Skip to main content

Library and Information Science Resources for Palmer Students: Journals and Databases

Journals

Journal Finder
Find journals by title.


List of Journals in Library and Information Science
Browse a list of over 500 library science journals.

Electronic Copies of Print Journals
Request electronic delivery of articles from the print and microform journal collection at LIU Post.

Interlibrary loan
Request electronic delivery of articles that are not available at LIU Post.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly articles.  You can use a special Google Scholar link that includes LIU databases. You just log-in once for remote access.

http://0-scholar.google.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/

Browzine

Library and Information Science Databases

Use databases to find articles on your topic. Your username and password are the same ones that you use to log-in to your LIU email account.

 

Library & Information Science Source
Combines the contents of Ebsco's Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Wilson's Library Literature & Information Science (including Retrospective: 1905-1983) along with additional new content. Provides the full text of over 460 journals and 30 monographs, along with indexing of over 1,700 additional journals, books, theses, pamphlets, proceedings, and research reports dating back to 1911.

 

Specialized Databases:

ACM Digital Library 
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

ERIC
ERIC is an education index that includes information about libraries, particularly school and academic libraries.

Scopus
Scopus features tools to track citations over time for a set of authors or documents, view h-index (publication impact) for specific authors, assess trends in search results, analyze an author's publishing output, and gain insight into journal performance.

 

All Library & Information Science Databases
The library provides access to many other library and information science databases including specialized databases for technical services and collection development.

 

All Databases

The library has hundreds of databases in various subject areas including general databases that cover a broad range of topics.

 

Using Databases

Subject Guide

Laura Manzari
Contact:
720 Northern Blvd.
Brookville, NY 11548
516-299-2826

Searching Tips

Identify key words for your topic.  You can combine search terms with AND so that each record in your results contains all of the terms.  For example: libraries and censorship.

Consider using synonyms or related terms to expand your search, or to be sure you are covering your topic thoroughly.  For example: school media specialist or school librarian.  See if the database you are using has a thesaurus to help you decide on search terms.

Need Help?

AskALibrarian! allows you text or chat with a librarian about your reference questions; or, e-mail your questions and receive a response from a librarian.  Use Book A Librarian to make an appointment for one-on-one research assistance.