Steps in Research
I. Understand the format of the assignment, type and number of sources you can use, and how current your information has to be
II. Know the length of your assignment and its due date
III. Choose a topic:
- brainstorm by talking to other students
- read recent articles in journals
- read general articles in subject specific encyclopedias
IV. Develop research question(s)
V. Identify keywords, concepts and terms related to your topic
VI. Develop search strategy
VII. Choose you sources: online catalog (LIUCAT), databases, Google Scholar
VIII. Write your paper!
IX. Don't forget to cite sources using citation style assigned by your professor
X. Talk to the librarian if you need assistance
Google Scholar
TIP: An advanced search in Google Scholar will allow you to refine, broaden or narrow your search.
How to Develop a Good Research Topic
How to Find Research Topic Ideas
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowPoints of View Reference Center provides balanced viewpoints on a variety of social and political issues. Each entry includes, an overview - background that provides a neutral starting point of reference; point/counterpoint - presents both sides of an argument; and a guide to critical analysis - directs students to delve deeper into the topic, discern fact from opinion, compare and contrast, research for other perspectives, and formulate opinions. Contains full text, charts, maps, images, and videos.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides balanced viewpoints on a variety of social and political issues, current events, in videos, podcasts and streaming audio, image galleries, national and global news sources, full-text articles, interactive maps, charts and graphs, along with other statistical information.
