TYPES OF PERIODICALS
Depending on your research you may want to use different types of periodicals. For example, if you are doing research on the future of stem cells you may want to use peer reviewed journals as opposed to a magazine. You may find many articles on the topic you are researching but you want to use the most credible sources on the subject.
This page will help you learn to identify different types of periodicals to aid you in your research.
Peer Reviewed Journal
A peer-reviewed publication (also know as refereed) defines itself through a stringent editorial process conducted by experts in the field. Articles must be screened, usually by an editorial board, before being accepted for publication.
There are several methods for finding peer-reviewed journals:
- Ask A Librarian
- Many of our databases allow you to "filter" your search for peer-reviewed journals.
- Consults Ebsco's Serials Directory below
- Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowThe Serials Directory provides information on more than 108,000 publishers worldwide and nearly 250,000 US and International serial titles including magazines, journals, newspapers, and annuals.
TYPES OF PERIODICALS CHART
|
Scholarly & Research Journals |
Professional, Trade & Industry Journals |
Journals of Commentary & Opinion |
Newspapers |
Popular Magazines |
|
|
Examples |
Atlantic |
|
|||
|
Values & Uses |
Reports of original research; In depth analysis of issues related to the discipline; Academic level book reviews; Refereed or peer-reviewed |
Current trends, news & products in a field; Company, organization, & biographical information; Statistics, forecasts; Employment & career information; Book reviews |
Commentaries on social & political issues; Some in-depth analysis; Political viewpoints, liberal, conservative & other; Sometimes acts as voice of activist organization; Speeches & interviews; Book reviews |
Current information; Hard news; Local and regional information; Classified ads; Editorials; Speeches; Book reviews; Primary source for information on events |
Current events; Hot topics; Primary source for analysis of popular culture; Short articles; Generally not much depth; Interviews |
|
Language |
Academic; Can be very technical; Uses the language of the discipline |
Written for practitioners; Can use jargon extensively |
Written for a general educated audience |
Written for a general educated audience |
Non-technical language |
|
Authors |
Researchers, academics, professors, scholars, etc. |
Practitioners in the field or journalists with subject expertise |
Extremely variable; Can be academics, journalists, representatives of various “groups” |
Journalists |
Generally, journalists and freelance writers |
|
Sources |
Footnotes and bibliographies, Often very extensive documentation |
Occasional brief bibliographies; Sources sometimes cited in text |
Occasionally cite sources in text orprovide shortbibliographies |
Rarely cite any sources in full |
Rarely cite any sources |
|
Publisher |
Universities, scholarly presses or academic and research organizations |
Commercial publishers or professional and trade associations |
Commercial publishers or non-profit organizations |
Commercial publishers |
Commercial publishers |
|
Graphics |
Graphs, charts, formulas, depending on the discipline; No glossy ads here at all |
Photographs, charts, tables, illustrations of all sorts;glossy ads |
Wide variety of appearances; Some very plain, others lots of gloss |
Pictures, charts, ads of all sorts |
Very glossy; Full of color ads of all sorts |