Database for Locating Primary Source Material
- New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times - Historical provides page images of the newspaper beginning with the first issue in 1851 up until 4 years before present.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times is considered a national and international newspaper of record. Covers, local national and world news on politics, business, art, performing arts, environmental issues, biography, science, and more. Full text content from 1980 to present.
- Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers 1789-1924 This link opens in a new windowChronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories. Digitized newspapers from 1789-1924. Also includes a directory of newspapers from 1690 to present.
- NYS (New York State) Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Over 5 million scanned pages available.
Web-based Resources for Primary Source Material
The Digital World Library was launched in 2009, as a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, with the support of UNESCO, and contributions from libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations around the world. The WDL sought to preserve and share some of the world’s most important cultural objects, increasing access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents to enable discovery, scholarship, and use.
The Digital Public Library of America offers textual, visual, and sound resources contributed by numerous libraries, archives, and museums. Searches catalog records, not full text, and links to the items on the contributors' websites. Contains many individual items, such as letters and photographs, from digital collections.
University of Utah Digital Library on 1918 Flu Pandemic Papers
Alabama Public Health Department. 1918 Pandemic Influenza Survivors Share their Stories
The USC Digital Library (USCDL) spans a wide range of visual media, the USC Digital Library offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, as well as audio and video recordings. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the libraries at the University of Southern California, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences. A portion of the images contained in the USC Digital Library come from the collections of collaborating institutions which, like USC, have valuable archival collections that are of interest to a wide range of people.
Brown Women Speak - Alumnae Oral Histories is part of the Pembroke Center Oral History Project is an interdisciplinary research center that fosters critical scholarship on questions of gender and difference, broadly defined, in national and transnational contexts.