Periodical Sources
The following are excellent resources for locating articles on companies, industries, countries, business-related topics and news. They can be accessed from off-campus computers by using your LIU Username and Password.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles that cover a broad range of subjects. Use the Advanced Search feature to locate articles by specific company and/ or subject.
- Barron's This link opens in a new windowBarron's is a major news source on financial markets and investments.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from business journals, as well as other sources of business information. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Advance Search for company name with Limiter: "CO Company Entity;" then use either Narrow Results by:" "Subject: Thesaurus Term:" OR "Filter results by:" "Company Profiles," "Industry Profiles," "Market Research Reports," etc.
- Financial TimesGlobal business coverage.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times is considered a national and international newspaper of record. Covers, local national and world news on politics, business, art, performing arts, environmental issues, biography, science, and more. Full text content from 1980 to present.
- New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times - Historical provides page images of the newspaper beginning with the first issue in 1851 up until 4 years before present.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal is a major source of business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
Database Searching Tips
There is no standardized format for a database’s appearance or user interface. However, most databases offer similar search functionality.
- Keyword searching is default on many databases.
- Use important nouns as search words.
- Try using synonyms of your search words (e.g., college, university, "higher education").
- Avoid using common words: "a", "an","the","to","by", "of", etc.
- Use double quotation marks to search for an exact phrase.
Example: “embryonic stem cell”
Find Journals
Enter the name of a journal to find a list of databases that include full-text from a journal and/or those found in our LIU Libraries Periodicals Collections. Alternatively, enter a subject area, or scan the "Browse by Discipline" list, to identify publications on a particular topic area.
Journal Search Tips
Use the links in the "Find Journals" box above to discover whether or not a journal exists in our collection.
- Very useful when you have a citation for a specific article, because you can go directly to the journal that contains it.
- Search defaults to Title Contains. Use this if you only know one or two words in the journal title.
- Use Title Begins With if you know the exact start of the journal title.
- If you wish to have a copy made of an article that we own here, use the Digital Delivery Request Form.
- If LIU does not subscribe to the full-text of an article, you can still request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).