Database Search Tips
Keyword search is the default.
- Enter as many keywords as you like, separated by a space.
- Combine terms using and, or and not for more precise retrieval
- No need for capital letters
Search for a specific title, author, journal, or other bibliographic elements, pull down from search window.
Click on Advanced Search to hone in on specific items.
Results display in a relevancy default. You can Sort your search results by Date in either a chronologically ascending or descending order.
Limit your results by publication date, source, or subject classification.
Journal articles are found using databases - electronic indexes to periodical literature.
Search here (Databases A-Z) for journal articles, research studies, practitioner and trade literatures and more.
New Resources
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new windowSources on physical therapy, rehabilitation and sports medicine. Features learning tools and physical therapy textbooks, patient cases, videos, and PTE and NTPE review prep.
[Access for LIU POST PT Program ONLY. You must be on campus to access. While on campus, please create an Access Profile – these credentials can be used for 90 days to access remotely. Please follow the directions on the attached flyer.]
- AccessPhysiotherapy-F. A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes 29 of the most important physical therapy textbooks, including Dutton’s Orthopaedic Examination, Evaluation, and Intervention and OSullivan, Physical Rehabilitation, fully searchable and continuously updated. Access 400+ procedure and exercise videos on exercise and rehabilitation techniques and interventions, self-assessment tools consisting of 1100 interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, a unique cadaver dissection tool, cases designed to help physical therapy students learn in the context of real patients, and concise outlines of common conditions and disorders. The F.A. Davis PT Collection is available on the same digital platform as McGraw Hill’s AccessPhysiotherapy.
[Access for LIU POST PT Program ONLY. You must be on campus to access. While on campus, please create an Access Profile – these credentials can be used for 90 days to access remotely. Please follow the directions on the attached flyer.]
Core Literature Databases
A multidisciplinary database featuring journals such as Journal of Orthopedic Surgery & Research, Neural Plasticity, Journal of Foot & Ankle Research, and APTA Magazine.
The American Psychological Association's source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and its related fields, including medicine, nursing, and social science. Coverage is from 1894 to present.
The American Psychological Association features streaming video recordings of leading therapists demonstrating approaches in behavioral, sociocultural, schema, and contextual therapies in unscripted, spontaneous sessions with participants who have agreed to have their demonstration sessions taped for educational purposes.
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
Access to journals, books, legal cases, research instruments, standards of practice, and clinical trials. Features records dating back to 1937. Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare and pharmacology decision-making. Subsets include systematic reviews and comprehensive registries of controlled trials, methodologies, and evaluations.
Provides comprehensive coverage and current, relevant clinical updates, bringing vital knowledge to physicians and healthcare professionals at the point of care. Features global guidelines, including those produced by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).
Provides full-text to scholarly journals focusing on medicine, nursing and allied health disciplines.
Contains the full-text of nearly 100 journals covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.
An extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Includes journals related to trauma and rehabilitation.
The primary database for biomedical and health sciences abstracts, including the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE.
Provides up-to-date coverage of health and medical developments to stimulate research and improve patient care. Includes books and journals covering therapeutic interventions, reference information, decision support and more.
Contains scholarly and scientific journals covering topics in health and social sciences. Includes journals such as, Physiotherapy Theory and Practice, Journal of Manual & Manipulative Therapy, Disability and Rehabilitation, and Physical Therapy Reviews.
Can't Find It?
If the Library does not have the research article you need, request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Email your article requests here.
Do you need research help?
Use LIU Post Library's Book A Librarian service to meet one-on-one with skilled researchers and scholars, at your convenience.