Welcome
This guide offers subject-specific sources to assist in locating credible, quality fashion merchandising information sources.
Have a question about the library collections or need help with research?
Contact the Library Reference Desk at 516.299.2305 for assistance, or email: post-ref@liu.edu
Women's Wear Daily WWD
WWD covers breaking news about the fashion industry, designers, celebrity trend setters, and extensive coverage of fashion week, as well as beauty and retail industries. Keep up with the latest in fashion according to trends, features, scoops, designer & luxury, ready-to-wear, jewelry, footwear, and handbags. Click here to access.
LV Art Silk Squares designed by Thomas Ott, Nicolas de Crécy, Lorenzo Mattotti, Icinori and eBoy. COURTESY OF LOUIS VUITTON
Free Business of Fashion (BoF) Membership for Students
Business of Fashion (BoF) membership is available to students of the Fashion Merchandising Program at LIU Post for free.
The free student BoF membership provides unlimited access to daily news, analysis and advice, as well as essential email briefings.
For more information, please click here
Primary Fashion News Resources
- WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new windowWGSN Fashion helps the creation of fashion and fashion products with actionable guidance through the fashion industry’s transformational shifts, from sustainability targets and changing consumer lifestyles to digital design. WGSN, a consumer trend forecaster, provides global trend insights, expertly curated data and industry expertise to help clients understand consumer behavior and lifestyles, create products with confidence and trade at the right time.
- WGSN Insight This link opens in a new windowWGSN Insight helps clients effectively drive engagement with their future consumers through a deep understanding of consumer behavior and lifestyles, the market, and socio-cultural global shifts that will impact and disrupt their industry. WGSN, a consumer trend forecaster, provides global trend insights, expertly curated data and industry expertise to help clients understand consumer behavior and lifestyles, create products with confidence and trade at the right time.
- WWD (Women's Wear Daily) This link opens in a new windowWWD covers breaking news about the fashion industry, designers, celebrity trend setters, and extensive coverage of fashion week, as well as beauty and retail industries.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Fashion Business Cases contains hundreds of international cases which present real-world challenges facing the business of fashion across sectors, tackling important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership.
Literatures in Apparel, Textile and Merchandising
To look at publications such as:
- Sourcing Journal
- Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
- International Journal of Clothing Science and Technology
- Journal of Fashion Marketing and Management
Click on the link below:
and enter the name of any journal for which you are looking (e.g., Business of Fashion or Clothing & Textiles Research Journal). This will lead to a link(s) to the database(s) in which the journal may be found. Clicking on a database (e.g., General OneFile or SAGE Journals) will take you to the record for the journal within that database and allow you to access specific volumes and issues of the journal.
Additionally, a link to LIU Libraries Print & Microform may also be provided for those journals available in the LIU Libraries Periodicals Collections. If you wish to have a copy made of an article in the Library's Collections, use the Digital Delivery Request Form.
If LIU does not subscribe to the full-text of a journal , you can still request articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Attribution
Created by Associate Professor Elizabeth Mezick, and modified by Emily Walshe.