha Southgate (author) -- Another Way to Dance

1996 No award presented

1995 Sharon Draper (author) -- Tears of a Tiger