Online Resources
*Can be accessed from home and other off-campus computers using your LIU username and password.*
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryFull text of over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can access them online 24/7.
- Arts and Humanities Through the Eras (GVRL)For each of the five major periods (Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece & Rome, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Baroque & Enlightenment), it discusses architecture & design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts, profiling milestones, movements, masterworks, and schools of thought in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. Includes an overview of each period with a chronology of major world events and biographical profiles of pioneers, masters, and other prominent figures in the field.
- Oxford Art OnlineFormerly Grove Art Online, this provides access to the full text of the 34 volume Grove Dictionary of Art, as well as the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. It contains over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography including over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings.
Selected Reference Books
The following is just a selection of the library’s books on visual arts. You can find more by searching the online catalog.
Art in the Modern Era: A Guide to Styles, Schools, and Movements 1860 to the PresentCall Number: N6490.D415 2002 OVSZ
Encyclopedia of Comparative IconographyCall Number: N7560.E53 1998 OVSZ
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in ArtCall Number: GR705.W47 2004
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania and North AmericaCall Number: E98.A7 W49 2000
The Dictionary of ArtCall Number: N31.D5 1996
The Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance and Mannerist ArtCall Number: N6370.E53 2000
Facts on File Encyclopedia of ArtCall Number: N31.F33 2005 OVSZ- Encyclopedia of Medieval Church ArtCall Number: N7943.A1 T37 1993 OVSZ
- Encyclopedia of World ArtCall Number: N31.E4833 OVSZ
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & ArchitectureCall Number: N5610.G76 2007
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & ArchitectureCall Number: N6260.G75 2009
