How Can a Company's Unique Brands Be Identified?
Brands and Their CompaniesLists manufacturers from small businesses to large corporations, from both the public and private sectors, offering coverage of U.S. consumer brands and the manufacturers that produce them. Also includes historical data on out-of-business companies and brands that are no longer in production.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowWith Business Insights: Essentials you can research and compare companies and industries using industry rankings, company profiles, market share data, investment reports, charts, graphs, and more.
Global Brands
- Global Brand DatabaseUse this World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) database to search brand information (trademarks, appellations of origin and official emblems) from multiple national and international sources. WIPO is the world's most comprehensive source of data on the intellectual property (IP) system.
Patents & Trademarks
- JustiaProvides free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and Twitter databases, as well as additional community resources.
- United States Copyright Office (copyright.gov)Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States to the authors of “original works of authorship” that are fixed in a tangible form of expression. Use this resource to search the Copyright Public Records Catalog online from 1978 to the present.
- United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)U.S. Department of Commerce agency that issues patents to inventors and businesses for their inventions, and trademark registration for product and intellectual property identification.
- Patent & Trademark Resource Center - Smithtown Public LibraryAn officially-designated Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC), part of a nationwide library network maintained by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). As a PTRC, The Smithtown Library offers: access to the PubWEST & PubEAST databases for patent searching, resources for historical patent research, patent searching guides and other reference materials on intellectual property. PTRC resources are located in the Smithtown Main Building only. An appointment is recommended. Call the Reference Department at (631) 360-2480 x128 to make an appointment.
Dictionary of Trade Name OriginsCall Number: REF T324 .R66
Lawsuits
- JustiaProvides free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and Twitter databases, as well as additional community resources.
Licensing Agreements
Information regarding license agreements are often found in a public company's annual 10-K SEC filing. Perform a text search within the document using "licens" to locate discussion(s) of licensing agreements.
Fashion Law Blogs
- Fashion & Apparel Law BlogThis blog from Sheppard Mullin includes not only matters related to fashion law but also those related to the beauty field.
- Fashion CounselThe law firm Arent Fox hosts this blog, which covers key legal issues of interest to those in the fashion industry.