Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature and other subjects. Contains nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text. Also provides full-text coverage of The New York Times and The Times (London) from 1985.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
CINAHL® Complete provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health including the full-text of about 1,399 journals. The database contains more than 4 million records dating back to 1937. CINAHL® Complete covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) offers coverage of academic, scholarly and professional disciplines. Includes specialized subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks useful for background information.
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Similar content as PubMed.
ProQuest Central Essentials provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Video Online, Streaming Media, AVON
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers over 79,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,500 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.
Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
A full-text news resource consisting of almost 12,800 local, regional, national and international sources (over 7,800 US and 4,900 international sources). Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs. Through convenient Web-based access to comprehensive news and information the researcher can easily find varying perspectives on a wide variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, local government, international affairs and defense, laws, sports and much more. Offering a variety of perspectives from all over the world, the important news sources in this collection are ideal for comparing and contrasting views on both local and global issues.
For 200 years—since 1817—the Academy has brought together extraordinary people working at the frontiers of discovery. Among the oldest scientific organizations in the United States, it has become not only an enduring cultural institution in New York, but also one of the most significant organizations in the global scientific community.
PEP-Web (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing Web) is a subscription-based online collection of current and past psychoanalytic journals and papers. It contains 83 major psychoanalytic journals, as well as ebooks and videos.
The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methodology concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Sage Research Methods presents research methodologies that are useful in many disciplines including, education, psychology, and the health sciences. Contains ebooks and online journals on various techniques for research including statistical, hypothesis testing, qualitative, observational, and case study methods. SAGE Research Methods User Guide (PDF). For more information on this resource see the SAGE Research Methods Library Guide from SAGE.
Per Ingrid, this resource was canceled while Ed was still at at our Brooklyn campus. 10/5/23
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015) includes 21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all. While Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) includes 9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them.
Sports Market Analytics provides a comprehensive online platform of nationwide sports business, sports marketing and sports marketing analytics, using syndicated custom and proprietary research for professional and college sports, consumer research, industry reports, and licensed industry articles. The service features extensive research and custom reports covering sports participation, the fan market and behaviors, venues, sponsorships, and expenditure on sporting goods, brand preference, and more. The service also provides the academic community with a comprehensive Sports Business Resource Center to provide additional research support and insights.
Wiley Digital Archives (WDA) is contains databases comprised of unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world, and made accessible in ways that tie directly to research outcomes and educational goals. All Archives are cross-searchable, and contain tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing primary source content.
Wiley Digital Archives: Environmental Science and History focuses on critical aspects of anthropogenic change, with unique and rare archival collections from multiple, global sources. The collection contains approximately one million pages/images of primary sources, derived from new scanning and digitization, featuring data-heavy collections on Deforestation, Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries (Food Production); Ecology, Botany, Biodiversity, and Extinction; Insect Science; Water Sources, Irrigation, Wetlands, and Hydrology.