Question 3 - Female Characters
This tab is designed specifically to assist you in locating resources to answer the following question . . .
Given Arthur Miller’s depiction of female characters and the rise of feminism during the 1940s, would you argue that Kate Keller and/or Ann exemplify strong contemporary heroines or women who are deeply flawed and too weak to accept the truth —take a position
Female Characters - Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowGale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) offers coverage of academic, scholarly and professional disciplines. Includes specialized subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks useful for background information.
- Gender Studies This link opens in a new windowThe Gender Studies from Gale OneFile provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles with coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay and lesbian rights, homophobia, health aspects and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowU.S. History in Context provides information on topics related to the history of the United States. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
